Book Now: Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Excellent8.4
Based on 2675 reviews
94% would recommend to a friend

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (2675)
Booking.com Reviews (1466)

8.4

Filter by guest type:
Excellent
based on 2675 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Room comfort and quality 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.4
Excellent
based on 143 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Room comfort and quality 8.3
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 8.1
Excellent
based on 1591 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Room comfort and quality 8.6
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 8.5
Excellent
based on 434 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 8.6
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 8.4
Excellent
based on 166 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 6.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Room comfort and quality 8.6
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 8.3
Excellent
based on 137 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Room comfort and quality 8.6
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 8.3
Excellent
based on 204 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Room comfort and quality 8.5
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:

Language
  • English
  • Français
  • ภาษาไทย
  • 简体中文
  • Deutsch
  • 日本語
  • Nederlands
  • 繁體中文 (香港)
  • Svenska
  • Español
  • 한국어
  • Русский
  • Italiano
  • Tiếng Việt
  • 繁體中文 (台灣)
  • Norsk
  • Bahasa Indonesia
  • Język polski
  • Dansk
  • Português (PT)
  • Suomi
  • עברית
  • Eesti
  • Čeština
  • Türkçe
more less

Room type
  • Mei Hua
  • Mu Dan
  • Ying Hua
  • Family Suite
  • Suite with Dinner or Spa Package
more less

Sort by
Showing 2594 verified guest comments
  • clear all

9.2
MICHAEL from United States
Solo traveler
Mei Hua
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
love this truly boutique Hotel”
I always stay here when travelling to or from BKK by train. wonderful ambience in Chinatown. They need to be careful of the prices in the bar/cafe though.
Reviewed July 31, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
guy from France
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Nice stay in the heart of China town”
Old style Chinese hotel. Worth to spend a séjour . We stayed 2 nights . Price of breakfast quite high for value (400 tbt). Nice rooms. I love atmosphere of this hotel.
Reviewed July 21, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.6
Rachael from United Kingdom
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Beautiful public areas”
Staff amazing and beautiful design but room was very worn.
Reviewed July 20, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.4
Meng from Singapore
Business traveler
Mei Hua
Stayed 4 nights in May 2017
Excellent”
Convenient with good food. Near wholesale market
Reviewed July 08, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.8
Mathew from Australia
Couple
Ying Hua
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
A beautiful disaster.”
This was one of the more frustrating hotels I have stayed at. Impressions are absolutely beautiful with great decor and themes throughout the hotel. From the second you enter the door it is a welcome step away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. Chinatown is a great location away from the super touristy areas of Bangkok. When we arrived we were told we were being upgraded from the mid level (Ying Hua) room we had book to a suite. The suite however was small with no chairs or couches outside of a small table in the bathroom, The bed was 4 post style that was fully enclosed on one side and difficult to get in and out of. The next day we requested to get moved to the original room we had booked. This was completed a few hours later after a second request. This room had a bigger bed, had an enclosed shower and bath, a bigger TV and all round a significantly better room. Day 2 we lost power for several hours and weren't able to access our room. Day 3 there was no running water for a couple of hours at night. All in all there were too many frustrating aspects for me to recommend this hotel.
Reviewed July 05, 2017
2 travelers found this review helpful. Did you? |
10.0
Kevin from United States
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Door was weak”
The only negative thing I have about this hotel is the doors that basically do not lock. I dead bolted my door, and was still able to open up the door. I did not feel me belongings were safe in my room while I walked around Bangkok for the day.
Reviewed July 02, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Bon from Malaysia
Family with teens
Mei Hua
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Value hotel”
The hotel location is around the chinese seafood food restaurant and stall
Reviewed June 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Darlene from United States
Couple
Ying Hua
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Amazingly beautiful!”
I completely loved our stay at Shanghai Mansion. This was our first time to Thailand and I wanted to stay in nice but affordable places. Once I saw Shanghai Mansion I was obsessed to stay there. We stayed 3 nights for our first leg in Thailand. I have to tell you that this hotel is just so beautiful and gorgeous! It's situated in bustling Chinatown... but once you enter the doorways it's as if you've stepped into a magnificent little palace that captures all of your senses. The architecture, the furnishings, the smell of lemongrass rafting through the air... love! We stayed in the Mu Dan suite and it was so gorgeously fitted with luxe linens, a stocked bar, robes, slippers and toiletries. We had a huge soaker tub large enough for 2 as well as a large shower. Ahhhh heaven! We didn't try the restaurants during our stay but we did hang out in the lounge for live evening jazz and it was amazing. The drinks were good. I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again.
Reviewed June 25, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Kangsadan from Thailand
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Very Chinese style, I love it.”
Love the interior and decoration. Very comfortable for travel Yoawarat. Hotel don't have a car park.
Reviewed June 16, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
brian from United States
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Great hotel in great location ”
Great breakfast (about $12). Great 1 HR Thai massage (included). Ride to OR from airport (included). Bar and restaurant was expensive but nice. No need with all the food options in Chinatown. Don't miss the flower market early in the morning.
Reviewed June 15, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Teri from South Africa
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
A taste of China”
Not having visited Bangkok before, we wanted to be close to the train station but also have option to arrange ANDRÉ around Chinatown and have easy access to public transport for shopping. Shanghai Mansion was a refreshing delight in quite a crazy city and everything was well-presented with friendly staff.
Reviewed June 14, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
HWANG from Malaysia
Group
Mei Hua
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Great”
Great n will come back again
Reviewed June 07, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Melissa from United States
Couple
Ying Hua
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Beautiful hotel ”
This hotel was elegant and beautiful, in the middle of China town l. However I would recommend booking when you're u arrive as I found that it was less than half of what we paid for booking ahead.
Reviewed June 02, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.4
NG from Singapore
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
service quite good, just that not much facilites in hotel like pool etc.”
daily complimentary mini bar and massage or dinner coupon which is nice but room alot of mosquito.
Reviewed May 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.8
Chloe from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Mei Hua
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Good location for all the hustle and bustle ”
There were cockroaches in my room on level 4 then when they moved me to level 5 I only saw 1 cockroach which disappeared the next day..... great location...... choose the package that includes massage and transfer!
Reviewed May 25, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Dr. from United States
Business traveler
Mu Dan
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
A Gem tucked in Bangkok's Chaotic China Town”
If you're traveling with a lover stay here! The rooms are large, well furnished and bathed in deep reds with just the right lighting. The bathtub is huge and made to be shared. Just perfect. In the morning there's the third floor restaurant with one of the best breakfast buffets in the city, including the best croissants east of Paris. Need a drink? Join the locals at the Red Rose bar where I'm writing this review. The staff make some killer drinks and in the afternoon till midnight there's a fabulous jazz band. Anyway, got to go to see the sights before I move on to my next adventure.
Reviewed May 23, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.8
Chloe from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Mei Hua
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Dirty cockroach invested hotel”
I love this hotel because of the location and cute little touches of the free mini bar and snacks however the downside was every night the cockroaches come out to play which means no sleep! I stayed here for over a week and I changed rooms and still cockroaches everywhere!!!! I also booked for the package including massage per night per adult I booked for two people but unfortunately my friend could not come and the hotel would not let me have another massage even though I paid for the package for two?!
Reviewed May 20, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Amanda from United Kingdom
Group
Mei Hua
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
beautiful”
this hotel is full of character and beautiful, we stayed on 2 seperate occasions in one trip, in 2 different standard rooms. Would deffinatly stay again the manager and staff go out of their way to make the stay perfect! The only problem is I so wished it had a pool.
Reviewed May 14, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Ahmed from Bahrain
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017
excellent experience”
we found the place to be ideal because of close proximity to shopping area. Amongst five of 5 star hotels in bkk we found this to be the best. All staff spoke good english and all were extremely friendly. wifi was super fast and the room was uniquely comfortable
Reviewed May 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
MICHAEL from United States
Solo traveler
Mei Hua
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
heart of China Town BKK”
love this chic, old world boutique hotel and the staff are wonderful
Reviewed May 05, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
Jane from Australia
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Excellent”
We loved the hotel, was an oasis in an otherwise crazy, mad, busy area which we found quite out of the way. Having said that, was about a 20 minute walk to the river boats, which can take you to all the places you must see when in Bangkok. The staff were lovely and spoke great English. A bonus to us naive tourists.
Reviewed April 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Raymond from United States
Solo traveler
Mu Dan
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017
Great location and attractive furnishings ”
Perfect in every respect except for a few minor deficiencies. There seems to be a few mosquitoes sharing the room with me. At 2am , it sounded like an animal or rats running around the ceiling loud enough to wake me. Not a deal-breaker I would return and stay again.
Reviewed April 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
GRACE from Singapore
Group
Mei Hua
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Two great nights”
Breezy check in and rooms were very oriental yet classy. Enjoy the freebies in the mini frig (which is quite rare for four star hotel). The hotel decorations are very schematic and we really enjoy the stay here!
Reviewed April 23, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
John from United Kingdom
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
very nice”
Very nice
Reviewed April 15, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Ying Hua
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Best hotel in Bangkok”
This was our third stay at this gorgeous hotel. The large busy glass fronted high rise hotels are not to our liking. This hotel is well situated in the busy china town area and provides a luxurious haven from all the hustle and bustle. It has a brilliant roadside bar/restaurant with good chilling jazz music each night. Will definitely stay here again next year.
Reviewed April 09, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
Haley from Canada
Group
Mei Hua
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Exceptional”
Great accommodations, air conditioned, friendly staff!
Reviewed March 29, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
Chee from Singapore
Couple
Ying Hua
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017
Room Mei Hua”
Room is dim. Need to have brighter light. The rest are OK.
Reviewed March 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Chee from Singapore
Couple
Mu Dan
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017
Stay at Mu Dan Room”
Room is very traditional nice.
Reviewed March 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
2.0
Maria from United Kingdom
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Great find”
Cannot compliment this hotel ,location , and its staff. It is truly a gem, don't change anything
Reviewed March 22, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Julia from United States
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Honeymoon ”
Such a fun hotel- lively, in the heart of Chinatown, relatively close to public transit. The hotel restaurant is really good.
Reviewed March 21, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
Maros from Slovakia
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Very nice place from beginning of last century ”
Very nice staff Always ready to assist Very nice cuisine in the restaurant I enjoyed very much how it looked and combinations of tastes Well done
Reviewed March 18, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Dino from Singapore
Family with young children
Ying Hua
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Excellent mansion”
This was the 2nd time i stayed in Shanghai mansion bangkok. Im happy with their services and warm welcome. The room was nice and clean. I will sure return for another stay again.
Reviewed March 17, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
Koh from Singapore
Family with young children
Mei Hua
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Nice hotel but my room is too dark”
I like everything about the hotel, from staff to location. However my room this time round is way too dark. Shower tap can be improved as the water flow is quite weak.
Reviewed March 17, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
Koh from Singapore
Family with young children
Mei Hua
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Absolutely value for money”
Nice location with plenty of delicious food just downstairs. A little far from the city but really depends on what you do there. Pretty boutique hotel which I had been staying for the past few years.
Reviewed March 17, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
Ben from United Kingdom
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Staff were very nice ”
Lovely room, great staff - very nice and helpful. Breakfast was great and hotel had a very nice bar downstairs
Reviewed March 11, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.8
Chin from Singapore
Family with young children
Mei Hua
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Ok”
Ok
Reviewed February 23, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Jonathan from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
A winderful atmosphere. I wish you served dim sum.”
A great place for those with an affinity for things Chinese.
Reviewed February 20, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.4
Richard from United Kingdom
Couple
Ying Hua
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Hit and miss”
Pros - Good location. Great massage. Cons - No windows. Power went off 3 times. Awful wifi signal. Airport transfer didn't indicate it was 'return to airport only' not pick up. Room wasn't serviced despite sign on door.
Reviewed February 13, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you? |
9.2
Richard from Singapore
Solo traveler
Family Suite
Stayed 5 nights in November 2016
Great stay in the heart of Chinatown”
Walk out of the lobby and into the glorious chaos of Bangkok's Chinatown. And hang in that lobby in the evening for some fabulous jazz music. Rooms are delightfully kitschy - well, the whole place - and staff is friendly and accomodating. Highly recommended.
Reviewed February 13, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Teng from Taiwan
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Great design hotel. Very chic”
Not very easy to get around for public transportation users. But definitely worth a try
Reviewed February 10, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.2
Jennie from Malaysia
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Nice Location”
This is my first time stay in this hotel, location is ok. The room very dark, no window and have mosquito.
Reviewed February 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
Jacinta from Australia
Solo traveler
Mei Hua
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Beautifully appointed fantastic location”
Beautifully appointed, each floor and room ooze character of a by gone era, aesthetically pleasing, staff go beyond normal, bar looks right onto the street making you feel part of Chinatown,
Reviewed January 24, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.2
Yen-Ming from United States
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
Not the best”
The location is nice, with street food bustling at night. I did see a couple of cock croaches in the room we stayed in.
Reviewed January 18, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Raul from Mexico
Couple
Suite with Dinner or Spa Package
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Excellent Hotel in Chinatown”
We just stayed for 1 night but everything was great!
Reviewed January 04, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Oi from Hong Kong
Couple
Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Great location ”
It's my 2nd time stay, all very nice and staff very friendly. Highly recommended
Reviewed December 28, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Aurelise from France
Solo traveler
Mei Hua
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Favourite hotel in Bangkok”
Love the decoration and design of the hotel (lobby, rooms etc) - it has a nice smell, the staff is lovely with the welcome tea, breakfast great too with a lot of occidential and asian options - can't wait for my next stay in Bangkok to stay there again in the heart of Chinatown.
Reviewed December 27, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Aurelise from France
Solo traveler
Mei Hua
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Great hotel”
Love the decoration and design of the hotel (lobby, rooms etc) - it has a nice smell, the staff is lovely with the welcome tea, breakfast great too with a lot of occidential and asian options - can't wait for my next stay in Bangkok to stay there again in the heart of Chinatown.
Reviewed December 27, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Gary from Hong Kong
Couple
Mu Dan
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Traditional Shanghai style room, Nice jazz bar, near to China town”
This hotel is the best one in Bangkok China Town
Reviewed December 26, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
Nancy from United States
Couple
Mei Hua
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Great value ”
Whoever did the decorating was outstanding. It feels like Shanghai in the 30s. We enjoyed it again, our fourth time to stay.
Reviewed December 26, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Wong from Singapore
Group
Family Suite
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
petty cosy boutique hotel at Chinatown”
I love the Stay here. is so Oriental from hotel interior to room. the Chinese kind of bed frame, cupboards and lights. the food wa pretty good and enjoyed the live band at night. it's on the street of Chinatown food street and walking distance to the market too.
Reviewed December 14, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |

1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: