Book Now: Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok

Exceptional
From 3438 reviewsSee what guests said
9.0
/
10
Recommended by 89% of guests

Reviews of Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (3436)Booking.com Reviews (2408)
9.0
/
10
Exceptional
Cleanliness9.2
Facilities8.9
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality9.2
Service9.1
Value for money8.5
All languages
All guests (3436)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 2716 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
heeryoung from South Korea
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

extremely friendly staff”

I have stayed at the Shangri-la for two days. Particularly, one of the restaurant staff was extremely friendly. On the first day, I had a table on the terrace and the staff remembered that I preferred to have my breakfast outside of the dining hall and guided me toward the same table on the following day :) The Shangri-la's hospitality is always beyond my expectation, and I highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

Reviewed May 14, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Soleaphiny from Cambodia
Family with young children
Krungthep River View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Excellent Customer Service”

From the moment we checked in until checkout the staff at Shangri-La gave us top class customer service. Special thanks must go to the reception ladies and the concierge who were excellent. Would thoroughly recommend staying here when in Bangkok.

Reviewed April 12, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Mer-ain from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Vacay ”

The hotel room is huge and smelled good, i love the view (river view). The bed was big and so was the tv. I love everything in the room, except for the fact they don’t have bidet. The staff was nice and polite. I had an amazing stay at Shangrila. I highly recommended it!

Reviewed March 19, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Kiran from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Amazing hotels with top class scenery”

I stayed here on the last day of my trip. It really helped me to refresh myself after a very tiring week of wandering the hot and busy Bangkok. The staff were super friendly and polite. The room was very clean, spacious and filled with amenities. The toiletries were branded and the mini bar was well stocked with refreshments. The view surrounding the hotel was just breathtaking. It's right next to the Chao praya river. The breakfast spread was pretty lavish and didnt hide any class that Shangri La generally promises. Location-wise, there arent any &-Eleven near the hotel and neighborhood is not very city-like. But the BTS station is very closeby and can take you to the city in no time. Overall, the stay was amazing and couldn't have asked for a better last day of a tour.

Reviewed February 08, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Jayden from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Minor issues but great service”

During our stay we had purchased a brand new item to which was on top of our luggage in the room, the item went missing after a routine cleaning of the room to be replaced with a very very old similar item in its place. After speaking with staff they agreed to clearing my room service charge which was similar cost to the item that went missing All in all I would 100% come back the way everything was handled was just perfect the hotel itself is huge and just amazing I will absolutely be coming back to stay again

Reviewed January 27, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Borapich from Cambodia
Family with young children
Krungthep River View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Service is more than great”

this hotel provides the best service. I lost my bag with the mobile phone and passports inside. The hotel manager and his team took care of me and my kids very well. I did not expect this kind of service from the hotel but they kindly offered all the help needed in that situation. Thank you so much indeed for your kind help.

Reviewed December 23, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
CHI from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Exceptional”

Location is ok Room is clean Service is extremely good

Reviewed April 27, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Dan from Denmark
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Nice Hotel with super service”

We stayed there for three days and could have been a couple of weeks. It's super atmosphere and made with good taste all the way down to the details. The staff are professional and provide very good service. There was a problem with electrical repairs one night and the hotel manager did not hesitate to offer 8 hours in addition to check out on the day of departure. Kindness and all the service you could wish for, can only be recommended

Reviewed November 14, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
David from Thailand
Couple
Krungthep Deluxe Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Wonderful Spot For Some Luxury By The Chao Phraya River”

Nice place to pamper yourselves with some luxury and great views of the Chao Phraya river. I liked the suites in the older Krungthep wing as it's a bit quieter and they have great river view balconies. Rooms are fabulous, just slightly older in design than the newer Shangri-La wing. Either way, great service, great place.

Reviewed November 12, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Nanthaporn from Thailand
Couple
Horizon Club
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Exceptional”

Service is excellent especially from Horizon Club staffs. Breakfast served at Horizon Club is superb. Only concerned point is the cleanliness of the glass in the room, still has stain. However, impressive for my stay.

Reviewed November 05, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Chris from Belgium
Solo traveler
Krungthep River View
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Magnificent Weekend Staycation ”

Had a wonderful weekend staycation to unwind away from my daily busy traffic jams and hustle and bustle in the city center. Great wonderful hotel, staff, outlets, swimming pools, spa and superb location near the river side. Overall splendid experience and the club floor rooms are grand, not to forget to mention the culinary yummy treats at the club lounge.

Reviewed October 30, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Dusten from South Africa
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

One of the best !”

I love this hotel. This is the second time I have stayed here and I can really only think of positive things to say. Exceptional quality, attention to detail and professional staff. They are really in a different class to most hotels. It is expensive, but worth every indulgent cent spent

Reviewed September 30, 2018
8.8
Excellent
SEEH from Malaysia
Business traveler
Double
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018

Great Hotel but breakfast should be better”

Excellent hotel with superb staffs but breakfast seems to be too limited choices especially if you will take it for few conservative days. They should add more local Thai style breakfast like what I had experienced in other similar grade hotels. Overall, it is a great hotel to stay.

Reviewed September 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
jSern from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe River View Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Everything is great! ”

All worked out so well for us ... the view, the friendly staff, the facilities, the breakfast ... we really enjoyed our family time at the hotel. For us , the highlight of the stay was really the music session at the lounge, the lady and the pianist were great! Excellent!

Reviewed September 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Deluxe River View Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018

A pleasant stay in Bangkok”

The staff was absolutely lovely. It’s a clean and modern hotel that made taking a boat ride to different locations and getting on the train very easy. We used the Concierge for all kinds of questions as well as booking tours. They were very helpful with securing our cooking class as they had to go back and forth with different schools as it was a holiday weekend and some were closing and others were booked and others had a change of hours. They made a very simple mistake that was of no harm to us, but gave us an upgrade with a blink of an eye.

Reviewed July 31, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Sheri from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Spectacular!”

The Shangri-La Bangkok was a wonderful hotel. The facilities are BEAUTIFUL, the staff is very attentive and they were great about keeping some luggage for us while we traveled outside of Bangkok for a week. We really enjoyed our stay!

Reviewed July 23, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
carol from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe River View Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018

Impeccable service ”

First time staying at Shang in Bangkok. Service was impeccable from concierge to the lobby staff, from housekeeping to restaurant services. Got kinda lost while locating the way to the BTS station and a staff rushing for a meeting actually stopped to direct our way and make sure that we were on the right track before leaving us. Had lunch and dinner at Shang palace and Salatip respectively, food was delicious and table service was excellent. Special shoutout to Bong and Joe at Salatip. Will definitely return and no regrets on getting the river view room and waking up to the Chao Phraya river every morning!

Reviewed July 20, 2018
6.4
Good
Charles from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Tired”

The hotel has seen better days

Reviewed May 01, 2019
2.4
Kit
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Not recommended ”

The reception service was not professional. They will ask you to sign something to take away client’s right and to disclose your personal data for your own use. Definitely not worth of money. Booked this hotel for my b’day but the impression they gave overall just disappointed. Would rather to stay at other 5 star hotel. The Shangrila in Bangkok was not even better than other countries.

Reviewed February 14, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
LISA from United States
Couple
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Fantastic choice!!!”

Gorgeous hotel in great location, most comfortable gigantic beds And amazing pillows! Absolutely essential to book with the buffet breakfast - it is memorable! Staff goes. Rhonda in every way! Only problem staying here is that it’s difficult to leave to sitesee and impossible to return home. We may sell our house and move in permanently!

Reviewed February 05, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Susan from United Kingdom
Couple
Horizon Club
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

Excellent”

Good hotel in great location by the river but close to the Sky train and easy access to centre of the city. The hotel is one of the mature hotels of the city but is well maintained and benefits from gardens by the river and Club rooms have great river views. Club lounge offers good breakfast choices and afternoon tea mid afternoon or cocktails and snacks beteeen 5.30 and 7.30 pm

Reviewed February 05, 2019
6.8
Good
Chihiro from Japan
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in December 2018

Disappointed”

We were highly disappointed with our 5 nights stay at Shangri La Bangkok. Although restaurants/breakfast were high standard and staff were generally well trained, kind and friendly, the room we stayed was smelly for which we had to use a small gadget to clean the air all the time during our stay. Elecricity socket was broken, and there was rubbish under the bed. It was disappointing especially when compared to our experience in Singapore, Hong Kong and Tokyo.

Reviewed January 12, 2019
7.2
Very good
CHING from Hong Kong
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in December 2018

good location with standard service”

it's great location especially for the new year firework. The decoration and facilities are bit dated, staff provided standard service. My friend birthday during the stay and I have reminded hotel via email but no special message.

Reviewed January 08, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Michael from Australia
Couple
Deluxe River View Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Beautiful hotel”

We stayed for two nights before flying home. The hotel is located on the river and is beautifully styled, the staff were very welcoming upon arrival and checkout. This is a big hotel and I felt that there was nothing 'personal' about it and acknowledge that this is just due to the size, nothing else. It would have been nice to have been told about transport along the river upon check in however this didn't happen. We didn't realise that the hotel had a boat until we saw it sail past while were were at dinner! If you are looking for a hotel that has the personal touch where you are told about things to see and do and what the facilities of the hotel are, this hotel may not suit you. If you are looking for a beautiful hotel that is centrally located where you just check in and sit by the pool until checkout; this is the hotel for you.

Reviewed December 22, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Robert from United Kingdom
Couple
Krungthep River View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Beautiful hotel”

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Beautiful grand reception rooms overlooking the river with lovely gardens. Rooms with balcony to sit and watch the river traffic make this a truly lovely place to stay in Bangkok. We will return.

Reviewed December 17, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Robert from United Kingdom
Couple
Krungthep Wing Deluxe Balcony
Stayed 4 nights in February 2018

Wonderful 4-night stay ”

Wit so much hotel choice in Bangkok, we opted to stay at the Shangri-la in a Krungthep-Wing based on reviews and the desire to overlook the river. From the very beginning to the very end of our stay we were treated with courtesy and discrete friendliness by the staff. the bedroom was superb, and for such a large hotel we found our experience to be surprising intimate and personal. The complimentary 'happy hour' food and drink was of very high standard and very enjoyable. We hope to back early in 2019.

Reviewed December 08, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Barbara from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Exceptional”

Fab location on the river with easy access to the water ferry boats. Cocktail lounge excellent. We loved the Singapore Slings Staff so helpful. It’s an oasis of calm in a busy city. Pool lovely and nice touches with fresh fruit and cool water top ups

Reviewed December 04, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Quang from Vietnam
Family with young children
Horizon Club
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

That's a good hotel”

Nice stay

Reviewed April 23, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
LAM from Thailand
Solo traveler
Premier King Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Good service”

Great service. Value for money...

Reviewed April 12, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Chia from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Everything is awesome ”

Everything is awesome , will come back again.

Reviewed April 11, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Margot from United States
Couple
Deluxe River View Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Good hotel”

The location is prime - right on the river. We enjoyed the evening we spent here, and would come back again!

Reviewed April 04, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Rachel from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018

Exceptional”

We had an awesome stay at Shangri-la. The staff were friendly especially Bew at the check-in counter. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Food was excellent. Our room had a nice view of the outdoor pool and the river.

Reviewed May 21, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Brian from Denmark
Couple
Krungthep River View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Simply Amazing!”

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in the Krungthep Wing and the stay can be described with one word: Amazing! The decor of the hotel, the location next to Chaopraya River, the view from the Balcony over the river, the small but luxurious breakfast and last but not least the fantastic level of service, smiling helpfulness and very high professionalism made this stay in top three of stays in Bangkok and we will definitely return! Lastly I want to send a special greeting to the following staff that made our stay a superb experience with their genuine smiles and good mood, high level of service and professionalism: Aoi (Restaurant) Jackky (or Jakapong) (Duty Manager) Champ (Luggage) Tueng (Concierge) THANKS for making our stay fantastic!

Reviewed April 21, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Pakorn from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe River View Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

Perfect stay”

the location is perfect, next to the river and easily access by sky train (the station is next to the hotel entrance) . the room is comfort, the staff is professional but friendly. Breakfast is so variety and tasty. I really enjoy relax time at the pool.

Reviewed March 05, 2018

Dear Pakorn Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok and we truly appreciate you taking your time to write this honest review. We are very happy to learn that you had an overall beautiful time and we are delighted to hear that we were able to provide you a wonderful stay with our professional service. Your compliments and personal recommendations are highly appreciated. We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back again someday. Sincerely, Caroline Cheah General Manager

Responded March 09, 2018
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok
8.0
Excellent
Zzlleenn from Philippines
Family with teens
Krungthep River View
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Not a good location for shopping. Best for Staycation.”

The place itself was really nice. Facilities were complete, the staff gave good service. The Horizon club was pretty nice. However, if you go to Bangkok and you want to shop, this is not the place to go to. Highly recommend the street food in the area beside the hotel. Very good.

Reviewed February 12, 2018

Dear Zzlleenn Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit. Your honest feedback and review are most valuable. We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant staycation at our hotel. Thank you for your kind compliments and personal recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok again someday. Sincerely, Jan Kaiser Hotel Manager

Responded February 13, 2018
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok
8.0
Excellent
Howard from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Balcony Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Fabulous staff”

Large, long established major hotel, directly on the river, now a little dated. Unbeatable staff and good quality F&B. On the negative side ridiculously priced drinks, an overcrowded swimming pool area, rooms ready for upgrade but overall still a quality experience.

Reviewed January 12, 2018

Dear Howard Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel and many thanks for this review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed an overall pleasant stay at our hotel. We appreciate your personal recommendations and feedback on some aspects that didn't meet your expectations this time. Your valuable comments has been shared with our team as we work further to improve our services. We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Sincerely, Jan Kaiser Hotel Manager

Responded January 15, 2018
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok
9.6
Exceptional
Elizabeth from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe River View Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Great stay”

It was a honeymoon trip for me and my wife. It really is a luxury hotel, from the moment we checked in 'till the moment we checke out. Room was spacious and clean, staff was friendly, and they also have a free shuttle boat to Asiatique every 1 hour

Reviewed November 27, 2017

Dear Elizabeth Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel and many thanks for this review. We are honored that you chose to celebrate such an important honeymoon at our hotel. It makes us very glad to hear that you had enjoyed the hotel, our warm and attentive services and that we were able to provide you an exceptional stay here. It was indeed all our pleasure having you here and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Jan Kaiser Hotel Manager

Responded November 30, 2017
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok
9.6
Exceptional
Komathi from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe River View Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

Always loved Shangri-La Bangkok ”

I always enjoyed my stay at the Shangri la. They never disappoint me. I was upgraded for my stay as well. Staff are friendly and very prompt! Will certainly stay again at Shangri-La. Our only hotel in Bangkok

Reviewed November 26, 2017

Dear Komathi Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok. We truly appreciate you taking your time to write us this review and your feedback is most valuable. Your compliments and recommendation mean a lot to us as it was all our pleasure having you here. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time that you are in Bangkok Sincerely, Jan Kaiser Hotel Manager

Responded November 30, 2017
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok
9.6
Exceptional
Gjorgi from North Macedonia
Couple
Deluxe River View Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Celebrated Our 1st Anniversary ”

We stayed at Shangri-La to celebrate our 1st anniversary and we don't regret our decision. The hotel is amazing, and the staff are so nice and helpful. They prepare special gift for our anniversary and made us feel really good during our stay. The hotel has very good restaurants and the buffet breakfast is one of the best out there. The price is very reasonable for the quality of what you get so if you are looking for a 5 star hotel in Bangkok i would strongly recommend Shangri-La!

Reviewed November 20, 2017

Dear Gjorgi Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of Shangri-La hotel, Bangkok. We are happy to be part of your fondest memories and it is our privilege that you chose to celebrate your anniversary here. It makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we had impressed you with our warm hospitality and attentive services. Your compliments and personal recommendations mean a lot to us. It was all our pleasure having you here and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Jan Kaiser Hotel Manager

Responded November 22, 2017
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok
8.8
Excellent
Tariq from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe River View Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

Great Hotel”

Excellent river views from your room, staff attentive and polite. Always wanted to stay here and wasn't disappointed, only slight negatives were heavy security screening before entering the hotel for all guests but Hopefully we will be back soon. Tariq (UK)

Reviewed November 06, 2017

Dear Tariq Thank for taking your time to write us this review. We are glad to hear that you had an overall pleasant stay at Shangri-La hotel, Bangkok. It means a lot to us knowing that we have left you a wonderful experience and that you enjoyed your room and our attentive and kind team members. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again someday. Sincerely, Jan Kaiser Hotel Manager

Responded November 06, 2017
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok
10.0
Exceptional
SALIN from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2017

An excellent business hotel in Bangkok”

Shangri-La is the right choice for all business travelers, but it has got the right ambience for all kinds for travelers. The rooms are pleasant and the close view of Chao Phraya River from the window is a soothing experience. The restaurants are worth mentioning where one can taste some of the finest international cuisines. It is located close to the pier, and don't miss the exciting boat ride with traditional Thai food and dance. Overall a great experience! SALIN.

Reviewed October 22, 2017

Dear SALIN Thank you for staying at Shangri-La hotel, Bangkok at your recent trip. We are delighted to hear that you had a beautiful stay at our hotel and that we were able to provide you with excellent service. Your compliments about our rooms, view, restaurants and ambience are most appreciated. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon. Sincerely, Jan Kaiser Hotel Manager

Responded October 26, 2017
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok
10.0
Exceptional
Joseph from Israel
Family with young children
Executive Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017

One of my favorite hotels in the world ”

Amazing hotel. Probably one of my favorites in the world. Situated on the choapraya river. Great location and amazing staff. It has complimentary fairy taxi to Asiatique where you can shop, go on rides and dine. The breakfast is amazing, and I would recommend getting the dinner buffet and if you have time, the dinner buffet on the boat which is the same price, but leaves at 7:30pm. Special thanks to Pran, who was the nicest and the most accommodating person ever. She made our stay.

Reviewed August 23, 2017

Dear vania510 Thank you for staying at Shangri-La hotel, Bangkok and for sharing your fantastic review with us. Your valuable feedback and personal recommendation means a lot to us and we are truly happy to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. Your special recognition on our attentive colleagues, especially Khun Pran is highly appreciated and we will make sure is notified and rewarded for her professional service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future. Sincerely, Jan Kaiser Hotel Manager

Responded August 25, 2017
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok
9.2
Exceptional
bruce from New Zealand
Business traveler
Deluxe Balcony Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

Quickly becoming my favorite hotel brand!”

The quality of the staff is consistently very high, everyone from room service to housekeeping to front office...I am really impressed with the Shangri-La Bangkok, they are extremely well recruited and trained!

Reviewed June 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Staffan from Sweden
Couple
Krungthep Wing Deluxe Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

Great stay with friendly staff”

We have been here before and really enjoy our stay here. The staff is great and we enjoyed meeting our old friends Ammy, Champ and Oui who always are so nice to us and makes us want to come back very soon. They are so important to us as they make us feel at home.

Reviewed March 26, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
David from United Kingdom
Couple
Horizon Club
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

We stayed in the Horizon Club because we had a early arrival and they kindly booked us in promptly.”

We arrived mid morning after a flight from Europe and the Horizon Club gave us early access to our room. We enjoyed complimentary snacks and the free early evening buffet which may have been enough if we had not already booked on the Horizon Diner Cruise. Worth paying the extra in those circumstances.

Reviewed March 21, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
David from United Kingdom
Couple
Krungthep River View
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Pamper time in Bangkok for early check in”

We booked the Shangri-la for its great location but chose the lounge club as we were arriving on a long haul flight from Europe which landed mid morning. The lounge club has its own check in and we were offered refreshments while we waited a very short time while our room was prepared. After sightseeing via the adjacent River Ferry system we joined the complimentary early evening buffet. Free drinks were included and to be honest the buffet may have been enough for the evening particularly after travelling. However the staff had managed to book us late on the Horizon dinner cruise. The cruise gave us a wonderful armchair view of Bangkok and some good food at a reasonable cost. After a wonderful nights sleep in a lovely room, we then had a great breakfast included in the price before heading off for our Myanmar adventure. Excellent service from very accommodating staff. The metered taxi from the airport used the expressway and got us to the hotel in less than 40 min and charged less than 450 baht all in ( only £12) so the hotel location is surprisingly accessible. All worth the money in the circumstances.

Reviewed March 16, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Saad from Pakistan
Couple
Krungthep River View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Great Hotel”

Facilities are excellent, lovely poolside, food is good here as well, and the area the hotel is in is quite interesting itself. Lots of good local street food in the area. Only downside is that it is a little far from the downtown. If you stay here, get to know the river taxi/boat service. Best way to get to the old city. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed February 21, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Boon from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Great stay with awesome view ”

It was a splendid experience and definitely value for money as we were rewarded with scenic sunset view of the chao praya river. Aside from the renovation going on at another building, everything else was almost perfect for a staycation!

Reviewed January 18, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Kimberly from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in January 2017

Great for business or relaxation”

I've been to this hotel many times and love it more every time. The location is fantastic, with lots of local food, shop and massage options right outside the door. The facilities are always well maintained and not too busy. Food is great at every restaurant and in-room dining. Staff is super helpful, too. Will be back!

Reviewed January 11, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Izumi from Japan
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

Better side among river side hotels.”

I thought it was a Good choice of mine. Stayed Sheraton, Oriental and Peninsula so far and found this is cost performance wise, one of the best. A bit old but cleaned well compared to Sheraton, inexpensive compared to Oriental, Peninsula. Location is I can say very good. walking distance from BTS.

Reviewed January 03, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Scott from Australia
Couple
Krungthep Wing Deluxe Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

The Krumthrep wing is worth the extra”

Very attentive service, staff remembers who you are. Hotel did feel a bit dated at times. Complimentary afternoon tea (if you ensure it's included) as part of that wing was awesome, as was the complimentary evening cocktails and canapés. Breakfast was gorgeous as the main was by menu selection. Pool for the wing was great with lots of shaded chairs and no kids. Overall highly recommended.

Reviewed December 06, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
MARIKO from Japan
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in September 2016

Wonderful staff!”

I realised I left something in my room after I checked out. When I returned to the hotel in the afternoon. it was kept at the reception and a staff who was at the residence tower ran and got it for me. I would like to thank all staff members who were involved. Food is also great and I am hoping to stay there for the third time in the near future.

Reviewed October 14, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Vivian from Germany
Couple
Krungthep River View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016

3 nights in amazing Bangkok”

Fantasitc stay in Bangkok. Staff and service is very friendly. They read your wishes from the eyes. Location is good for all kind of excursions.We loved to relax by the pool & river after exploring this amazing City. hope to comeagain

Reviewed October 02, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
YongSuk from South Korea
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016

All around good”

Accessibility great (next to elevated highway and BTS Skytrain), helpful/great staff, clean hotel. Facilities are slightly old style but definitely value for money But swimming can be rather crowded (family guests) and food is ok.

Reviewed August 24, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
YongSuk from South Korea
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2016

Great hotel to stay”

Easy access to and from airport as its right next to elevated highway. Also adjacent to BTS skytrain, making travel in car jammed bangkok easy. Service was great, staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room and facilities are old style but nothing to grumble about considering price. All around excellent place. But swimming pool can get crowded given all the family guests. Also amenities (shampoo, lotion etc) are just ok

Reviewed August 24, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Chan from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Balcony Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Hotel at Riverside”

I wanna book the room with balcony as shown in the right hand side of the picture. When I arrived, they gave me the room with balcony that show at the left hand side of the picture. They said that the balcony room shown with plants were all under decoration.

Reviewed July 25, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Rogier from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe River View Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Top notch!”

The attention to detail is second to none and the overall experience was just wonderful. I particularly enjoyed the quality of the food. It's unbelievable how they ensure that every bit of it is just five star. I'll be coming back here.

Reviewed July 05, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Sanga from Thailand
Family with young children
Executive Suite
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

Always our first choice in Bangkok”

We are return guests here for almost 4 years. We love almost everything here esp. service. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. They made us feel special. However the only disappointment for this time is they are compromise to extend the shuttle boat service which was expired recently. My kid love the boat ride very much, so I hope the will continue this service soon.

Reviewed June 30, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Wichai from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016

My Shangri La”

Location, excellent service, beautiful hotel

I don't think I can say anything bad about this hotel, it's perfect: service, ease of comfort, and wonderful location. I forgot my small package at the Suvannabhumi Airport, I asked the if they could help, they sent limousine driver to pick it up and I got it in couple of hours! I had a package deliver from Chaing Mai to the hotel, they took care of the package with great care. Nothing is impossible at this hotel, at least I have not experienced one. Staff performance is superb. As soon as you arrive, they say 'sawasdee krub/ka' from the curb side of the hotel all the way to your room no matter who you meet.

Reviewed January 10, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Derek from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015

Luxury riverfront hotel close to Skytrain station”

Location, huge rooms in Krung Thep wing, comfy beds

Excellent stay, huge rooms in Krung Thep wing with balcony opening out directly to view over the Chao Phraya river. Fantastic buffet breakfast outdoors by the busy river Choice of two swimming pools. The nighttime dinner buffet cruise is highly recommended - but guests should also take a day cruise on the same river on public ferry. Very comfortable bed. Only bad points were an almost useless room fridge (barely functioning) and room service to bring ice was very slow. Very convenient to Saphan Taksin station and ferry pier. Also plenty of local restaurants, cafes, bars, supermarket and massage places within 5 minute walk.

Reviewed November 23, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Karl from United Kingdom
Couple
Krungthep Wing Deluxe Balcony
Stayed 1 night in September 2015

Exceptional atmosphere.”

The location, the staff and the service.

It is hard for me to find any fault with my stay. The Krungthep executive deal means you get plenty of free food and drink. Afternoon tea comes with plenty of scones, cakes and sandwiches. Then there is a very decent 2-hour cocktail and canapé happy hour from 5:30 (though the wine is a bit cheap). And breakfast is almost everything you could hope for. The staff are nicely attentive and friendly (Thanks Ammy). If I had one tiny complaint it is that all this goes on in just the one location; the Riverside Lounge. After cocktails we availed ourselves of a bar in the other Shangri-La Wing and it was nice to drink outside next to the river on a balmy evening. The room itself is large, as is the bathroom, and the bed is comfortable. It was also quiet at night, which is always good for a hotel to be, but it may have been that there were fewer customers. When I saved my pennies I will be back.

Reviewed September 25, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Wichai from Thailand
Solo traveler
Krungthep River View
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015

Viva Shangri La”

LOCATION, FRIENDLY STAFF, AMAZING SERVICE

I can't say enough about how much I love this hotel, from doorman to pool staff, to maid service, to hair salon, to concierge, to everyone who wears the name "Shangri La" under their sleeves! It was beyond my expectations, period. Even a hotel cab driver was super friendly and kept asking me if I was comfortable, or if the air conditioned was good enough. Mr. Sumrit, a hotel front, who greeted me when I arrive for check-in was very nice. The room I stayed, I couldn't ask for a better room - number 2017. Thank you, thank you, and thank you! There were couple of problems in the room, I called and two minutes later someone was at the door. Fixed and done in no time! Everywhere I went inside the hotel, it was a continuous "sawadee" with a gesture of palms-up Thai style, not just the front service staff but everyone was equally the same. I felt at home. It's a concept of "Whatever, Whenever, Wherever, However, Whoever..." The amount of money I paid at 5-stars hotel in the states was not even 20% of what I received at Shangri La. I'll be back! I love everything about this hotel, location, service, easy commute, river view, etc.

Reviewed September 11, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Sargon from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015

Highly recommend Shangri La Bangkok”

Friendly but professional Staff, Facilities & comfort

My stay was fantastic. The very friendly, very attentive and most professional staff in all areas, made my stay extremely pleasant from the time I checked in to the time I checked out. It was home away from home. I'll definitely stay there again and will recommend it to friends and family, particularly to those that usually stay in quality hotels.

Reviewed August 03, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Walter from United States
Couple
Krungthep River View
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Great Location ”

Location, Service, price

Pure luxury in every way when you book on a Horizon Club floor room/suite--floors 22 to 25. The river view from riverside and high above is worth every penny. The in-room design and materials used are grades above the lower floor rooms. Only gripe would be not having a second bathroom in the executive suite which is pretty standard in more modern 5 star hotels. Otherwise, simply magnificent stay! Will definitely stay there again next time in Bangkok!!

Reviewed May 29, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Walter from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Great Location”

Location, Service, price

Pure luxury in every way when you book on a Horizon Club floor room/suite--floors 22 to 25. The river view from riverside and high above is worth every penny. The in-room design and materials used are grades above the lower floor rooms. Only gripe would be not having a second bathroom in the executive suite which is pretty standard in more modern 5 star hotels. Otherwise, simply magnificent stay! Will definitely stay there again next time in Bangkok!!

Reviewed May 29, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
randy from United States
Family with teens
Executive Suite
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015

Old world charm, grace, and magnificence”

riverside location w/ free boat transfers to neighbor hotels and Asiatique night market, breakfast buffet, the ultra luxurious cylindrical marble shower in Horizon Club floor executive riverview sui

Pure luxury in every way when you book on a Horizon Club floor room/suite--floors 22 to 25. The river view from riverside and high above is worth every penny. The in-room design and materials used are grades above the lower floor rooms. Only gripe would be not having a second bathroom in the executive suite which is pretty standard in more modern 5 star hotels. Otherwise, simply magnificent stay!

Reviewed April 08, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Roland from Germany
Group
Stayed 1 night in February 2015

Great experience with minor issues”

comfort, design, locatuon

Certainly one of the best choices in Bangkok. Amazing how many people they can handle at this high level of service and friendliness. The location is just superb, overlooking the river with easy access to both BTS and boats. Minor drawbacks are that the checkin procedure was one of the longest I ever experienced (about 25min) and the portions at Angelino restaurant are too small. HINT : Avoid comin during Chinese new year, otherwise your experience may be spoilt by these noisy and uncultivated folks.

Reviewed February 26, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Rod from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

Great hotel with5* service”

Quality, location, outdoor pool area

Have stayed here a number of times when the deal has allowed. It has that feel good , quality factor. The lounge area off the lobby has always felt a bit soulless - dont know why as they have a lovely vista siting at the Long Bar there. Always a pleasure staying here with access to the Skytrain at the back of the main hotel just a few meters away. The hotel can arrange taxi to airport for 400b fixed charge to include tolls.

Reviewed January 27, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Diane from United States
Couple
Deluxe River View Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015

Great hotel, great value, great location ”

The rooms...very comfortable and elegant. The staff, very professional and helpful. The pool.

Loved it. Service at the pool was okay, not grat. Staff should be trained to look around once in a while, to see if anyone wants anything. But overall, a great hotel in a great location, for a reasonable price.

Reviewed January 14, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Sutha from Singapore
Couple
Krungthep Wing Deluxe Balcony
Stayed 5 nights in January 2015

Exclusive wing, great service, great food”

The complimentary breakfast buffet, the location that's very convenient, the sincere service

The krungthep wing deluxe room was well furnished with a beautifully comfortable bed and a balcony facing the chao phraya river. The restroom had a good sized bathtub and shower area. The room was well stocked and room service was prompt and service was close to impeccable. The exclusiveness of the krungthep wing is what I adored about the room, with the peace, quiet and a smaller crowd of people present. The wing is separate from the actual hotel and hence service is more exclusively catered to the guests staying there. With the complimentary buffet breakfast, which changes in variety slightly daily, tea with goodies, and cocktails and bites in the evening further ensure you are fully taken care of even if you choose to stay in the hotel the entire day. The butler, together with all the staff, are very prompt and friendly. Furthermore, the wing is located right beside the saphan taksin bts (train) station which allows you to all the malls and shopping areas at different bts stations conveniently. Most importantly, there are numerous food areas, street food stalls and restaurants to try all within walking distance from the hotel along the main roads, which made it so convenient to be daring. Throughly enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Bangkok.

Reviewed January 13, 2015