Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 88 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Room comfort and quality 7.4
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food and dining 7.2
Sort by

TAY from Malaysia
Couples
Standard Queen Room
Stayed one night in June 2015
nice enviroment place
comfort, nice location and atmosphere
overall is good and walking to downtown area all very close
Reviewed September 10, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Lynsey from New Zealand
Couples
Standard Queen Room
Stayed one night in September 2015
Value for money
It has character
Excellent
Reviewed September 06, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Jim from New Zealand
Couples
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
My stay at the Shakespeare
The helpful friendly staff, the Location, the access to Restuarant and Bar facilities
Our stay was very good, staff were helpful and friendly, the room was comfortable and nicely cleaned daily.
Reviewed May 16, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

donald from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Standard Queen Room
Stayed one night in April 2015
Hotel shakespeare
The pub at the bottom of the stairs. The view off the balcony. Great staff
I will stay again if i come to New Zealand.
Reviewed May 04, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Wing from Hong Kong
Solo travelers
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Freindly staff, good location
Location, Staff, Food
It's a nice stay. It could be noisy during weekends but it is normal since it is weekend. The staff are super freindly and the location is convenient. The pub downstairs provides good food and drink.
Reviewed March 20, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

YAO from China
Families with young children
Standard Queen Room
Stayed one night in February 2015
Definitely will recommend
Staffs, value for money (rooms and dining), location
We are with young kid, and staffs here are nice and very helpful. Just love the restaurant on the 2nd floor and the room size are quite large compared to the rate.
Reviewed February 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

idam from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
quick Auckland stop
Excellent location, friendly helpful staff in a nice old building. cheap and convenient quick stop.
Generally all good. Was clean, had a good shower. Old building so had no aircon, and the window needed a new latch. But for the money most excellent, would stay again.
Reviewed February 04, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

JENNIFER from Australia
Solo travelers
Standard Queen Room
Stayed one night in December 2014
handy location
nice manager good bed
I wasdissappointed, virtually no 24 hr service, 6 flights of stairs to get heavy case down early am, manager carried it up. Had to ring by mobile to get attention from staff to arrange case collection for next day. They didnt answer the in house phone, no reception on arrival, went to BAR and manager appeared. They said no to case collection,had to go down that night. So had to repack my case. There was just NO service. No security bars on window whic h was the only air ventilation for this tiny pokey stuffy little room that you could hardly move in. You hit your head on the ceiling as well. Shower had a dirty wet face washer in it, yuck. I am angry, and finally got to bed at midnight for 5am departure. I have had better budget rooms. I am disgusted. No ower point in bathroom.
Reviewed December 12, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Po-Ching from Taiwan
Couples
Double Room
Stayed one night in February 2014
good location
good location, good bar, can be cleaner
Nice location with a very good pub just in the hotel. a bit small but for short staying is good.
Reviewed November 27, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Kerry from United Kingdom
Couples
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Cheap and cheerful
Location, bar & staff
Ok not the cleanest or largest room but you can't fault it for location and price
Reviewed October 31, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: