Book Now: Shangri-La's Villingili Resort & Spa

Shangri-La's Villingili Resort & Spa Reviews

Exceptional
From 135 reviewsSee what guests said
9.0
/
10

Reviews of Shangri-La's Villingili Resort & Spa Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (135)Booking.com Reviews (192)
9.0
/
10
Exceptional
Cleanliness9.6
Facilities9.7
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality9.5
Service9.2
Value for money8.3
All languages
All guests (135)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 128 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Suyin from Singapore
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 5 nights in September 2018

Excellent Stay”

Connected via Colombo. Travel time takes quite a bit, but I would say it’s all worth it! Clear waters, enormous rooms, great service, large island to explore, very private and romantic. Restaurants are quite pricy, but dishes are delicious and Michelin worthy (in my opinion). Highlight of the trip was the private jet ski tour where we ended up jet skiing alongside heaps and heaps of dolphins! Thanks Hussain for the amazing video you made!

Reviewed February 24, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Sze from Hong Kong
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

We loved our stay! ”

We are so happy and pleased with our stay in Shangri La. All the staff were very hospitable and friendly from the time we landed all the way until we left. During our time there, we celebrated my husband's birthday and were extremely thrilled by the treats and surprises arranged. It was indeed an idyllic holiday for us. The villa and bathtub was spacious, the spa experience was soothing and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the island. It was truly a wonderful stay in paradise!

Reviewed January 13, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Ricky from Singapore
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

Wonderful vacation place”

Pros: nice location since the hotel occupied the whole island lots of activities and nice pool friendly staff decent food and not so expensive that expected... (e.g. avg $50 per meal per pax, of course depends what you order), compare to "Maldives standard" dedicate bicycle to ride around the island wonderful room, spacious and nice decorated. Bedding setup and décor is a surprise. Cons: only main part of beach is "cleaned", other parts are filled with plants and not so good for swimming quite a lot of bats that make the smelly air when evening starts, 6pm some restaurant not open everyday, limit choice for dinner Activities are expensive Tips: better to have room near the main buildings areas, otherwise have to cycle a lot to go around. be careful to decide when to swim, especially near the water villa, water level can be up / down and windy. go for GAN international airport if possible, save a lot for domestic flight only if you eat a lot, otherwise don't go for full boat meal.

Reviewed January 02, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Ng from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Highly recommend”

Large and exceptional room amenities, great service,great food,great environment.

Reviewed February 24, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
sherine from Singapore
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018

Excellent resort ”

The staffs were very friendly . They get everything done for you very nicely. And the water villa we stayed in was perfect . We wished we could have a longer stay . The dolphin tour we went was worth the money as well! Truly an amazing experience. The only thing with the resort is its location. It’s another 2 hrs flight from male airport. So, One will need to put this into planning.

Reviewed January 22, 2018
9.3
Exceptional
Majed from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015

Memorable Stay! Incredible and unforgottable Stay!”

1. Villas Unique Design and facilities provided 2. Location is chosen perfectly great with all green cover forest trees 3. provision of everything the guest may need including many kinds of sports.

First of all I would like to congratulate the wonderful team with the magnificent Shangri-La Resort and Spa you all run perfectly, each one at his own level of responsibilities. I came along with my wife and it was an outstanding stay due to the outstanding standards provided to make the guest not only feel like home but to make feel he owns the home, I would not return so quickly and leave the resort but we have to work and then find the chance to enjoy. Definitely the Shangri - La is the best option because this is our first time in Maldives and the choice to be with your resort surpassed our expectations by far!! in view of all of the above, we are considering visiting the Resort but next time will be with our kids during one of their school holidays so that to get a wonderful chance to enjoy everything within the Resort and have a lifetime memories of their own we really LOVED It so much Thanks for every thing we saw, felt, and lived with joy and happiness

Reviewed May 31, 2015
8.3
Excellent
ZHANG from China
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014

wonderful place”

big size room, amazing view, paradise

the stay in this resort was wonderful, three restaurants you can choose for dining, very help and nice staffs, they also have lots of activities such as water sports and diving, tennis, golf and so on. over all I was satisfied except one thing, prior to departure, I sent hotel about my travel details and asked them to arrange the domestic flight. I sent several emails and tried to communicate with the customer service manager. But still I just got some very not communicable reply, then again I asked agoda to help to send the flights details. Surprisingly, when we arrived, we could not find any staff from the resort and after quite some while, we were told that they have the wrong flight info. I was quite upset, I sent at least three email with our flight details, how come they still took it wrongly! all in all the resort was amazing except the long travel distance from male airport.

Reviewed January 14, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Richard from Germany
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 5 nights in March 2011

Everything was perfect”

A lot of privacy given the island is big

while there is high occupancy, the island is big and you have a lot of privacy. you can enjoy the time in your own villa and barely see other people. this was great and made it an enjoyable experience - like a perfect holiday on a lonley island (but with excellent service of course).

Reviewed April 17, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Timothy from United States
Couple
Beach Villa With Pool
Stayed 7 nights in April 2019

Absolute Paradise the most Beautiful Place that I have ever been and so comfortable and relaxing”

Loved being here and will plan to go back Sometime

Reviewed April 17, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Cheau from Malaysia
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Excellent ”

Everything is great. Feel like stay at own house with all the familiar neighbors. Is really worth to travel along the way and pass through equator. Really had a great holiday and more than what is expected.

Reviewed December 19, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Long from Vietnam
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

Great Resort”

Despite the location is so far from Male Airport, it takes about more than minutes on old domestic air plane to GAN airport then 5 minutes speed boat to the resort, the resort is so beautiful, nature and amazing. The staff are so much nicely and helpful. Foods is not really good bur acceptable. Good for couples to enjoy the honeymoon.

Reviewed May 24, 2016
8.7
Excellent
abdullah from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015

Immazing scape from everything,, perfect for relax”

1-service 2- food options 3- privacy. It was a great escape from work pressure.

It was one of my best holidays.. The staff are very friendly, the service was amazing ,,the hotel is very huge you can find daily activities if you like such couples cooking, spa, water activities, etc. The only two things I would say that affected my mood were: 1- the hotel is very far from Male airport. You have to take domestic flight that is scheduled on specific times ( for 70-90 minutes) which means if the got delayed) such my case), you will wait in the airport and the Traveling day will go for nothing. 2- all the resort beach is not clean. You can find dead bird or full of plants that will not make you comfortable walking.

Reviewed August 25, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Andrew from United States
Family with young children
Pool Villa
Stayed 6 nights in June 2015

Amazing. ”

Location, Staff, Rooms

Our original reservation was for four days, but we stayed for ten days. It was incredible. The location and the resort are top notch. The staff was delightful. Our five-year old loved it, too. I would recommend this resort to anyone for as many days as you can spare.

Reviewed July 06, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
ERIK from Indonesia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013

Beautiful place and great staff”

Comfortable room, friendly and fast response staff, beautiful scenery

Over all our stay in Shangri-La is perfect. Beautiful place, nice and comfortable room, very friendly staff and everything is well coordinate. We can do some cycling around the hotel area and do a lot of activities that they provide for the guests. There are some free activities but most of exciting activities u need to pay and book it in advanced. Better to book everything 1 day before especially the chi spa. They will have the list of everyday activities so u can know what kind of activity and also the time they will start.

Reviewed July 15, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Raymond from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013

Fantastic”

Room, Service, Everythin

It was extremely surreal. My only critic would be that this location is way too far. You have to fly in from where ever you are coming from to Male then transfer to the domestic terminal and fly another 70 minutes to Gan where Shangri La picks you up on a speed boat over to their island. BUT, it was all worth it. It was an awesome island. For all ages. Great food and fantastic room and service. Beautiful beach and view. Lots of activities.

Reviewed July 10, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Raymond from United States
Family with teens
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013

Breathtaking”

Room, Service, and Everything

It was extremely surreal. My only critic would be that this location is way too far. You have to fly in from where ever you are coming from to Male then transfer to the domestic terminal and fly another 70 minutes to Gan where Shangri La picks you up on a speed boat over to their island. BUT, it was all worth it. It was an awesome island. For all ages. Great food and fantastic room and service. Beautiful beach and view. Lots of activities.

Reviewed July 10, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Mohammed from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013

Excellent Resort and best service”

Everything with care

the whole island of villingili is owned by the shangri la resort, imagine how big the resort and how many activities on the island. there are three restaurants which they are offering a very delicious food. and there is many sport activities in the sport center such as ski-boat, ski-board, para-sail...etc, and there are also romantic activities such sea tour, dinner at yacht. overall it was a dream island, morning sport and night romance fulfill your desires in the moment.

Reviewed February 18, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
EE from Singapore
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 6 nights in September 2012

Heaven on earth. Incomparable service ”

Gorgeous surrounds. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.

maldives is beautiful. that was something we expected anyway. yet this resort surpassed our expectations : 1. gorgeous island. on one side, calm peaceful lovely water villas. the waters make one itch to jump in to frolick, snorkel. on the other side of the island, strong waves, rougher beach terrain, strong ocean breeze. a different view n mood altogether. 2. service staff were amazing. multi-lingual, from many different parts of the world. it was eye opening chatting with them. polite always, and ever ready to help. we even had several surprises by the staff - honeymoon sweets and decorations in the room, hubby's birthday cake and birthday decorations, and even a steaming hot bath prepared for us on our last night of stay! 3. food was surprising good. international buffet breakfast had much of an asian theme. after 5 days we were still enjoying the buffet spread. some of the chefs were specially brought in eg. hong kong, vietnam... dinner was amazing also. especially indian food from dr ali's. 4. this resort stood out as being the only one in maldives with a golf course. a nice simple relaxing 9 holes was fun for a beginner like me. we alternated between water and land activities. never a boring moment! only issue we had was how long it took us to get there from male airport. the domestic flight was supposed to be 1.5h but due to delay, and a prolonged stop over, it took us almost 4h!! followed by a short boat ride which was quite pleasant. pricier than many other resorts, but now that i have experienced their service standards, i think many other resorts would pale in comparison.

Reviewed September 28, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
May from Hong Kong
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012

Stunningly beautiful marine life around hotel”

Coral reef right in front of water villa, abundant variery of marine life, high quality service

Overall we had wonderful experience for our stay in Shangri-la Maldives and would definitely recommend for anyone going to Maldives! We were amazed to see the abundant in-house coral reef right in front of water villa, with wide variety of marine life around. Near sunset we could easily see some baby sharks and baby eagle ray swimming by. One night we were lucky seeing a sea turtle visiting the coral reef by our villa. My husband had scuby diving to coral reefs near the islands and were amazed being surrounded by hundreds of coral fishes and dozens of sea turtles etc. In terms of hotel facilities and service, each villa is supplied with 2 bicycles to enjoy cycling trip around the island. From the moment we arrived at Male till last minute entering custom for departure, we were well taken care and accompanied by hotel designated staff. We were completely free of any admin or possible burden. In terms of dining, there are several restaurants providing Western and Asian cuisine, and even cooking for your fishing catch. In addition, we also recommend in-villa dining, where you can enjoy candle lit dinner under star light facing the peaceful Indian Ocean.

Reviewed August 28, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Shen from Taiwan
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in April 2011

Wonderful place with lovely view”

Excellent service

- The hotel located far from Male airport, but once you arrive at Vinigilli island, the staff from hotel will offer you very fresh coconut juice to cool down. It's a wonderful experience. - 3 different restaurants offer Chinese, Indian, Arabian, grilled, wonderful lobster dishs. The lobster is very strong and with chewing texture; - Best service of this island, all the staff kept smiling from their deep heart.

Reviewed May 31, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
NAIF from Saudi Arabia
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011

Shangri-La's Villingili Resort & Spa”

staff were excllent and friendly. the hotel room was spotless and spacious

The amazing welcoming experience and the excellent staff hospitality and professionalism. Not only the villas and the rooms were very clean but the whole island and the beach is amazing. cant say enough

Reviewed May 16, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
WALEED from Kuwait
Couple
Tree House Villa with Pool
Stayed 3 nights in March 2011

Villa water is great but no pool”

I love to stay in this room forever

The villa water room is very nice room , and the location of it is very good , but i have some comment about it 1-, there is no private pool inside it . If there is aprivate pool inside it is gonna be the best room in this hotel. 2- sea area is not private: if there is a partion inside water so any one can swim with his family with absoloutly private. But little families swim there.

Reviewed May 12, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Amr from Egypt
Couple
Deluxe Pool Villa
Stayed 5 nights in April 2011

A tropical hidaway paradise for honeymooners”

Exceptional service, second to none privacy and excellent food quality

that was our honeymoon trip and luckily shangrila was our first destination. so impressive since the first moment we reached male airport; we had an exceptional treatment that made us forget about the long flight. we were living a beautiful dream on that exceptional island; it was an expeirnce rather than a resort.

Reviewed April 26, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Zaid from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Pool Villa
Stayed 5 nights in March 2011

fantastic hotel - highly recommendable”

Great hospitality and service, Beautiful Island, Fantastic resort for family holiday

the hotel is a fantastic resort for a family holiday. we really had a great time, relaxing, activities, service, food, etc.. amazing hospitality and service. this was our second time we stay in this hotel. great value and highly recommendable.

Reviewed April 18, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Hussein from Lebanon
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in March 2011

An Amazing Journey ... A piece of Heaven”

Loved the beach, Pool. Staff, Food, Amboiance

from the moment that our international flight arrived to male international airport, the staff of shangri la took care of us. an amazing smile, a very well trained staff that are proud to show you the island and to talk about the maldives, and the shangri la. our stay was amazing and the quality of the rooms is amazing. the food was delicious although the sea food buffet was poor in choices but rich in flavors ..

Reviewed April 08, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Christian from Austria
Couple
Deluxe Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in March 2011

enjoyed the stay”

friendly staff, except for the watervillas you got a big deal of privacy

the resort is really excellent. very suitable for honey-mooners UNLESS you take a water-villa which has almost no privacy at all (one watervilla built next to the other with little space in between) take a beach or poolvilla or a treehouse-villa if available - with all those you have a private pool (about 4x8meters) and a very private atmosphere. as the resort is barely 2 years old as of 2011 - the villas are still in a pretty good condition - smells like new - the interior and exterior (garden) is very nice for an island in the maldives Villingili is also rather large, so you dont get claustrophobic so quickly. even when the hotel is fully booked the guests will spread out all over the place and the feel is like you almost have the island on your own. the staff is entirely very friendly - though sometimes dont execute services perfectly 100% to categorizes this resort - it would really rather deserve a 5,5 star ranking, as the food simply doesnot cut it. except for the BBQ which is excellent it didnot life up to expectations. the fish and chips for ex. are just pathetic - they should rather take them off the menu as well as some other foods, as i tried to test out the entire menu. all in all - the Shangri-La is a very good choice, though pretty expensive - we got a 50% discount deal, so i would say the value-for-money was OK - otherwise, either you are really loaded ... or its a really special trip like your honeymoon ... you may check other hotels which may cost only half but are almost just as good.

Reviewed March 11, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
john from Australia
Couple
Tree House Villa with Pool
Stayed 4 nights in March 2011

Great 5 star but service a little weak”

Lots to do At this beautiful hotel

I just spent for nights at this Absolutly beautiful hotel, in fact hotel online picture promotional falls short of the incredible beauty of this hotel. I stayed in a tree house villa & it was fantastic. Food & drinks at the hotel was also great. The bikes were great. There is more to do at this hotel then most other Maldives hotels. The bar/restaurant staff were very good. The only weakness was that room staff were weak. I fell over in front of two room staff & was bleeding. The hotel staff did not help me up or offer to help & I thought that was very rude. Secondly it took them 3 days to return my laundry. The bikes were great but very uncomfortable. The villa was great but very little privacy because there is no front door so despite the fact that "do not disturb" sign was on, staff still knocked on our glass door & surprised us frequently. Spa was double price I have paid at other hotels in Maldives.

Reviewed March 08, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Eng
Family with young children
Pool Villa
Stayed 5 nights in December 2010

Lovely resort - everything we expected and more”

Service was brilliant, staff went out of the way to help with anything
Food somewhat pricey and selection limited

we stayed 5 nights at the shangri-la vilingili resort and didn't want to leave. the villa was lovely - large and private. the resort's huge and having bicycles to ride around was great fun. loved the beach and kids club too. can't wait to get back.

Reviewed January 09, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
joel from Belgium
Couple
Deluxe Pool Villa
Stayed 10 nights in November 2010

Very very good hotel, perfect service.”

service is perfect, very good rooms, beautiful island, very good dive staff.
in house dining can be better for those prices, spa is good but little bit too expensive for what you get. Many chinese and russians.

We had a deluxe pool villa, whit a small private beach which in my opinion is better then a water villa. island is very beautiful and very good maintained. arabic - chinese - and other menu's! Javuu restaurant is ok, but not spectacular. Diving is recomended, had a very good manta dive on manta point. Shangri-La is definitly worth visiting.

Reviewed December 07, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
Greg from Australia
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 7 nights in July 2010

Pure Paradise”

Water Villa, view from the main restaurant, buggy service, staff
Food portion sizes, not a lot!

With so much choice it is really hard to decide where to stay when visiting the Maldives but I would highly reccommend Shangrila Villingilli as it surpassed all our expectations. The Water Villas are even more stunning than the photos suggest. You really can jump straight off your sundeck into the crystal clear waters and go snorkelling in the reef in front. The staff are lovely and unobtrusive and nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely be coming back again.

Reviewed July 27, 2010
8.0
Excellent
zaid from Kuwait
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 4 nights in March 2010

great !!! 4.7 of 5”

nice island nice view atmosphere of the villa is amazing free internet
transportation from male airport to gan airport then bus ride (10 min ) then speed boat !! ( but it worth it ) service is good but could be better not that much of privacy ( water villa )

pros. nice island nice view atmosphere of the villa is amazing free internet con. transportation from male airport to gan airport then bus ride (10 min ) then speed boat !! ( but it worth it ) service is good but could be better not that much of privacy ( water villa )

Reviewed March 28, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
Kathryn from United States
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 4 nights in March 2010

Amazing ”

Great Rooms: we had a water villa Fabulous Setting Well Maintained Great Service Relaxing Atmosphere
Push Bikes could have been better maintained Not enough buggys Gift shops had limited selection and were very pricey

This hotel is beyond 5 stars, I have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the globe and this property exceeded my expectations. The rooms were amazing, I highly recommend a water villa. The decor was stunning as was the service! One note about the sun there, we live in Dubai and the UV in the maldives is no joke. We resorted to factor 70 after a day of kayaking and snorkeling nearly placed us in the burn unit! I highly recommend this hotel and must do a shout out to JP and his staff! The best mojito I have ever had. Even if they were 12 USD each

Reviewed March 27, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
Sarah from United Kingdom
Couple
Tree House Villa with Pool
Stayed 7 nights in March 2010

Shangri-La Resort & Spa, Maldives”

The villas and food were of a very high standard, the staff were friendly and discreet, and the idillic resort
We found nothing that could have been improved

Sharngri-La Villingili is quite simply paradise. The tree-house villas are well designed giving complete privacy. Every element has been thought though and designed exceptionally well. The resort was perfect for a week, you travel around the report by pushbike or golf buggies through windy lanes in the jungle and between the watersports, free healthclub (including tennis), excursions and excellent food we felt that whilst relaxed, we'd hardly been on the beach at all. The Spa, whilst expensive, is worth a visit and the treatments and experience are world-class.

Reviewed March 18, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
jeehan from Kuwait
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 4 nights in February 2010

Life time experience - Shangrila”

The hotel furniture is luxury, very clean and comfortable. The design of villas is wonderful and modern. The most thing we liked which is very exceptional is the services provided by the staff and management to the customer which exceeded our expectation. They tried to give you a feeling of recognition with their vip services from the time we arrived Male airport till the check-in for your flight back home. Example: we were last minute reservation and our domestic flight was late, Shangrila staff tried his best and we got an earlier flight which we cannot afford by ourselves.
The location is very far, the island is rocky from one side and the water wasn't very cleared on the other side the same way of other islands, the meals were expensive

This was the first visit for me and my husband to the Maldives, I was very excited because I like beaches and islands, I read many web reviews for many hotels and we agreed to choose Shangrila due to the positive comments I read and the nice photos I saw. From the moment we arrived till the time we left I really enjoyed every moment, it's like a dream that came true with the fresh air comming from the ocean into our water villa, and the turquaz clean water steps from our villa, white sands on the beach with vegetarian and coconut trees in the middle of the island. The resort itself make your stay worth a lot with the exeptional vip services and all means of comfort available for you. A person was mnominated to help and serve you on whatever matter you need, a buggy comes in aminute whenever you ask for, any problem was resolved on the spot. The food was delicious and the jucewere fresh and rich. It is really a life time experience that last in my memory. I'm looking forward repeating it very soon.

Reviewed March 04, 2010
9.6
Exceptional
Tatiana from United States
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018

Wonderful resort, wonderful staff, wonderful service”

Wonderful resort, wonderful staff, wonderful service. Thank you to Irine and Anvar.

Reviewed March 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Zhi from Hong Kong
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 5 nights in December 2017

Paradise!”

We spent honeymoon there. Everything are perfect!

Reviewed December 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
felicia from Indonesia
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

Great hotel”

Great hotel with great facilities, great staff and etc

Reviewed November 07, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
feng from China
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 1 night in February 2016

big island very very cool”

i love the brand,i love the island,live it so much

Reviewed May 31, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Alan from Taiwan
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 1 night in September 2014

Wish we could stay longer”

View, service, location

1 week of stay at different room type is recommended. Definitely try out the water villas and snorkeling at the northern tip.

Reviewed September 29, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Alan from Taiwan
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014

Vacation resort in paradise”

service, amenities, location

Shangri-La is definitely worth the travel despite being at southern end of Maldives. The staff team offered excellent service and the views are simply breathtaking.

Reviewed September 29, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
King from Malaysia
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014

Fantastic holiday resort”

Private pool, spacious room, friendly staff

Unforgettable experience and will visit again. There are different type of theme for room layout. Must not missed !!!

Reviewed September 24, 2014
8.3
Excellent
SUEN from Hong Kong
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014

Very beautiful place with good staff and villa”

Good service, good villa and beautiful sea and beach

It just too far from Male City that need to take a domestic flight which is time consuming and tiring, next time i think i will try another hotel near Male

Reviewed April 07, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
feng from China
Business traveler
Tree House Villa with Pool
Stayed 1 night in January 2014

not very bad,so so so”

good meals,good rooms,good island,very big

good meals,good rooms,good island,very big very nice hotel brand

Reviewed March 18, 2014
9.6
Exceptional
Wong from Malaysia
Group
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

paradise !”

highly recommended to stay in water villa. loving it.absolutely privacy

Reviewed September 01, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
ANDREW from Indonesia
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

Nice and perfect place to escape ”

We do love the food served in this hotel. All is great. The room is so cozy and the view is stunning.

Reviewed June 17, 2018
5.3
Lai from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015

Birthday celebration”

1. The friendly staffs who greet you everytime, 2. The indian food, 3. Serenity

1.Domestic flight was delayed & causing us to stay at the lounge for hours, light refreshment wasnt that fantastic. 2.The almost 2 hrs flight was torturing with the sound of propeller. 3.Touching down Gan airport have to transfer to speedboat, a warm towel would be better than cold. 4.Welcome with coconut juice was average as it was pouring heavily, does not enjoy it. Not enough umbrellas to shelter all so about 4 to 5 person squeeze in an umbrella, very unpleasant. 5.Staffs were extremely friendly & patience though, guided us through our ocean view pool villa. It was rather oversize for just 2 of us, a living room on its own, a bedroom connect with open concept bathroom with huge tub and outdoor shower. 6.Not sure was it because of the weather, mosquitos & pest infested. You can see bats flying & resting right ouside, amoung the trees. At night was really pitch dark. 7.You can call for buggy service or cycle at your convenience, was given a nokia mobile by my villa butler. 8.Room was comfortable overall, able to hear the sound of the waves. 9.Staffs were service oriented but barely meet my expectation as i am an hotelier myself in Singapore. There wasnt any WOW element coming from a 5stars resort except the generosity of bread inclusive for which ever food you ordered. 10.Food wise wasnt that fantastic for a seafood lover. I had seafood for almost every meal but the standard vary. Definitely not value for money. I had chosen Dine by Design at Mount Villingili to celebrate my husband birthday, he was surprised by the place and deco but food wasnt impressive. USD180++ per pax doesnt fit well for a 3 course meal WITHOUT beverages provided. As the sun sets around 6 plus in the evening, we became the food for mosquitos. The chef & helper did their best to keep the pests away but it will definitely be better if repellants could be pre-arranged rather than being told. As Shang was rather far from Male, would not be of my choice again considering e hassle.

Reviewed August 20, 2015
7.3
Very good
Waranyoo from Thailand
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014

Exquisite place for long vacation”

Great service, beautiful villa and far away from Male airport

The panoramic view is exceptional but the location is not suitable for a short stay. 500 km from Male international airport forces you to take domestic flight and speedboat. It also cause you at least 4 hours from Male city to Gan airport and speedboat to the hotel.

Reviewed September 17, 2014
6.3
Good
Sanjay from India
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012

Great resort with good service ”

Spacious villa with absolute privacy

agoda or shangri la should have provided basic info about travel to and fro, from male international airport, which they did not, and that was the most disappointing part. i have a feeling they did it on purpose, as i lost one entire day (12 hours) given the resort is so far off from male.

Reviewed January 31, 2012
9.2
Exceptional
Yew from Singapore
Business traveler
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

It is the best experience my Wife and I ever had. Everything in the place is of excellence service. ”

I would strongly recommend the in-house photography as the pictures turned out to be awesome. The service staff were excellent in their service and we will strongly recommend people to this resort.

Reviewed November 28, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
RICHARD from Philippines
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 5 nights in February 2014

heaven on earth”

staff made us feel at home. everybody was friendly. great ammenities. only resort in maldives w golf course

Reviewed August 13, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
FEYZA from Turkey
Couple
Deluxe Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015

The best one”

nature, foods, accommodation
Reviewed June 26, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Anand from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015

Excellent stay”

Service, Cleanliness, Privacy
Reviewed June 10, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Owen from Australia
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015

absulutely incredible”

well trained staff-- extremely friendly and superhelpful, spentacular tree house and fabulous water villa, breakfast buffet was fantastic. they.serve fresh juice, you can choose what ever u lilke.

amazing place, definetely we would go back

Reviewed June 04, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Meiling from China
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 1 night in May 2015

Amazing experience!”

Bicycle, outdoor shower
Reviewed May 21, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
nancy from Philippines
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015

awesomeness to the maximum”

the beach , the staff, the view
Reviewed April 04, 2015
8.7
Excellent
nancy from Philippines
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 1 night in March 2015

magnificently awesome”

the location. the beach . the staff

perfect. the best beach ive been thru

Reviewed April 02, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Imtiaz from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Pool Villa
Stayed 5 nights in March 2015

5 days of bliss”

service, accommodation, food

excellent, as always.... our 4th or 5th time there.... and still wanting to be back for more.

Reviewed April 02, 2015
8.0
Excellent
ling from China
Family with young children
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015

good”

good
Reviewed March 27, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
ibrahim from Palestinian Territory
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014

God paradise on the earth ”

Beautiful hotel, hospitable staff and value for money
Reviewed October 15, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
ahmed from Morocco
Family with young children
Beach Villa With Pool
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014

Good service panorama view ”

The beach The nature The food

Very good view and nice garden also the restaurant service is good the live band at night

Reviewed May 19, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Alfred from China
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

worth to go there once in your life”

excellent service and arrangement, free of charge local mobile phone provided to let you contact their staff at every corner of the island. Everything you need is prepared and ready for you.

no regret to pick Shangri-La. Value for money. will recommend it to our friend.

Reviewed April 03, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Hoi from China
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014

Good for Honeymoon”

Great service, Nice Sunshine, wonderful View & villa .

Great Service, acceptable price, comfortable villas, wonderful view and water games.

Reviewed April 03, 2014
8.3
Excellent
CHONG from China
Group
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013

Amazing view, water,sky etc”

big size,luxury facilities and swimming spot

good service, comfortable water villa room with perfect ocean view. but the activities is too less for clients.

Reviewed August 01, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Tan from Singapore
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013

Perfect if not for some hiccups by the F.O staffs”

Beach,beach,beach
Reviewed June 25, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Mikko from Finland
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 5 nights in May 2013

Absolutely Amazing”

Privacy, fantastic service, beautifull design and location

Best holiday what I ever had. Will definetly go there again..

Reviewed May 16, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Mark from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013

Excellent service,superb accomodation and staff”

location, accomodation, service
Reviewed May 14, 2013
8.7
Excellent
ShihHao from Taiwan
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

Heavenly Stay”

Beach Weather Coral
Reviewed April 06, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Kua from Singapore
Group
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012

Lovely hotel and service with a smile”

the tub

overall the villa we are staying is good with nice sea view but too bad is has been raining for the first two days is kind of sad and moody

Reviewed August 27, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
ahmed
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in July 2011

Great hotel friendly staff best experience ever ”

Service

Friendly staff and best service testy menu clean villa romantic place

Reviewed July 27, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
NAIF from Saudi Arabia
Deluxe Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011

Shangri-La's Villingili Resort & Spa”

location,food,and facilities

The place is awesome and the staffs of anatara are very friendly and helpful.The food is excellantlocation and the room was excellent.

Reviewed May 16, 2011