Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 4404 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Room comfort and quality 6.9
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for money 6.9
  • Food and dining 6.0
Sort by

Nick from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Interesting design
Design, location, price
Good service on arrival. Good location. I had a single room, but was even smaller than thought it could be. The toilet/bathroom area was nearly unusable as so small.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Garry from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012
Great stay
Very clean, convenient and comfortable
It was a very good hotel and everything was clean and comfortable. Located in Chinatown, so it was easy to get around.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Ian from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed one night in July 2013
Nice, simple hotel with a history
Beautiful decor, friendly staff, strategic location
This hotel offers something that many other hotels don't: a story. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is a converted traditional opera theatre and it capitalizes on this interesting part of its history on everything, from the decor, the room names, and just the overall concept of this budget friendly hotel. I took a single room, which was slightly bigger than a shoebox but that is typical of Singapore. I'm sure many would complain about the space but not me. I was just right despite my 6'2" frame. There are no windows in this room, which was fine since I arrived past midnight and had to leave the next day. This is the 2nd time I stayed here and the friendliness of the staff has been consistent. While the front office staff were professional and efficient, I absolutely adored the breakfast room staff, who treated us like their grandchildren. Yes, the food was basic (boiled egg, toast, sausages, and fruits) but, hey it gave me enough belly space to sample the restaurants around Chinatown. I've been to other, more expensive hotels with better breakfast and bigger rooms but I still think Hotel Lai Chun Yuen tops them in terms of stories to tell. Yes they serve better breakfasts but those look like every other breakfasts in every other hotel in the world. They don't have 2 uncles and an aunt who goes around to check if you had your coffee... And bids you "see you tomorrow" as you leave.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Yoong from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed one night in July 2013
Overall it is value for money.
Unique interior design, friendly staff and good breakfast
Overall it is value for money. This hotel provide all the basic needs that a city hotel would offer.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Anusorn from Thailand
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Compare to price, not bad but not impressive
center of China town, various restaurant to choose, near MRT
We don't like room without window, which we did not notice when making reservation. room really really small, but never mind! important thing is the smell from toilet, not god ventilation system. could not sleep well. We rated average, but we won't be back
Reviewed July 13, 2013

WAI from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Great location
Centrally located, easy access, historical & cultural
Within walking distance to subway. Centrally located. Nicely renovated. atmosphere of the oriental culture. Small but clean room.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Anita from United States
Family with older children
Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013
Pleasant stay with comfortable and affordable room
Clean, comfortable and convenient to MRT
We enjoyed our stay here. Chinatown is busy and noisy but our room was quiet, cool, and comfortable.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Alan from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed one night in September 2012
Good location in midst of Chinatow, and good food
nearby food, chinese-decor and clean
overall enjoyable stay and nice clean hotel, except the best part of it (location and close to good food) is also the worst part of it (noisy environment and can be heard from room even past midnight).
Reviewed July 10, 2013

ZHANG from China
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 16 nights in December 2012
Small rooms and hotel is very dark.
Location, food, internet
Ancient chinese design in red, a bit romantic but very dark through out the day. High speed internet, but the breakfast service is not very convenient. They kept asking me for breakfast ticket everyday. Can't they just remember my face?
Reviewed July 10, 2013

ZHANG from China
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 15 nights in December 2012
room is very small. no escalator at night
design, location, food
Nice romantic ancient chinese design, located at chinatown where you can find great food and traditional chinese herb and nutrition supplement. Room is super small and you can hear your next door spoke on the phone.
Reviewed July 10, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: