Book Now: Savoy Hotel

Excellent
From 618 reviewsSee what guests said
8.5
/
10
Recommended by 93% of guests

Reviews of Savoy Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (618)Booking.com Reviews (178)
8.5
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness9.1
Facilities8.8
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality8.7
Service8.9
Value for money7.9
All languages
All guests (618)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 525 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Murray from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Exceptional”

A well run and functional hotel with great feel to it.

Reviewed May 03, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Jeffrey from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

oasis out of the heat”

our stay at the Savoy was great. Both restaurants are delicious. The staff couldn't be friendlier, the rooms are big and comfortable. The pool in the afternoon after a morning of exploring in the Yangon heat was perfect. Great place

Reviewed April 22, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Gianfranco from China
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

amazing stay”

stayed only one night, but everything was spotless. lovely decoration, friendly and professional staff, superb room, relaxing pool, amazing buffet breakfast, nice bar / restaurants to relax and have a drink and some food

Reviewed August 29, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Stephan from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018

Coming home”

The first time I stayed at the Savoy was 12 years ago and coming back felt like coming home. I just love the colonial architecture, the beautiful interior design, the pool, the two excellent restaurants and the cordial people working here.

Reviewed August 23, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Peter from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Amazing building and breakfast”

Breakfast buffet was superb sat on the balcony overlooking the pool. Very quiet hotel considering the general traffic noise in Myanmar. Staff were very helpful and polite. Rooms were large and clean, if not a little dated, but that’s due to keeping the old colonial style. Great place for couples to stay.

Reviewed July 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
darren from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Perfect stay in yangon”

Great location, reasonably priced, beautiful colonial hotel with teak flooring, and spacious rooms. Food is good, staff are friendly, pool is a refreshing break from the heat. Easy to get around town - cabs are everywhere and cheap - even in traffic, takes 15 minutes to get to downtown, and it's a 10min walk to Shwedagon. Loved it!

Reviewed May 28, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Alice from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Comfortable colonial style”

My only disappointment was the bar which felt more like a sports bar rather than being in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Otherwise, comfort, food and service was spot on. One gripe: small plastic containers for shampoo etc - other hotels of this calibre are avoiding this kind of plastic waste.

Reviewed January 05, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Pan from Thailand
Group
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

a very good hotel in Yangon :)”

very friendly and caring staffs especially General Manager of the hotel !!! he came to say hello and ask if there is anything we don't like. This showed how much they care about their customers which we were very impressed :) A cozy hotel made us feel like home, a very beautiful room and pool area was so peaceful. We love this hotel and we will come back again very soon !!!

Reviewed May 14, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Steven from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in August 2017

Very good service”

The hotel is very well managed and gives a very consistent feeling of "Mandarin Oriental" levels of attention to detail and to guest experience. There were limited options for less expensive, snack-type, food options (e.g. poolside snacks) and it would be good to see that addressed. But we had a very nice stay at the hotel.

Reviewed August 14, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Minh from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in August 2016

Tranquility place at the corner of busy streets”

I looked into this place because of the name as i thought it was the same chain with Savoy London. It's not and that's not the problem as the hotel is also excellent. I arrived early in the morning and the staff let me check-in around 8am after i had breakfast. This place is really nice, the whole hotel smells so good with floral fragrance. I felt like i was in a gallery hotel as i found arts everywhere in the hotel. The bar is also ok, for all the bars in town that needed to be closed after 11pm this is the place i can only drink til midnight. There wasn't many guests during my stay and i felt completely private. I only disappointed about the breakfast. For the hotel like this, breakfast should have more hot dishes options and there must be name of the dish or drink. The shower pressure wasnt great during my stay but it probably due to renovation. I will definitely come back as i really like the hotel. Just hope for better breakfast next time.

Reviewed October 18, 2016
8.8
Excellent
jessica from Vietnam
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Gorgeous hotel ”

The place is beautiful and they upgraded us to a sweet because the room we booked only had twin beds. However we went for dinner in the French cafe and were very disappointed. We had to send one of the burgers back and even the one we eventually got was not great, edible but that's not a great endorsement when you're paying 17$ for it. The restaurant isn't even listed on trip advisor.

Reviewed July 24, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Hock from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016

Beautiful Colonial Feel of A Hotel”

The hotel premises was great and the room was also spacious. The staff were all very well trained and can converse in English. Front office are also very helpful and I was on hand to witness Miss Thazin Hnin and Miss Khin Po Po Myo assist a hotel guest, while waiting to ask something. Driver for airport transfer was also highly friendly and courteous and tell us more on Myanmar as we made our journey to hotel. Yangon traffic is not very good and it can take a while to get to places. Housekeeping and restaurant staff were also excellent and have good attitude. Great job Savoy Hotel!

Reviewed June 05, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
john from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016

Nice feel, great staff”

The Savoy is another of those SE Asian colonial style hotels, but does it well. The room was big, nicely decorated, not overdone with the memorabilia. The breakfasts were fine, choice of restaurants to eat it. The outstanding thing for us, though, was the staff. They were friendly, attentive - I had come down with a travel bug & they couldn't have been more caring. We will stay here again.

Reviewed April 08, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Vincent from France
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

Super charming boutique hotel”

Hotel's design, location and staff performance

The hotel is a colonial house located 15 minutes walking distance from the Shwedagon Pagoda. It has 30 rooms only, with a swimming pool. The food at the two restaurants is excellent, and can be served by the pool. The breakfast was one of the best we've ever had! The staff was very helpful and always available. We will definitely come back for our next trip to Yangon!

Reviewed December 08, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Nancy from United States
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Outstanding service”

Staff, staff, staff!

We had a short but very pleasant stay. If you enjoy authentic colonial charm, you will enjoy Savoy. We had a fantastic poolside dinner, delicious and romantic. Chef created a delicious and whimsical dessert for hubby's birthday meal. Special flowers graced our room. Service was above abd beyond.

Reviewed November 04, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Kirinjeet from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in September 2015

Pleasant experience ”

1) helpful and friendly staff. 2) the cleanliness 3) the cozy ambiance

It was a pleasant experience with friendly and helpful staff. The service was excellent . Loved the decor and the ambiance . Place was well maintained. However, there is room for improvement in the speed of the wifi and breakfast selection/choice. We will definitely come back again ton the Savoy as the overall experience was good.

Reviewed October 01, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Othmar from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015

A great hotel”

Staff, Atmosphere, Dining

This is a very nice Victorian-style boutique hotel within walking distance (20 minutes) from Shwedgon Pagoda. The hotel has lots of character and it is an antidote to the cookie-cutter international business hotels. The staff was friendly, well trained and professional. The dining options were nice too. There was lots of attention to details. Once can clearly see that the hotel is run by a hospitality management professional!

Reviewed June 21, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in May 2015

A happy return visit.”

The location was amazing,the pool facilities great and the staff were very accommodating.

I have stayed here previously,and always use the hotel as my last stop of luxury before my return to the UK.The hotel is set in another era,almost colonial in many ways,and it is always a pleasure to return.The staff are always great,and it is amazing to relax around the pool after a day of sightseeing in Yangon.Excellent in every way.

Reviewed May 11, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Siew from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015

Friendly and helpful staff”

Staff, Cleanliness and Location

My stay at the hotel was great. The staffs are friendly and helpful. However, I have a comment on the room's main switch. You have to switch off the main switch to switch off the lights. The main switch cut off all electric in the room except for the air-cond. So, I can't charge my phone and camera at night.

Reviewed May 05, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Peter from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in March 2015

Sublime”

Location,staff and the sheer comfort

As a returning guest after a lengthy trip around Myanmar,it was a delight to be reminded of the sheer old-world style of this hotel.It was like being transported back into an era of opulence,luxury and comfort,with every need and request being met. The staff were wonderful.location was very central and convenient and I will certainly stay there again.

Reviewed March 17, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Vincent from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

Excellent”

Comfort Design Service

Superb service, lovely rooms, excellent common areas, very clean & pleasant pool. Really appreciated the location; despite being on a busy road, the rooms. pool area & breakfast balcony are quiet & tranquil, and its really easy to catch a taxi into central. Just a short walk to Shwe Dagon, nearby shops & bar & the best supermarket in Yangon. The wonderful Aung Thukpa restaurant is also close by. Very good value for this quality hotel.

Reviewed January 05, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Tricia from United States
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

A beautiful hotel with a lot of character ”

Decor, Food, Location

All hotels in Yangon cost more than they should, but if you are going to stay at a luxury hotel, this is one is the best - it has the most character and by far the best food. The hotel breakfast is perfect for Western and Asian pallets (and full of Sharky's delights!) and the burgers are the best burgers you can find in Yangon. The hotel is colonial style with beautiful dark wood and the rooms are clean and cozy. The beds are comfortable and supportive and the shower is very nice. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. All and all, there were no complaints!

Reviewed December 14, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Sarah from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014

Charming in Yangon”

The best aspects of the Savoy are the creaky wooden floors, the breakfasts, and the wonderful pool

If you're looking for modern and western, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for quiet colonial charm in the midst of a bustling Southeast Asian city, this is the right place. The biggest downside of the Savoy is that, like all hotels in Yangon at the moment, it is very expensive. Staying here is a treat that I allow myself during the off season when prices are lower.

Reviewed October 15, 2014
8.7
Excellent
chesnais from France
Business traveler
Suite Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014

Beautiful colonial-style hotel”

Atmosphere, location and staff attitude

I have just recently stayed a few days at the Savoy. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Pool is lovely. Breakfast, lunches and dinners are savory with some creative dishes. Location is great, close to the center and other key areas. And the staff is helpful and very friendly. I will definitely come bak to this hotel in the future !

Reviewed October 09, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Dylan from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014

Colonial Style Retreat”

Stylish, Cosy, Strong Colonial Feel

It was a very enjoyable stay with friendly staff and the architecture of the colonial house was amazing! Both interior and exterior of the hotel was well maintained although the interior of the rooms can be a little poorly lighted up. Morning is a splendor if you have breakfast and a cup of coffee looking out of the restaurant and enjoy the morning sun as well as the clear blue sky.

Reviewed August 25, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Roger from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

'Colonial era' hotel with great atmosphere”

Friendly, helpful and attentive staff, large room and good swimming pool with nice surroundings

We arrived in the early hours of the morning and were booked in very efficiently with a welcome drink. The room was spacious and well appointed and we received fresh fruit each evening. The public areas were "classic colonial" with many interesting statues and 'objets d'art'. Well maintained pool, not large but with nice planted surround. The only disappointment was the buffet breakfast, the choice was quite limited. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed May 27, 2014
8.0
Excellent
David from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014

Unremarkable”

Staff are very friendly and it oozes a bygone charm

Savoy is great for those seeking a hotel that resembles a history all too quickly being forgotten. What it lacks in modern convenience, it more than makes up for in a relaxed gentility. Breakfast adequate but dinner was fabulous.

Reviewed May 19, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Peter from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Excellent in every way!”

Very comfortable,luxury at it's best and great service.

What a treat after 2 weeks of travelling around Myanmar!The room was amazing,staff were very attentive,breakfast was the best during the entire stay in the country and the pool was an added treat during the hot weather.Excellent as a whole!

Reviewed April 08, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Katja from Finland
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014

Very nice boutique hotel Near Swedagon”

Great breakfast, nice athmosphare, next to the Shwedagon Paya

We had a very nice stay at the Savoy Hotel. Especially we enjoyed the very nice breakfast at the beautiful balcony. The room was nice, a bit damp as it was in the first floor. The service was very nice and we could walk in the evening to the Swedagon Paya, which was very nice. The hotel interior is very beautiful. Perfect for a couple of nights stay.

Reviewed February 17, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Calvin from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013

relaxing stay in the heart of the city”

cleanliness, location, charm

This was a great first trip to Myanmar for us and while this is one of the pricier hotels, it is definitely worth it as the place is very well located and is well maintained. Definitely one of the best hotels in the city. We unfortunately didn't have time to go to the pool in the middle of the hotel as we were too busy sightseeing.

Reviewed November 29, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
DR. from New Zealand
Business traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013

A charming Yangon place to stay”

Comfortable bed, housekeeping staff, and breakfast

This is a well-run, German-owned, charming hotel with very friendly, and helpful staff, a delicious breakfast from 6 - 9am, and is right where you want to be to explore the famous Shwedagon Pagoda, and the rest of Yangon.

Reviewed July 16, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Cherie from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in June 2013

On the English speaking belt of yangon”

Good Internet, location, staff

Myanmar Internet is no where close to what I get back home but the Internet at the savoy is one of the fastest I have experienced in my time in Myanmar (over 10 years). Also, they have what I think is the best bar in the area. In addition, it has many good restaurants nearby,

Reviewed July 07, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Craig from New Zealand
Business traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in June 2013

A nice taste of colonial Yangon”

Friendly staff, nicely appointed room, great location

Lovely colonial style hotel in Yangon city. Friendly and attentive English-speaking staff. Best thing is the location - just a ten minute walk to the stunning Shwedagon Pagoda and the Martyrs Monument. Breakfast so-so, and Internet and wifi poor, but that's the case with pretty much all of Myanmar. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed June 11, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
David from Canada
Business traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in May 2013

Really wonderful place, staff great but for one”

Beautiful property, rooms and poll

Overall, a wonderful stay at the Savoy. Impeccable rooms, pool and nice spa with massage. Good food at the restaurant upstairs as well! The one thing that was not so wonderful was I booked a room for two people and my friend arrived later. The front desk attendant argued my double booking was only for one person and implied my friend was there for reasons other than to stay the night - "We'll have to report this to the police". So weird and insulting. Otherwise, the stay was great and it was clearly this one night clerk who was not very good.

Reviewed June 05, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
peter from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013

Excellent hotel with colonial SE Asia feel”

Swimming pool, room size, helpful staff

Very comfortable hotel, not a real bargain, but nothing in Myanmar is cheap for tourists as they have not yet built up to meet the demand. Walkable to the Shwedagon Pagoda, unless you're there in the heat season of April and May. Great pool and staff was able to pack a continental breakfast to accommodate our early departure.

Reviewed May 04, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Christine from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

Great hotel and excellent service”

Great room, nice swimming pool, good location

A bit overpriced but so is just about every hotel in Yangon these days. Service was excellent and the room was well-maintained. The hotel is located near the Pagoda and allows for easy access by taxi to the main market, restaurants and other attractions. Great hotel bar and live band 2x week.

Reviewed December 28, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Thomas from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

Lovely hotel in colonial style”

nice staff and the charme

I felt immediately very comfortable since we were greated by friendly staff when we arrived at the hotel. The reception was very attentive and kind. I loved the style of the hotel (colonial) with all the small decorations items. The rooms very decent and quite, the Pool was nice (you well get a chair) and the captain's bar very cozy. I was also positive surprise by the breakfast buffet. I definitely will return again.

Reviewed November 28, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Thomas from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

nice colonial stylle hotel with friendly staff”

colonial style (rooms, restaurant, bar, lounge, etc)

I felt immediately very comfortable since we were greated by friendly staff when we arrived at the hotel. The reception was very attentive and kind. I loved the style of the hotel (colonial) with all the small decorations items. The rooms very decent and quite, the Pool was nice (you well get a chair) and the captain's bar very cozy. I was also positive surprise by the breakfast buffet. I definitely will return again.

Reviewed November 28, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Dirk from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012

Colonial style with modern comfort”

Nice location, friendly staff, good restaurant, no-smoking policy

this is a hotel in the old style with a very nice atmosphere. the rooms are spacious and comfortable. there is a nice swimming pool, a good restaurant and a stylish bar. wifi is available and works reasonably well. the "music" in the bar is totally obnoxious for this traveller but is dimmed and even changed on request.

Reviewed October 29, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Stephen from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012

Fantastic Boutique Hotel”

The ambience and charm of the place

This is a relatively small hotel with only 30 rooms but the standard and service are what you would expect in a top end hotel anywhere in the world. Some other reviewers have moaned that it is showing it's age but in our opinion this just adds to the charm of the place. The decor is fantastic and the ambience spot on. It has an excellent restaurant and friendly bar to enjoy a sundowner or two while getting acquainted with the local expats. The staff could not have been more helpful. We will defintely be going back.

Reviewed June 01, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012

Comfortable Low Key Luxury”

Good Location, Fine Staff

we stayed at three "luxury" yangon hotels during our recent stay in burma: the strand, the governor's residence and the savoy hotel. the savoy was our favorite, mainly because it manages to offer great service without trying to hard. the staff is attentive without being obtrusive. the property is convenient for visiting shwedagon and within a short taxi ride of downtown yangon. there are several interesting dining possibilities nearby. the only downside for us was the smoke in the bar. it's a lovely spot, but too many smokers for us. fortunately, there is a connected lounge with bar service and, when we were there, no smokers.

Reviewed May 22, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Karl from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2012

Personal cozy hotel for a reasonable price”

Spacious, cozy rooms in colonial style. Nice pool and restaurants. Excellent service.

Very pleasant stay in this hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. The concierge even drove to the airport to pick up my IPad which I left in the plane. Breakfast buffet could be slightly improved to include more healthy items (whole weat bread, beans, oats, etc) Ofherwise perfect stay!

Reviewed April 21, 2012
8.8
Excellent
Mark from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Great place”

A small oasis you can spend time and seem a long way from the bustle of Yangon even though the location is excellent. Walkable to Shwedagon and a couple of parks. Excellent food and a wide variety of drinks. Really friendly staff, and attentive service. Highly recommended.

Reviewed November 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
stephen from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Fabulous hotel”

Such a lovely hotel. Wonderful room. Friendly and accommodating staff. I turned-up earlier than I had planned and they were not phased . Had some breakfast and chilled by the pool whilst housekeeping sorted a room out for me. The breakfasts are very good. Just such a lovely, relaxing place.

Reviewed October 31, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
kym from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

Very Raffles”

Easy walking distance to the Pagoda, cab to downtown. Hotel food and ambience excellent. If you like modern - this is not for you. It is very colonial and a la Raffles in Singapore. We stayed 2 nights could have done a 3rd to see a bit more of Yangon.

Reviewed July 13, 2018
6.0
Guy from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Classy, but expected more”

I guess you can't be too fussy in Yangon, there aren't a lot of super hotels there, yet. Savoy is certainly one of the best but quite pricey and I expected more. If you're going to stay there, get a good rate.

Reviewed June 29, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Anjali from India
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

For us the location was perfect- away from the downtown buzz yet the downtown wasn’t far. ”

The restaurants were very nice, location was in a quiet and clean area of Yangon

Reviewed March 06, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Julie from Ireland
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

A hidden gem!”

This was a little cocoon of quiet, greenery and relaxation in the middle of bustling Yangon. The hotel is small and is OOZING character, unlike most of the other large chain, modern hotels in Yangon. The staff were lovely (no surprise as this was commonplace throughout Myanmar) and the hotel was full of lots of interesting furniture, traditional laquerware from Bagan, weavings from Chin state and just overall had a very eclectic and homely vibe. The pool was such respite after a day wandering temples. We ate lunch and dinner at the Savoy, both times in the bistro and had the best food we had in our two week trip. The beetroot and feta salad was absolutely delicious, with a truffle dressing for added decadence! The only issue we had was with a room. We stayed 2 nights and everything was fine, I think that was room 307. Then we stayed another night before we went home (room 203) and the room smelt damp and musty, the AC did not work properly and the shower pressure was really bad.

Reviewed May 14, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Cathy
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

Very quiet location, nice pool”

The staff were helpful, meals were a bit unusual. The hotel seems to have largely a german tourist clientele & I was a bit surprised when the Tapas had 3 lots of raw fish on it. There was minimal cereal for breakfast & that which I had was stale. Otherwise a quiet location with big rooms

Reviewed November 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Anthea
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

An oasis in a busy SE Asian city”

We booked a night here at the end of a 2.5 week stay in Myanmar. We sought a little bit of luxury and that's exactly what we got. The hotel is away from the chaos of the downtown area, which made it a peaceful haven. The decor throughout the hotel was impeccable and the rooms were large & comfortable. All F&B services were great too. What really made it was the staff. Friendly, efficient and always there when you needed them. If you want to splurge on an experience from a bygone era you can't go past The Savoy.

Reviewed November 01, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
kiddee from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017

Oasis in Yangon ”

Definitely wroth the splurge if you can. This place was a great little heritage hotel that really provided us with a sense of relaxation from the days of exploring Yangon. The hotel and the rooms were very well cared for and tastefully managed. The only thing is that the location is not in downtown, but its quite ok, near the temples, parks and a quick taxi ride anywhere.

Reviewed September 19, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
alexandre from France
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in August 2017

Fabulous colonial hotel in Yangon”

Savoy Hotel is an amazing place in Yangon with a beautiful pool. Rooms are nice and comfortable. The staff is discreet and very attentive. The food is amazing, certainly the best place I ate in Myanmar. We really enjoyed our stay in Savoy Hotel. We recommend this hotel and we would stay here again without hesitation!

Reviewed August 29, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Maria from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in August 2017

Loved This Hotel”

I loved this hotel. The architecture and decor of the hotel take you back to another era. The staff was fantastic. The shift manager, Honey, loves her job and her country and is a wonderful source for information on things to do not only in Yangon but also in all of Myanmar. It is a small and intimate boutique hotel in a great location close to Shwedangon Pagoda that also happens to have a lovely pool to cool you down. There's a delicious sushi restaurant across the street.

Reviewed August 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Petrina from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Exceptional”

Beautiful hotel with very friendly and professional staff. Wonderful Colonial style rooms and we enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant in the evening. Excellent breakfast, good location. Would definitely stay again and can recommend this hotel without reservation. 5*

Reviewed May 17, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Juliet from New Zealand
Group
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017

Lovely Oasis”

Great hotel, staff lovely, we had an early train trip to Mandalay and they happily made up breakfast boxes. Just be careful as the bottom of the box broke so handle carefully, may need a bit of tape. Would love to stay again.

Reviewed May 15, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Kirsty from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017

Beautiful hotel near Shwedagon ”

I really loved this hotel. Our room was very nice, the restaurant were excellent and helpfully created good vegan food for me. The pool was lovely and the whole hotel had a nice atmosphere. I particularly like boutique style hotel and I would recommend this one 100%

Reviewed April 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Mariel from Hong Kong
Group
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017

Beautiful hotel with amazing staff”

This hotel was an absolute treat. The staff were amazing - so friendly and helpful, they really thought of everything, from checking that we were appropriately dressed to visit Shwedagon Pagoda (no shoulders and knees exposed) to giving us a place to shower before our late-night flight. Breakfast was great, the rooms were big and clean, with beautiful polished hard-wood floors. The pool area was also lovely. I would definitely come back.

Reviewed March 20, 2017
8.0
Excellent
DAVID from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in August 2016

Great little hotel in Yangon.”

Love the Savoy Hotel in Yangon. My second visit to this hotel. Love the charm of the building and furnishings. Highly recommended for the business traveller and tourist. Some of the best food I had on this 12-day trip through Myanmar.

Reviewed August 23, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jeffrey from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016

fantastic”

all you would expect from a 5 star hotel. the place glistens it is so cleans. Staff are super helpful and friendly. food is fantastic - ate there every meal for 3 days! stylish, good location for tourists - could walk to parks and to Shwe Dagon Pagoda. Really good!!

Reviewed August 16, 2016
7.6
Very good
Savindri from Sri Lanka
Group
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

Good Colonial style hotel with good location”

Good colonial style hotel where the rooms and bathrooms could definitely do with an upgrade especially in the shower area and the air conditioning and lighting system in the room. Good staff and good food although not having a single vegetarian option in the menu was a bit disappointing.

Reviewed July 03, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Richard from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

Colonial Style Hotel ”

We really liked the colonial feel of this hotel, on our second stay we didn't have any hot water but this was probably to do with the renovations they were doing at the time. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Yangon.

Reviewed June 29, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Alan from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016

Fantastic boutique hotel”

A beautifully presented colonial-style boutique hotel with wonderful staff and service. The rooms are spacious and well furnished (although the bathrooms are feeling their age a bit) and the public areas are decorated in old colonial style with some very interesting furniture and artworks. The bar is a great meeting point for locals and guests alike, and the pool and terrace are restricted to guests only so it's easy to relax and find a sunbed. There are two restaurants, the 1st floor one with views (in the distance) of Shwedagon Pagoda. But best of all is the staff and service - top notch, as good as any 5 star we've been to, and very helpful advising on places to visit and arranging taxis and tours. One of the best hotels we've visited in SE Asia in our 6 years in the area.

Reviewed May 06, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Julie from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016

Enjoyable weekend stay at this small hotel”

I enjoyed my stay at Savoy hotel very much. The rooms are large, feature a lot of wood and have a resort feel. The small pool and courtyard add to that resort feel. Breakfast on the veranda overlooking the pool is a must. I really enjoyed the buffet breakfast, especially the local dishes such as mohinga (fish soup). Kipling restaurant and the bistro were great for dinner and lunch. Staff are very attentive and friendly. The only area for improvement is the spa which is rather spartan compared to the usual luxury spa experience I've come to expect at a nice hotel. Overall highly recommended!

Reviewed April 28, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Lonnie from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

Lovely hotel”

We just loved this small boutique hotel, a 15 min walk from the pagoda with its old world style feel. The breakfast was lovely especially sitting outside. Pool was nice as was the pool service. Rooms around the pool were great.

Reviewed April 09, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Charles from United States
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015

Can't say enough good things about the Savoy Hotel”

Rooms, location, staff

We loved the place - the rooms, the pool, proximity to Shwe Dagon (5 minute cab ride), the wonderful staff, great breakfast, great restaurant, coolest bar in Yangon, the whole bit. The Savoy is great for families, couples, or business travelers (I have stayed there on business in the past, this was vacation.)

Reviewed December 27, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Jonathon from United States
Couple
Suite Garden View
Stayed 6 nights in December 2015

a splendid oasis in Yangon”

It is beautiful, well located, and extremely comfortable

Located relatively near the Shwedagon Pagoda, this hotel is extremely comfortable without being at all pretentious. It is quiet in a very noisy city, clean in a very dirty city, and staffed with helpful and generous people who speak English clearly. Anything you need will be met with a pleasant "of course," and you will feel as if you've stumbled onto a magical place in a remarkable city. Choose this hotel: you will like it.

Reviewed December 16, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Mandy from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015

LITTLE OASIS”

The beautiful, colonial building with beautiful grounds was stunning. The rooms were large and well equipped. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient.

From arrival at this beautiful place to check out, everything was amazing. The location is just outside the main hub of the city very close to the Shwedagon Pagoda. We walked into the main area where the markets and river are quite easily, although in November it was very hot & humid. After a long day sightseeing The Savoy really is a welcome oasis. Every member of staff we spoke to was very friendly, helpful and had a 'can do' attitude. We booked this as our first trip to Myanmar to get a taster and check it out in order to plan a longer trip in the future. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Yangon.

Reviewed November 21, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Alistair from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Only a brief visit but was very good”

Rooms, staff and pool

We arrived very early in the day (6am!) and they managed to check us into an available room (with upgrade). Rooms were huge and lovely old teak everywhere. Well located for the Shwedagon Pagoda (a 15-20 min stroll), but a good (cheap) taxi ride to city centre. We had lunch here but dinner in town. Food very good and attentive service. I would stay here again.

Reviewed November 21, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Deborah from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

Boutique colonial style hotel but very dark rooms”

Service, close to shwedagon pagoda, staff

Only there for 2 nights. Walking distance to Shewedagon pagoda but taxi ride to town. ( this is very cheap by the way so doesn't matter, and only 5-10 mins anywhere by taxi) Rooms dark but spacious... Shower atrocious.. Bed hard as nails! Service fantastic. Has a pool to cool off in. Meals great and reasonably priced .

Reviewed October 25, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Erika from United States
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015

Absolutely Lovely!”

Facilities, service, breakfast

Wonderful oasis in the middle of a busy city. Beautiful grounds. Courtyard with a pool, outside bar, dining, trees and bougainvillea. Classy, but not stuffy. Welcoming French Colonial hotel. Wooden floors. Tastefully decorated. The service was impeccable. Easy walk to Shwedegon pagoda.

Reviewed October 07, 2015