Book Now: Santi Resort & Spa

Excellent
From 175 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
Recommended by 87% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (175)Booking.com Reviews (38)
8.0
Excellent
From 175 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.7
Facilities8.2
Location7.2
Room comfort and quality8.4
Service8.2
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Français
한국어
Deutsch
more
Room type
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Deluxe Family Room
Junior Suite
Deluxe Villa
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 154 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Kathryn from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Sensational setting”
Beautiful gardens, spacious rooms, awesome pool
Repeat guests, lovely as always.
Reviewed January 03, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Nathalie from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Beautiful big rooms”
Very quiet, restaurant food is very good, beautiful big room, beautiful view
I have slept here before and I always enjoy it! It is very quiet! The room are clean and big. It is a bit outside town but they have transfer to town.
Reviewed June 11, 2015
7.7
Very good
Tammy from China
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014
Nice Place for Honeymoon”
beautiful grounds, big rooms, good location
Reviewed January 05, 2015
7.7
Very good
David from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014
A peaceful and upmarket resort in Luang Prabang”
The room and its dark wood floors, beautiful grounds and a very quiet location with a good view of the stars at night.
We really enjoyed staying at the Santi for part of our time in Luang Prabang. It was a very relaxing place with nice grounds to walk in and a decent-sized pool with rice fields in the background. The staff were pleasant but could perhaps have been friendlier. Our only real complaint was the awful 1980s soundtrack they insisted on playing on a loop in reception. You can only listen to the likes of Air Supply so many times before patience starts to wear thin. I strongly advise the Santi to recognise the merits of classical Laos music and play that instead. I guarantee that no guests will miss the Best of 1982. If they request such music, the Santi should reserve the right to throw them out.
Reviewed January 03, 2015
6.3
Good
Michaela from Germany
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
beautiful gardens but far from town”
great garden
The hotel description is a bit misleading as there are several Villa Santis. The resort and spa is far from town and only tuk tuk transport available (no free shuttle service). Overall service is a bit mediocre although staff are friendly.
Reviewed December 16, 2014
3.7
sean from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
not happy”
the best things hmmm the view the view the view
We booked for 4 days stayed one because of no water to wash or shower we couldn't even brush our teeth and the lack of help to fix the problem and there was no offer of any type of refund I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone ...
Reviewed November 07, 2014
8.0
Excellent
guang from China
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
comfort, quiet but the bed is so hard”
pool, spa, breakfast
I am a single traveller, so it's totally ok for me to stay for a couple of days here, the hotel has the free airport transportation and breakfast is nice also, I really recommended the spa here, I have done a body oil spa, it's terrific, although the price is a little bit higher than the town, I love the environment and the lovely girl doing spa with me. The bed is too hard, and the mosquito net can not fit the bed, even there is a big hole in the net, I am really doubt about the effect of the net!! that's the only thing I am not satisfied, By the way, as arrival in the airport, they have sent a nice Toyota Van to pick me up, but I can not get the money from the ATM in the airport, so I can not give the tips to the driver, as I am leaving 2 days later, they have changed to a ordinary leisure truck to send me to the airport, so please do not forget give the tips to the driver, they will not say anything, but they will remind you!
Reviewed April 26, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Jung-Soo from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe Family Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
so quiet and exotic resort”
large room, clean facilities, value for money
Reviewed November 26, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Jung-Soo from South Korea
Group
Junior Suite
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
fantastic resort with quiet surroundings~”
nice garden, quite surroundings and wonderful rooms and facilities
this is located a bit far from downtown but really quiet and naturally designed resorts. Almost perfect for healing travel.
Reviewed August 03, 2013
7.0
Very good
Linh from Vietnam
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
I enjoyed staying in the resort”
beautiful, romantic resort and friendly staff
I was enjoyed staying in Villa Santi Resort & Spa. It is very romantic and beautiful resort although it is little far from the downtown, but the resort provides convenient free shuttles every day. However, food is not really nice.
Reviewed May 13, 2013
7.3
Very good
David from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Great service, great time”
beauty of resort, space of room, taste of food
Was so happy that they bumped us up to the Luang Prabang Suite without our request--it was very nice. The Gala dinner on New Year's Eve was simply delicious--the best food I've ever had in Luang Prabang.
Reviewed February 28, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Frederick from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
Nice resort type hotel.”
Pretty grounds, nice large rooms
A little out of the way. 15 min. to town. Shuttles run on time but not with the frequency that it might. Staff friendly and a little challenged with English. Spa OK but massages left a little to be desired.
Reviewed February 25, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Gordon from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Relaxing and tranquil place to spend a few days”
Remote and quiet location, peaceful, awesome breakfast
even though we booked a 'deluxe king' room they showed us to a 'twin' room and upon complaining the porter suggested putting the two beds together. by the time i walked back to reception (2 mins) they'd already assigned the original 'deluxe king' room. not a huge deal or complaint but don't like to be tricked into staying in a room we didn't book while the original room was available in the first place. why did they do that? so that put us in a bit of a bad mood. apart from the above the hotel was awesome. great remote location was so quiet and picturesque, free shuttle into town and the breakfast was an amazing thai/western buffet. shame we only stayed there 1 night. it's a little expensive for laos and whilst the staff weren't rude but pleasant they weren't really helpful with information.
Reviewed January 29, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Joshua from United States
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Love this place! Never disappointed!”
Beautiful and relaxing!
We've stayed here many times and it always gives us a relaxing time! The pool is nice and the mountain view can't be beat! The staff is amazing and the bungalows are awesome. Have stayed here many times and will continue to do so!
Reviewed January 20, 2013
7.7
Very good
Parashar from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012
Delightful surroundings and comfortable”
Delightful surroundings
Yes, it's away from the town centre but the free shuttles are reliable and useful.
Reviewed January 16, 2013
8.0
Excellent
David from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Fantastic grounds”
Resteraunt, landscaping, pool
A little out of town but Tuk tuks are cheap and there is a 2 hourly shuttle. Grounds are probably the best I have seen in Asia, the man made streams running through the whole property and walkways everywhere make for a really pleasant experience. A variety of accomodation available and buildings are well seperated. Rooms were well appointed and presented. Only dissapointment was the beds had more in common with a slate top pool table than a matress. For this reason only have I marked the comfort level a 3.
Reviewed January 11, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Christopher from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 7 nights in December 2012
Fantastic”
Friendly and very helpful staff
we stayed in december over the christmas week and had a fantastic time. the free pick up was waiting at the airport for us and from the moment they picked us up to when they dropped us off at the bus station a week later no one could have done more to make us feel more at home. the rooms are very well appointed with, mini bars, tea and coffee making facilities, bath robes and slippers and a platter of fresh fruit. the breakfast is outstanding with an egg and noodle station and sufficient choice to satisfy even the fussiest of eaters. the restaurant in the evening has a wide range of both asian and western choices very reasonably priced. it is set a few miles out of town in stunning, very well maintained grounds and they have a free shuttle between the resort and their sister hotel in lp.
Reviewed January 06, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Regina from United States
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Beautiful grounds away from the hustle and bustle”
The deluxe room exceeded our expectations. Setting and grounds are lovely.
Restaurant food is a little bland, probably to appease those travelers that are not up for the spiciness of local Loas cuisine, however the service is the restaurant is very good. I enjoyed all the little huts around the grounds where one can spend the afternoon reading a book, looking out onto the rice paddies, drinking a beer Loa.
Reviewed January 04, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
JAIME from Chile
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
nice hotel and location”
rooms and surrounding
very nice location , good restaurant nice people and good service sometimes dificult to understand the staf
Reviewed November 06, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
peter from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
The hotel was great the staff were exclent ”
The grounds were out of this world
the hotel was set into gardens that were out of this world. with ponds streams bridges and exotic plants it was amazing. the hotel was a five minute drive to the old town with great restaurants.the hotel was very clean and had good food and a good wine list for the area.
Reviewed August 31, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Bernadette from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 7 nights in August 2012
Great hotel on the outskirts of Luang Prabang”
Lush grounds, great swimming pool & amazing views
the hotel is a 15 mins drive into luang prabang city centre. the hotel itself is lovely & it was a pleasure to stay there but it is isolated. the rooms are nicely furnished in the simple but comfortable laos style with mosquito net covered beds, tv, good sized bathroom & balcony. very romantic if your a couple. breakfast is a good choice of various loas, asian & western foods, with eggs made to order. the food in the restaurant in the evening is very good & they usually provide a thai dancer. the swimming pool is great but very deep, so be careful. the staff are really helpful & i have no complaints about my stay.
Reviewed August 27, 2012
7.0
Very good
Jacqueline from Australia
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Large rooms and lovely gardens.”
Quiet location, nice swimming pool but still close to town
The rooms was large with a lovely bathroom. The pool area was nice but lacked shade around the pool chairs - only one umbrella. The breakfast was plentiful with attentive staff. The wifi did not work in our room or in the lobby. There is one communal computer that has internet in the lobby. Instructions were provided in the room on how to possibly get internet but it still did not work. They gave an explanation that it was due to Laos telecommunications being patchy but we had faultless internet in Nong Khiaw which is much more isolated than this resort so that is quite a lame excuse. It is a relaxing place to spend a few days. Staff are quiet but handle any issues promptly.
Reviewed August 22, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Katy from France
Business traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Beautiful hotel with the best people ever”
The location, the landscape
This hotel is a paradise for people whom need a break and relax after a busy time
Reviewed June 04, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Anna from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Family Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012
Paradise ”
stunning pool, grounds and classic room
the grounds pool and rooms at this hotel were absolutley stunning. i stayed in april and felt like i had the whole place to myself aside from staff. staff were freindly and helpful. breakfast was included - have had better but it was good. a little way out of town about 20mintes via the courtesy shuttle. worth the travel.
Reviewed May 01, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Ashika from Singapore
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Great Service but location is not very convenient”
Love the service and the hotel itself is really beautiful
The hotel is really a sanctuary. It would be a great place if you just want to relax and not do any sight seeing. The staff was wonderful and the food was reasonably good. They were very helpful. The shuttle service into town is not very frequent but if you plan your times well, you can get around it for sure. The internet does not work in the rooms but if you are there for a break than it doesn't matter at all.
Reviewed April 16, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Charlotta from Sweden
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012
The perfect peaceful place.”
Silence, swimming pool, friendly staff.
The perfect place to relax if you enjoy silence or just the sound of waterfalls, a swimming pool that you have almost to yourself, a balcony to read books and watch the sunset on. I came here for a four day holiday and to work on my jet lag and to me this hotel was everything I expected it to be. Be aware that this hotel is about 10-15 min by car/motorbike outside of Luang Prabang town (on the way to Kuang Si Waterfall) and you will have to take the hotel shuttle bus to get to the town center, they run every 2 or 3 hours between 10 am and 10 pm. I recommend you rent a motorbike in town, to be able to come and go as you like. You can park your bike in the staff parking lot where there is a guard who watches it for you.
Reviewed January 11, 2012
8.3
Excellent
john from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012
Great location”
Environment
Unfortunately there were not many guests when we stayed but it was very enjoyable. The dining room was very much underutilised but the food was nice and reasonably priced. We used Agoda and booked a bungalow and the room was excellent value and very spacious. Staff very pleasant.
Reviewed January 11, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
herman from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 1 night in September 2011
a Paradaise between green mountains and rice field”
The huge green area, the spa, the tennis court...
We totally enjoyed, we were treated as member of the Laos Royal family. We were six of us, we were so spoiled.
Reviewed September 16, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Raymond from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2011
stylish property in a peaceful location”
beautiful gardens & surroundings, great pool, beautiful balcony views
We started off well when the manager gave us a free upgrade. After the hustle & bustle of the Luang Prabang night market etc it was a welcome change to return to peace & tranquility. The free shuttle bus to Luang Prabang was a winner. Complimentary breakfast was always delicious & all staff were very friendly & helpful.
Reviewed August 27, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Teunis from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 1 night in July 2011
Very relaxing hotel overlooking ricefields”
quietand relaxing with beautiful pool after a busy touring day of the highlights of Luang Prabang
excellent service . the complimentary shuttleservice to downtown luang prabang could be a liitle more frequent
Reviewed August 16, 2011
7.7
Very good
JEAN from Belgium
Family with teens
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in July 2011
Very good hotel”
The rooms, the bathroom, the view, close to the beach
The breakfast is dissappointing. While we were eating they told us, in a unfriendly way, we had only five minutes. The road to the hotel is very bad.
Reviewed July 25, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Suppiramaniam from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011
Good hotel, but far from the city centre”
Surroundings, friendly staff
villa santi resort & spa is very nicely designed luxury hotel. it overlooks a paddy field and has a nice pool. walk inside the hotel compound is very nice. the staff are friendly and professional. it has a very good inexpensive restaurant. on the negative side it is about half-an hour away from the city centre by tuk-tuk (costs about $5), so if you are limited time you will find it challenging. there is a shuttle bus to the city centre, but it runs only every 3 hours. also, there are no interesting places near the hotel. so if you are not pressed for time and want a relaxing holiday this is great. but if you have limited time then stay near the city.
Reviewed July 17, 2011
8.7
Excellent
TIMOTHY from United States
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 3 nights in April 2011
Nice new hotel”
New hotel close to mall
the taxi had a little trouble finding the hotel because it is on a smaller street. it's across the street from a new upscale mall with several food options. the hotel room was spacious with a view of the street. it had an chinese decor with traditional heavy wooden chairs and wardrobe. our departure flight was early so the hotel provided a breakfast in a bag and arranged for a taxi.
Reviewed April 26, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Christie from Australia
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 3 nights in February 2011
Thoroughly enjoyed everything about our stay”
The food, the setting, the suite and the price could not fault it
after booking the villa santi resort we read a negative review and so were concerned we had made a mistake but from pick up at the airport and through out our whole stay we were very impressed. we had a juniour suite, very spacious and clean, which overlooked the rice paddies and a village in the distance. we walked through the vegetable gardens to the village, nice to be away from the humdrum of luang prabang central.in the restaurant i had the best soup i have ever tasted the spicy chicken soup, exquisite stock, we had meals in town and at the resort, overall we thought the resort to be the best value.the pool was clean and refreshing, laying out there reading, over looking the gardens and paddies was so peaceful, relaxing and refreshing. the staff were friendly and helpful and there were free mini buses into town if you wanted them.we were very impressed and would certainly stay there again.
Reviewed February 26, 2011
7.3
Very good
Anna from Germany
Solo traveler
Junior Suite
Stayed 5 nights in January 2011
great location,the calmness I was looking for”
Swimming Pool, whole setting
everything fine, management and housekeeping slow but friendly
Reviewed February 17, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Nikulin from Russia
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2011
The big beautiful territory, but location...”
The big beautiful territory
location
The big beautiful territory of hotel, good restaurant and pleasant numbers, however hotel arrangement assumes transport presence to reach to a city. Transfers offered by hotel are too rare. Besides, in the morning you can wake cleaners of numbers whom it is too noisy exchange the latest news.
Reviewed January 19, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Teng from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 1 night in January 2011
Lovely hotel with beautiful landscape”
The landscape was beautiful
Far from town center and the receptionist was a bit rude
We loved the hotel. The lotus flowers, the paddy fields.. it's the perfect place to relax. One good thing was that they had shuttles to go to town so it makes the distance to the town bearable. The only thing that spoilt my stay was the receptionist who was quite rude. The rest of the staff were very friendly though.
Reviewed January 05, 2011
7.7
Very good
Allyson from United States
Family with young children
Junior Suite
Stayed 4 nights in October 2010
lovely hotel on the outskirts of town”
great grounds for children, peaceful surroundings, shuttle between sister hotel in LP
limited english, few credit card options, no atm
We had a lovely stay with our two small boys. The resort is low-key and easy-going. The pool was a good size, The food was simple but fine. The sunset over the rice paddies is gorgeous, and the grasshoppers provided a lot of entertainment. The schedule of the shuttle is a bit limited but we were able to work around it.
Reviewed January 04, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Susan from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2010
Fabulous setting - beautiful grounds”
Nice rooms. Liked the water and fruit waiting on arrival in the room.
couldn't use the pool - closed due to water quality issues and when it did open the water was still murky. sure hope they get it sorted out because that wold make it an all around fabulous spot.
nice rooms. liked the water and fruit waiting on arrival in the room. couldn't use the pool - closed due to water quality issues and when it did open the water was still murky. sure hope they get it sorted out because that wold make it an all around fabulous spot.
Reviewed January 04, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Melvin from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2010
Nice hotel ”
Beautiful gardens, very helpful staff, large and very comfortable rooms
Shuttle from hotel didn't run often enough and stopped too early, Swimming pool looked dirty. Other parts of hotel need a bit of maintenance
We stayed here for two nights on the advice of a friend and because we good a good price on Agoda. The hotelbwas quiet and the rooms were large with nice stone in the bathroom and beautiful wood floors and furnishings. Breakfast was delicious and large with many kinds of food to choose from. Staff were gracious and very helpful. I thought we would spend some time at the pool, but the pool water was very turbid and looked dirty, so we did not do so, and judging by the absence of other guests around the pool we were not alone in our assessment. The grounds were otherwise clean, but in parts needed some maintenance work. The gardens and waterfalls on the grounds were pretty and park-like. We were there at just after Christmas, and the decorations on the grounds were a bit much and out of place for my taste, especially since we were traveling in a Buddhist country and in a city full of incredible history and local culture, but that would be a matter of taste, I suppose. The shuttle service to downtown took only 15 minutes or less but the schedule was limiting; the first shuttle into town was relatively late in the morning and the last was at 10:15, so we got caught in town after visiting the night market. Not the end of the world -- it cost about $50000K to hire a tuk tuk, but that took a little effort to arrange.
Reviewed January 03, 2011
4.3
John from United States
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2010
Great location, nice pool but horrible service”
Nice pool, great view
Non-existant service, "nickeled and dimed" for everything
Although the Villa Santi Resort is incredibly landscaped with a breathtaking view and nice pool, I would not stay in this hotel again. The wireless, tv, and air conditioner did not work in our room and each of the 3 times I asked to speak to a manager, he was suspiciously not available. In addition, we were not able to use the sauna or steam room near the pool unless we were willing to pay $17.00 USD for 30 minutes. Even more petty was the fact that they charged us for a small bucket of ice. In short, this hotel is not worth the price and we will not be staying there again.
Reviewed December 14, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Trish from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2010
Delightful resort not far from the city”
Beautiful grounds & pool
No other eating places in easy walking distance
I chose this resort for a last few days of R&R at the end of my holiday, as the pool and beautiful grounds appealed. There was a problem with my booking on arrival as the internet had been down the previous day and I had only booked online 2 days previously. However after a conversation with the duty manager later, I was accommodated at the town hotel for one night together with a room upgrade, free lunch and complementary bottle of wine. My next two days back at the resort were fabulous and very relaxing! The free shuttle works well and an evening visit to the town for dinner or night market shopping is very manageable. I loved the Royal Lao Cuisine cooking course in their restaurant, though would have enjoyed a market visit as part of it
Reviewed November 24, 2010
7.7
Very good
Janet from United Kingdom
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2010
Very nice rural location”
Location, a pool near Luang Prabang, views. Comfortable room.
A lot of water around, take mozzie repellent. Pool could do with refurb.
We had a relaxing stay. Nice to be in a rural setting to see a bit more of Laos. Although we had no trouble with mozzies we did notice a lot of standing water which put us off sitting outside.
Reviewed November 22, 2010
8.0
Excellent
William from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in September 2010
Great Resort loacted out of town”
Excellent Pool. Good size rooms. Spacious grounds
We original thought we were staying in town but the resort is located 6km out of town. Even though this can be inconvenient, it makes for a wonderful place to relax and soak up the atmosphere. The resort is located amongst rice paddy fields and is massive with the deepest pool we have found all trip. The staff are very friendly and the meals were great in the restaurant. There is a free shuttle bus that goes in to town many times a day.
Reviewed September 28, 2010
8.3
Excellent
Deborah from United States
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in March 2010
Nice hotel and room”
The room was big and clean. The staff was very friendly. The pool looked nice but I didn't have a chance to use it.
None.
We stayed at this hotel for a special weekend even though it is very far from town. The room was big and very nice. The staff and room service was great. The breakfast buffet was good. Dinner was pretty good. I'd go into town for better, cheaper food but we wanted to stay in the room. Overall, I'd recommend staying at this hotel.
Reviewed April 02, 2010
4.7
Hong from Australia
Family with teens
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2010
Its not the Villa Santi!”
Quiet
Too far from town,poor repair, very run down
The main thing to know is this is not the Villa Santi, it is a run down, old resort in the countryside near Luang Prabang. When you are there, they call it the Santi Resort & Spa, calling it the Villa Santi Resort is in my opinion a deliberate attempt to confuse people into booking there. The staff appeared to be used to hearing the complaints and will transfer you to the Villa Santi if rooms are available but we stayed for three nights and got a transfer on the last night. Whilst I was there I saw other irate guests who thought they had booked in the town. I wrote a letter to the manager with my complaints but have recieved no response so far.
Reviewed April 02, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
GARY from United States
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 7 nights in March 2010
Please don't wreck this place”
Fabulous grounds and staff IF you seek something different. This is NOT Thailand, rather it is something genuine.
The pool needs to be VACUUMED every day, not brushed. Stupid tourists think it's a big bathtub so do not shower first. The filth sinks, and the pool has no drain at bottom. Also all linen stinks of un-rinsed detergent. We had to re-wash all bedding so as to be able to sleep.
I don't want to write a favorable review of this great place, and have it over-run with inconsiderate, disrespectful visitors. But Laos seems to want to join the Western illusion of prosperity. So I will convey that this is a WONDERFUL country with an authentic culture that shines with simple joy and sincere values. It was easier to pass Laos immigration/customs than it is for me to return to my American home with a US passport. The art here is the best I've found in all of Asia, at affordable prices. Even better than crank-out Bali. I was NEVER harassed by aggressive vendors or beggars. This country is absolutely great, and the food is superb.
Reviewed March 28, 2010
8.3
Excellent
Sergio from Australia
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 3 nights in February 2010
Hotel Review”
Great location, a short tuk -tuk ride to the centre of town. You could enjoy the peace and tranquility of nature and really appreciate nature at it's best. The pool provided a welcome relief to the heat.
When we arrived , the hotel staff tried to convince us to go to their sister establishment the Villa Santi Hotel saying that we did not book and they did not have a room for us. Not a pleasant first time experience for a traveller to new country, and after talking to other guests it seems that they try to do this to many of the people and the villa. This is definitely something that management needs to look at as travellers do not have a pleasant stay because of this.The hotel safe was not secured to anything. It definitely needs to be secured either to the wall or something else.The restaurant at the villa was over - priced when it didn't need to be.Most of the travellers would definitely be eating at the villa if it were reasonably priced. Breakfast should have more variety of food and drinks.
After an initial mix up with our booking and trying to convince to go their sister hotel in the centre of town. The villa and it's surroundings was spectacular. It allowed you to relax and recharge. Despite the initial setback, the service at the villa was adequate. The complimentary bus service into town was ideal, however they should invest in a larger bus and make the shuttle bus available at more times throughout the day. In the centre of town there are many markets and tours on the mekong river to enjoy and nice restaurants for all budgets to enjoy.If you want to enjoy some quite time during your visit to Luang Prabang then the Villa is just right for you.
Reviewed March 06, 2010
7.3
Very good
Anthony from Australia
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 3 nights in February 2010
Good for a break”
Accommodation, pool, and staff
Location.
I was surprised when our driver headed out of Luang Prabang into the countryside. I thought I had booked the Santi in the heart of Luang Prabang. That said, the hotel is quite lovely, and the new wing we stayed in was as good as many 5 star hotels we had stayed in recently. The staff were attentive and the food quite good. Breakfast had a good range of food, however, by the time we got there at 8.30, many of the choices were finished or not replenished. This needs to be addressed. The only other negative is the Shuttle Bus from the Hotel. It restricts you and on a holiday, this isn't a plus. Also, a number of people remarked that they didn't get a seat and had to catch a taxi (expensive for Asia) to either get to the Hotel or to the old town.
Reviewed February 22, 2010
7.3
Very good
Jane from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2010
Relaxing stay at Santi Villa”
The pool, the expansive grounds and the beautiful sunset
The distance from town
I booked a couple of nights at the Santi Villa Resort as a bit of a treat. Upon arrival in Luang Prabang the tuk tuk driver took me to the wrong Santi Villa, this is their sister hotel, in town. The staff were quick to re-direct me and even tried to have their complimentary bus pick me up, unfortunately to no avail. The staff at the resort are freindly and helpful, although the night before checking out I was asked if I wanted transport to the bus station. I was given the impression this was a complimentary service, so of course I excepted. The pool area is a lovely way of escaping the hot afternoon sun and watching the sunset before heading into town on the complimentary bus at 6pm is also very nice. The hotel lends itself to a more mature audience, particullary the tour group type. All in all I think it is pretty good value for money. Oh, and breakfasts are great
Reviewed February 11, 2010