Book Now: Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu

Excellent
From 2015 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
Recommended by 93% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (2015)Booking.com Reviews (1319)
8.7
Excellent
From 2015 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness9.1
Facilities9.2
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality9.1
Service8.9
Value for money8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
日本語
简体中文
more
Room type
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Seaview Room
Premier Room
Ocean Club Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1682 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Katrina from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
nice resort but some staff lack proper pleasantries”
beautiful resort with well manicured gardens. clean beach with nice sand, clear water. can really see fish just a few meters from shore. a bit of turn off though when we checked in early. receptionist said we can already use the facilities while waiting for our room to be ready. while walking around the resort, roving guard questioned us twice if we are registered guests. didn't like the approach. we felt like we weren't welcome. good thing that experience was set aside with the great dinner experience at tea of spring. staff were very accommodating. it was my father's birthday and they surprised him with cake and song.
Reviewed April 09, 2018
Dear Katrina, Thank you for your lovely words about our lush greenery and pristine beachfront. On the other hand, please allow me to apologize for any inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us. While yours was a bittersweet holiday with highs and lows, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Trust that I’ll be looking into all the areas that need correction with my team. The Mactan team and I appreciate all your kind remarks to the resort, and we hope to welcome you back soon. All the best, René D. Egle, General Manager
Show more
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
8.8
Excellent
Robert from United States
Business traveler
Premier Room (Ocean Wing)
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Always the best”
Everything was as it has always been, food was great, and the beach clean. It was unusual for the check-in staff to pressure you into upgrades, however, so am not sure what the new Management was thinking.
Reviewed April 05, 2018
Dear Robert, Excellent review! Other than being a place of adventure and fun, the resort is also a serene oasis where one can find infinite relaxation, and I'm very happy you got to experience that. :) Our tranquil haven will be waiting for your next return. Do visit us soon for another well-deserved break from the hustle and bustle of every day. See you! All the best, René D. Egle
Show more
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
7.6
Very good
Raajeesh from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018
Exceptional staff very friendly ”
Very friendly and helpful staff
Reviewed April 03, 2018
Dear Raajeesh, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, René D. Egle
Responded April 05, 2018
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
9.6
Exceptional
Marcos from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Ocean Club Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Excellent location, facilities and friendly staff.”
Room is very clean, food is good and staff are very friendly. Everything is very good including the facilities but the only thing not good are the pillows, they are too soft that even two pillows is making me feel sinking in my bed. Also the extra bed is not good for my son’s back which made him suffer backache as it is made of spring and the mattress that was not firm enough that he sink in the middle of the bed. We travelled as family and requested to have an extra bed but the bed wasn’t good for a five star hotel.
Reviewed April 02, 2018
Dear Marcos, We appreciate your feedback. With regards to your sentiment about our pillows, I wish to inform you that we do have a selection of pillows found in our Pillow Menu that is available upon request. We apologize if this was not communicated to you. On the other hand, I have noted your review about our extra beds and I will be following up on this with my team. We thank you though for your kind words about our rooms and facilities, and we sincerely hope to have another opportunity to delight you with a wonderful holiday next time. Truly yours, René D. Egle, General Manager
Show more
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
10.0
Exceptional
Elenita from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
the best hotel!”
We book 1 day last mar 25 . We enjoyed every moment there. The sea the food the staff is very accomodating . Nothing to say more but its the best hotel!
Reviewed March 28, 2018
Dear Elenita, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, René D. Egle
Responded April 02, 2018
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
10.0
Exceptional
David from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Exceptional”
Love this hotel the best in Cebu in my eyes that is why I chose to have my wedding there 10 yrs ago
Reviewed March 28, 2018
Dear David, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, René D. Egle
Responded April 02, 2018
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
9.6
Exceptional
Victor from Singapore
Couple
Panorama Suite
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Lovely experience ”
Was in an oceanfront suite, which was very pleasant. Not opulent, but great space, lovely bedroom, great view. My only gripe was that the hot water tap in the shower remained a difficult problem, requiring control at the micron level.
Reviewed March 11, 2018
Dear Victor, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, René D. Egle, General Manager
Responded March 13, 2018
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
9.6
Exceptional
Gregg from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Exceptional”
One of the best places in Cebu and the country but could be very exclusive and pricey.
Reviewed March 04, 2018
Dear Gregg, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, René D. Egle, General Manager
Responded March 13, 2018
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
10.0
Exceptional
janelle from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Shang Mactan”
accommodating and courteous staff
Reviewed February 21, 2018
Dear janelle, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, René D. Egle, General Manager
Responded March 13, 2018
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
8.4
Excellent
Stephen from Philippines
Couple
Premier Room (Ocean Wing)
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Great break”
Visited for a weekend break. Shangri La is always luxurious and beautiful and our room was super. Only downside is the rocky beach and soooooooo busy at meal times. Not all the staff were helpful but maybe they were having a bad day.
Reviewed February 19, 2018
Dear Stephen, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, René D. Egle, General Manager
Responded March 13, 2018
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
9.2
Exceptional
TOMOKO from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Great place to relax”
It was a wonderful experience. Buffet restaurant Tides was great for both breakfast and dinner. Private beach is clean. We would like to stay again when we visit cebu next time!
Reviewed February 14, 2018
Dear Tomoko, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, René D. Egle, General Manager
Responded February 15, 2018
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
8.8
Excellent
Liann from United States
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Great place for relaxation”
Friendly staff, suberb service and quality.
Reviewed February 03, 2018
Dear Liann, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, René D. Egle, General Manager
Responded February 07, 2018
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
10.0
Exceptional
John from South Korea
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Exceptional”
Excellent lifeguards at pool area
Reviewed February 01, 2018
Dear John, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, René D. Egle, General Manager
Responded February 07, 2018
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
8.4
Excellent
Jung from Taiwan
Group
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
NIce experience”
Lovely beach
Reviewed January 30, 2018
Dear Jung, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, René D. Egle, General Manager
Responded February 07, 2018
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
10.0
Exceptional
Heiwon from South Korea
Family with young children
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Great time at best resort (minus the food)”
Booked a last minute Christmas trip to the Shangri-La in Cebu with the family and although Shangri-La is a more expensive resort as opposed to others in Cebu, quality of the space and staff service was worth the price. Our only disappointment however was the food. Dishes were either too salty, the chicken quality of traditional chicken dish we ordered was very poor, and he burger we had by the beach smelled of bad beef. But the burger we had on the pool side was great. Not all food was bad but some were disappointing. But other than that, we would stay again in the same resort should we go back,
Reviewed January 19, 2018
Dear Heiwon, Lovely review – I’m beyond thrilled to know you had a splendid Christmas holiday with us! With regards to your sentiments about our food, please know that I will follow this up with the team, especially as we work on elevating our guest dining experience. Our tranquil haven will be waiting for your next return. Do visit us soon for another well-deserved break from the hustle and bustle of every day. See you! :) All the best, René D. Egle, General Manager
Show more
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
10.0
Exceptional
Norman from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
THE BEST!”
Easily the best resort in town! great place to sit back, unwind, and just enjoy!
Reviewed January 10, 2018
Dear Norman, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, René D. Egle, General Manager
Responded February 07, 2018
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
10.0
Exceptional
Mylene from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
excedllent”
great amenities and close to beach
Reviewed January 08, 2018
Dear Mylene, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, René D. Egle, General Manager
Responded February 07, 2018
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
9.6
Exceptional
Jurel from Philippines
Couple
Premier Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Perfect Babymoonin’ location. Safe, excellent service and an awesome beach.”
Highlights: Great location! Superb food. Excellent staff. Pros: Hassle free bookings for restaurants and great payment system Cons: Reservations are not necessarily rain-proof, but that’s how it is
Reviewed December 31, 2017
Dear Jurel, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, René D. Egle, General Manager
Responded March 13, 2018
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
9.6
Exceptional
kyuha from South Korea
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
THE korean staff is very pretty. ”
None
Reviewed December 30, 2017
고객님께, 저희 호텔에 대해 좋은 평가를 해주셔서 감사합니다. 머무시는 동안 즐거운 시간이 되셨다니 저희도 기쁘게 생각하며, 조만간 다시 뵐 수 있기를 바랍니다. 감사합니다. René D. Egle, General Manager
Responded March 13, 2018
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa Cebu
10.0
Exceptional
KyoungRock from South Korea
Family with young children
Ocean Club Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
good”
good
Reviewed November 20, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Neila from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
The staff goes all out for your needs ”
We specially commend the staff for their warmth and attention. Left my hat in the beach- they found it and delivered to my room. I needed a measuring tape - housekeeping found one from linen section and let me borrow it. Got some craving for French macaroons and the buffet manager found some in the pantry. Gosh! I can stay there like forever. Thank you guys for making our stay memorable.
Reviewed November 20, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Business ”
It is a huge family environment.
Reviewed November 11, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Eric from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
perfect hotel ”
i really like the hotel ammenities,food and the staff are nice...its near to the airport...
Reviewed November 06, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Premmala from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Exceptional”
Shangrila is probably one of the most beautiful resorts I've been too. The beautiful host in her costume who greeted us to the reception staff and the concierge. Such impeccable friendliness. My friend fell sick and had to visit the clinic at the basement. However as the only the nurse was around we had to bring her to the nearest hospital. Instead of taking the hotel transport I would suggest you to use Uber as you can save up to 5 times in money. A really beautiful resort. Looking forward to visit others around the world.
Reviewed October 23, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Vanessa from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Perfect ”
Perfect for the business trip i had to attend to. Location was also superb.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Alex from Brazil
Family with young children
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Excellent!!”
Best resort in Cebu. Wonderful for kids. Staffs are soo lovely and helpful. Place is beautiful. Room is very clean. There's nothing bad to say about the resort. Recommended 100%!!
Reviewed October 16, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Arnaud from France
Family with young children
Premier Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Perfect for a short family holiday”
Amazing kids facilities, beach and restaurants. Coming from Hong Kong it is the best destination for a short week end away.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Hussam from Saudi Arabia
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Really good”
Really good
Reviewed October 15, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Bruce from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Great resort ”
Me and my wife was looking for a place to celebrate our wedding anniversary and this place did not disappoint. They have great rooms, activities and location. The beach was one of our favorite areas as it was very clean. We will definitely go back in the future. :)
Reviewed October 14, 2017
8.0
Excellent
DELA from Philippines
Family with young children
Premier Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Very good”
good place esp the beach.
Reviewed October 05, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Mana from Japan
Family with teens
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Superb!”
I stayed for 2 nights with my family during my birthday. When I checked in, a big chocolate cake was waiting for me in the room! Great staff, great breakfast (those detox juices and smoothes are very good), amazing facilities that will keep you busy throughout the day, fish swimming near the private beach. My bday dinner was very satisfactory too- there was a group of live band singing happy birthday to me!
Reviewed September 23, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
CHUN from Hong Kong
Couple
Ocean Club Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2017
Diving place”
We went there for diving, everything you need is out there, there is no need for you to go outside
Reviewed September 19, 2017
8.8
Excellent
changmo from South Korea
Family with young children
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
good pool, swimming for kids”
good facility, expensive price, good for kids
Reviewed September 05, 2017
4.4
Maria from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Overpriced for what the hotel offers”
Expected more as a friend from Cebu recommended but was disappointed for an overpriced hotel with lack of service. Overrated but you do not get the value of your money from the rooms to the restaurants. Hotel not prepared to accommodate 40% occupants, bugs attracting the uncleaned tables next to you while eating and rooms are old. We are disappointed and wasted our money for overpriced hotel and restaurant. Then when we think our suffering was over there's a big line to check out which I did not expect to a big hotel like Shangrila.
Reviewed September 04, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
JONGHYUNG from South Korea
Family with young children
Ocean Club Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Fantastic”
Very good taste, Very good staff, Very good beach.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
4.8
Mariko from United States
Couple
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Acceptable”
Very disappointed. Not as luxurious as other shangrila resorts. Food was lousy. Bathrooms had mold. Very dated
Reviewed August 16, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
janelle from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
stay at the Shang”
staff were accommodating, will definitely book here again
Reviewed August 12, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Zenaida from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Excellent”
Coffee shop does not serve service water, they only serve bottled water...for a fee
Reviewed August 08, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Jorge from Japan
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 5 nights in July 2017
The best summer week !”
I spent a great week at Shangri-la with a 7-months pregnant wife and a toddler, we found all we wanted and more within the hotel areas, great restaurants, great pool/beach areas, recreation, activities, 24hrs gym and so on. This hotel has its 5 stars very well achieved, although it is expensive among other options the experience was really worthed. The staff attention at every corner of the hotel was spectacular, the cleanliness and quality in every detail were outstanding. The breakfast buffet is probably one of the best compared to several other great hotels around the globe. Some very good and cheap restaurants outside nearby the hotel. The security measures were excellent, very safe and relaxed stay. We hope to come back in the future. Thank you for all the hard work and attention Shangri-la Mactan !!
Reviewed July 23, 2017
4.0
Richard from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Tiny beach, overpriced everything, invasive "security" to keep out locals, poor food, bad experience”
I rarely spend the time to review hotels, but this was the worst "resort" hotel experience I have had, especially relative to it's "5-star" rating. To get into the resort you need to pass thru "security" who scans thru the taxis to make sure you're not smuggling in guns or contraband; ridiculous. I believe the real reason for security is to give the illusion that the place is sp coal and that guests shouldn't leave the resort. This in turn allows the resort to charge outlandish prices for basic items. For example, hotel massage for $120 usd/hour (versus a much better massages at $12/hour literally right across the street). $8 Evian water in room versus $1.25 at the 7-eleven down the street. We found the security offensive, the prices offensive, and the facilities mediocre. The beach was small and crowded, the food was way overpriced and marginal, and what they call "deluxe rooms" stare out at the roof and parking lot, with a Hyatt airport hotel feel to them. Very poor experience!!
Reviewed July 17, 2017
7.6
Very good
Grace from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
They don't have a systematic communications there.”
We cancelled our transportation to/from the airport ( bcoz we found a service that offered much less) a few days before our arrival and they still charged us for those. The receptionist had to call in several people to verify. They were not recorded in their comp system that they were cancelled. Plus the dinner buffet at tides were short staff. Had to wait for about 10 min to ask for water.
Reviewed July 12, 2017
7.2
Very good
JOCELYN from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Chaotic”
There were lots of people. Expensive.
Reviewed July 08, 2017
8.0
Excellent
JOCELYN from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Very good”
Expensive and karaoke bar was not available the whole time we were there, very frustrating. Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Thanks for fruits. We did not get it the last time we were there!
Reviewed July 08, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Ellen from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Wonderful and unforgettable stay”
The place is very good with very warm staff.
Reviewed July 05, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Dohee from South Korea
Family with young children
Deluxe Seaview Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Perfect vacation”
Beautiful private beach & garden,, nice kids pool, variety activities, clean & comfortable room condition, nice shangrila people.
Reviewed July 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Chris from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Awesome Experience”
The breakfast is awesome! The room is nice, clean and smell good. The customer service was awesome. Literally can stay in the room without even going out. Will definitely come back again.
Reviewed July 01, 2017
5.6
KERWIN from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Nothing spectacular”
There were so many guests, imagine a resort with more than 500 fully booked rooms, so if you want a quiet and relaxing place, this resort is not for you. considering their not so cheap accommodation, still, almost eveything has a price from airport transfer, snorkeling gear and even a piece of medicine (when my sister needed one for her headache).
Reviewed June 28, 2017
6.0
Erika from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Above average”
The bed sheets had blood in them, gross. we had to call housekeeping to replace the sheets which apparently they didn't change before I checked in. No apologies or concession whatsoever. Disgusting. Highly unexpected from Shangri la
Reviewed June 26, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Vacation at home”
I live in Cebu but I took this nearby vacation because of the good food and air conditioning and beautiful environment. It really did feel like we went to another country.
Reviewed June 23, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from Austria
Couple
Ocean Club Room
Stayed 6 nights in April 2017
Surpassed expectations”
My wife and I have travelled over 15 years throughout all Asia and enjoyed a lot of 5* hotels in all mayor city and beach destinations. During our last stay in Shangri-La Cebu @Ocean Wing - fully facing the sea at 8tgh floor - we were treated with utmost courtesy and pampered almost the whole day. Can you imagine indulging an Austrian Linzer Schnitte in the land of Fun, tasting almost same as in my home country? The excellent wine selection, perfect Vienna Melange @ Club floor and the acquaintance OF OTHER internationnal guest made every evening a great experience. Even the restaurant staff always found a way to meet and exceed our expectations. Not to mention the friendly pool and beach staff which made us felt like real VIP by providing free ice water, cold iced towels, natural cure against sun burns. I have never experienced such a classy ambiance and professional service in whole Asia before. If you have travelled in the Philippines before, you can image what a great job the hotel management and whole staff is doing there. We will come 100% again and recommend Shangri-La Cebu to all of our friends.
Reviewed June 20, 2017