8.4
Excellent
/10
(834 reviews)See what guests said
See map
9.1

Exceptional

Location rating score

Exceptional location
Parking
Available
Popular landmarks
Disk Den 50 m
Hard To Find Secondhand Bookshop 60 m
Milford Galleries 80 m
Rialto Cinemas 110 m
Quadrant Gallery 120 m
Toast 140 m
12 Below 140 m
Pequeno 140 m
Temple Gallery 140 m
Automobile Association 170 m
Nearby landmarks
Speight's Brewery 210 m
Knox Church 1.07 km
Olveston Historic Home 1.1 km
Otago Museum 1.32 km
Baldwin Street 3.89 km
Tunnel Beach 5.96 km
Larnach Castle & Gardens 9.79 km
The Royal Albatross Centre 20.71 km
Otago Peninsula 20.78 km
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

"We stayed in seven hotels in nine days and he was memorable for being informative, professional, helpful and completely free of arrogance."

Anna - July 20, 2018
Standard King Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
 Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Lobby Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
See all 41 photos
Removed from saved list
Free Wi-Fi

Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

123 Princes Street, City Center, Dunedin, New Zealand, 9016 - See map
Property highlights
Front desk [24-hour]
Hassle-free check in
Close to Speight's Brewery
Within 210 m of property
  • 540 meters to public transportation

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Bar

  • Fitness center

  • Laundry service

Value for money7.9
Location rating9.1
Nearest airportDunedin International Airport (DUD)
Distance to airport23.9 km

Rooms available at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Excellent
Room comfort & quality
8.4
1 Bedroom Executive Suite
1 Bedroom Executive Suite
...
  • Room size: 37 m²/398 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Executive Room King
Executive Room King
...
  • Room size: 39 m²/420 ft²
  • Harbor view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Superior King
Superior King
...
  • Room size: 39 m²/420 ft²
  • Harbor view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Twin QQ
Superior Twin QQ
...
  • Room size: 39 m²/420 ft²
  • Harbor view
  • 2 queen beds
Enter dates to see prices
Executive Queen
Executive Queen
...
  • Room size: 39 m²/420 ft²
  • Shower
  • 2 double beds
Enter dates to see prices
Executive Room QQ
Executive Room QQ
...
  • Room size: 39 m²/420 ft²
  • Harbor view
  • 2 queen beds
Enter dates to see prices
Executive Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
Executive Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
...
  • Room size: 33 m²/355 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 2 queen beds
Enter dates to see prices
Standard King
Standard King
...
  • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Harbor view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Twin
Standard Twin
...
  • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Harbor view
  • 2 double beds
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
...
  • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Shower
  • 2 double beds
Enter dates to see prices

What people love about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

  • 9.2
    Exceptional
    Staff 

    "Staff excellent, big rooms, grate location, cleaning staff very pleasant,"

    christopher

    |

    April 14, 2019

  • 9.2
    Exceptional
    Location

    "The hotel is very conveniently located near to the town centre (Octagon)."

    CHARNCHAI

    |

    June 14, 2018

  • 7.2
    Very good
    Location

    "Location is great and close to restaurants and shops."

    Hay

    |

    January 9, 2018

Property ranking|Compared to 230 Dunedin properties
See all rankings
Location score
9.1/10
Room comfort score
8.4/10
Room size
40 sqm.
Cleanliness score
8.7/10
Better than
94
%
of Dunedin properties
Better than
93
%
of Dunedin properties
Bigger than
93
%
of Dunedin properties
Better than
87
%
of Dunedin properties
Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
Overall rating:
8.4
Excellent
834 reviews
Cleanliness
8.7
Facilities
7.6
Location
9.1
Read all reviews >
What travelers say they love:
The trainee on duty when we booked in was impressive and set...
Anna from Australia
Family with older children
More about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

More about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

A gorgeous and elegant hotel, this property is minutes away from the Octagon and the heart of the city. Whether you're here on business or for leisure, Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is ideal for all. With a plethora of retail outlets and city attractions nearby, guests are guaranteed a convenient and comfortable stay. Comprised of stylish and designer furnishings, this hotel also makes available all necessary amenities needed for a lavishing stay. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is definitely a great place if you are planning to explore the city!

Show less

Most talked about facilities

Housekeeping
22 mentions
Car Park
7 mentions
Breakfast
5 mentions
Food & Dining
1 mention

What they offer

9.2
Exceptional
Staff 

"The staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a good b..."

CHARNCHAI

|

June 14, 2018

View all reviews
Show less

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

Food and dining

Restaurants on site

Princes on Dowling
Menu:Buffet

What's nearby

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

Property's guest policies

Show less

Some helpful facts

Show less

Reviews of Scenic Hotel Dunedin City from real guests

Overall rating
8.4
Excellent
From 834 reviews
9.1Location
8.6Cleanliness
8.6Service
Agoda Reviews (219)Booking.com Reviews (615)
Rating via Agoda8.3
/
10
Cleanliness8.7
Facilities7.6
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality8.4
Service8.3
Value for money7.9
High score for Dunedin
Rating
9+ Exceptional (56)
8-9 Excellent (50)
7-8 Very Good (46)
6-7 Good (13)
<6 Below Expectation (17)
Time of the year
Mar - May (38)
Jun - Aug (28)
Sep - Nov (43)
Dec - Feb (73)
All guests (219)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 182 verified guest comments
12345
10.0
Exceptional
Jenny from New Zealand
Couple
Standard King
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014

Superb! We loved our two night stay in Dunedin!”

Friendly and helpful staff, very clean and well located.

I hadn't stayed in Dunedin for many years and wasn't sure where to book, but based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor we tried the Scenic Hotel. We couldn't have been happier. The staff were amazing - very friendly and obliging. The room was exceptionally clean and well appointed. We couldn't believe we were in a standard room as it was huge and had beautiful views across the city. Valet parking was only $10 a night and great value.

Reviewed February 25, 2014
8.0
Excellent
John from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior King
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

Great Location for Dunedin central”

BIG rooms, decent rooms

The Scenic Hotel Dunedin City may be called scenic, but its location is anything but. The location is superb for eating and drinking at the octagon and for us this was the hotel's best feature. The room was huge which was great and the complimentary toiletries in the bathroom were excellent and replenished each day. We had Xmas dinner at the Scenic Hotel Dunedin City and the food was of a decent standard. All in all we were happy with our Xmas day meal. The only negative for the Scenic Hotel Dunedin City in our eyes was the room got a lot of sun during the day and there was no air conditioning which in a hotel which bills itself as the best in Dunedin was a little disappointing.

Reviewed January 03, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Johnson from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2011

Great Location”

Location! Location! Location!
Shower Door

The Scenic Hotel is right at the city centre. You can reach Octagon, Dunedin Railway Station, First Church, etc. by walk. There are pay parking space outside hotel and also very competitive valet parking. The only issue is the shower facility. The door is really too big that almost trapped me inside.

Reviewed January 05, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Jane from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Executive Room King
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016

Best replacement choice from Agoda”

Situation, helpful staff, excellent room

I had originally booked to stay at another hotel, but they backed out at the last minute and Agoda found me this one. Frankly, I think they did me a huge favour, as the Scenic was a much better hotel in a superb, convenient location in the middle of Dunedin. Large numbers of tour groups use this hotel but they seem geared up for it and the individual traveller is well looked after as well.

Reviewed February 23, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Mei from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard King
Stayed 1 night in October 2011

Lovely hotel and value for money”

great location

This lovely new hotel is located right in the city, with just 2-3 minutes walk to Octagon. Lots of nice restaurants just within steps. Clean and big room. Helpful and friendly hotel staff. The i-Site is just located 2 minutes walk across the road. I will return to this hotel for sure my next trip to Dunedin.

Reviewed November 01, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Joseph from South Africa
Business traveler
Superior King
Stayed 1 night in July 2011

Great Location”

Location, Gym, Rooms

The hotel is located in the city centre close to all the sites of Dunedin. The rooms are incredbly large and the room service was great. I would pick this hotel for all future trips to Dunedin.

Reviewed July 25, 2011
8.7
Excellent
James from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015

Dunedin Scenic Hotel”

Location. Cleanliness. Quietness.

The Scenic Hotel is easily accessible by city bus and by foot. Stores, cafes, restaurants, several museums, and historic sites are found within comfortable walking distances. The front desk staff were welcoming and helpful. I'd definitely stay here again. I didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, but the survey required a rating.

Reviewed January 23, 2015
7.3
Very good
Michael from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Twin QQ
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

Comfortable, centrally located hotel. ”

Large bedroom with two double beds.

The Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is very well located in central Dunedin. It usefully has valet parking, so we were able to park right in front and have our luggage taken up to our room, even though we were in the busy city centre. The rooms appear to have been recently refurbished and were large and comfortable. Front desk staff were helpful.

Reviewed December 13, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Pearl from United States
Couple
Superior King
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

Best hotel we stayed in during our trip in NZ”

Great location, friendly staff, reasonable price

This waw the best hotel we stayd in during our whole trip in NZ. The room was very large and clean. The price was the cheap by comparison with the other hotels we stayed in. Hotel staff was also very friendly. They helped us book shuttle bus to the airport as well as tour to various places in the city. Overall very good experience!

Reviewed April 23, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
CLIFFORD from Singapore
Family with young children
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

Love the hotel”

Location, Friendliness, spacious rooms

Chose the hotel for its proximity to the Octagon and a good selection of restaurants. We were a small family and had just driven in from Queenstown; so we appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness shown by the hotel staff. The room was spacious and it overlooks the city. It was very clean and comfortable. Food was also great. Definitely worth the money we paid. Will come here again if we visit the city.

Reviewed June 25, 2015
9.2
Exceptional
Margaret from New Zealand
Family with teens
Superior Twin QQ
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Need airconditioning”

We always stay in the Hotel when we are in Dunedin, however the airconditioning was not working in any of our rooms (we had 3) and although it is wonderful in winter, it was very stifling and we found it unbearably hot. Trying to sleep was a nightmare. Please look into accommodating for the hot summer months.

Reviewed December 11, 2017

Dear Margaret Thanks for your feedback, unfortunately while the hotel does have heating unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in the majority of our rooms which included the rooms that you had booked. Our more recently built Executive floor does include air con so perhaps in future if you are here when the weather may be warmer these may be a better option for you. Kind regards Kate

Responded December 14, 2017
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
8.7
Excellent
Graeme from Australia
Couple
Standard King
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

Beautiful Hotel & Friendly Staff”

Location & Helpful Staff

Wish we could have stayed longer. Unfortunately we had limited time with, so much to see and do, in our short holiday around the beautiful South Island of New Zealand. The hotel room was very well equipped. The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions for getting around town. We didn't have time for breakfast but our view of the dining area showed there was plenty of delicious buffet to choose from. We look forward to visiting again and hopefully, a longer stay in Dunedin.

Reviewed March 24, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Christian from Australia
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

Enjoy my quick visit in Dunedin”

Most comfortable bed, clean, in the centre of the city

It has one of the most comfortable beds i've ever slept in. The room is sleek modern, clean and in the good location (within walking distance to restaurants, cafes, city landmark and casino). The only downside of my room, it has pretty thin windows. It was friday night and i think the hotel is centrally located close to pubs/clubs that it was pretty noisy with screams and people's noise from having goodtime outside. Better window insulation would be great for quieter sleep for the guests. I don't mind so much about the noise much than being worried if it's actually a brawl or any incidents occuring downstairs/outside rather than just noises from people having good time downstairs.

Reviewed December 01, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Jonathan from Germany
Business traveler
Superior Twin QQ
Stayed 12 nights in November 2011

Clean, comfortable rooms and central location”

Located directly near the Octagon - the heart of Dunedin town

i had a very pleasant stay at the hotel. the room was clean and had good facilities. the hotel is located very centrally in dunedin, with only 3 minutes walk to the octagon (town central gastronomic hub) and tourist information office (i-site). my only complaint: the breakfast was a bit dear for what it was, but there are many cafes nearby that offer cheaper and better alternatives. i plan to stay here again on my next trip to dunedin.

Reviewed November 22, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Noreen from New Zealand
Couple
Standard King
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013

Dunedin met our expectations - a return visit”

central location, lovely clean room, interesting activities and restaurants nearby

This was a return visit and again Dunedin and the Scenic Hotel didn't disappoint. We will return.

Reviewed September 15, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Sishi from China
Family with young children
Superior Twin QQ
Stayed 1 night in February 2016

Great location and value for money”

Location, room size

In the center of Dunedin, close to the famous railway station as well as restaurants, shops. Superior twin QQ room is very spacious with two double beds, well sleeps 2adults+2 children. Great value for money!

Reviewed February 09, 2016
7.7
Very good
Ethan from Singapore
Couple
Standard King
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

Excellent stay”

Centrally located, friendly staff and comfortable rooms

We had a very late check in as we were rushing over from Oamaru. We reached Dunedin at 12am which is already Christmas night. The staff is still very prompt in checking us in and also the room service was readily available as well despite the festive period. Would be back at Scenic hotels again during my next NZ trip.

Reviewed January 05, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Robert from Australia
Couple
Standard King
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016

Huge Room , Cosy bed ”

bIg comfy bed , location and great shower

In the heart of the city , close to Octogon, Restaurants and walking distance to many attractions. Hotel could do with some sprucing up in the public areas , lifts and hallways but room was excellent & extra large . It was warm and comfy with huge TV . All amenities were clean and staff friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Reviewed January 20, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Lily from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Triple
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

Hotel with great location & spacious room”

Very near to otagon square n waliking distance to restaurants n pubs.

We stayed in a room for 3 person n the room was very spacious n clean . We arrived late n not yet have dinner, after we checked in we just walk out from hotel n we can easily find restaurant n pubs thst open late til midnight. Is very near to otagon square and u can easily access to nearby attraction like church, cadburry factory etc by walking. I definitely will stay in this hotel again if i will ho back to Dunedin

Reviewed March 01, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Christine from Philippines
Family with teens
Standard Twin
Stayed 6 nights in January 2017

Scenic Hotel is Excellent”

The place is in the center of everything. Staff are very courteous. Will definitely stay here when we come back in Dunedin.

Reviewed January 18, 2017
12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss

null