Excellent 8.7
Based on 1385 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1384 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.1
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 8.4
Sort by

Ty from Canada
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Another great stay at the Shangri-La!
Service, Staff, Property, Amenities
I was scheduled to attend diving classes over the weekend at Scotty's at Shangri-La and decided to book an overnight stay so that my family could enjoy a weekend on the beach. Having stayed here before, I did not have to do any research prior to making the reservation; this place had easily exceeded my expectations in the past. Once again, the staff at the Shangri-La left nothing to be desired. Due to my dive classes, my wife had to spend the weekend caring for our 1 year old daughter and although this can be a daunting task, the staff always went out of its way to help her, without ever being prompted. I had an amazing first dive experience exploring the Shangri-La Marine Sanctuary and on the drive home (we're Canadians temporarily located in Cebu), we did nothing but chat about the excellent service and time we had. The only downside about this resort are some of the unreasonable prices for food. We planned on dining at the Buko Bar by the pool area for a quick, laid back dinner and discovered the only option was a Hawaiian buffet. The options were rather limited, especially considering the bill came to over Php4000 for 2 adults with only 1 alcoholic drink on the tab. We didn't even come close to getting the value we should have out of the meal; it's not like they were serving a nice spread of seafood or expensive cuts of meat. To summarize, in terms of service, the Shangri-La is best in class when it comes to service
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Winnie from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Service with a smile
Pool, Restaurants, Rooms
This hotel is truly 5 star. A bit on the expensive side. But I had a truly relaxing stay. The beach was a bit longer than in other resorts in mactan but still not made for long strolls at the beach. I would definitely come back to this hotel.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

liwayway from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
I love this hotel
Privacy and the beach..
Majority of the staff were cordial and professional. Service was really good.. Numerous staff stationed at the beach were very helpful and catered to our needs.. I enjoyed our stay a lot!!
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Maria from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
over priced hotel for what you pay
the beach
we booked through agoda the night before and they did not receive our reservation. when you arrive there is a lot of greetings but it seems in genuine and everyone is following a playbook script. we arrived in the hotel late, shown to our room was nice gesture but not necessary. the room itself compared to north america would be would be a three star hotel .. rooms need updating and nothing home to write about. we headed to tides restaurant at 10 pm after being told it would close at 11 pm. we ordered and was rushed to have our main entree then 5 minutes later asked to clear our bill. we paid and then everyone vanished ... we went in the restaurant to get our water ...what is the point of paying the mandatory service charge. breakfast was ok and the beach area was the nicest in the area as we spent a couple of nights at plantation bay. for the money you pay it isn't really worth it. the grounds remind me of sheraton in maui. otherwise i would say it was a miss and disappointment. spend your money elsewhere.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Cecille from United Kingdom
Group
Ocean Club Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Relaxing place to stay.. although i expected more.
venue, staff performance, hospitality, food
I have always wanted to stay here at the shangrila, and this time I did. It may be my own doing, but because i had hoped it to be so much more than it was - i was quite disappointed. the hotel is great overall. it has been well maintaned, the staff is great, the food is delicious, the facilities and amenities are good. i have to admit though, it does need a refurb in some areas. it feels quite "old". its very cozy and homey where we stayed in, as we took club rooms, but when i went to the other wing where my friend was, it just felt - old. it needs a make over. otherwise, i would have given it a 9/10.. however, 7/10 for now.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Dovie from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
The best! Service wise, thumbs up! Friendly staff.
Hotel facilities and great staff
Will be definitely coming back to rejuvenate and recharge! Cudos to all the staff!
Reviewed November 21, 2012

John from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Very nice!
Hotel location!
The hotel and staff were up and beyond what we thought it would be. We had a very memorable stay.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Roberto from Canada
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Beautiful hotel with excellent servcie.
Clean, enviro friendly with courteous staff.
From the time we arrived until we left we had a relaxing & wonderful time. The staff are friendly, room always clean & the environment cozy.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Jocelia from Philippines
Group
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Luxury and top notch service
Great spa
The hotel room was spacious and lovely with it's own terrace. They need to upgrade the TV though -- it is still those big tube Tvs from a decade ago. I enjoyed the beach and there was a variety of fish even near the shore. there was a promo offered by CHI spa and it was the ultimate pampering experience!
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Ory from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Beautiful - but artificial - resort
great beach, nice lawns, good for kids
The place was beautiful for sure, but could be a resort anywhere else in the world - there was nothing uniquely Filipino about the place - and it was definitely a cookie-cutter place which could have easily been located in Arizona or Hawaii (minus the outdoor excursions). Service was great - but sometimes over the top "how are you?" "good morning" "good afternoon" etc. - we wanted to say "leave us alone!" at times. Also, if it rains (as it did for one day) it's nice to sit back and read, but there's not that much else to do. We took a shuttle to the mall but that was kind of weak. The food (especially breakfast) is very good, but since the resort is extremely isolated from anything else, you end up paying extremely high prices for all the others meals.
Reviewed November 16, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: