Excellent 8.6
Based on 2075 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2075 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Room comfort and quality 9.0
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food and dining 8.3
Sort by

Yat from China
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
A nice and relax resort
Big swimming pool, fun water park for kids, great breakfast buffet
It was a great resort hotel, nice, clean, & relax. With great breakfast buffet.
Reviewed October 08, 2015

Joo from Malaysia
Family with young children
Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Wonderful trip
Comfort Room, Nice Pool, Nice view for sunset,
prefect
Reviewed October 05, 2015

Timothy from United Kingdom
Couple
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Nice hotel but caters for mass tourism
Staff performance, seafront location, attached dive centre
Although it is a 5 star hotel with good amenities, wonderful service, great swimming pools and a good choice of restaurants/bars, it is catering for tourists en-masse, which I did not expect from a Shangri-La hotel. So if you expect exclusiveness, privacy and relaxation from this resort, you won’t get it. Breakfast buffet is ok but I had better breakfast buffets from other Shangri-La hotels and other hotels of the same calibre. The attached marine activities/dive centre is reasonably well run and there are regular boats out to the nearby marine park. However, the dive outfit facilities on the island are a bit rundown.
Reviewed October 04, 2015

Samantha from United Kingdom
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Good if you need a base close to the airport and t
location, room, orang utan opportunity
Stay was fine, but I expect better from something like the Shangri-La. It was full of families and the service we received on check in (admittedly late at night) was awful. Luckily we were diving so didn't have to hang around too much, but the other Shangri La (Rasa Ria) looked much nicer, when we headed over to see the orang utans. The breakfast buffet is very tailored to Asian customers and give the dinner buffet a miss as over priced.
Reviewed October 01, 2015

Mohd from Malaysia
Couple
Twin Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Relax with in the reach of Kota Kinabalu City
Staff Location Room
One of the best hotel i stayed. Very friendly staff. good food. excellent swimming pool.
Reviewed September 30, 2015

Jo from Philippines
Couple
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed one night in September 2015
The Shangri La Experience
Shangri La brand with a Borneo Twist
It was a pleasant stay. It's the same with other Shangri La Hotels but I find the Cebu Hotel in the Phillipines more accommodating and pleasing to guests. I think the buffet breakfast has less selection than other Shangri La hotels. Nevertheless, the experience is good.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Tang from Malaysia
Family with young children
Kinabalu Club Mountainview Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Fantastic
environment, location, food
my family and i enjoyed very much during our stay in the resort. The Kota kinabalu Club house is fantastic. It had separate checck-in and check-out counter which speed up the process. The complimentary tea break was phenomenal. The view, the kids water park and the swimming pool are good. I will stay in this resort again if i come to KK again.
Reviewed September 27, 2015

Hun from Malaysia
Family with young children
Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
poor f&b service
location,integrated, marina
It was good except for very poor f&b, not up to par for a 5* hotel, service was slow, food quality and selection very very poor
Reviewed September 26, 2015

ERIC from United States
Couple
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
A very pleasant experience
excellent facilities, superb staff, overall guest treatment
Although it was the most expensive hotel on our trip, our time at Shangri-La (Tanjung Aru) was also the most enjoyable. For people who are concerned about the price, you are paying for the facilities and service, not primarily the room. The room itself was OK (many amenities but mediocre size), but the hotel has many great restaurants and cafes, bars, a beautiful swimming pool, a marina offering diving, jetskiing, island trips, etc., a health club, and many more. You can happily spend a weekend just on the hotel premises. One of the things I enjoyed was that the staff ALWAYS treat you like royalty, even if you're dressed like a college student. They are so friendly and helpful. In particular, the staff who helped us with our bags (I forgot his name - sorry) was so kind, informative, and helpful. Also, the free wifi is also hassle-free, unlike many other hotels. If you choose the Shangri-La Tanjung Aru, I'm sure you will have a great time. Just be sure to ask for a map of the hotel area when you check in, as there were things we didn't even know existed when we checked out 2 days later.
Reviewed September 20, 2015

Raechell from Philippines
Couple
Sea View
Stayed one night in September 2015
Nothing short of 5 star quality
Staff/Service, Rooms, Hotel surroundings
We had initially booked two different rooms as the room we wanted wasn't available on the first day here in Agoda but upon checking in they were able to give us the same sea view room sparing us the hassle of moving rooms. So that was a plus :) Room was so comfortable as is to be expected from Shangri-La hotels. The location and their hotel surroundings were great for a hotel in the city. It gets quite "rowdy" and crowded during the sunset viewing though when visitors are allowed inside but the rest of the time the hotel is peaceful and relaxing. Food has a good selection though we think there are better breakfast buffets at other Shangri-La resorts hehe. We especially loved being able to visit their sister resort Rasa Ria (for a fee via their shuttle). That resort was really beautiful with a stunning beach plus a nature reserve as well!
Reviewed September 18, 2015


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: