Book Now: Shambala Saigon Hotel

Very good
From 320 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (320)Booking.com Reviews (201)
7.8
Very good
From 320 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.6
Facilities6.8
Location8.9
Service7.7
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
简体中文
日本語
more
Room type
Cozy
Comfy
De Luxe
De Luxe Family
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 158 verified guest comments
7.6
Very good
Hong from Vietnam
Business traveler
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
very good”
very good
Reviewed April 17, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Francisco from Spain
Business traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Very good”
Breakfast very simple
Reviewed April 07, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Wan from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Cozy
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Value For Money”
Everything was greats and good locations
Reviewed April 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Wan from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Cozy
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Worth It & Value For Money”
Everything was greats. Only the lift hotel too slow and need to service or repair.
Reviewed April 02, 2018
2.4
lim from Singapore
Family with young children
De Luxe Family
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
dont book this hotel unless you buy travel insurance”
room is dirty and got free bed bug to bring home if you like.have inform the staff and nothing being done.breakfast is horrible and after eat you will get food poisoning as you can see cockroach running up and down at the food area.same inform the staff and they just walk a way without doing anything,maybe to them is normal.will not book again unless i buy a lot of travel insurance.
Reviewed March 31, 2018
2.8
lim from Singapore
Couple
Mystery Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
dirty and horrible hotel.”
room is dirty and got free bed bug to bring home if you like.have inform the staff and nothing being done.breakfast is horrible and after eat you will get food poisoning as you can see cockroach running up and down at the food area.same inform the staff and they just walk a way without doing anything,maybe to them is normal.will not book again unless i buy a lot of travel insurance.
Reviewed March 31, 2018
2.8
lim from Singapore
Business traveler
De Luxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
very bad hotel,dirty room and unhygiene on food.”
this hotel is only good on location.other then that every things is terrible.room is dirty,food is unhygienic and my friends and me all got food poisoning after taking the breakfast they provide.at 1st we thought that it mind be other food that we have taken that cause the food poisoning.but the next day when we when down to take our breakfast,we find that there is a lot of cockroach at the food display table.i have inform the staff and they just take a look and walk a way without doing anything.it seen like it normal to them to have cockroach run up and down at the food area.by the way beware!!!!! there is bed bug on on bed,and it will go in you bag and follow you back home.
Reviewed March 31, 2018
8.0
Excellent
THIDA from Singapore
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
good location and helpful staff”
The location is good, need guide line way to go ?
Reviewed March 25, 2018
6.0
RIDYAWATI from Singapore
Group
De Luxe Family
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Above average”
Rooms are dusty, you can see the lamps with thick dust in the room. Rooms are small and smell musky. Room is a bit bigger for deluxe family as it has got 1 queen bed and 1 single bed. Breakfast are the same everyday. It takes about 5-7mins walk to the malaysian street and benh thanh market. I have tried other hotels before which is cheaper and way better than this hotel.
Reviewed March 22, 2018
6.0
RIDYAWATI from Singapore
Group
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Above average”
Rooms are dusty, you can see the lamps with thick dust in the room. Rooms are small and smell musky. I have got a no window room so it is not well ventilated. Breakfast are the same everyday. It takes about 5-7mins walk to the malaysian street and benh thanh market. I have tried other hotels before which is cheaper and way better than this hotel.
Reviewed March 22, 2018
6.0
RIDYAWATI from Singapore
Group
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Above average”
Rooms are dusty, you can see the lamps with thick dust in the room. Rooms are small and smell musky. I have got a no window room so it is not well ventilated. Breakfast are the same everyday. It takes about 5-7mins walk to the malaysian street and benh thanh market. I have tried other hotels before which is cheaper and way better than this hotel.
Reviewed March 22, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Gavin from Malaysia
Couple
Cozy
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Favourite place to stay”
This is already my 3rd time staying here and very contented. Basically you get what you paid for, comfy beds, glass showers, tiny windows, just a good place to sleep and rest after a day's off walking, the essentials along that line. Ask for a lower level rooms so that you can have the convenience to walk down the stairs, there is only 1 lift.
Reviewed March 22, 2018
7.6
Very good
Sitti from Singapore
Family with young children
Cozy
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Good location”
Place is easily accessible to ben than market abt 3 min walk. Next to the hotel there is a mart. Quite clean except the shower area which can be improved. Overall worth it if you are not looking into luxury.
Reviewed March 16, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Marc from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Great location very close to Ben Thanh markets & other majors attractions. Easily walk everywhere. ”
We stayed in a deluxe room (601) which was large with a very comfortable bed. Plenty of room to move around & leave luggage open. Bathroom was big, hot water good however we had to step into the corner bathtub to shower which did not bother us. Breakfast was okay with the usual offerings but not up there with the best we have had this holiday. Staff were friendly & helpful, we felt very welcomed. On the downside our room faced the street which is a busy street so traffic noise went on into the early hours then started again a few hours later. Maybe rooms not facing the street would be quiet. There are about ten marble stairs to enter the building then another two steps to the lift. The lift area can get crowded when a few people with luggage are there. However the porter works very hard to keep things tidy, he does a great job so tip generously. We enjoyed our stay.
Reviewed March 14, 2018
6.8
Good
Kenneth from United States
Business traveler
Cozy
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Just ok”
Good location, nearby a lot of other hotels, restaurants, local food bistro, Ben Thanh market, cafe and other shops... Receptionist Staff is friendly-ok, but some cleaning-staff is not good, tried to open our luggages when providing cleaning services. We marked and took all pictures of stuff before requesting to clean up. Food is just ok, seems are the same at everyday, hope they can change..for many nights guests. Bed sheet needs to be changed at everyday or once at two nights???
Reviewed March 14, 2018
7.6
Very good
Jennifer from Australia
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Good basic hotel”
We were given a nice quiet room at the rear of the hotel (except for chairs? scraping in the room above). Breakfast could be improved. Overall a good basic hotel for an overnight stay in a good location.
Reviewed March 11, 2018
2.0
Abhishek from India
Couple
Comfy
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
No Shangrila”
Why to use Shangrila brand name when you are worst than Local hotel...
Reviewed March 11, 2018
6.4
Good
OON from Singapore
Solo traveler
Cozy
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Above basic amenities hotel that is clean ”
Breakfast serve is quite good
Reviewed March 09, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Minh from United States
Business traveler
Cozy
Stayed 5 nights in January 2018
Great location, great staff”
Other than the obviously terrific location, the staff is very polite and accommodating. My room was clean and well serviced.
Reviewed March 06, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Daniel from Vietnam
Family with teens
De Luxe Family
Stayed 5 nights in February 2018
Very friendly and helpful”
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is very good. Very close to Benh Thanh market. Room is clean.
Reviewed March 04, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Hui from Singapore
Solo traveler
Cozy
Stayed 6 nights in February 2018
Comfrtable and peaceful”
I preferred a quiet place away from the night pubs and party area and this was a peaceful location. Yet not too quiet that that it looks dead and unsafe at night. Location was still close enough to a lot of cafes and tourist sites. Place is very comfortable and clean.
Reviewed March 03, 2018
6.0
Aileen from Philippines
Family with teens
Grand Deluxe Family (4 persons)
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
good location”
Nice hotel with good location
Reviewed February 27, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Chin from Brunei Darussalam
Solo traveler
Cozy
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
great location”
breakfast is nothing to shout about but hey considering the price and location of the venue.. it's brilliant. overall a very good experience
Reviewed February 27, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Amonrat from Thailand
Group
Mystery Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
very good”
better if change menu for breakfast everyday for long trip customer
Reviewed February 18, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Yeo from Singapore
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in February 2018
Good BF”
The breakfast was surprisingly nice. The room that gave us was a family suite so it was really big. It was also very near to the shopping area.
Reviewed February 11, 2018
8.8
Excellent
chun from Singapore
Solo traveler
Comfy
Stayed 5 nights in January 2018
Good value for money”
Located near to everything, tourist spots and food are nearby. Friendly staff, clean room.
Reviewed February 04, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Tom from United States
Solo traveler
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Nice suite rooms”
The suite I had was nice. If you're a smoker, this isn't the best place to stay. The door man sleeps early and is really grumpy when you wake him up at night to go outside and smoke.
Reviewed February 02, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Rebecca from United States
Couple
Cozy
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Surprise”
I chose this hotel because it’s location. But I was surprise cuz my room was big and clean, more than what I expected. I would recommended this hotel
Reviewed January 30, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Ross from Australia
Family with teens
Comfy
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Central Location”
Our room was large with all the necessary equipment. The staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was great. We could walk to the local markets and other attraction. The only slight down side was the street soup seller with the loud, pre-recorded spiel who insisted in coming around every so often during the night. Our room was facing the road on the second floor so other rooms may have been quieter.
Reviewed January 26, 2018
7.2
Very good
Kok from Malaysia
Business traveler
Cozy
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Picture oversell but overall acceptable”
Room picture on agoda.com is misleading and oversell the hotel but generally is acceptable, good location and helpful staff
Reviewed January 26, 2018
7.2
Very good
MISCHAELLE from Philippines
Couple
Cozy
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Quick stay”
For the price, okay for quick trips/stay and for those who are on the go and would just sleep for the night while outside the rest of the day. We just stayed here for 7 hours while waiting for our flight. There were toiletries available.
Reviewed January 20, 2018
7.2
Very good
wilson from Vietnam
Business traveler
Mystery Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
very nice”
The Location was very Good for food and shopping, the Stall were very Nice,. .. Better for long stay
Reviewed January 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jessica from United States
Couple
Cozy
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Awesome place”
Everything was better than expected for the cost and location. Definitely would stay again.
Reviewed January 15, 2018
6.8
Good
Vinayak from Singapore
Solo traveler
Cozy
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Dont go by the looks!”
Rooms are average nothing special, but value for money, good breakfast down stairs and perfect location, Morning Staff is rude , he charged my extra money because I used the water bottle from the fridge! who charges money for a bottle of water !
Reviewed January 15, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Brigette from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
B & M from Australia”
Friendly staff
Reviewed January 10, 2018
7.2
Very good
handy from Indonesia
Group
De Luxe Family
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
good location”
good price good location
Reviewed January 08, 2018
5.6
Hoang from United States
Family with young children
Cozy
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Above average”
Nothing to brag about, seriously!
Reviewed January 05, 2018
5.6
Hoang from United States
Family with young children
De Luxe Family
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Above average”
Nothing to brag about, seriously!
Reviewed January 05, 2018
3.2
Yu from Malaysia
Family with young children
De Luxe Family
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Flea found on the bed”
we're bitten by a flea. Yes, 1 double bed + 1 single bed with full of flea. Fleas will come out wake you up when you have sweet dream. I have recorded several flea video clips, it really a nightmare. This is old Asian Ruby Hotel and now they change to nice name. Lot's of similar hotel out there, don't be cheated.
Reviewed January 04, 2018
7.6
Very good
Wai from Hong Kong
Group
Cozy
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Very good”
nice breakfast and cozy environment. restaurants, supermarket and convenience store are nearby. Near tourist spot too.
Reviewed January 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
paul from United Kingdom
Couple
De Luxe
Stayed 6 nights in December 2017
Exceptional”
Just the right place to stay for getting around the city Plenty of eating places to chose from Easy walking distants to tourest sites within the city
Reviewed December 28, 2017
6.0
Poh from Singapore
Group
Comfy
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017
Good Location but Old Hotel”
The Hotel room is kind of old and the lift was slow... Hotel staffs are friendly... Good Location
Reviewed December 06, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Luong
Couple
Cozy
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Great location and value.”
Good breakfast. Only negative is the room has no deadbolt lock, just spring loaded key.
Reviewed December 04, 2017
7.6
Very good
Robert from Malaysia
Couple
Comfy
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017
If you are 1st time, stay HERE!”
If you are 1st time to HCMC, stay in this hotel. No regret. Great location. Walking distance to most places of interest. Less than 5 mins walk to Ben Thant Market & the Street Food Market. Book tour from Vinastar Travel Corporation just next to the hotel on your right when you come out of the hotel. Can bargain. Simple breakfast but is sufficient. Front desk staffs are helpful. Remember to use their print out map which is so easy to follow.
Reviewed December 03, 2017
8.0
Excellent
kin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Cozy
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Great location & value for money”
Superb location around the city just with walking distance....
Reviewed November 26, 2017
3.6
TING from Taiwan
Business traveler
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Good location, but room is not clean and not well maintained.”
Stayed there from 14th to 17th Nov 2018. Bed sheet seems not changed on time. Dust on the floor, towels are not neat and clean. There is also dirts on chair and table. Furniture is old and electricity cable and wire are not well-fixed. Breakfast is ok, and good location! Lots of shops, restaurants, bars are near by!
Reviewed November 18, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Robin from Indonesia
Business traveler
Cozy
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Good worth it”
Recommended
Reviewed November 15, 2017
8.0
Excellent
TET from Malaysia
Group
Mystery Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Good and value for money ”
Fantastic location. Staff are friendly and speak well in English
Reviewed November 12, 2017
8.0
Excellent
TET from Malaysia
Group
Cozy
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Very good”
Staff are friendly. Fantastic location
Reviewed November 12, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Arbono from Indonesia
Couple
Cozy
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Nice stay”
The favilitiis near Benh Tang Market, close to restaurant, store/minimarket, ATM. It about 800 meter away from 23/9 Park Bus Station to catch the bus No 109 from/to airport.
Reviewed November 12, 2017