Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 4401 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Room comfort and quality 6.9
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for money 6.9
  • Food and dining 6.0
Sort by

Li from Singapore
Solo travelers
Standard Single
Stayed one night in December 2014
regret booking this hotel
location
very bad experience staying in this hotel. after i off the aircon, room is still freezing cold. very bad sound insulation, early morning got woke up because next door is bathing.
Reviewed December 04, 2014

Pim from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Feedback on the Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Great location, clean and value for money
I was a bit disappointed by the porter service staff and one of the receptionist during my check in at 10am on 29 Dec 2014. I already put on request that i will arrive early and already reserved one room for my mum as she is old and not convenient to climb the stair. To my great astonishment, I was asked to wait till 2pm as my room was not ready and the special room that I reserved was assigned to other people. The way this male receptionist served me and responded to my queries left much to be desired. Worst scenario happened when I asked the porter who is a bit old as well if there is any escalator to go down and exit to this hotel, he answered in a very reluctant manner. When I asked him if he could assist my mum to walk down the escalator by showing us how to use the machine, he told me that by the time we switched on the machine, my mum could have walked down the stairs! i found him very rude and unfriendly. I said this hotel is not very handicapped and old folks friendly, as there are those stupid stairs to come in or go out the hotel. He asked me to feedback to the hotel management but he doubted they will do anything since this is a heritage hotel! He told me in a rude tone. Now, I wanna know, if this is really a heritage building, why there is an escalator all the way up to the hotel room but not from the entrance to the receptionist? In my booking, I asked for a old folk friendly room why the receptionist didnt give me a room in the other branch opposite this hotel which is more old folk friendly? The receptionist told me that all the single rooms in the Santa Grand Chinatown were fully booked and full stop. .
Reviewed December 02, 2014

Daniel from Singapore
Couples
Deluxe King
Stayed one night in September 2014
Oriental hotel
comfortable, great food nearby, nostalgic
very comfortable , just walking distamce to market with great food. hotel is very nostalgic style
Reviewed December 01, 2014

Julian from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
cheap, location, clean
As a frequent visitor to Singapore, I have stayed at this hotel many times. The rooms are small (no, tiny in fact) but location is good, staff efficient, the hotel clean, and the price is very reasonable for Singapore. You soon get used to showering whilst sitting on the toilet :) Being in the middle of Chinatown, its not quiet at the best of times. I don't appreciate finding out about this when checking in, rather than when booking. They said the banging would stop at 5pm, but the noise went on till after 6 on the day I check in. Somehow the noise from the traders outside - the sounds of everyday life. And of course, if arriving from far away climes you might actually want to get some sleep during the daytime....so be warned! I will go back again.
Reviewed December 01, 2014

Tarto from Indonesia
Families with older children
Superior Double
Stayed one night in November 2014
omgg
staff, staff, staff
Reviewed November 30, 2014

Limindra from Indonesia
Couples
Superior Double
Stayed one night in November 2014
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
good
Reviewed November 29, 2014

Angela from New Zealand
Couples
Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Singapore Sojourn
Location, location, location
Private and tidy. Staff go beyond their call of duty especially Mr Khalid Ho.
Reviewed November 28, 2014

Pornpimol from Thailand
Couples
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Very Good Location
Location, Reception and all staffs
It will be better if bathroom is able to separate wet and dry zone and add more light in the room.
Reviewed November 27, 2014

Suphachai from Thailand
Business travelers
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
room pic on web looks big but the real is smal
N/A
N/A
Reviewed November 26, 2014

Hiu from China
Couples
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
The standard room is too small
Great location, 3 mins to MRT. Nothing is good besides that.
Room is too small that you can't open your luggage properly. You can feel the spring of the bed mattress which can make you feel even more tired after a busy day. Towels seem not clean. Sound proof is weak. Overpriced for the overall qualities.
Reviewed November 26, 2014


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: