Excellent 8.7
Based on 1384 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1384 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.1
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 8.4
Sort by

Gilbert from United States
Couples
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Fun / Relaxing / Beautiful Location
Beach is AMAZING / Abundant Water Activities / Comfortable Resort
We had a great stay at the Shangri-La's Mactan Resort. We arrived early (5am) and they arranged airport transportation which was great. Understandably, our room wasn't ready so we had to kill some time by the beach. We drifted asleep on the comfortable beach chairs staring at the beautiful sun rise off the ocean...not a bad start to our trip! We spent the next few days enjoying the beautiful and clean beach. We went snorkeling right off the beach, rented jet skis, etc. Breakfast and restaurants were good but can be crowded. In fact, the only drawback was the noisy tourists. Rooms were a bit older and can use an update, but was still clean and comfortable. STAY HERE FOR THE BEACH!
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Shirley from Canada
Groups
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Everything was great! Nothing to complain about!
Friendly staff, Clean room, wonderful coral reef
The Shangri-La branded hotels are always the best and this one at Mactan of course didn't disappoint me. We had a wonderful vacation at the hotel that we were very much impressed by all the friendly and helpful staffs. We love the beach and the pool at the Ocean Wing. The "Snorkeling Safari" at the beach was one of the highlights during my vacation! Will love to go back for another short vacation.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

charibyl from Philippines
Families with young children
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
elegance, amazing view, great foods
friendly staff, beaches, hotel interior is very modern
my family had great time roaming around this hotel. taking a lot of pictures wverywhere turned out cool! everytime we meet staff? they always smile and great us! very welcoming! nice room very clean and oh my goodness the foods!!!! very very good. beaches are paradise
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Ana from Philippines
Groups
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Relaxing, comfortable, happy
Massive grounds with lots of activities, fast internet, comfortable rooms
Our stay was truly lovely. We arrived early and were given an early check-in card because our room was not yet available. The card was meant to give us access to guest-only areas, but instead we requested for a tour of the grounds and were happily obliged. Everything was lush and green and felt tranquil despite the number of guests present. Our room was airy and spacious, although not very centrally located. It was always a few minutes' walk everywhere because the place is so big. Still, we were happy. The staff were also very considerate of my requests, which went a long way in making our stay the best. They even gave us a very thoughtful and decadent "Happy Birthday" brownie. The beach was lovely although the sand was not fine. We saw a lot of fish even in shallow waters and had a blast just relaxing. The beach staff were very attentive, providing towels and setting up canopies. The buffet breakfast was massive and chaotic at times. I don't know if my expectations were overly high, but the food was just... good. Nothing mind-blowing in terms of flavor but quite overwhelming when it came to variety. We had a great pizza by the poolside, which we enjoyed very much. For our last day we had lunch at Tea of Spring and the dim sum was good but felt underwhelming. Overall we had a lovely joint birthday celebration/vacation. I'd definitely return to Shangri-La Mactan.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

FALEH from Saudi Arabia
Solo travelers
Premier Room
Stayed 10 nights in July 2013
excellent
staff, cleanness and variities of food
Excellent in all aspects, excellent facilities. excellent food, excellent staff
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wilhelmina from Philippines
Families with older children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
PARADISE.
beach, efficient service, all-around fun for kids and adults alike!
I stayed in Mactan Shang with my husband and kids for my birthday week-end. It is a 5-minute drive from the airport so we arrived in the hotel a tad early. The hotel was gracious enough to allow us to use the facilities while we waited for our room so that no time was wasted. Our room (deluxe) was spacious enough to fit 3 adults and 2 kids. Room-service was fast and efficient. The hotel gave us bottled water for free. And the staff's favorite expression is "certainly" and true enough, they gave us all that we asked for without hesitation! The pools are big and heavily guarded by attentive life-guards. We did not, however, spend too much time in the pool as we chose to enjoy the hotel's beach which is a marine sanctuary. Without having to swim too far, one can swim with and feed the fishies near the shore. My kids loved every minute of it. They have snorkeling gear for rent. We also tried other water activities like the jetski, banana boat--they were a bit pricey but totally worth it! As for the food, we loved their chinese restaurant (Tea of Spring) best. Tides was okay, too. The others were nothing great. If you would like to try cebuano seafood, head to the nearby Sutokil restaurants--reasonable and oh so yummy! Mactan Shang is a haven for families with young kids, it is truly a paradise.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Diana from Norway
Groups
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
relaxing and fun.
fun, comfort, attentive staff
Stay in shangrila is an experience of a life time. My 2 teen-agers and myself felt very much secured and comfortable from the very first contact With the staff at the airport. A smiling staff that met us at the lobby and a very effective welcome gesture at the inchecking desk. The room was superb. I would recommend it to aeveryone i know. The service is fenomenal, have no inch to complain. We felt that we made use of Our time and stay very memorable and With lots of fun.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

YICHUN from Philippines
Families with young children
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
It is fun to stay.
Room, beach, pool!
The staff is well trained, the room is comfortable. The pool and beach is in good condition. We can see fishes even water is only at waist line. The entire hotel is well maintained. Outside of the gate is not so well developed.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Mikkel from Philippines
Families with young children
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Shangri-La Mactan is topnotch for young children
The water slide and Adventure Zone for my four year old; the gardens for my 1 year old toddler
It was wonderful. My wife and I were incredibly happy to see our pre-schooler and toddler enjoy themselves with the big gardens, the water slide for kids, and the Adventure Zone. We also slept very well with the very comfortable bed; the air in the room seemed very clean; and the bathroom amenities were luxurious.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Raymund from Philippines
Families with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Never fails to impress
great staff, impressive service , decent beach front
its been a few years since our last visit and the Mactan Shangri-La still lived up to my high expectations. The quality of service and the disposition of the staff was simply impressive - going out of their way to delight comes naturally and is the norm. This is world class stuff. Proud to be pinoy!
Reviewed July 08, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: