Book Now: Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel

Good
From 1391 reviewsSee what guests said
6.5

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1391)Booking.com Reviews (309)
6.5
Good
From 1391 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.1
Facilities5.9
Location7.5
Room comfort and quality6.4
Service6.2
Value for money7.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Bahasa Indonesia
日本語
Français
more
Room type
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Standard Double or Twin Room
Superior Double or Twin Room
Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1286 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Mohd from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Simple. What you pay What you get”
Just average hotel, but location good, small swimming pool. simple breakfast.
Reviewed February 13, 2018
6.0
Marilyn from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2017
ok for a night or two.”
Good wifi & A/C.
Reviewed January 30, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Sarwar from Bangladesh
Family with young children
Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
I will always prefer stay here”
I will always prefer stay here
Reviewed January 27, 2018
4.8
Angela from Australia
Family with young children
Two Unit Deluxe Double or Twin Rooms
Stayed 5 nights in January 2018
acceptable on a low budget”
The rooms were dark, bathroom was pretty badly in need of renovation that we didn't want to have a shower. Rooms were old and tired. Pool was nothing like in the picture. Also I had booked the family room but when I got there they didn't have the family room available so I had to get two separate rooms. For a family I would not recommend but for a solo budget traveler it's ok
Reviewed January 25, 2018
6.4
Good
MIHAJLO from Croatia
Solo traveler
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Good”
Dirty and old need renovation
Reviewed January 19, 2018
6.8
Good
Bruce from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Good”
Always friendly and welcoming staff! Nothing is a problem! Close to beach restaurants and shopping but without the noise and bustle like other areas of Kuta!
Reviewed January 18, 2018
6.4
Good
Karol from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 5 nights in January 2018
Not as it looks”
Pleace got definitely the best years behind, place doesn't look like on the pictures.It Is a bit run down and need a upgrade. Basic breakfast . Friendly staff. Ok for short stay, don't expect to much from this place
Reviewed January 12, 2018
5.2
Chong from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
The room and management is not satisfied but the day trip arrange with them is ok, And thanks Dewi ”
The management said we booked from Agoda is cheap, so our room is without aircon, luckily it was raining for few nights, I wonder how’s people stay if it is a hot season We stayed 7 nights there, and not much choices for the breakfast, ( My advice: don’t stay too long in one hotel) I wonder the bread is fresh or not, because we even got the two pieces of toasted bread with fungus on it !!
Reviewed January 10, 2018
2.0
Nurul from Malaysia
Group
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Horrible night”
Everything was dirty.From slimy floors,bed bugs.The only good thing is the kmart infront of the hotel,the best in store boy working there,the only place we knew we wouldnt get scam.
Reviewed January 09, 2018
6.8
Good
Frederick from Indonesia
Family with young children
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 7 nights in December 2017
Good option to choice”
good surrounding and nearby to downtown.
Reviewed January 05, 2018
6.8
Good
Marilyn from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 6 nights in January 2018
Ok place to stay...”
Overpriced for what you get. Rooms need updating. Pool needs an over haul as it "looks" dirty. It may be clean, but, it "looks" dirty. Rooms with fans are not too bad as the over sized roof keeps them cool,
Reviewed January 05, 2018
2.4
chanchai from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Acceptable”
So hot in a room , and very smell
Reviewed December 20, 2017
6.4
Good
Mike from Canada
Family with young children
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Meh”
It worked for what we needed but that's about it. The pool is not attractive, we got a no AC room, wouldn't recommend. Very dated place. You certainly get what you pay for. It's a budget place, but I would look at others first.
Reviewed December 20, 2017
6.4
Good
Zak
Group
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Cheap but not ideal if looking for comfortable ”
Not suitable if you looking for comfortable and relax place. Some room have bad cleanliness.
Reviewed December 15, 2017
6.4
Good
Matthew from New Zealand
Group
Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Good”
Good value for money!
Reviewed December 15, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Rebecca from Australia
Couple
Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Lovely Balinese hotel”
We have stayed here many times as it really is a lovely hotel, great value for money, friendly staff and close by shops and other facilities. The air con, hot water and wifi in our room worked well all the time too. We will definitely stay here again.
Reviewed November 30, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Bintang from Indonesia
Group
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Mighty Hotel”
Gloryfy Awesome.
Reviewed November 05, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Niels from Denmark
Couple
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Fantastisk personale”
Nice clean room even a little used. Good Breakfast. Fantastic staff helping you with anything with a.Big smile Good position if you.like a quiet stay with pool and local atmosphere. Just 10 minutes walk from the beach.
Reviewed November 04, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
marites from Philippines
Group
Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
amazing”
value for money.. cheap but very amazing place..close to legian beach... close to bright lights...i never thought it would have a bath tub considering its cheap price.. thank you sayang maha mertha hotel
Reviewed October 24, 2017
6.0
Ethan from United States
Couple
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017
Above average”
Bathroom smell is horrible and pool is at street level. Pictures do not match the experience.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
2.0
jose from France
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 5 nights in September 2017
Acceptable”
Minable.......
Reviewed October 02, 2017
2.4
elyn from Malaysia
Group
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Service sucks”
First day, i have book an aircond room from agoda, but i get a room with only a fan. And also a smelly tap water. instead of apologize to me, the receptionist being rude and scold me. And the hotel even charge for the hot water that i ask from their restaurant. No keetle or heater provided for us.
Reviewed October 01, 2017
6.4
Good
Abraham from Australia
Couple
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Purely for the budget conscious”
Firstly no air con and slowly falling to bits. A friendly welcome drink and good service but pretty run down. Pool was slightly dirty. We stayed there for all of 8 hrs to store our bags and have a check in point before flying out.
Reviewed September 16, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Kate from Australia
Solo traveler
Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Great dorm room, many bed but just me and 1 other. Not too far from beach. No hot water”
Lady at reception at night was not very friendly, could not find my second booking, told me it was not possible to hire a towel in a hotel full of towels, no hot water. Comfortable bed with air con in dorm room. Nice pool and gardens
Reviewed September 15, 2017
7.2
Very good
tasnim from Bangladesh
Family with teens
Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 6 nights in June 2016
old hotel small old pool”
rooms locks pool need renovation in no time. flush do not work. very old dirty comod in washroom. booked for three person. there should have been an extra bed but they gave a matress. good restaurant and cheap.
Reviewed September 13, 2017
7.2
Very good
Anira from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Worth the money, good location and spacious”
I got a deluxe room with balcony.. got aircond & nice clean balcony for relaxing. The food was quite delicious. U can choose western breakfast or local breakfast on ala carte menu. Free flow of tea and coffee. Good location, near Mini Mart and many restaurants in walking distance. Also there's a cheap and nice spa about 40 meters from hotel. I love the welcome drink they gave during check-in. Keep up the good job.
Reviewed September 11, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Jim from Australia
Couple
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2017
Great helpful staff.”
All the staff were pleasant & helpful.
Reviewed August 12, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Eric from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 10 nights in July 2017
Decent Place for the Price”
Good location and decent hotel for the money. Not fancy, but not toooo bad either.
Reviewed August 02, 2017
7.6
Very good
Steve from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
No Hilton hotel but great value”
it was a good for the price a little dirty security good and staff checking all areas for safety pool dirty tiles but clean and nice water temp room ok spend extra on better room not much more for aircon good location about 2 big blocks from beach good market near by will be back at that price great value
Reviewed July 31, 2017
4.8
HOANG from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Old one”
Far from Kuta beach and don't have wifi at room, pool so old and dirty
Reviewed July 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
maria from Philippines
Group
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Great place”
Best staff and location :)
Reviewed July 19, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Floist from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017
A good budget hotel”
Value for money if you are really in a tight budget. Better you choose a room upgrade because the economy room is awful, only a ceiling fan which is why it's very hot inside the room.
Reviewed July 14, 2017
8.4
Excellent
dwi from Indonesia
Family with teens
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Close to everywhere”
In walking distance to everywhere. Bars and local warungs just around the corner, laundry place, minimart, Ketut's shop & beach. Hotel is old but that doesn't worry us too much because we know we would spend most of the day outside. You get what you pay for, so don't expect too much. (Though aircond & hot water service are good). Free breakfast is only toast (with butter/jam/honey), coffee or tea, and a glass of juice. Anything else you want you have to pay extra. Friendly staff & spacious room. We were happy with our stay so will come back here next trip.
Reviewed June 27, 2017
5.6
Jason from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Don't believe the online pics- its a bit rough, terrible beds & pool grotty. Cheap & cheerful though”
Pros: excellent location based on price. Not much lot expensive over a dorm and I got private shower, double bed, tv, air con, a pool and semi in room wifi. Remember it's cheap for a reason so don't have any expectations any you'll be ok. Oh I would strongly recommend not having a fan only room, that was my original booking and I had to move because it was unbearable! Cons: awful bed, rubbish mattress and grim comforter. Rubbishy shower that was not much quicker than the tap. Hotel is really delapidated. Very rough and dirty all around. The pool doesn't look anything like the pics. So, so run down which is a shame. Corridors to get to get rooms are narrow and dark which is not a nice feeling. If however you just want a private room with no frills and a nice mattress doesn't matter then it's good value for money. It's just so many other hotels with a higher quality for not much more. It was ok all in all
Reviewed June 13, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Tristan from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Booked for 3 nights but stayed 10”
Great 2 star hotel. This rating is based on judging it as a 2 star hotel and not in comparison to 5 star resorts. My room # 600 was perfectly placed above the pool. It was a fan only room (no AC). I like the heat and prefer a fan instead of AC while i sleep. Plus it make the room cheaper. I paid $11 a night which was a bargain. When i arrived I was placed in to a larger room but it was closer to the road so i request a room that would be quieter. The staff made this happen and as a result i had a great stay. I booked for 3 night but just loved the room, hotel location and price..
Reviewed June 04, 2017
3.6
fang from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Acceptable”
Hidden hotel far away from centre,dirty n old,very rude stuff,hard bed to sleep,no hot water,everything is horrible here,awful.
Reviewed May 24, 2017
5.2
meri from Finland
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2011
Old.”
You can get so much better for same money
Reviewed May 15, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Muhammad from Indonesia
Group
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
decent place to stay at kuta”
The staffs are remarkably friendly. Looking forward for next time.
Reviewed May 13, 2017
7.2
Very good
MD from Bangladesh
Group
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Very nice”
I am visited the hotel. Its very nice n clean. Very good systems. I enjoyed this hotel.
Reviewed May 12, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Okto from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Excellent”
Great hotel and value money
Reviewed April 16, 2017
7.6
Very good
james from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
2 night stay for Nyepi”
Lovely staff..lots of travellers around the pool..nice atmosphere..but very basic and a rather 'cramped' feeling. Breakfast very basic.
Reviewed March 30, 2017
7.6
Very good
PETER from United States
Couple
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 10 nights in March 2017
Reception staff need to learn to smile and be friendly to guestd. Especially the man with glasses wh”
Good value.
Reviewed March 28, 2017
7.2
Very good
Kerry from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Good”
We had our room tidied every day which was awesome. Onsite restaurant was handy, we never used it as there is good wee warungs across the road. Cons, my flip flops got stolen from the lobby, get constantly pestered from staff asking if you need transport.
Reviewed March 26, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Joe from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Alright ”
Not a bad place but not a good place either. An alright stay if it's cheap, don't think too much of the pool though
Reviewed March 20, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Ivan from Indonesia
Group
Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Value for money”
Nice hotel..very close to the Kuta Beach, a lot of souvenir shops nearby.. Have a little problem in the bathroom though, the door tends to open, the closet button not working properly, and the water pours poorly in the bath tub..but overall is fine..
Reviewed March 13, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Katerina from Belarus
Family with teens
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
We like this place!”
Good swimming pool, good breakfast, good staf, chip price
Reviewed March 13, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Gerhard from Sweden
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 7 nights in September 2016
Excellent”
Perfect location in Legian, clean room and friendly staff
Reviewed February 24, 2017
6.4
Good
Viraj from Sri Lanka
Family with young children
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017
Good”
It's a good hotel.not happy with the breakfast only 2 slices of bread and butter free.AC rooms are recommended due to mosquitoes and temperature.
Reviewed February 22, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Z from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Exceptional”
More than enough for value for money. Daily room cleaning service, no disturbance board if you do not wish to be disturbed. Continental breakfast everyday (toast+fruit+ tea/coffee) . Staff was friendly and helpful. No hot water but then again, the weather was hot hence didn't need hot water. Pool was clean and fresh towels were available whenever asked for. Kitchen was always open to serve. Cheap food for those who wish to eat however no halal food was available (but Bali is a Hindu city so that cannot be an issue as plenty of Halal options for muslims outside) Will highly recommend.
Reviewed February 18, 2017
6.0
andhika
Solo traveler
Standard Double or Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
good”
according to the price
Reviewed February 11, 2017