Book Now: Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant

Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant Reviews

Very good
From 3013 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (3013)Booking.com Reviews (609)
7.8
Very good
From 3013 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.1
Facilities7.5
Location7.5
Room comfort and quality7.9
Service7.9
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
ภาษาไทย
Deutsch
more
Room type
Superior Garden View
Deluxe Ocean View
Family Deluxe
Junior Suite Ocean View
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 2757 verified guest comments
7.6
Very good
michael from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017
NICE RESORT”
STUNNING VIEWS IF YOU CHOOSE THE RIGHT ROOMS ......... but would not recommend it it if you are elderly or infirmed. as most of the bungalows are on a very steep hills... AND UNLESS YOU MANAGE TO GET THE LOCAL..HOTEL BUGGY i would not recommend this hotel if you are incapacitated in any way
Reviewed February 01, 2018
3.2
Olande from Singapore
Couple
Superior Villa Sunset View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Fake photo's, poor customer service, a complete fraud of a hotel”
If you enjoy being welcomed by a mountain of rubbish on your doorstep then this is the place for you. Also if you enjoy risking your life by crossing one of the most dangerous roads, on a blind bend then risk staying here. We booked at the hotel, and were located across the road next to the staff quarters, when we complained we were threatened with worse accommodation. Completely false advertisement, such an absolute waste of a spot - not customer service, no value for money, clueless managers.
Reviewed January 30, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Lorne from Netherlands
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in January 2018
Our Stay at Secret Cliff”
Secret Cliff is located on a hilly section between Patong Beach and Karon Beach. The resort has a busy highway going through the property. If you should ever stay there stay on the side of the ocean and choose any accommodation without the word Villa in it. Then you will be on most beautiful side with lovely gardens, quiet, great view of the ocean. Beware that the resort has no beach so you will need to take a shuttle bus to Karon Beach (much quieter) or Patong Beach for those wanting to live the wild party life. Patong however has the better shopping. Staff were friendly and the upgraded room Villa Room was very good with a magnificent view of the ocean.
Reviewed January 25, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
ANIZA from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Nice view”
They upgrade our room from deluxe sea view to junior suite ocean view for free..
Reviewed January 22, 2018
5.6
sidney from Brazil
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Disappointing.”
I was very disappointed with the hotel staff. The reception Manager was not helpful. The staff needs a lot of training. They are rude and specially the concierge people. They make no effort to help you. I made the reservation with Agoda for our family, me, wife and 3 children, and I paid for an extra bed at the time of the reservation all including breakfast. When I got there they told me the family room would fit just the couple and 2 children and not the 3rd child and there was just 1 double bed and 1 single bed to sleep every 5 people. Impossible to sleep everyone. I had to pay for another extra bed. So My complain is with the hotel which did not follow the AGODA RESERVATION and they did not care about my satisfaction for the first time in Thailand. Besides that the HOTEL is well located considering the view of the ocean. But It has no access to the hotel beach. You have to get transportation to the other beaches. Besides that, the pool is very nice and clean.
Reviewed January 21, 2018
4.0
Sachin from India
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Year End Stay”
We stayed there for 3 nights during new year celebration, really disappointed with the staff, even the front desk. Very negative attitude showed to the guests. Nothing clean, the utensils from other rooms were there for entire day/night and lots of mosquitos were around. Very limited or No toiletries provided in the room.
Reviewed January 20, 2018
2.0
MITCHELL from United States
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
Good View, Nothing Else”
This hotel is in the middle of nowhere....great ocean view from my balcony, however, that is where this good reviews ends....The staff are not very helpful and was quite rude from the check-in process. Granted on the first night, it was raining, I would hope that someone working the front desk would tell me what I need to check-in, rather than walk from my car 3 times in the pouring rain. Now, on to the breakfast, this was an adventure because breakfast was terrible every day. And on my final day there, I got food poisoning and had to sleep my last day in my room sick as a dog. I can't believe how some of these places stay in business, but oh well on to the next adventure.
Reviewed January 16, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Kaitlyn from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Excellent”
Great view. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Built on a steep hill with busy road to cross. Not walkable To shops, beaches, restaurants etc. Great if you want to stay at the hotel or day trip to beach they do offer shuttle service.
Reviewed January 10, 2018
5.2
Svitlana from Ukraine
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Would not recommend it”
Nice location, but poor service We didn’t get the room we booked Restaurant has wonderful view, but food on NY dinner was not tasty.
Reviewed January 07, 2018
4.8
SALMIZA from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Have to pay for the towel that we used”
We stayed there for 4D3N. The hotel did not change our towel on the 2nd day. We just keep quite on this as we do not want to make any fuss. When we wanted to check out on the 4th day, the hotel staff claimed that we stained one of our towels and the stain could not be removed. They insist and pressed us further to pay for the towel. End of the story, we made the payment of 600 bath. We brought back the towel and wash it at home... walla... the stain had gone! As a frequent traveller, we never experience been asked by the hotel to pay for the dirty towel that we used. We were recommended by our friend to stay there. The hotel is nice and cozy and privacy, but sorry, we would not recommend to others to stay there as we felt cheated.
Reviewed January 02, 2018
7.6
Very good
Jessica from United States
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Great views but not all seaview rooms were unobstructed by trees”
Nice cliff views and you can climb down to the rocks on the shore (carefully!) but not easy to access the beach
Reviewed January 01, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Isabelle from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
It’s pretty”
Good quiet place, the bed is comfortable very clean. It’s a relaxing place outside of busy patong but not too far so you can still go there easily by taxi. There’s no private beach but you can always pay 2000bath to use the private beach at the meridian next door without paying there expensive rooms or go to freedom beach or patong beach from there.
Reviewed December 30, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
aydin from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 11 nights in December 2017
The Very Best Hotel”
We celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary while staying at the Secret Cliff Resort and it couldn't have been better,excellent for everything, the staff were very accommodating and so helpful.The gardens are beautiful,so quiet and you really feel like your away from everything,only wish we had more time, but definetely our next trip to Phuket we know where we will be staying.Secret Cliff Resort and Restaurant gets a big 10/10 from us.
Reviewed December 26, 2017
4.4
Rusz from Hungary
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
NOT holiday-friendly”
The rooms and the view from the room and from the restaurant were very beautiful. But the hotel does not have direct road to the see or any beach. If you don't want to stay all day at the hotel, you should know the Karon beach is 30 minutes and the Patong beach is more than 1 hour on foot. The hotel provide only one shuttle bus per day to the Patong (12 o'clock) as well as to Karon beach (10 o'clock) and one shuttle bus back from the beaches around 4 o'lock! So if you don't want to walk along a busy winding road without pavement, and you would like to stay on the beach after 4 o'clock you should catch a tuk tuk or rent a scooter. One way by tuk tuk was 200 Baht for two person between Karon beach and the hotel (5 minutes by car). When you are booking this hotel, you should calculate these extra charges. I read more people wrote the staff was very nice, unfortunately we didn't recognize this politeness at all. :(
Reviewed December 17, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Yu from China
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 7 nights in December 2017
A wonderful experience with amazing ocean view”
If you ask me what impress me most here. I would definitely say the beautiful natural scenery and you can have a comprehensive ocean view when you enjoy the breakfast or dinner in its restaurant. Meanwhile, it has a swimming pool with endless edge. Although someone would say it is small, but the beautiful ocean view and music will make it a romantic place especially you stay with who you love. Since the hotel is on the hill, which may make traffic inconvenient, but that's no problem because we rent a motor bicycle, it takes 10 minites to karon beach or patong beach, besides it has shuttle bus to those 2 beaches with fixed time. The only disadvantage is the room has spider and gecko, which makes me scared. Anyway, love Phuket, a lovely journey here. Thank you secret cliff
Reviewed December 10, 2017
4.4
Abhiraj from India
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Worst Hotel in Phuket”
I have never had such a displeased stay at any hotel ever. To begin with the front desk and all staff is extremely rude and arrogant..the hotel asks for usd 100 deposit to cover their mini bar menu (I hv not seen any hotel do this before). The resort is located far from Karon and patong Beach. Despite this they only have one shuttle going to n fro from both beaches during the day. I experienced the worst experience today while checking out. The hotel buggy came to take the luggage from the room and to drop us the the reception for check out. As the hotel is located on a cliff there is a steep slope /hike going to the reception area. The driver of the buggy was so reckless while driving and suddenly accelerated the car while going on the slope giving such a bad jerk that it threw my wife off the car and fell on the road and tumbled down the slope. The suffered bad bruises on her body. Despite this the driver and the entire front desk staff was unapologetic about the whole incident. The fall also resulted is damaging a lot of expensive souvenirs we we had purchased. A good hotel and management would have offered compensation however the manager was also unwilling to make good decisions about the loss initially. After arguing for about an hour she compensated for the broken goods. However the manager did not offer to compensate for the bodily injury and mental trauma suffered by wife and me due to the reckless and negligent act of their staff. They were shameless enough to say that the insurance does not cover such an accident and hence they can't compensate. How can an insurance company cover any accidents caused due to careless attitude of the staff. I should be compensated for this physical and mental injury and agony caused to us.
Reviewed December 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Ronnakit from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Great room, great view ”
This resort is located in beautiful cliff it’s perfect to stay here without going anywhere else. Food was overpriced and it wasnt taste good at all. Not recommend for backpacker.
Reviewed November 24, 2017
4.4
Monica from United States
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Over-priced food, dirty pool, poor WiFi, over-priced to get into town”
Pros: beautiful grounds, occasional free shuttles to Karon and Patong Cons: very steep with a lot of stairs, staff will sit with gold carts in front of you and flat out refuse to give you a ride up the hill, breaking down and unacceptable bathroom, hard beds, poor WiFi connection, too expensive to get into and out of town via TukTuk, poor responsiveness from staff to guest’s needs, molding and smelly pool with breaking tile, very few loungers at pool all with dirty cushions, bugs and spiders in room, resort food is extremely overpriced for the quality
Reviewed November 21, 2017
7.6
Very good
Arindam from India
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Wonderful location and view”
I love this place.Swimming pool is just awesome.We stayed in room number 144 which have sea view.It was raining and ambiance was great..Staff was good Though could be better ...they didnot helpped us to arrange a scooty..Breakfast was good...
Reviewed November 19, 2017
5.2
Antony from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Family Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017
Overpriced ”
Family room was ok but worst shower I have ever experienced in a hotel. Pool area was rundown and needed some renovation. Food and drinks were nice but double the price of any of the other hotels we stayed at! 3* hotel with prices of 5*. Great views so suppose that what you pay for! Would I stay again..NO
Reviewed November 19, 2017
6.8
Good
chi from Macau
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Ok”
Ok
Reviewed November 17, 2017
7.6
Very good
Guadalupe from United States
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
What a view but so noisy”
The view was breathtaking from the room but we stayed in a room that was under the breakfast/restaurant area which was a bad idea... Every night and morning we would hear chairs moving, people walking and the loud music it didn't let us sleep, staff was friendly, breakfast was not that good...
Reviewed November 14, 2017
8.4
Excellent
SIWAPORN from Thailand
Group
Family Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Nice view”
The hotel has beautiful view and closed to the beach. There is shuttle bus there from the hotel. But I think it is too expensive for the hotel that has no access to the sea. Staffs are very nice. :)
Reviewed November 13, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Mainak from India
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Awesome View, VFM experience”
Stayed here for 3N last week. The resort is located between the bustling beaches of Patong and Karon. Since, it's on a cliff, guests can enjoy an amazing view of Karon Beach. Coming to my experience, the hotel did not allow me to check in early. That was a disappointment but it looks like the standard norm in Thailand. The restaurant provides excellent food and has a good collection of wine. I felt that it's a bit expensive considering the quality and quantity. I stayed in a sea facing room that was very comfortable. Enjoyed the views from my balcony and had a great sleep. Overall an impressive experience.
Reviewed November 05, 2017
2.0
chris from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 7 nights in October 2017
Infestation of Rats, huge ones.”
Changed rooms twice, because of rat infestations. You expect a few rats in SE Asia but not in your room and certainly not again after you change rooms to different block - Major infestation here- quite the health hazard. Dread to think what the kitchens are like.
Reviewed November 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Marek from Poland
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 11 nights in July 2017
Best as it could be.”
It was pleasure to stay in this resort. Beautiful view from the pool. Quiet.
Reviewed October 27, 2017
8.0
Excellent
LIEGUI from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Nice View (Partial Sea View)”
Nice room and big for 3-4 peoples. Quite surrounding and good for rest n relax.
Reviewed October 22, 2017
7.2
Very good
Chin from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Nice view by the poolside”
Overall, it is a great place for a photo op
Reviewed October 20, 2017
7.6
Very good
Charton from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Old hotel”
facilities need a refresh in life....
Reviewed October 17, 2017
7.6
Very good
sarawan from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Very good”
You may ask for the details of the ocean view room whether it has panorama sea view or not, some rooms' views may be blocked by the trees.
Reviewed October 09, 2017
3.6
Veselin from Austria
Family with teens
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Lizards in the room!”
Very nice hotel in the middle of a tropical vegetation and an impressive sea views. Later in the evening our child is running anxiously from the other room. 3 lizard walking on the wall, the biggest about a large span. I am calling the reception desk and asking another room. We are sorry, the hotel is full... but actually lizards are everywhere, is the answer... Don't worry, they are not dangerous, calm me from the reception... And send me a thai gringo, armed with... a RAID against cockroaches... The next day I complain again at the reception desk and warn them I will write what I am writing now... The two girls at the reception are grinning... Finally on our departure they want we pay some missing towel! Omg I say, we are travelling with a hand luggage, check it please! I don't know why this hotel is available on this site but I would like to warn its future clients about disappointments and troubles that we have experienced.
Reviewed October 08, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Sasikan from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
The best scenic!”
Stayed at Deluxe Ocean View - love the moment of wine with sunset at the balcony. And the wind at the lobby and breakfast place is so fresh. The scenic of that room is unforgettable. However, if you expected, NO beach, it's located on the cliff as its name and the road inside resort is very steep. If you like the beach, the resort is not so far from Patong beach.
Reviewed October 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Yuen from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Exceptional”
The hotel’s room at awesome and relax-able. I would spend more time to stay in the hotel’s room for relax. .
Reviewed September 30, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Muljadi from Indonesia
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Good view”
Good for honeymoon or rilex time.. Not crowded...and the sea is very clean
Reviewed September 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
David from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
amazing ”
amazing place, great service and amazing staff. next trip will be staying here
Reviewed September 10, 2017
6.8
Good
wong from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Good”
nice ocean view, nice room, clean... but disappointed of the staff, they falsely accused we broken the glass even we explained we sure we did not. Not because 100thb, is because the wronged..before check out the room, make sure the cleaner check up all the items is complete before go out the room.
Reviewed September 09, 2017
5.6
jeremy from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Alice at the restaurant needs to replace joy in managment. Joy has no heart. Alice is beautiful! ”
Sea side should be called road side... Joy needs to be fired. Alice needs to be promoted. King prawns need to be looked after better. Less nasty idiots more people with the heart to not just take your money and prick you.
Reviewed September 06, 2017
8.8
Excellent
erizal from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Good view, good location”
Staffs are friendly, the bellboy is kind enough to deliver us to the room with golf car. This place is a best place for people who are looking for ocean view yet far from the noise of the main district. The location is on the cliff between Patong Beach and Karon Beach, but unfortunately both beaches are not on walking distance. The hotel provides shuttle to the beaches, though. If you do not wish to wait for the shuttle, you may call a taxi or rent motorcycle from the hotel. I'd definitely come back for sure!
Reviewed August 24, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Andre from Sri Lanka
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Excellent”
really lovely place this was. one of the best in phuket. stay here for a real relaxing time. good food. good views.
Reviewed August 18, 2017
8.0
Excellent
jessica from United States
Group
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Great Value for Price ”
The hotel was located in a beautiful spot along the cliff. Great view of ocean from room. Great hotel for the price! Please do not come stay here expecting to receive 5 star amenities when the price you are paying is a steal. However, there were a few things I wish would have been better such as: the air conditioner kept cutting on and off, the bath tub did not have a shower curtain (nor good water pressure) so every time we took a shower it would get the floor all wet. Also having an actual room key to keep up with was a little inconvenient versus a thin card to keep inside your wallet. Lastly, in order to get to our room there were literally 80 stairs lol. This wasn't a problem for myself and some of the group, but my older mother had a hard time. She would have to call for a ride due to her bad knees. But besides those factors, the staff is friendly, provides timed shuttles to and from certain beaches and shopping areas, and has beautiful landscaping.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
7.6
Very good
Adriana from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
beautiful place”
Very beautiful hotel , far away from all the buzz. Amazing rooms with fabulous sea view. The only bad thing is the time of the free shuttles to Patong and Karon. There are no shuttles early morning or in the evenings. That put us on the hands of local taxis that are more expansive then London.
Reviewed August 03, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Pawinee from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Beautiful location, great pool, and espectacular view.”
No beach, just beautiful cliff.
Reviewed August 02, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Mohammad from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
A superb retreat”
Cozy with great views and excellent staff.
Reviewed August 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
prabakaran from India
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Facilities & Staff”
Excellent Hospitality. Staffs were very friendly. Very good internet service. Excellent Break fast options.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
6.8
Good
Lawrence from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Worth it if you intend to relax in the resort all day”
Secluded from the busy and touristy Patong area. You'll need to rent a motorcycle or car to properly explore the Phuket. Internet is decent, pool is ridiculously small. Daily breakfast isn't fantastic in any way. Come late and you'll see ants all over the fruits. We suspect that at least one of the staff abuses animals. Stray cats to be precise.
Reviewed July 27, 2017
2.8
SANJEEV from Singapore
Family with young children
Family Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Acceptable”
worst resort. no shops. snakes. power failure 5 times. steep slope to all rooms with f1 buggy driver so rude when approached. breakfast very limited which does not make u go again. nothing great at all
Reviewed July 27, 2017
2.8
SANJEEV from Singapore
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
worst resort which i have stayed in phuket”
1 rooms were not the ones we booked. troubled us by giving another room and shift to another room next day 2. a very friendly visitor (snake) cobra visited us early in the morning at our door step. 3. which ever room u take all are in steep slope. u definitely need the buggy to fetch u to the reception area. buggy drivers drives like a F1 car. when approached claims that he knows how he drive and will not slow down on turns and will continue to jam his brakes. very rude. 4. breakfast has only limited selections. daily same menu. 5. the power trips min 5 times daily. I regretted booking the resort. the 1 n only thing is good is the view from certain rooms. but watch out for visitors. no shops at all by walking distance. I hope those who stay here will give a true feedback so it benefits the others. thanks
Reviewed July 27, 2017
7.2
Very good
AHMED from Qatar
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Good for relaxing ”
Good view and nice place to stay and relax
Reviewed July 22, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Tan from Malaysia
Group
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Very good”
Must stay , nice food nice view nice staff 😘😋
Reviewed July 21, 2017
8.8
Excellent
chidploy from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Nice”
It's high up to mount but so nice view from a room. So expensive but I understood, This Koh is so nice and I'm happy to stay at this hotel. Good service, great view.
Reviewed July 19, 2017