Good 6.9
Based on 183 reviews
Very good 7.6
Based on 710 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 183 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Location 6.9
  • Room comfort and quality 7.0
  • Service 7.2
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food and dining 6.4
Sort by

Chun from Malaysia
Groups
Double Deluxe
Stayed one night in November 2012
NIce and lovely rooms
Convenient location
Very nice and clean hotel. Location is convenient, there is a railway station nearby, 5 mins walking distance.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Steve from Australia
Couples
Old and dingy
Staff were friendly and helpful
Hotel is old, dingy and in need of renovation.
Reviewed April 17, 2016

Innocent from Canada
Couples
Very friendly staff, airconditioned double...
Customer service, friendly staff at front desk!
Reviewed April 15, 2016

Satrio from Indonesia
Solo travelers
Double Standard
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Good Location and Very Near to Odel
Only the good location
The hotel was average. The service is average. If you want to stay 1-2 nights, this place is recommended. In the evening, the area surrounding is gloomy.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Nena from Croatia
Couples
Double Standard
Stayed one night in November 2012
Cheap - that's all!
Price.
It was ok for one night stay, between flights. Next time we'll choose another hotel. No matter it was inexpensive, we'd rather pay a couple of $ more and get more. Reception staff were exceptional - they really did their best to help with information we needed. Waiters behaved completely differently - incredibly slow. We've waited for ages no matter we were the only guests in the restaurant. When food (dinner and breakfast) finally arrived we were disappointed once more.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Nathan from Hong Kong
Families with young children
Not bad
Breakfast with string hoppers
No vibe
Reviewed April 10, 2016

Miguel from Portugal
Couples
Does the job for a...
- Clean and big room with A/C - Nice staff - Close to train station
- The area seemed dodgy at night - Although the location is close to train station, doesn't have anything interesting near by.
Reviewed April 09, 2016

Anshuman from India
Couples
Double Standard
Stayed one night in November 2012
Decent Rooms, Great Location
Location, Location, Location. Also, some rooms have balconies overlooking Panchikawatte Road.
This is a good, decent hotel if you're looking at a a place to crash for the night for a day or two. The rooms are cheap, clean and some even have nice balconies overlooking Panchikawatte Road, great for having that early morning tea before you head out. Location is extremely convenient -- right in front of MAradana Railway station, and 10 mins ( = 2.5 kms or about 200Rs. in an auto) from Colombo Fort Railway Station/Bus Station. Don't expect too much in decor and ambience. The downstairs area is a bar/wine shop where all kinds of shady characters drink all day (popular with auto drivers in the area, apparently). But it's a safe place -- ok for couples, mixed groups & single men. Wouldn't be too sure about women travelling alone, you may want to look at other options.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Ahmad from Indonesia
Couples
Double Standard
Stayed one night in November 2012
Value for money
near train stations, 24hrs reception, value for money
We arrived at this hotel very late night after 1.5 hrs taxi drive from airport. Check-in process was fast and we got a room on 3rd level. Room facilities were okay, bathroom was clean, they provided electric kettle with some free instant coffees and a bottled drinking water. Very basic facilities good enough for transit hotel like. The only bad experience we had at this hotel was power off, it happened three times, that made us feel so spooky. But, when we moved to other place in srilanka we also had the same experience.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hollie from Australia
Couples
Beautiful old hotel!!!!!!!!!!!
The staff were fantastic and sooooo friendly. Food was fantastic, loved the atmosphere of this hotel!!!
The location from Colombo is just a little too far away.
Reviewed April 08, 2016

Peter from Slovakia
Families with young children
Good
Good place, close to city centre. Possibility to have shower next day evening before the flight.
Reviewed April 07, 2016

Aldi from Indonesia
Solo travelers
Double Deluxe
Stayed one night in October 2012
Antique hotel
Unique and vintage
I like this hotel because it nearby to anywhere. You can find the restaurant nearby there.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

CRISTIANO from Ireland
Couples
Double Deluxe
Stayed one night in June 2012
Fair accomodation
I was not impressed about the hotel and facility.
I was not impressed about the hotel and facility. The room was not as expected from photos. Probably this is a common error all of us make on choicing cheap accomodation from website... but honestly I have found so many nice and great accomodation for less money. I wouldn't advise for this one even if close to city center.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Yiu from Hong Kong
Couples
Worth for stay
The staff are nice and friendly. Good location which near the bus station.
Reviewed April 04, 2016

Maria from Spain
Couples
Pleasant
Friendly Staff
The bathroom was dirty and wifi is not very good. Really expensive for the quality
Reviewed April 01, 2016

Jose from Philippines
Groups
Double Deluxe
Stayed one night in November 2012
Old rooms, extremely quiet, creepy
Good service
this hotel is 60 years old, and its age is obvious. rooms are old and spacious, but are not well-laid out, with lots of hidden corners, and somehow have a creepy feel to them. beds are huge, though, and service is impeccable.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Seok from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Double Standard
Stayed one night in October 2012
One of the cheaper hotels in Colombo
Relatively cheap and comfortable hotel in Colombo
The room is comfortable, has good running shower and TV. Only stayed one night but if had to stay 2 or 3 nights, wouldn't have minded.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Iuliia from Russia
Groups
Good
Spacious room, friendly staff. Free luggage store and a free shower after check-out.
Reviewed March 30, 2016

Matous from Czech Republic
Couples
Very good
rooms to the garden are quiet good prices on dinner/breakfast close to the railway
quite far from shops
Reviewed March 18, 2016

Barry from United States
Couples
Double Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
No Swimming Pool!
Downtown Colombo
we chose the hotel because of its central location in colombo and swimming pool. there is no pool! there is an error on both the agoda and priceline web sites! the web sites show a pool but there is none. service at the hotel was decent and the food was so so. at night value at the shalimar was not nearly as good as other hotels with pools ( night) we've stayed in.
Reviewed October 26, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: