Book Now: Settha Palace

Excellent8.1
Based on 177 reviews
93% would recommend to a friend

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (177)
Booking.com Reviews (62)

8.1

Filter by guest type:
Excellent
based on 177 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Room comfort and quality 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 7.5
Excellent
based on 30 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Room comfort and quality 9.2
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 7.7
Excellent
based on 97 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Room comfort and quality 8.3
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 7.5
Very good
based on 26 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Room comfort and quality 8.1
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 6.8
Excellent
based on 6 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Room comfort and quality 8.7
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 8.7
Excellent
based on 7 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 8.7
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 7.1
Excellent
based on 11 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Room comfort and quality 7.5
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 8.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:

Language
  • English
  • 日本語
  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • 한국어
  • Nederlands
  • ภาษาไทย
  • Español
  • 繁體中文 (台灣)
  • 简体中文
  • Svenska
more less

Room type
  • Deluxe King
  • Deluxe Twin
  • Executive Suite
  • Standard Queen

Sort by
Showing 162 verified guest comments
  • clear all

10.0
Matthias from Germany
Solo traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
Outstanding!”
Great flair, friendly staff, top location
Reviewed April 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
MICHAEL from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
A very calm and well maintained hotel in the heart of Vientiane”
Very pleasant, calm and well maintained hotel. Great staff and nothing was too much trouble.
Reviewed March 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Alun from United Kingdom
Couple
Executive Suite
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Luxury in Vientiane”
Locationis ideal
Reviewed February 26, 2016
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you? |
8.4
Orla from Ireland
Family with teens
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Classic comfort”
This hotel did not disappoint. It is classically stylish and we liked being welcomed with frangipani necklaces and cold towels on arrival. The rooms are decorated with high quality furnishings. We enjoyed relaxing around the pool and had lunch there too. Dinner at Le Belle Epoque was wonderful. The staff were very attentive. Overall, a great experience and I would stay there again. Travelled with older children and a grandmother. Ideal hotel for this group.
Reviewed February 11, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Kamphol from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Great hotel”
nice restaurant, they got london taxi, nice room
Reviewed October 03, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
IAN from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
Settha palace visit”
Colonial charm, Location, Helpfulness of Staff
Thoroughly enjoyable.
Reviewed July 27, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Alex from United States
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Beautiful Colonial ”
Gorgeous pool, clean, beautiful spacious rooms, amazing staff
Settha Palace can make anyone feel like they stepped back in time into colonial royalty! The rooms have all the necessities, nice, cleanly facilities, comfortable beds, colonial decor, and what seemed to be 14 foot ceilings. The staff is very helpful and attentive. The pool area is lovely to lounge by in the humid Laotian heat.
Reviewed June 07, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Selina from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Stay at Setha Palace”
Ambience
Relax and peaceful
Reviewed February 27, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
George from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
lovely place to stay”
Location, pool, restaurant
Room lovely, staff very helpful, restaurant superb, pool great - what more do you want?
Reviewed February 14, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Brian from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Very satisfactory”
Location, room comfort and above all staff and the general manager
Comfortable and met expectations. I would stay at the Settha Palace again without hesitation.
Reviewed February 09, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Paula from Vietnam
Family with teens
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Good hotel ”
Staff, pool, building
Yes it was very good however was not a hotel I would recommend for people with children.
Reviewed January 10, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Petch from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Nice decoration”
Nice room and lobby area. Staffs are very nice.
Reviewed December 23, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Thomas from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Not worth the money”
Location, pool, bar
Not worth it's money. Kitchen has no fantasy, staff is nice but not well trained.
Reviewed November 09, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
JIANHONG from Singapore
Group
Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
luxury hotel”
hotel very nice and the bed are big
I feel good and safe to stay Settha Palace
Reviewed June 23, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Carol from Canada
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Romantic getaway in the heart of the city”
Great staff, fantastic pool area and quiet, spacious room.
The stay was lovely. We actually live in Vientiane and came to Settha Palace as an anniversary getaway. The staff found out it was our anniversary and sent a bottle of champagne to the room. A very nice touch. The poolside area is spectacular - quiet, relaxing, lots of shade, nice food. It was lovely.
Reviewed May 26, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Barbara from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
A heritage gem, providing comfort and service.”
Outstanding service provided promptly and with great enthusiasm. This wonderful heritage building has been restored to its former glory and is proudly cared for and maintained to the highest standards
Couldn't recommend Settha Palace highly enough. For anybody wanting to add a bit of luxury to their stay in Vientiane - this is the place to be. Centrally located to many of (walking distance) the major monuments and Wats. Staff take pride in their customer service and it is a great help if you need advice or something arranged. If you are lucky enough to stay there - enjoy.
Reviewed May 09, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Claudine from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Very good”
Location, service m cleanliness
Left a good impression
Reviewed April 25, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
SEIJI from Japan
Solo traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
5 star holel in Vientiane ”
Good room
Reviewed April 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Keith from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Good stay in centrally located hotel”
Historical, luxurious, good service
This is the best hotel in Vientiane, and I would definitely return. It is a historically significant building, and the rooms are quite spacious and feel like you are stepping back in time, even though the modern amenities are there and acceptable. It is not a cheap hotel relative to other options in town, but it is extremely centrally located and has a very nice feel. The dining options are good, with a nice breakfast. Perfect for either a business hotel or weekend couples getaway. You don't feel like you are in a poor country when staying here!!
Reviewed March 29, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Maureen from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014
My stay was relaxing and trouble free.”
The 3 best things were the food, the actual building, and of course, the staff.
My stay was enjoyable. The hotel is a perfect refuge for a traveller - it is welcoming, comfortable, beautiful, and with delicious food. WHAT MORE COULD A TRAVELLER AS FOR?
Reviewed February 17, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
Mark from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Hotel design is lovely but let down by service”
Colonial design, proximity to city sights, swimming pool
On the face of it this should be the premier place to stay in Vientiane. However while it has the appearance and facilities it is let down by service and noise. Some rooms face onto a noisy karaoke bar across the street and also are accessed from an outside corridor making for noise from both sides. However it is the general lack of training, attentiveness and competence of the staff which let's it down.
Reviewed November 29, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
STRUAN from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
VIENTIANE'S MOST FRIENDLY HOTEL”
Staff, food and friendliness.
Fantastic hotel. Three days after I left the Settha Palace to go elsewhere in Laos, I contacted them to ask if I could come back for lunch and a swim because I was due to spend 4 hours lie-over in Vientiane Airport. They not bnly readily obliged, but sent their famous London Taxi, which is a signature vehicle of the hotel, to collect me and take me back again after lunch and swim. Great service. Great hotel. Lovely staff.
Reviewed November 07, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Donald from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Comfortable and convenient”
Colonial style. Great hotel car - London taxi
Very pleasant stay with lovely garden surrounds and walking distance to centre
Reviewed September 14, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Chatchawan from Thailand
Business traveler
Executive Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Most Suitable for small business meeting”
Friendly, Comfortable, nicely designed hotel in city centre.
Comfortable, Friendly, a knowledgable staffs, converted old palace certainly made the stay a lot more culturally aware.
Reviewed July 14, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Cuong from Vietnam
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Luxurious setting in colonial style”
Architecture and interior deco, location and room setting
Feeling cosy, respected and relaxed in a sophisticatedly designed setup
Reviewed July 06, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Peter from United States
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Luxury historic hotel yet very comfortable”
Great pool. Quiet. Elegant bu comfortable.
This is a great place. Beautiful, historic, lots of great architectural details. Dining room was elegant but greatly overpriced for the quality of the food.
Reviewed June 18, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Kathryn from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Formal hotel beautifully appointed.”
The architecture. the swimming pool area, the bar/lounge area.
My sister and I only stayed for one night. Our room was beautifully appointed,although smelt of damp, and the pool area was gorgeous. However we arrived in the late evening to find no one on the door or front desk which was disappointing as I think the initial engagement is the most critical part of the introduction to a hotel. We found the staff to be polite but restrained and distant lacking the intimacy of other hotels. Although a wonderful old building we found the hotel to be severe and formal and probably not for us.
Reviewed April 29, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Elaine from United States
Group
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
A grand old dame who is showing her age...”
.but great location and wonderful staff who is eager to please.
We only stayed one night. There were 3 of us: my sister, my daughter and myself. We took only one room for the night so we had an extra bed. This arrangement would not have been tenable for any longer than 1 night because the room was on the small side and we barely had room for the 3 of us and our luggage (1 large piece + 1 carry-on each). The room had only a shower stall and smelled on the musky-damp side. But it was clean and the hotel has the elegance of a by-gone era. The hotel is well located and within easy walking distance of shopping. We ate in the hotel restaurant which advertised a special Valentine's Day Dinner for $50.00. By the time we got there (9:30 pm), one of the two advertised appetizers was no longer available. The rest of our meal was less than satisfactory and over-priced. I would recommend that one eat elsewhere. I cannot comment on the breakfast because we left at 5:00 am the next morning. However, the front desk was kind enough to fix box breakfasts for us containing fruit and rolls. The hotel grounds are lovely and the staff was well trained and eager to please.
Reviewed March 02, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
YEE from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Great Hotel with Wonderful Service”
It's location is so great!
This is an old colonial in style hotel makes me so impressed. Comfortable beds, good bathroom with strong shower, breakfast provides lots of choice, a wonderful swimming pool, free wifi and most important is their great location to discover the city on foot and yet close to the airport.
Reviewed February 04, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Caryl from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Lovely hotel and great location for sightseeing”
Lovely pool area to relax in, fine dining restuarant and helpful staff
from our collection at the airport to departure from the hotel we experienced first class hospitality. the hotel has been restored to it's former glory and is a sight to behold. it's location is perfect for walking through the many cafes,shops and night market. the hotel service was excellent and provided valued advice. the pool area is a tranquil escape providing relaxion after a busy day sightseeing. excursions are available through the hotel to the main attractions and nothing is too much trouble. the staff were were always helpful.
Reviewed January 08, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Chiu from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Beautiful hotel, 'software ' needs work”
Lovely interior, great location
Exceptional service on checking out, by a staff member, a young woman of Filipino origin. She went out of her way to make arrangements for my next destination in Laos
Reviewed December 25, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Harrie from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
atmospheric colonial hotel; heart of Vientiane”
great building & location
Upsides: The Settha Palace is a beautiful, restored colonial building right in the heart of Vientiane. The common facilities like the dining room, lobby, and pool are a pleasure to be in while the rooms are of ample size and comfort. While the building is fantastic - the Settha is a fairly average upscale hotel. In Vientiane, however, "fairly average" means its close to as good as it can get. Downsides: Based on some historical data I've seen, the Settha has very significantly increased it's prices in recent times. While overall I enjoyed staying here, and far more so than at the competing Lao Plaza Hotel down the road (where I also spent a night) - I didn't leave with a great feeling of value for money. Hopefully that will change as Vientiane continues to evolve and more competition develops.
Reviewed November 19, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Rebecca from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Good location but needs some maintenance”
Good location and spacious rooms
We stayed here after reading other reviews but were disappointed. The room was very musty and we could see some mould growing in the corridor outside our room. It could be a lovely hotel but needs some money spending on it.
Reviewed September 19, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Elaine from China
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
A little disappointed”
Colonial building with nice design
Booked this hotel after reading lonely planet but have to say it was a disappointment as it's overpriced compared to other hotels we stayed at. The hot water is not really hot and the room is very small. But staff is really friendly and ready to help. Food is good.
Reviewed August 19, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
david from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Nice hotel”
Charming, well staffed, excellent service
the hotel was very charming. it would remind you of "rick's place" in casa blanca....very french colonial...all that was missing was sam at the piano and ingred bregman, peter lorre,sidney greenstreet,claude rains and bogie..i would recommend a white dinner jacket to get in the mood, a hot babe and a very cold martini
Reviewed August 01, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
JOHN from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Met Expectations”
Ambience
kept an open view about this hotel after reading earlier guest reviews. nice frontage and interior decor. ambience was as expected from a colonial structure. friendly reception staff but other staff could be more friendly. comfortable bed but bathroom amenities could be better. creaky floor boards add to the ambience. mosquitoes can be a nuisance but aren't we in a tropical country? no complimentary daily newspaper or in house gym to enjoy. buffet breakfast was satisfactory. house keeping staff were responsive. location a bit secluded away from the main shopping and restaurants. pretty dark road lighting at night. nightly loud music blaring away from the opposite restaurant. avoid front facing rooms.
Reviewed May 27, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Hans from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Beautifull Hotel”
Atmosphere
A beautifull hotel with a great (french) atmosphere. We did have a great time here. Breakfast was good.
Reviewed May 03, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Hans from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Beautifull Hotel”
Great atmosphere
A beautifull Hotel with a great (french) atmosphere. We had a great time here. Breakfast was good.
Reviewed May 03, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Jennifer from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 4 nights in March 2012
Fabulous hotel and brilliant staff”
Beautifully renovated 1030s style, elegance, great swimming pool and general quality and ambience.
Thank you so much for making our stay an excellent experience. The staff went out of their way to make a birthday a very special occassion.
Reviewed April 03, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
andrea from Austria
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in February 2012
Disappointment”
Great location, lovely staff
The description sounded so lovely - colonial house with plenty of character, etc... yes it had colonial flair, but rather of a hospital ward than a 5 star hotel. Would not recommend staying here: no charm - very cold & sterile atmosphere, needs a makeover - bathroom old; charge for everything: airport pick-up, wifi. No complimentary water, bodylotion, shoe polish, conditioner, etc.
Reviewed March 12, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
karen from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
Nice Hotel, Service to formal, need 2 smile more ”
Pool
Couple of blocks surrounding the hotel a little drab, once you get passed this to the sites and restaurants - very pleasent.
Reviewed February 09, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Delise from Australia
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
Lovely rooms with character”
Architiecture style
only stayed one night, but the hotel was very pleasant. only problem was that there was no complimentary water, which is unusual for this level of hotel.
Reviewed February 02, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Norman from United States
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Beautiful old building and friendly service”
Good location, friendly staff
This is an expensive hotel with some pretensions and details were slightly off such as the flowers on the breakfast buffet table were dead, tray in hallway left for a day.
Reviewed January 19, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Roberto from Italy
Solo traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Very good hotel”
Good food and excellent service
Ddefinitely the best choice in Ventiane. No fintness center, no spa
Reviewed January 08, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
mosnay from France
Business traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in September 2011
grate location with smart people”
we think that we are still in the years 30' , nice
nice personnal , a lot of charm for the all hpotel rooms are cleaned , and well inspired by the past very quiete hotel where to stay
Reviewed January 02, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
John from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in November 2011
Good locationand rooms,restaurant disappointing.”
Rooms, facilities.
Hotel location is good for walking(within 2-3 Km) to major arractions. Rooms were good with all needed amenities. Pool/gardens excellent.Staff friendly/attentive.Major disappointment was the restaurant. We had dinner due to recommendation in guide book but food was extremely poor and service also poor (they "forgot" the starter). Staff at breakfast were also slow- this let the hotel down.Free wi-fi available in lobby/bar area but not the rooms.
Reviewed November 27, 2011
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Noel from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2011
A wonderful hotel where we stay regularly ”
Great atmosphere and lovely staff
Small hotel from Laos' past - very well maintained.
Reviewed November 15, 2011
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Naoki from Japan
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
Lovely hotel ”
Best colonial hotel in this area
Nothing complain. room, service, foods, more than I expected.
Reviewed October 04, 2011
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Christopher from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in May 2011
Good”
Attractive garden and pool
Reviewed May 30, 2011
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Natalia from United States
Group
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2011
Colonial Style Mansion”
Well located with a nice swimming pool
The room was comfortable and the pool was lovely. I struggled to communicate with some of the hotel staff in English. Getting internet access seemed to be more complicated than at any other place we stayed and involved additional charges.
Reviewed May 29, 2011
Did you find this review helpful? |

1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: