Excellent 8.4
Based on 2484 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2484 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Room comfort and quality 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.4
  • Food and dining 7.8
Sort by

Tan from Singapore
Couples
Ying Hua
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Nice unique boutique htoel with comfortable room
location, staff service, comfortable bed
The hotel design is unqiue, based on the 70s Shanghai Design...outside room, is like a courtyard for you to relax yourself.. Fridge tidbits is FOC and refill everyday. Seafood store is just round the corner. Comfortable bed, but the room is without window, lack of ventilation. Room is comfy during the day, but can be quite dark due to wall paint in dark colours. Little spooky as there is painting in the room & in toilet. Not for those weak hearted. non-smoking room and no parking in the hotel. but have friendly hotel staff help you to get taxi easily.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Djajadi from Indonesia
Couples
Mu Dan
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Local bangkok chinatown experience
Excellent location,big room, good water pressure & ac
There's no window' .Hotel is still under renovation. Construction & drilling noise till 7 pm. No lift to first floor. But location is very excellent, walking distance to all chinatown attraction.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Angela from Singapore
Families with young children
Mei Hua
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Amazing hotel. Thumbs up!
Bell service. -great initiative in helping with my baby stroller and even my shopping bags . Reception -check in process was done while sitting down with a welcome drink . Great touch of service
Would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and relatives !! Was such a pleasurable stay .
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wai from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
A pleasant stay
friendly staff, theme design
Generally it was a pleasant stay in this hotel. I would like to extend my our appreciation to the staff working at night shift. I found them to be super friendly, helpful and cheerful. A special thanks to the staff who helped us to carry our languages from ground floor to reception. He always serve us with smile despite he needed to carry such heavy luggage for us in the mid-night.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

John from Australia
Couples
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
fantastic
decor staff dining
Second time staying at the Shanghai and equally impressed again. Staying here is always a pleasure as the rooms are fantastic and staff are always very helpful.
Reviewed August 09, 2013

pascal from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
a romantic getaway, from all the hustle & bustle
beautifully-done 1920's shanghai style decor; polite,friendly, attentive staff; chilled, live, jazz music in cotton bar; excellent & varied breakfast buffet; in the heart of chinatown - well worth it.
Reviewed August 08, 2013

Dustin from Canada
Couples
Ying Hua
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
great hotel, great design and comfy room
location, cleanliness, friendly staff
be cautious of the tour guides in the lobby of this hotel. I don't think they are associated with the hotel and you may not get your moneys worth.
Reviewed August 07, 2013

Victor from United States
Families with older children
Mei Hua
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Surreal Shanghai
Location, Decor, Staff
Overall, it was a nice hotel with a prime location in Chinatown. However, you better know what you're looking for in Chinatown because no one around you will be able to help you find the secret spots for food or entertainment, not even the taxis. That's another thing - no taxi services like Chinatown due to construction so you better be ready to cough up money for a taxi who will. Traffic and construction make for a nasty congestion and commute so plan accordingly if you're trying to make it to the airport on time and such.
Reviewed August 07, 2013

Fan from Canada
Families with young children
Mei Hua
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
good location, convience and many food around
convience, many food around , good location
good environment, interesting place, easy to find, in the heart of the city, locate in chinatown, many food around until midnight.
Reviewed August 05, 2013

Dave from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Pretty good for a hotel
decor, big bed, big shower (cheaper rooms were small in comparison to the Ying Hua that we had)
Stayed here as the last 3 days of a 10 week trip through Vietnam and Thailand. For a hotel I imagine it was quite good, but we had stayed in 2 bedroom appartments mostly throughout the trip for around 1/3rd of the money, so to us it seemed expensive for one room, but dont get me wrong, that one room was very nice and the hotel overall was a success. BIG FAIL for us was the dinner at cotton.(on observation it seems that the small number of people eating there were probably new arrivals like us, to knackered to go outside for a feed) Very small menu - very small portion size at a very large price by asian standards. Consider that a small fried rice and small noodle dish with 2 poorly made cocktails cost more than the several course seafood and belly full of beer 50 metres down the road. I recommend and commend the hotel - the breakfast was great - just forget the dinner option.
Reviewed August 05, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: