Book Now: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Reviews

Excellent
From 3934 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
/
10
Recommended by 93% of guests

Reviews of Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (3933)Booking.com Reviews (2651)
8.7
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness9.0
Facilities9.1
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality9.0
Service8.9
Value for money8.1
All languages
All guests (3933)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 3000 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Adriana from Indonesia
Group
Sea View
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

The room is big and comfortable”

Love to stay at this hotel.. the room is big.. have balcony and thank you to the helpful staff and excellent services.. We have to catch our flight to Layang layang island and they offer us to get our pack breakfast.. It is really nice.. For sure I will stay at this hotel again when i visit KK..

Reviewed May 07, 2019

Dear Adriana, Thank you very much for making us a part of your Borneo adventures. If you are planning a return visit, we'll all be here to welcome you back with open arms! Until we meet again, safe travels always.

Responded May 08, 2019
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
10.0
Exceptional
Adriana from Indonesia
Group
Tanjung Twin Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Nice Room and balcony”

helpful staff and excellent services.. We have to catch our flight to Layang layang island and they offer us to get our pack breakfast.. It is really nice.. For sure I will stay at this hotel again when i visit KK..

Reviewed May 07, 2019

Dear Adriana, Thank you very much for making us a part of your Borneo adventures. If you are planning a return visit, we'll all be here to welcome you back with open arms! Until we meet again, safe travels always.

Responded May 08, 2019
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
8.0
Excellent
Sharmin from Singapore
Couple
Sea View King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018

Full facilities, busy hotel ”

Hotel is more a family hotel, i wouldn't recommend it if you are looking for a quiet beach getaway. There are good activities for children and the hotel organizes an island hopping trip which is quite useful as they have hourly shuttles to the islands.

Reviewed April 12, 2019

Dear Sharmin, Thank you so much for wonderful review of the resort! We can't wait to welcome you back again to Borneo soon. Until we meet again, safe travels always.

Responded April 12, 2019
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
6.8
Good
Cheng from South Korea
Group
Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Check-In Queue”

I don't understand why the check-in staff was entertaining internal hotel staff for some printing transaction, while the waiting queue was so long and busy. At the same time, the two staff were chit-chatting ignoring the long queue ...! I asked for the female staff name but was being rejected.

Reviewed April 24, 2019

Dear Cheng, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review of the resort. I am very sorry to hear that our services have fallen short of your expectations. Your feedback here is most invaluable to us because it highlights the areas that we can improve. We will work on improving ourselves immediately. We appreciate your continued support and friendship.

Responded April 25, 2019
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
8.4
Excellent
Peggy from Hong Kong
Couple
Kinabalu Mountainview Twin
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Excellent”

Room and toilet a bit old but the stay overall is good

Reviewed May 16, 2019

Dear Peggy, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review of the resort. Your feedback here is most invaluable to us because it highlights the areas that we can improve. We will work on improving ourselves immediately. If you are planning a return visit, we'll all be here to welcome you back with open arms! Until we meet again, safe travels always.

Responded May 17, 2019
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
8.8
Excellent
Huzaima from Singapore
Family with young children
Kinabalu Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Great for kids but everything was overpriced”

The resort is fantastic and fun for the kids. The water park was fun and the private beach was nice too. The room is big enough and the staff were very helpful and friendly. But food, drinks and everything are so expensive. RM56 for fried rice is daylight robbery.

Reviewed December 27, 2018

Dear Huzaima, Thank you so much for sharing this review with us. I am very sorry to hear that our services have fallen short of your expectations. Your feedback here is most invaluable to us because it highlights the areas that we can improve. We will work on improving ourselves immediately. Thank you very much for making us a part of your Borneo adventures. If you are planning a return visit, we'll all be here to welcome you back with open arms! Until we meet again, safe travels always.

Responded December 31, 2018
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
9.6
Exceptional
Nor from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Well worth it as a fun packed getaway”

Shangri-la Tanjung Aru offers a lively atmosphere for a chill and fun in the water vacation with young kids. I like how there is a schedule for certain activities for children or adults to participate. To spend a few days in the vicinity is made well worth it. Staff are friendly in general, and are ready to help.

Reviewed February 28, 2019

Dear Nor, Thank you so much for this amazing review of the resort. We are both humbled and honoured! Thank you very much for making us a part of your Borneo adventures. If you are planning a return visit, we'll all be here to welcome you back with open arms! Until we meet again, safe travels always.

Responded March 04, 2019
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
9.2
Exceptional
mohamad from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Exceptional”

The hotel was excellent Check in and out time was fast Spent 2night in the hotel and everything was really good Breakfast was ok n alot of choices The kids love the swimming pool The hotel was helpful on arranging our stayed which was originally at kinabalu wings at 1night n seaview at 1 night due to full booked. The staff gave and option to make our booking for 2nights at seaview but have to pay alittle sum which am ok with that.. thanks cause help us alot and dont have to change rooms.. Will definitely come back again

Reviewed November 20, 2018

Dear mohamad, Thank you for taking time to share your review with us. Thank you very much for making us a part of your Borneo adventures. If you are planning a return visit, please know that we'll all be here to welcome you back with open arms! Until we meet again, safe travels always.

Responded November 22, 2018
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
8.8
Excellent
SITI from Singapore
Couple
Kinabalu Club Mountainview Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

The place to relax and chill”

Words cannot describe how awesome this resort is. If you intend to stay within the resort, i would recommend that you spend a bit more and opt for the club floor as it offers you access to the club lounge and technically you can save on paying for Hotel Restaurant or in room dining. Large room with good amenities. Great pool, spa and gym facilities.

Reviewed September 20, 2018

Dear SITI, Thank you so much for this amazing review of the resort. We are both humbled and honoured! Thank you very much for making us a part of your Borneo adventures. If you are planning a return visit, we'll all be here to welcome you back with open arms! Until we meet again, safe travels always.

Responded September 21, 2018
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
9.6
Exceptional
THAM from Malaysia
Family with young children
Sea View King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Excellent hotel with young children”

Stay 3days 2 night ,everything was great dan staff very friendly dan also room very clean .breakfast last year better during renovation .ours kids so happy because the club and pool .sunset bar good to stay for a beer.

Reviewed June 04, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Sin from United Kingdom
Couple
Kinabalu Twin Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Exceptional”

My all time favourite beach hotel as someone who grew up in kk, and now lives overseas. Love the beautiful artifacts on display, the spacious architectural layout, open airiness, making the most use of the natural sea breeze, without the need of air conditioning. Such a waste to have an over chilled environment when the natural breeze is like a wonderful massage. I prefer a ceiling fan anytime if necessary.

Reviewed February 22, 2019

Dear Sin, Thank you so much for this amazing review of the resort. We are both humbled and honoured! Thank you very much for making us a part of your Borneo adventures. If you are planning a return visit, we'll all be here to welcome you back with open arms! Until we meet again, safe travels always.

Responded February 22, 2019
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
5.2
Azlina from Singapore
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

Great view bt disappointing service”

To begin with resort has got perfect scenery.Best place for honeymoon n family.Bt was very disappointed with the service as checking in was nt efficient.Reached at 12.35pm n was told to come back aftr 2pm.Came back later n was told room will only b ready aftr 3pm.Was so tired as ours was an early flight n thought cld hv a lil rest in the room b4 we start our day.Ended up went to the mall had our meal n came back to hotel at 6pm(stuck in traffic jam) n was given a ground floor room which had flying insects all over no privacy n noisy.So requested to change room n aftr 3 calls managed to get the room changed.Disappointment did nt end here.Asked for late checkout as our departing flight was in the evening bt staffs kept on saying system down n ask to chk ltr on.Been calling n asking til our departure day bt still gt same answer n system down.Most upsetting part for a 5star rated hotel they did nt even offer any alternatives.They only let us stay til 1pm n we had to find our own solution.

Reviewed January 05, 2019

Dear Azlina, Thank you for this timely review. While we strive to delight every guest who walk into our resort, it seems we have failed to do so in this case. Please accept our sincere apologies for these shortfalls. Our resort was experiencing issues with our computer system and were working to restore the system as soon as possible.We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience that this has caused. Thank you for taking the time to point these out to us. We are very grateful for these feedback.

Responded January 07, 2019
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
10.0
Exceptional
WING from Hong Kong
Couple
Kinabalu Twin Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Highly recommended. ”

Highly recommended. The environment of the resort is excellent. It is so chill and relax. Well equipped with different facilities. definitely worth the money.

Reviewed April 23, 2019

Dear WING, Thank you so much for this amazing review of the resort. We are both humbled and honoured! Thank you very much for making us a part of your Borneo adventures. If you are planning a return visit, we'll all be here to welcome you back with open arms! Until we meet again, safe travels always.

Responded April 24, 2019
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
9.2
Exceptional
Mohd from Malaysia
Family with young children
Executive Family Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

great hotel”

kids love it..wonderful stay

Reviewed March 31, 2019

Dear Mohd, Thank you so much for this amazing review of the resort. We are both humbled and honoured! Thank you very much for making us a part of your Borneo adventures. If you are planning a return visit, we'll all be here to welcome you back with open arms! Until we meet again, safe travels always.

Responded April 01, 2019
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
9.6
Exceptional
Miracle from Philippines
Couple
Kinabalu Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

This shangri-la tanjung aru makes me want to stay amd visit more shagri-la in other location.”

the manager in the restaurant was so polite and accomodating

Reviewed March 05, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Henson from Philippines
Family with young children
Sea View King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

Unexpectedly lovely resort”

We loved and enjoyed our stay in the resort. We booked 2 rooms and requested for a connecting one. Checked-in was really great as they did it inside our room! I forgot to get the name of the staff. Service was great. Our kids enjoyed the facilities of the hotel. Most especially the pool with slides! Food was okay since we are not used to Malaysia cuisine. The only downside of the hotel is the beach. I tried to go to the beach and swim but it is a bit rocky and there were a lot of Jellyfish. I even got stung by one. Luckily we did not let the children swim in the beach. We hope they can think of a way how the guest can swim or go for a dip in the beach. Overall, we still enjoyed our stay here and definitely recommend it!

Reviewed May 15, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
steve from Singapore
Couple
Sea View King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

A ver special romantic trip”

I have had booked for my honeymoon trip with my wife, and i added a little surprise for her, and yet i was caught into my own surprises, as i did not expect the staffs made so much effort for my special arrangement, and it was pretty short notice for such request. I would definitely plan for another visit by this year again.

Reviewed May 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Pui from Malaysia
Couple
Kinabalu Twin Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Exceptional”

It was a great stay at this resort. The sunset view there was just awesome. The only thing that I have to commend is that the portion at the main restaurant / in house dining is alot. The single portion is enough for 2 persons. Or perhaps it is just me who has low appetite. As I saw on your table informing guest not to waste food, perhaps could consider having small or regular portion for guests to choose would be good. Overall a relaxing stay.

Reviewed March 14, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Dk from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Twin Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Excellent Resort in Borneo Island”

We love to bring our kids here.. its our 2nd visit to this resort and it has improved alot more... very suitable with young children and friendly staff.. the Seaview side of the hotel has recently been renovated which is great!

Reviewed December 20, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Reza from Singapore
Family with young children
Kinabalu Club Mountainview Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Good view and amenities”

Everything is good except that the nearest eating place is Lucy's Kitchen which is nearly 1km away. We walked once only. The rest of the time, we took Grab to reach there. You can book a shuttle to some of the islands at a reasonable rate per person. Worth it than going to the jetty by taking the public boat yourself. You can forget about renting snorkeling sets because you are unlikely to find any corals or fish to see. The sea off Manukan Island is filled with rubbish, dead trees and jelly fish during the rainy season. Welcome seafood is a restaurant that you must try if you are at KK. The live seafood variety are humongous and affordable.

Reviewed December 19, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Alan from United Kingdom
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in August 2017

Location, rooms and staff ”

The one thing that stood out for us were the staff. Super helpful! For our wedding anniversary they'd arranged a cake and fruit and on the first turn down of our bed placed rose petals in the shape of heart. Considerate gestures makes all the difference. I must mention that it's not really a hotel to go to if you want peace and quiet as it's very busy and at times very noisy particularly at breakfast and dinner and by the pool area. Probably due to the fact it was summer, but I think whenever there's a major holiday in Asia it will be busy. Good news for the hotel but not if you're looking for a romantic holiday. For that I recommend staying in one of the nearby islands. All in all a great hotel, just too manic at times.

Reviewed August 30, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
TENG from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017

Special Hospitality”

The hotel staff were all highly professional in delivering their duties especially in our case of medical emergency during our short stay. The dedicated staff went all the extra miles to deliver maybe even beyond their call of contractual duties. Sincerely appreciate their high quality services rendered throughout our stay . The hotel management and staff truly deserves a high praise from us for job well done.

Reviewed July 28, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
See from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 1 night in June 2017

Best retreat location”

Room is very clean, beautiful, big & spacious. It comes with welcome drink (Champagne)... Lots of facilities like Gym, Pool, Play Ground for kids too... what I love the most is sunset view at the Sunset Bar.. it's so beautiful! Food is good too... I will surely be back again ..

Reviewed July 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Dendy from Indonesia
Family with young children
Club Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017

Everything is perfect”

We stayed in a sea view room at Kinabalu Wing. Interior looks fresh and modern. Staffs always clean the room perfectly. Swimmimg pool is big, has mini waterfall, slides and big water bucket... just perfect for me and my children. Breakfast has so many breads options... i love it. Restaurant staffs are very helpful and friendly. It has a private beach, where my children did swimming and kayaking... love it. All the water areas have lifeguards, so I WORRIED FREE... could let the children playing themselves. There is also pingpong game... my family love it. And also marina with private jetty. We went for snorkelling in Manukan Island, and then parasailing and banana boat. All were arranged at the Star Marina office at the hotel. Insyaa Allah, we will come back... we LOVE YOU Shangri-La Tanjung Aru...

Reviewed April 01, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Harn from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Nice and frienly hotel”

Have a wonderful experience with the hotel. was check in on 3.30pm and the room is not ready yet, the front desk girl staff was compliment us with an upgrade to deluxe suite room . The room is gorgeous and excellent view, all things in there is great and comfort is the most. Must talk about the front desk girl staff, An China girl staff who can spoke fluent and excellent English, she is very helpful and hospitality, she even bring us personally to Club while waiting the room to be ready. After the room ready she bring us again to the room. The suite room is located in the new renovated wing call tanjung wing i believed and the room is absolutely great. My sons was very surprise for the big room and the facilities in there. Thanks a lot for the nice arrangement and good services, i believe i will return for the next family trips.

Reviewed March 26, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Asem from Malaysia
Family with young children
Sea View King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Amazing facilities and activities, beautiful scenery ”

Rooms are not very fancy, but clean and comfortable. Many activities happen inside (Yoga, volley ball, beach side, small water park, sauna, etc.). Breakfast is excellent with many varieties, delicious food, and friendly staff.

Reviewed March 23, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Lee from Singapore
Family with young children
Sea View
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

Great for Kids and Families ”

This is one of the best hotel that we had stayed. Rooms is well equipped, comfy bed, nice toiletries, fruits... Beautiful gardens with plenty of shade, lovely pool come with a fantastic mini water adventure park for kids, its SUPER !! Nice & clean private beach accommodated with AMAZING sunset !!! We so happy with all the facilities and services.

Reviewed December 24, 2016
8.8
Excellent
M from Australia
Family with young children
Sea View King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

Absolutely fantastic stay for families with children. ”

+++ Water facilities & Children and Adult Scheduled activities were varied. Best spa experience, Amazing staff and service, Attention to details when it comes to personalised needs. --- Walls are thin, some guests have little social etiquette, checking in queue needs to be more orderly, food is mediocre but expensive.

Reviewed December 22, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
chee from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Sea View King Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

VERY NICE!!!!”

would definitely stay here again. we have fun at the swimming pool with my son. the sea view is so nice. there were a lot of china tourist . the food at near the swimming pool is not very nice and expensive too. the room i stay is very spacy and comfortable.

Reviewed July 29, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Marie from United States
Couple
Kinabalu Club Mountainview Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2015

Comfortable resort with attentive staff”

Food, service, bed

The hotel was pleasant and the breakfast in the Kinabalu Club was good and generous. The staff were very helpful. Our room was a little worn and not as nice as we were expecting for the price (and when we returned later in our trip for another stay we had a much nicer room, which confirmed my feeling our first room was not up to standard). However, for just one night it was fine, and the bathroom, view, and comfortable bed were all extremely nice and made up for the slightly shabby furniture and carpet.

Reviewed December 26, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Marie from United States
Couple
Kinabalu Club Mountainview Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2015

Comfortable resort with attentive staff”

Grounds, food, service

We enjoyed our second stay at the Shangri-La Tanjung Aru and particularly the lovely spa which is highly recommended. The food is very good and our room this time was upgraded and was extremely nice. The Kinabalu Club upgrade is also good and made all the difference in our stay as the extensive breakfast and included tea/happy hour was extremely nice.

Reviewed December 26, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Si from Malaysia
Family with young children
Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015

Fun stay-vacation”

Spacious, clean and fun

The stay is great and it build that suited with young children where the kids are having so much fun specially the pool area for kids. Choice of food is abandon with few restaurants. The beach is private and beautiful sunset. Great experience.

Reviewed December 08, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
JOSHUANIKA from Brunei Darussalam
Family with teens
Club Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015

Relaxing family stay”

Ambience, facilities and service.

Very relaxing and fantastic amenities. Great gym and pool. Lots of added value with free activities, free wifi and the complimentary evening light snacks and refreshments at the Kinabalu Lounge. The breakfast buffet selection could be improved though.

Reviewed November 12, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Xuan from China
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015

Old resort with morden facilities ”

Staff friendliness, view at the Sunset Bar and the lobby band

Overall I had a nice stay at the Shangri-la. The staff were friendly and informative - check-in was slow but it was perhaps becoz I was after a group check-in. My room is spacious and extremely comfortable- I had everything except the gym, including what the gym doesn't have - jacuzzi with the seaview. There are two private balconies, one with chairs and table, the other with sun beds. However, my private balcony has been intrigued with two people having lunch at the table one day, and a mom and daughter running here for shelter of rain (while I was actually there).

Reviewed May 02, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Max from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Sea View King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015

Best Sunset View!”

Amazing Location to watch sunset,

It was a nice stay, good for traveling with children as they have small water park and golf course. The best part of the stay is the amazing view of the Borneo sunset. Close to the islands for snorkelling.

Reviewed April 17, 2015
8.0
Excellent
JULIANA from Malaysia
Family with young children
Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015

beautiful Borneo ”

whenever I'm in kk, I'll come back here to Shangri La. it's one of the best hotel resort in town. suitable for business and pleasure. ambiance is very relaxed yet sophisticated .

We enjoyed our stay every time we visit. Will never stay in any other hotels. Love the whole outlook and ambiance of the resort with its lush greenery and modern contemporary architecture. Lots to do especially for the kids.

Reviewed April 12, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Shu from Taiwan
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

Very wonderful resort”

Great location ,nice staff, beautiful environment

This is my second time stay in this resort. It is just as good as my first experience. We arrived here very soon because it is so close to the airport. Also, it is close to downtown. Their food is not so good, maybe you can meals in the downtown. The taxi fee is rm30. For ur reference.

Reviewed September 10, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
WONG from Malaysia
Couple
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

Excellent hotel and service ”

Swimming pool, staffs and food

We would like to thanks to the all the hotels management & staff have given us perfect service, arrangement and gift for celebrating our 2 years anniversary in the hotel. You have given us a good present after our dinner. Thank you so much and I will be back for soon ... See u again

Reviewed August 31, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Yuen from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Sea View King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014

Great stay with child”

cool Zone, water slide, sunset

The hotel facilities was good, my kids play happily, especially the staff in cool zone, very helpful, i can drop off my kids to join their activities. very nice. All the time was stay inside the resort. no need to go out. enjoy the days in STARS

Reviewed August 26, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
RAJKUMAR from India
Family with young children
Sea View King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

Piad much, but amazing experience”

Extraordinary location, view of the south china sea, wide variety of activityes

We have requested for a early checkin and I called couple of times as I went with a one year old baby. Still the room was not ready when we went there. However, receptionist requested me to upgrade to kinabalu club room which has access to lounge and gave me a spectacular sea view room. As went with a one year old, we enjoyed in the room much, went to the toddler play area, went to toddler swimming pools. 2.5 of days gone in seconds. Kinabalu is bit away from the reception, swimming pools, hardly few mins but when you are with family, looks bit much. breakfast was awsome with 100s of varieties. If you prefer, lounge also serves breakfast for club room members which is more quite and nice ambience than the carnival-look cafe tatu in the morning. It has everything for everyone's needs. Am more of a jungle lodge person, still I enjoyed everything. If you need a bit quiter and more romantic time, choose the other resort (rasa riya shangrila). There are 100s of activities in the sea, banana boat, diving, island hoping, parasailing etc. Foodwise, we had little bit of issues, as the elders with us (indians) found bit hard for accomodating themselves for other cuisines. However, restaurant manager Mati was so good, he spent time with us. I can write pages about his courstesy, but in sentence, he is an asset!. Chef coco, accomodated our requests and prepared indian food off the menu. Taste was okay, but the hospitality was great. Best of everything is, the view from the room. Even though its expensive, go for sea view rooms and especially club room which give you access to lounge that offers light food and free flowing drink almost all day.

Reviewed July 21, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Lindsay from Canada
Couple
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

Well-equipped hotel with amazing service!”

Great gym, huge swimming pools, nice club lounge

Very large hotel with huge grounds to walk around. It is very busy with lots of families and children but there are plenty of activities. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the rooms were a bit dated but overall very nice. Highly recommended for families but not if you want something a bit quieter.

Reviewed July 19, 2014
8.7
Excellent
YukMan from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014

There is a private pier at the hotel”

private pier,sunset bar,coast side spa

I did had an enjoyable stay at this hotel. Especially the sunset view from along the beach side. Quite surprised of the private pier shuttle service from hotel to some nearby islands. Only RM80 for visiting 2 lslands...the hotel provides snorkelling gear reatal services,so no worry if your have no prepare for the lsland visiting;)

Reviewed May 18, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Cymbeline from Philippines
Family with young children
Twin Sea View Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Relaxing, enjoyable, children-oriented”

great fun pools, beach side, location

Our family of 4 youngsters enjoyed our stay at the Tanjung Aru esp with the use of the pools, slides and beach. There was quite a number of people during the day but it was quiet and restful at night. There is a shuttle going to the Rasa Ria Orangutan sanctuary - unfortunately it was full 2 days in advance. How many are allowed each day? 10pax per shuttle is too little for the number of guests at the hotel. I was told there was a 30 myr fee for the shuttle which i think is too expensive, as this is the cost of 1 taxi for our whole family. Furthermore, it is a shuttle to the Shangrila Rasa Ria hotel - and guests from the Tanjung Aru should be able to use it for free at least once - considering the amount we spent for the hotel. There are also no shuttles to the city center for shopping. Other than that our stay was good.

Reviewed April 19, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Ho from Hong Kong
Couple
Sea View King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

One of the most enjoyable hotels so far”

A very nice swimming pool, very daily activities provided by the hotel, a beautiful seaview in your room

I could say it's one of my enjoyable hotels so far..with the nice swimming pools, Spa, beach view and friendly staff. We have tried the Spa which is very good and comfortable. The buffet is just standard so i would recommend you can try the local restaurant instead. The staff is very friendly and efficient.

Reviewed March 11, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
ANTHONY from Malaysia
Family with young children
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in February 2014

Wonderful & pleasant to spend time with family”

Swimming pool for children, mountainview room & beaches & sunshine

The kids like it very much as the room is just within walking distance to beaches, swimming pool & garden. It reflects the true nature that KK is such a wonderful place to be for relaxation, culture & beaches & sunshine.

Reviewed February 27, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Keng from Singapore
Family with young children
Club Sea View King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013

Perfect for families ”

Kid friendly, great staff and clean rooms

Love it. Love the water slides, kids club, club evening cocktails for families. Stayed in a couple of shangri la's and they have been consistently treat with hospitAlity. Would definitely recommend the kinabalu club seaview rooms;)

Reviewed December 31, 2013
8.0
Excellent
FATHIN from Singapore
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 1 night in December 2013

Awesome and relaxing stay”

Comfortable, Quiet and Near beach

My experience was great. We had ocean and pool view from our room. Bathroom was awesome with attached bathtub. You can walk within the hotel compound and see beautiful sunset. Not to mention that the sunset bar was awesome and it was located beside the beach. Overall, the stay was fantastic and suitable for honeymoon or just relaxing.

Reviewed December 19, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
chia from Singapore
Couple
Twin Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013

Fantastic”

good location, good view, friendly staff

good service, good location, good view, friendly staff, however the cost is quite expensive. unfortunately it does not come with complimentary shuttle to airport, else it will be good. Food is quite expensive.

Reviewed October 10, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
jing from China
Family with teens
Kinabalu Mountainview Twin
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013

nice swimming pools and attentive staff.”

water park is super. swimming pools are great. service is good.

it is a great place for children. my kid enjoyed the activities that hotel organized: such as blowpipe training, bird watch and half day ranger at the other Shangri-la. the hotel is only 3 minutes away from Terminal 2 ( air asia at T2 )but it is about 25 minutes away from Termianl 1 ( air malaysia at T1 ).

Reviewed July 13, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Argus from Hong Kong
Couple
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012

Amazing sunset!”

Sunset view at Sunset Bar

It's a very beautiful resort with the world famous sunset view! The room is very clean and tidy and staff are very helpful and friendly. It has a very unique lobby and a spacious swimming pool. And the best of all is the sunset view at the Sunset Bar! The view is breath taking and absolutely unforgettable. See for yourself~ Only one thing, it hasn't provided shuttle bus to the town. It would another bonus point to this service if added.

Reviewed December 03, 2012
8.0
Excellent
CHIU from Hong Kong
Couple
Sea View King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

The location is excellent”

room size is large

The location is very good, it just take about 15 mins from airport to the hotel, and it also quite close the city centre, all the restaurant and famous sights are just nearby. But now the pier of the hotel is replenished now, so if you want to book a tour visiting others island, like sapi, you need to take a taxi to the other hotel, for example sutera pacific , to use their pier, it is so unconvenient to us.

Reviewed December 01, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Abbie from Canada
Couple
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

Lovely hotel, great staff and services”

Special arrangement for Anniversary Celebration!

First, we were greeted with a welcome drink upon check-in. And because the hotel was informed that we were there to celebrate our anniversary beforehand. They upgraded us to a seaview room on the top floor. When we entered the room, we found that they used rose petals to write 'happy anniversary' on the bed! In the evening, my spouse surprised me with a bouquet of roses he said the hotel to prepare (when we checked in). After a yummy dinner at the buffet, housekeeping even brought a slice of chocolate cake saying "happy anniversary" to our room. That was really a nice touch. The sunset was stunning, the pool was awesome (wish there were more sunshine though). To add a cherry on top of this vacation, the hotel arranges some free activities for hotel guests in the resort. I joined the 8am yoga class by the sea at the CHI Spa. It was so relaxing.

Reviewed November 29, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Daniel from Hong Kong
Couple
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

Typical 5 star hotel , Great Spa!”

Great Spa Facility ; Great Breakfast

We wanted to have a night spent in Sabah with some top spa in a five star hotel and we made it! This hotel offers great spa facility and we have had a relax night there. Also, the breakfast is in top quality that you wont forget!

Reviewed November 13, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Aaron from Australia
Family with young children
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012

Great resort, excellent facilities”

Location, views, facilities for children, food

A great resort, perfect for young families. The food is excellent and not ridiculously overpriced. Beautiful location with great views of the islands and mountain. Very good service overall, however the level of service at breakfast was not of the same standard as our previous stay here.

Reviewed October 31, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Hj from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012

Great hotel to stay with family”

good entertainment for children at swimming pool facilities

We have a pleasent stay at this hotel and wudh we could stsy longer. The hotel room service was great and our room have a lot of facalities such as free laundry service through out our stay. For sure we will come and stay again at this hotel on our next trip to Kota Kinabalu in future.

Reviewed October 17, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Bih from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012

lovely hotel and service with a smile”

very friendly and helpful staff. the infinity pool is beautiful, the water slides and big bucket splashing water is fantastic. they have daily activities to keep us occupy like yoga, volleyball, etc.

it was a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. hotel is near to city about 10 minutes by taxi. taxi charged rm20 per way. they have a very good buffet breakfast with lots of varieties and a mascot to entertain little children.

Reviewed September 12, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
HOI from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

Great hotel to relax with kids”

Kids Playground (The water land)

The hotel was great for relaxing with kids. We don't have to go outside of the hotel, but just stay. The hotel has many activities to join, like yoga, kids activities - paper weaving. The most important is my kids love the waterland so much that have to play there everyday.

Reviewed September 02, 2012
8.7
Excellent
haresh from India
Family with teens
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

Friendly staff and great service”

Infinity pool was good and service was excellent, can do activities in the sister resort, shangri-la rasa ria

Service was excellent and staff was very friendly. Infinity pool was luxurious. the Chi spa was good but apart from the beach and swimming pool, there isnt anything much to do there. But, you can go to the sister reasort called Shangri-la rasa ria resort, many things related to wildlife there: Canopy walk, orangutan viewing, ATV safari and Jungle tracks were excellent.

Reviewed August 07, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Khairudin from Malaysia
Family with young children
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012

Excellent Resort hotel for the family.”

Pool, Water, Food, Pool, Water, Food.

Shangrila... need I say more? Great resort hotel for the family with kids. It's like having a mini water park at your doorstep. We got the room on the ground floor facing the water attractions. The kids mere open the door and jump in. We ended up spending more time within the resort then going around town.

Reviewed July 11, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Aaron from Australia
Family with young children
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012

Beautiful resort with great facilities”

Children's facilities, excellent food and drink outlets, Sunset view

an excellent resort well located on the coast at tanjung aru and still close to central kk. an excellent place for young children with great facilities including water slides, pools and kid's club. great choice of food and drink outlets with reasonable prices for a five star resort. the nightly view of the sunset over the abdul rahman island's is spectacular.

Reviewed June 27, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
GEOK from Malaysia
Family with young children
Twin Sea View Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012

A very great hotel and very good services”

a very huge pools... nice beach... great scenery...

My family and I have a nice stays at the resort.The resort is very nice and have a very huge pools. 3 water slides for elder children and adualt, 1 baby water slide for younger children. My 3 kids are all having fun with the water slides. As for the pool, it have a child pool, and a huge pool that is divided into 3 section for children till adualts. Overall, it is a family friendly resort. My whole family love this hotel,beautiful sceneries,nice room and friendly service...extremely excellent! we will be back here again.

Reviewed June 09, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Tong from Malaysia
Family with young children
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012

Family friendly hotel”

Pools and water slides

My family and I have a nice stay at the hotel. 3 water slides for elder children and adualt, 1 baby water slide for younger children. My 3 kids are all having fun with the water slides. As for the pool, it have a child pool, and a huge pool that is divided into 3 section for children till adualts. Overall, it is a family friendly resort.

Reviewed June 05, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Marjorie from Philippines
Group
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in May 2012

Beautiful infinity pool”

infiniy pool

the infinity pool at shangri-la's tanjung aru was beautiful. i also enjoyed the 4 water slides at the kids area. the rooms was what anyone can expect from shangri-la, although we just booked the deluxe room, simple with everything you need for a relaxing stay. food at their buffet restaurant was delicious with a wide array of choices. i like breakfast buffet compared to the dinner buffet options. shangri-la's tanjung aru was 5 minutes away from kota kinabalu international airport so arriving at night is not a problem, taxi is relatively cheap. we only paid myr28 for the taxi ride.

Reviewed May 23, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Felicia from Singapore
Group
Twin Sea View Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012

Great service, beautiful hotel`”

service, sunset view

our room was upgraded to a reasonable price, and we're able to enjoy the perks that comes with it including the club lounge, the view from the room and the service. it's the perfect getaway, the people are friendly and helpful. it's accessible - airport, city, and neighboring islands are close by. we're able to go to manukan island in just 20-30 minutes.

Reviewed May 20, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Guangyi from China
Couple
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012

Unbeated sunset view with lovely environment of a ”

buffets in Tatu cafe, swimming pool, the recreational facilities, instant taxi call-up

i had some troubles with this hotel as they insisted on the receipt from agoda when the booking was made. i spent around 20 minutes at the lobby just try to find the original emails in my iphone and send the same to the hotel. there are good wifi coverage in the whole hotel area. the breakfast and dinner buffets in tatu cafe are excellent and the price is quite low compared to the spa or room prices. the swimming pool is decent and the long coastal line is ideal for watching sunset. as the time is april, there are lots of mosquitoes in the hotel area and one can hardly stay in the outdoor area for too long.

Reviewed April 26, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Tomasina
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012

Nice location ”

Location, separate and still close to a city for shopping and hang a round

Great buffet with a good choice of food on a high quality and fresh. The service was friendly good educated and fast. The overall Hotel after renovation is in a good condition either there is still some roof to fix at the BAR side. A little strange is that the checking procedural has still potential to improve. Like, it is not appropriate to write down all my credit card details when they have taken in a bond from my credit card. Further on, when I cleard the bill, why I need to insist to get back my original CC bond? Irritating was as well for a five stare Hotel that I needed to sign a waiver that I take over all responsibility by using the hotel equipments as well as when they are not in well order.??? This check in procedural deviates from the other Shangrila, how comes?

Reviewed January 11, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Koon from Malaysia
Family with teens
Twin Sea View Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in December 2011

Great relaxing hotel!”

Excellent pool and kids facilities. Friendly and attentive service.

We had a relaxing time just hanging around the pool. Excellent kids play area and water slides, with many interesting activities planned throughout the day! The hotel staff are friendly and attentive, making our stay very pleasant indeed. Beautiful sunset followed by dinner under the stars, on the beach highly recommended.

Reviewed December 23, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
ROTINA from Philippines
Family with teens
Kinabalu Mountain View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2011

Best Weekend Destination”

Beautiful resort for couples and families. 5 star quality indeed!

The resort truly lives up to it's name. Shangrila indeed. A great and romantic place for couples especially the ambiance at night. By day, good recreation for families. Food in outlets are quite pricey though. Rooms clean and love the amount of drinking water provided with compliments by the resort. Staff are nice and accommodating. Looking forward to going back soon!

Reviewed September 02, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
demetrius from Australia
Family with teens
Twin Sea View Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2011

Lovely hotel”

Best location, views, pool and food!

excellent! will highly recomment it. went there to celebrate a family birthday and they treated us very good. there are also activitied every hour for adults and kids including yoga, taichi cooking classes etc

Reviewed August 16, 2011
8.3
Excellent
KIN from Malaysia
Couple
Sea View King Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2011

all great but bad seaview”

beautiful sunset

great room, great location, great pools, but bad seaview. we opted for seaview room at kinabalu wing to celebrate our anniversary. we were assigned to a room at lobby level. trees have blocked most part of our view. we hardly see the beach nor the pools at this level. bad view aside, we were greeted by anniversary and welcome fruits in the room. nice and clean room. beautiful sunset. romantic beach side dining platform. water park is unique in this region of hotels. great location for recreation and a bit of city shopping. tanjung aru seafood center is less 5 minutes drive. overall are satisfactory, except the room's view. we topped up extra for seaview, but disappointed. advise to top up even more for at least kinabalu club seaview or save for garden/mountain view room.

Reviewed August 14, 2011