Book Now: Shangri-La Hotel

Excellent
From 468 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4
Recommended by 94% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (468)Booking.com Reviews (113)
8.4
Excellent
From 468 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.6
Facilities8.8
Location8.3
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.6
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Bahasa Indonesia
日本語
Deutsch
more
Room type
Executive King Bed
Deluxe
Horizon Deluxe
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 377 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Ahmed from Saudi Arabia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Exceptional”
Great experience Shangri La hotel. nice staff and clean big rooms, i like my stay there
Reviewed May 06, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Steven from Singapore
Family with teens
Horizon Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Excellent”
Staff are friendly & helpful.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Nur from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Simple perfect like always!”
Simple perfect like always!
Reviewed March 30, 2017
7.6
Very good
WILYEM from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Great stay for business trip”
Hotel is kinda out of date but they are renovating now so hopefully by end of 2017 we should expect a more updated hotel. Service was very attentive as expected from Shangri-La chain hotel. 5* facilities but rather old. The hotel is really big and if security is your utmost concern then its quite a trouble because again its out dated and limited spots only. Hopefully they will upgrade it too during the renovation. Very convenient it is located opposite of a mall and entertainment complex. Overall my stay was enjoyable and pleasant.
Reviewed March 12, 2017
8.0
Excellent
febri from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Good old hotel”
The hotel is old and need a bit renovation for new looka
Reviewed January 10, 2017
8.8
Excellent
chris from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Executive King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
All round great hotel with excellent services, facilities and restaurants and staff”
Noisy in day time with construction noise from renovations but understandable.
Reviewed January 04, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Andi from Indonesia
Business traveler
Executive King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Excellent Room Service”
Decided to order room service here and Surprisingly the food was excellent
Reviewed December 30, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Chia from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Good hotel”
Friendly staffs and clean room
Reviewed December 29, 2016
6.8
Good
Monica from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
ok”
new, good location n clean
Reviewed December 16, 2016
8.8
Excellent
SYLVIA from Indonesia
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
15 years ago and still going on”
The last time i went there was ages ago. yet the quality, the service and all were the same. As i booked with agoda, i neglected the breakfast issue, yet as i tried to amend it, the hotel and of course Agoda had helped a lot, i got everything i needed for my stay in a split second. Well i might encourage the management to pay close attention to the food quality, i found rotten salted eggs on my porridge. I would definitely recommend Shangri-la to anybody asking me the best place to stay in Surabaya for leisure purpose.
Reviewed December 13, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Johan from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Good hotel in Darmo, Surabaya”
Good room, good food, good location
Reviewed December 11, 2016
8.0
Excellent
WINA from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Good”
It has complete facilities, good location and Food are tasty. But the rooms are old and little bit pricey.
Reviewed November 30, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Farley from Philippines
Business traveler
Horizon Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
convenience and value for money”
Five star facilities with superior staff training
Reviewed November 22, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Wempy from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
convenient”
good location and convenient for meeting and going around Darmo Area
Reviewed November 11, 2016
8.0
Excellent
rina from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Executive King Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Clean room”
Clean and homey room
Reviewed November 11, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Indrawati from Indonesia
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Location, price and room”
the location is in the busy street. it's near to Ciputra World Mall and easy access to highway if you want go to airport. the breakfast nice. the room is spacious although it's a bit old. i hope they will do renovation
Reviewed November 06, 2016
6.0
Maribel from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Staffs at breakfast are rude...I am so disappointed.Need to learm more courtesy to guests”
My booking last Oct 29-31 doesn't include breakfast.When i went in next day they approached me that mine has no breakfast included I say I will pay . I have not even started eating and another staff approached me with a bill.I dont like the treatment as if I will run away from my obligations after eating...considering i did a deposit for tbe extra costs of my stay...Need to level up the training for the staffs in dealing with guests....they are rude and I dont.like it.
Reviewed November 01, 2016
6.8
Good
Jeraldine from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Nice hotel but expensive”
nice hotel but overpriced
Reviewed October 27, 2016
7.2
Very good
Jaya from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Not value for money”
The hotel is a little run down. However, service from staff more than makes up for it.
Reviewed October 21, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Robert from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Great hotel for Business & Pleasure”
everyone was very friendly & attentive here. one of the hotel that feels like home. very strategic location too, easy to go anywhere around the city.
Reviewed October 06, 2016
6.8
Good
SHIGEKI from Japan
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
OLD HOTEL”
OLD HOTEL
Reviewed October 04, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
lim from Malaysia
Group
Horizon Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Excellant”
Awesome! The staffs were friendly and service excellent!
Reviewed September 26, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
lukito from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Great place to stay”
Convinient place to stay
Reviewed September 19, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
yohana from Indonesia
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
pleasant stay”
good variety of food for breakfast and others
Reviewed September 09, 2016
8.8
Excellent
yohana from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
pleasant stay”
great ambience, great food variety
Reviewed September 09, 2016
8.8
Excellent
yohana from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
pleasant stay”
Great ambience, great service, great facilities
Reviewed September 09, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Eric from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
good location , friendly owner”
good location , friendly owner
Reviewed August 21, 2016
7.2
Very good
Preben from Denmark
Couple
Horizon Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Nice beautiful old Hotel”
The atmosphere in this Hotel is so nice, The Restaurants are excellent, a real nice place to spend a long weekend. The only thing I was not happy about was the staff in the Buffet Restaurant, they were way below standard
Reviewed August 11, 2016
7.2
Very good
Philip from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Absolutely fabulous staff; rooms need refreshing, particularly bathroom ”
All staff we encountered were first rate. Exceptional customer service from reception, duty manager, Horizon lounge staff, in particular Alfi, and Ryo as concierge - the latter on a training placement, and we expect will have an excellent future in the hospitality industry. Thank you to all staff. Truly brilliant service.
Reviewed August 04, 2016
6.4
Good
Vernon from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
No Positive Experience ”
Don't have a positive experience as people are not serving from the heart. Very robotic smile and service.
Reviewed July 19, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Benjamin from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Great hotel”
We enjoyed the stay. Good food, good pool, classy rooms. Very well built hotel, and a standout in Surabaya.
Reviewed July 06, 2016
6.0
Chin from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
No comments”
No comments
Reviewed June 29, 2016
6.4
Good
Sze from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Disappointed ”
I stayed at Shangri-La Surabaya for 1 night with a baby, when I checked in at 7pm and my baby was ready to sleep but the staff was up-selling me to upgrade, I was just there for 1 night and just wanted to go to bed. Room was old and the cleanliness was not at 5 star hotel standard. Breakfast was good with heaps of variety. We checked out at 7am the other morning everything went smoothly, however few hours later I received an email from the duty manager saying I had consumed 2 beers and needed to charge my credit card. I did not even aware they have a mini bar and was so disappointed a well known hotel would have this mistake, I replied if they are going to charge my card then I would have to raise a complaint, eventually they are going to 'waive' something that I did not consume. I am not going to stay in Shangri-La Surabaya again.
Reviewed June 06, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
alfia from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
excellent”
its been wonderful can stay
Reviewed June 03, 2016
6.8
Good
Juliana from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Good hotel”
good location and value for money
Reviewed May 10, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Diana from Indonesia
Family with young children
Horizon Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Recommended”
Everything okeyy,,, we luv horizon club lounge here thx
Reviewed March 28, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Pranajaya from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Great Hotel, great stuff. ”
Traffic outside hotels are bad...breakfast is so so..
Reviewed March 24, 2016
8.4
Excellent
LEANDER from Philippines
Couple
Horizon Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Best for Weekend Retreat”
One of the best places to stay for a weekend of relaxation. Good food and excellent service. Get an upgrade to enjoy club privileges.
Reviewed March 21, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Monica from Indonesia
Group
Horizon Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Nice hotel for new year celebration”
Staff n environment n food all good
Really nice to get horizon floor so we can enjoy all u can drink wine n coffee n snack at horizon lounge
Reviewed March 15, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Servando from Philippines
Solo traveler
Executive King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
=)”
;)
Reviewed March 14, 2016
7.7
Very good
AMINAH from Singapore
Family with young children
Horizon Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
A Pleasant Stay”
The excellent service of the staff, The Resort like Ambience and The wonderful SPA treatment
Despite the fact that my young daughter was unwell and had a high fever, our stay was by far a relaxing one pleasant one. We stayed indoors most of the time and went out to the nearest shopping centre to chill out.
Reviewed February 10, 2016
7.6
Very good
Jaime from United States
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Ho Ho Ho Holiday”
Took my wife and young daughter for a Christmas holiday. Our stay was very relaxing. The extra portable bed was provided without cost which my daughter loved. The buffet was great. Service all around is terrific. Had a problem with the TV and a hotel technician was at our room within 15 minutes. Relaxing cabanas by the pool for daddy and a kiddy pool for daughter plus other activities for kids.
Reviewed February 05, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Nur from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Amazing stay yet again!”
Friendly hotel staff, food variety at Jamoo & the ambiance
This is the second time we're staying at Shangri La Surabaya and we're as impressed by their service as the first time we came. We always look forward to an amazing stay with Shangri La Surabaya and they have not disappointed us at all. They deserve being a 5 star hotel definitely. Thank you Shangri La Surabaya. We'll definitely be back again.
Reviewed January 08, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Siim from Estonia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Great! A Shangri-La true to its name :)”
Couples relaxing, sauna/spa, food
Reviewed December 19, 2015
7.0
Very good
gisela from Indonesia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
the toilet flush is jammed and the bathub as well”
its clean, convinient
The toilet was jammed and the bathub as well for few days that I stay there, the food is okay,
Reviewed December 03, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
FERNAND from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Luxurious and Comfy”
Food, Staff and ambience
Just a short, nice and comfy stay
Reviewed October 18, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Eristiana from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
kamarnya masih konvensional”
good food, best pool, helpful staff
had a great restaurant, nice and helpful staff but the room still conventional. need upgrading in room decor so that customer feels worth staying here.
Reviewed October 16, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Joanna from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Great stay for business trip”
Location, Safety, Value
The stay was great. Ideal place for meetings. Clean room and comfortable bed
Reviewed August 06, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Karel from Indonesia
Family with young children
Executive King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
NICE PLACE”
Near shopping Center
Reviewed August 01, 2015
5.7
Budi from Indonesia
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Hotel ok”
Ok ok ok hotel
Reviewed June 26, 2015