Book Now: Shadow Palm Hotel at Maafushi

Exceptional
From 97 reviewsSee what guests said
9.0
/
10

Reviews of Shadow Palm Hotel at Maafushi Reviews from real guests

Overall rating
8.9
Excellent
From 181 reviews
Provided by verified guests of
Agoda Reviews (97)Booking.com Reviews (84)
Rating via Agoda9.0
/
10
Exceptional
Cleanliness9.0
Facilities8.2
Location9.5
Room comfort and quality8.6
Service9.3
Value for money9.1
Rating
9+ Exceptional (52)
8-9 Excellent (17)
7-8 Very Good (10)
6-7 Good (1)
<6 Below Expectation (1)
Time of the year
Mar - May (15)
Jun - Aug (21)
Sep - Nov (25)
Dec - Feb (20)
All guests (97)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 81 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Christopher from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017

Satisfied apart from the late check in.”

We were pleasantly surprised to picked up at the ferry before midday but unable to check in the room because the room was still occupied by the previous tenant and could not be traced. We only entered our room until after 4 pm in the warmth of the living room despite having only 3hrs of sleep the night before because of the flight delay. Nasir was very helpful in providing the informations that we need.

Reviewed May 31, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Popy from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017

ask and your wish will be granted ”

One of the best budget hotel, i'v stayed. Just Ali or Nasir, and your wish will be granted. My personal highlight when i need to move to another hotel in maafushi, i dont even need to ask for my luggage to be brought there coz when i check in, it's already there. Thank you so much for the hospitality.

Reviewed May 29, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
annisa from Indonesia
Group
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in May 2017

All of the staff was very helpful and friendly”

Thx to ali and nasir (the staff) for the help, they were very friendly and helpful, They upgraded our room for one night to the better hotel (their group) because their room was full I would recomend this place to others Worth for the price

Reviewed May 16, 2017
8.8
Excellent
CHEN from Taiwan
Group
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Good location ”

I only stay here for one night but the staff was good to us , and the location is close to the beach and around so many shops that you won't get board

Reviewed April 13, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Nitin from India
Family with young children
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016

great location- helpful staff”

we enjoyed our stay in Shadow palm- staff was really helpfull

Reviewed January 16, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Mojca from Croatia
Family with teens
Standard Double
Stayed 5 nights in January 2017

6 day stay”

tiny, quaint hotel that makes you feel like you're at home! cozy room, super friendly staff (Nassir is like a personal butler - amazing guy), very close to the beach, wifi, continental breakfast and maldivian breakfast (and they are flexible in regards to your particular likes and dislikes). they have very cheap speedboat transfers from the airport to the hotel a couple of times a day. they organize excursions too; the half-day snorkeling trip was wonderful and the guides were extremely attentive. all in all, it exceeded our expectations!

Reviewed January 13, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Christine from Philippines
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

Staffs are nice and helpful”

The owner Mr. Mohammad is very hands on to his guests. His staff are very friendly and makes sure the guests are comfortable. Their trips/tours are very affordable.

Reviewed November 26, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Karib from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

Revommended with caution”

The is guesthouse is just 50m away from Maafushi bikini beach. Please be aware that there is an additional USD 3.00/person/24 hours-of-stay Green Tax to be paid when you check-out. If you booked through Agoda, this guesthouse will start counting your stay at 12:00 regardless of your arriving time, so if your staying time is less than 12-hours in the 24-hours block, you might not benefit from the 12-hours rule as stated in the Green Tax act. Really confusing!

Reviewed November 19, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
tricia from United Arab Emirates
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016

Good Location”

It was a simple room but it's so cozy and relaxing place to stay. I am a solo traveler and the staff especially Nassir is very friendly. Very good location, it's just a few steps going to bikini beach. They also offer a lot of activities. :) Will be back for sure! :)

Reviewed November 09, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Awais from Pakistan
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016

Amazing place to stay”

The staff was amazing and they helped us with everything. Nasir was an amazing host and we talked so much.

Reviewed November 09, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
marylin from France
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 5 nights in October 2016

great place”

We stayed there for 5 nights and we had a fantastic time. The personnel was extra nice.

Reviewed November 02, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Kanchana from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 6 nights in October 2016

Value for money and just next to bikini beach and local beach so where paradise is :)”

This is my 1st time to Maldives I'm a solo traveller here so I've been looking for a cheap hotel and Sahadow Palm can be my answers :) There is a scuba diving excursion here just 31$ half day and staff will take care of you Btw there is a shot cut way to go Maafushi from the Airport just contact "icom Maafushi" (you can google for it) the office just next to ferry pier in Maafushi there is a speedboat to Maafushi take about 30-40mins and everyday work ;) that's sound great, right? Enjoy 😍😍

Reviewed November 01, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Jennalyn from Philippines
Group
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Enjoyable Stay”

We have a very relax and enjoyable stay in this hotel. Nassir and Mohammed are very accomodating. They always look after all our needs. Will definitely recommend this hotel.

Reviewed October 17, 2016
6.0
Peter from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 6 nights in October 2016

Overpriced”

The hotel is quite simple, just 4 rooms. I think it is overpriced. My room only had a window to a lightwell, so you were looking at a blank wall. There was some mould in the bathroom, and some tiles were cracked.

Reviewed October 16, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Shaun from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016

Good location, helpful staff”

Good option if staying in Maafushi

Reviewed September 16, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Mohd from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016

Best value for money”

The people there are helpful and they in fact made a surprise birthday party for us. Like seriously surprise party! And they are very relax and flexible to accommodate you. Although there are few big hotels are booming around, this boutique will never be obselete because it offers a personalized service, as well as the great location. The owner is very relax and humble.

Reviewed September 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Bjoern from Germany
Group
Standard Double
Stayed 7 nights in August 2016

Really nice GH/Hotel”

Really nive guy on duty. He helped us a lot.

Reviewed August 29, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Yog from India
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016

Value for money”

Had a good stay, the manager is so helpful in planning, booking in resort etc They also allowed us to cook food in their shared kitchen .. Bread Breakfast was good. Had a peaceful stay ..

Reviewed August 17, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Yumiko from Japan
Family with young children
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016

Had a wonderful stay ”

The hotel is close to the beach and organizes a wonderful half-day (almost full-day) snorkeling tour at a very reasonable price. The guide took great photos and videos under water during our snorkeling and shared with the participants, which was really helpful for me as I couldn't take many photos by traveling with my small child. I highly recommend the hotel as well as the snorkeling tour.

Reviewed August 12, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
atholl from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 6 nights in July 2016

Great value ”

Cheap and very cheerful Lovely friendly staff Be very aware the island is alcohol free which came as a big shock ! You have to get a free speed boat to a yacht to get a drink or take a day trip 100 US dollar and up to a resort island for alcohol !

Reviewed July 12, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jezalyn from Philippines
Group
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

Best service at an affordable price”

I give Shadow Palm a two thumbs up. They gave us what we need, even exceeding our expectations. I'm a backpacker and Shadow Palm is one of the best hotels I've been to. They arranged everything for us -- excursions and activities. They gave us discounts, too. They provided snorkeling gears and they're flexible when we requested to be picked up from a resort a little later. Thank you, Shadow Palm! :)

Reviewed July 04, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Yvonne from Australia
Group
Standard Double
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016

Relaxing holiday”

The local Maldivian breakfast with fresh juice. The friendly caretaker Nassir.

The location is close to the bikini beach which was great but there is a lot of construction next door. The half day snorkelling trip is a must with cool, friendly guys making it a lot of fun and an awesome experience. Nassir the caretaker was very pleasant and extremely helpful.

Reviewed March 04, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Oanh from Finland
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 5 nights in January 2016

Friendly service and feel safe to stay there.”

Feel safe when I stay at that hotel, Half day snorkelling for five different spots and I enjoy it, guides are helpful and professional, near to the beach.
Reviewed January 19, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Janice from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015

Relaxing. ”

Location, price, staff

Peaceful, relaxing and uncomplicated.

Reviewed November 14, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Shue from Malaysia
Group
Standard Double
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015

Pleasant Stay, Value for Money”

Friendly and helpful staffs, Cleanliness, Near to the beach

We were surprised to see Mr. Muhamad and staff were waiting for us at Maafushi Jetty, even there was no prior information from us regarding our arrival time. First good impression of the hotel, as soon as we stepped on the island. The hotel is just a few steps from the beach. Rooms are very clean and tidy. They will clean the room each day, if requested. Fresh towels were provided everyday. Staffs are friendly, helpful and informative. Breakfast provided is in big portion and tasted good (international breakfast and Maldivian breakfast on alternate day). Water, fruit juice and coffee/tea are included. We have joined the half day snorkeling excursion with them, at an affordable price. Very kind of them to offer taking underwater photos and videos for us. Excursion guide Mr. Ali is experienced to quickly identify when and where there are manta ray, turtle and dolphins. Also they taking great care of customer who join the snorkeling excursion but does not know how to swim, thumbs up for this. Really pleasant stay and value for money. Thank you Mr. Muhamad, Mr. Ali, and all other Shadow Palm staffs. Definitely will recommend to friends.

Reviewed September 20, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Eran from Israel
Family with teens
Standard Double
Stayed 6 nights in August 2015

Hotel was beyond our expectation -supper”

Location, Staff support, room's condition

We are a family of 6 people with children of 24-12. We had amazing 6 days vacation in the Shadow Palm. The team there gives you a warm home welcome feeling and do their best to understand your needs, especially Alli that runs the place. The location (right at the bikini beach) is the best you can ask. In term of value for money, that is supper.

Reviewed August 21, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
SUFIZA from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014

GREAT”

staff friendly, location, clean

The staff were really friendly! They greet me from the airport and kind to bring me to the hotel. The hotel was clean and the location just a few seconds walk to the beach. Definitely will come here again.

Reviewed May 12, 2015
6.3
Good
Roberto from Brazil
Family with young children
Standard Double
Stayed 5 nights in February 2015

Good location, poor room, poor staff. ”

Good location

Room was poor, didn't have a window neither in the bedroom nor the bathroom. Other guesthouses offer best rooms with balconies and better common area places. The staff didn't have where to sleep and had to sleep on the sofa in the common area, which did not make us feel comfortable at all. Service was not good since they don't change the sheets, the towels and don't even realize when toilet paper is over. The worst situation happened with this family that booked the hotel in advance, and when they went to check in they were told there were no rooms available. I felt very sorry for that family. The guesthouse overbooked their 4 rooms and could not honor with all the guests, if that happened to me I would be furious. The family had to walk all over the island with their heavy suitcases to try to find another hotel. The only response of the staff was "it is written in our policy that if that happens we do not provide a room for you". Breakfast was good, specially the Maldivian kind, was delicious. The location is amazing. The best in the Island together with the Arena Beach and the White Shell guesthouses. There is one staff from that is extremely helpful and nice. The superiors specially the locals don't really care about your needs specially if they have to go out of their way to do something for you. They do not care for their guests satisfaction since their salaries are guaranteed.

Reviewed February 26, 2015
7.3
Very good
Julia from Germany
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 14 nights in December 2014

wonderful stay at palm hotel”

Location (near to public beach), service (staff very friendly and helpful), range of activities
Reviewed January 18, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Sergiu from Romania
Couple
Family Standard
Stayed 6 nights in January 2015

Absolute best location”

Proximity to the beach, staff attentiveness, excursions

This is a small guest house located right on "bikini beach" in Maafushi. The location is extremely important as other places on the water do not have direct access to the beach (meaning women cannot be on those beaches in a bikini). Additionally, the place is run like clockwork by Ali and Mohammed who are very attentive, very personal and have somehow mastered the art of customer service at barely 20 years old. The rooms are simple but comfortable, everything is extremely clean and within reach with the help of Nassim, the resident can-do-it-all cook/cleaner/maintenance person who also has a permanent smile on his face and does everything he can to make guests feel at home. Although slightly more expensive than the other establishments in terms of excursions and transportation, Shadow Palm makes up in privacy (you do not have to share a boat with 10 other people) and attentiveness. I highly recommend this over other establishments in Maafushi.

Reviewed January 14, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Arman from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Family Standard
Stayed 11 nights in December 2014

Your holiday your own ”

Staff - location - price

Very nice people. Excellent location. The longer I stayed at shadow Palm the more at home I felt. Hope to be back again

Reviewed January 03, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Patrick from Singapore
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014

5-star service and hospitality at a budget price”

Service, hospitality, affordability

One can expect to be treated like VIPs in this hotel. Staff were very kind and focused in doing what they are supposed to do, which is to give you the best experience in Maldives while not hurting your wallet. Indeed, they will treat your holiday like their own; they will guide you and tour you around with enthusiasm. As a small hotel expect no frills, but the staff are the nicest ones you will ever encounter. Oh, and grab the opportunity to stay and tour with them while their prices are ridiculously one of the lowest in the island. With this kind of service, the demand will go high soon! Location is also very near and accessible to the nice beach in Maafushi where women are allowed to wear bikini. Island is also conveniently accessible through the public ferry (2 USD/head). Highly recommended experience!

Reviewed November 30, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Isabell from Germany
Group
Standard Double
Stayed 8 nights in November 2014

Perfect Location at Beach, great Food, but...”

Location, Food, Nice Manager

I and my mom really enjoyed our stay at Shadow Palm Hotel. The Hotel is small, but that makes a cozy feeling and with the sand in the eating area and the decoration it feels like a surfer hideaway. The breakfast (either continental or Maldevian with Tuna and Rothi) is very tasty and comes with fresh fruits and fresh fruit juice daily. Also the dinner options are very tasty, but it takes some time to prepare the food. So better you order ahead (around 1 - 1 1/2 hours later you can enjoy eating). The location next to the tourist beach is perfect. You can do a lot of sports activities. Also the hotel is offering a lot of tours. I really enjoyed the whole day snorkeling tour, swimming with the mantas and dolphins.

Reviewed November 22, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
RICCARDO from Italy
Couple
Family Standard
Stayed 7 nights in August 2014

there are not enough stars for them!”

staff, cleanliness, position

we have just gone back after a week in Maafushi Island and we have stayed at this 2 stars hotel that gives without any doubt a 5 stars service. They are incredibly professional and absolutely easygoing. They just want their guests to be happy and they can make it happen, you can be sure about it! I suggest you to go with them for a full day snorkelling, we did, it was like being in heaven! we enjoyed it so much we went twice! I will never thank them enough for making me feel so at home, thank you, thank you, thank you! it was even better than our honeymoon, if I ever come back (and I really hope I will) I will come back for sure!

Reviewed August 21, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
DYRON from Philippines
Solo traveler
Family Standard
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014

Five Star Guesthouse”

Location - Staff - Service

It might not be a five star resort but you will feel it is! reason that they have lovely staff that will treat your dream holiday a dream come true. - free wifi - free breaky - great location, cause the tourist beach is just feet away. Note that tourist beach in the island is just only one shore. - great staff - lovely tour packages I will definitely come back again if ever

Reviewed August 16, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Ma from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014

Fantastic! Worth the money! ”

Location, clean, Great Staff

Worth to come back! =)

Reviewed April 06, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Damian from Australia
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014

Great staff, guesthouse still learning”

Staff, cleanliness, location

Mixed... Our stay was quite good the staff at the hotel are above helpful, and even noticed it was my partners birthday and decorated our room and also made her a cake, was an extremely nice thing to do. The criticism is the pure contact with the guesthouse, it was very difficult to get any meaningful communication with the guesthouse, especially in organising the boat transfers from the airport. We ended up having to organise it on the fly once we landed. Quite frustrating and from travel forums not only restricted to this guesthouse and seems to be common across guest houses on Maafushi .... Be warned.

Reviewed February 24, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
baruch from Israel
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014

very please stay”

best location, frendly staff,good valey for money

it was veryb good experience. I wold recommend this place to all my frends

Reviewed February 14, 2014
8.4
Excellent
Ornella from Argentina
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018

Muy bueno!”

Tiene una ubicación excelente, la gente del lugar es lo más! El desayuno es bueno

Reviewed February 19, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Antonio from Spain
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 11 nights in November 2016

Hotel sencillo y práctico ”

Todo bien,hotel básico y perfecto para un viaje ajustado de presupuesto.

Reviewed November 25, 2016
7.6
Very good
Lorena from Spain
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016

Sitio basico bien situado”

Ventajas: -El chico de Bangladesh que esta siempre al cargo del hotel es encantador. Amabilisimo y sonriente siempre.Cualquier cosa que necesites el te la resuelve. -Limpian todos los dias la habitacion -Hay tv -Esta a 15 segundos de la playa principal. Invonvenientes: Hay mucha humedad.La habitacion huele a humedad y la ropa no se seca. -No hay agua caliente. Estuvimos 5 dias, y aunque habia un cacharrillo para calentar.Cada vez que se intrntaba encender, saltaban los plomos. -Desayuno siempre igual.Se echó de manos un poco de variedad.

Reviewed September 02, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Matthieu from France
Solo traveler
Family Standard
Stayed 5 nights in August 2014

Hotel de plage”

location confort propre

Très bien. Bon accueil, chambre simple mais très sympathique et confortable. Super location à deux pas de la plage.

Reviewed September 09, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Nicole from France
Group
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014

Agréable séjour, personnel attentionné”

Equipe chaleureureuse, attentionnée et honnête. Confort et propreté des chambres . Emplacement de la guesthouse

Guesthouse fort sympathique, à prix abordable, gérée par une équipe jeune et dynamique. Je recommande vivement cet établissement.

Reviewed April 09, 2014
9.2
Exceptional
Marion from Germany
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 9 nights in September 2016

Super freundliche und hilfsbereite Menschen!!!!”

Wir haben uns absolut wohlgefühlt und konnten tolle Ausflüge, die perfekt organisiert waren mit sehr freundlichen und geschulten Guides erleben. Unser Zimmer im Shadow Palm war einfach, aber sehr sauber und Nassir hat uns immer sehr lieb mit Frühstück versorgt. Auf Anfrage gab es auch mal maledivisches Frühstück und als wir nach einem Kühlschrank im Zimmer fragten hat Mohamed sofort einen organisiert. Schade ist, dass direkt am Bikini Beach ein hässliches, achtstöckiges Hotel hochgezogen wird und wir uns fragen wie die kleine gemütliche Insel das verkraften wird. Danke Euch allen dort auf Maafushi!!! Es war eine unvergessliche Zeit für uns :-)

Reviewed October 06, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Fokko from Netherlands
Family with teens
Standard Double
Stayed 7 nights in October 2015

De meest gastvrije ontvangst ooit”

vriendelijk personeel, schoon, geweldige excursies

Wij hebben 7 nachten in het Shadow Palm Hotel gelogeerd en de beste tijd ooit daar gehad. De mensen zijn erg vriendelijk, altijd bereid te helpen. Wij hebben meerdere excursies gedaan en ze waren allemaal geweldig. De mensen doen erg hun best om er een geslaagde dag van te maken. Op mijn verjaardag hebben ze zelfs spontaan een taart laten maken om het te vieren. Kamers zijn eenvoudig maar schoon. Ontbijt is ook eenvoudig maar prima, wel elke dag hetzelfde. Groot voordeel is dat het bikinistrand op 20 meter afstand is. Wij hebben een zeer geslaagde vakantie gehad, zeker ook door het enthousiasme van het de mensen van Shadow Palm.

Reviewed October 27, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
hirofumi from Japan
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017

Exceptional”

確か4部屋しかないので早めの予約がいいと思います。 スタッフのナシールさんがとても親切でオプションツアーの相談になってくれます。 wifiも問題ありません。

Reviewed January 07, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Asma from Thailand
Family with young children
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

เป็นที่พักที่ประหยัดงบประมาณ มีพร้อมทุกอย่างสะดวก ในการเดินทาง”

ข้อดี ที่พักอยู่ในทำเลดีใกล้หาดด้านหน้าและหลังเกาะ สะอาด มีห้องพักแค่ 4 ห้อง เป็นส่วนตัวดี ช่วงที่ไปพักมีแค่ห้องเราห้องเดียวพนักงานช่วยเหลือดี โดยเฉพาะ Nasir ข้อเสีย ห้องไม่ค่อยเก็บเสียงถ้ามีคนนั่งคุยข้างนอกก็จะได้ยินไปถึงในห้อง

Reviewed November 11, 2017
9.3
Exceptional
Ekkachai from Thailand
Group
Family Standard
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

โรงแรมใกล้ชายหาด น้ำทะเลสวยใสมาก พนักงานบริการดี”

โรงแรมใกล้ชายหาดเดินเพียงไม่กี่ก้าว น้ำทะเลสวยใสมาก

เป็นโรงแรมเล็กๆ แต่ตกแต่งสวยงาม ห้องพักสะอาด โรงแรมใกล้ชายหาดเดินเพียงไม่กี่ก้าว น้ำทะเลสวยใสมาก ประทับใจพนักงานบริการดีมากๆมารับและส่งถึงท่าเรือ การเดินทางจากมาเล่มาที่เกาะมาฟูชิโดยเรือเฟอร์รี่ใช้เวลาประมาณชั่วโมงครึ่ง

Reviewed August 22, 2013
9.2
Exceptional
Huiching from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

員工很熱心”

地點及員工都不錯,但枕頭不太乾淨

Reviewed September 28, 2018
8.4
Excellent
PEI from Taiwan
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

很棒”

TOUR很棒... 員工很真誠

Reviewed July 17, 2018