Book Now: Shelburne NYC-an Affinia Hotel

Excellent8.1
Based on 89 reviews

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (89)
Booking.com Reviews (916)

8.1

Filter by guest type:
Excellent
based on 89 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 8.3
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 7.8
Very good
based on 10 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Room comfort and quality 7.8
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.0
Very good
based on 45 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Room comfort and quality 8.1
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 7.6
Excellent
based on 12 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Room comfort and quality 8.8
  • Service 9.0
  • Value for money 8.2
Excellent
based on 3 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Location 7.3
  • Room comfort and quality 8.7
  • Service 9.3
  • Value for money 8.0
Excellent
based on 11 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Room comfort and quality 8.5
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 7.8
Excellent
based on 8 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Room comfort and quality 8.8
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for money 7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:

Language
  • English
  • 日本語
  • Deutsch
  • Español
  • Italiano
  • Français
  • Svenska
  • Norsk
more less

Room type
  • Guestroom
  • 2 Double Beds
  • Studio Suite Queen Bed
  • Studio Suite 2 Double Beds
  • One Bedroom Suite
more less

Sort by
Showing 86 verified guest comments
  • clear all

9.7
Robert from Australia
Couple
Guestroom
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013
Friendly staff and handy to everything”
Staff clean room free wifi
Very good would stay again the staff was friendly and very helpful they went out of their way do look after us
Reviewed August 02, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Elena from Russia
Solo traveler
Guestroom
Stayed 6 nights in July 2013
very good”
check out,friendly staff
nice hotel,location,staff profi,comfotable room friendly staff
Reviewed July 29, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Paul from United States
Business traveler
Studio Suite Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
fifth time at affinia shelburne, always great.”
Location, Clean room, quiet hotel
Very good all around. I really like this hotel and it is my go to for business. I am here 2X a month at least.
Reviewed July 22, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Yoshino from United States
Couple
Guestroom
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Great hotel bad service”
Location, amenities, room
Our stay was good overall except for one employee who nearly ruined our stay. We asked to switch rooms because the first room was in front of the elevator and we didn't feel comfortable. It was in this room that i had forgotten my phone charger. I called the front desk within 5 mins of entering our new room. The front desk told me that there was already a new guest in the room (highly improbable!) but she would call me back very soon. I waited for over an hour and called again. She told me that she called the room and there was no answer so it was impossible to enter the room to retrieve the charger. The next morning the new front desk staff quickly and efficiently got in the room and got my charger back to me. The night shift worker was either lying to me or utterly incompetent. Neither is acceptable at a hotel of this quality.
Reviewed July 15, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
qiannan from China
Couple
Guestroom
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013
fine”
Clean,comfortable, quiet
Good, but when I called for my lost stuff, the staff was rude
Reviewed June 29, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Brennan from Canada
Solo traveler
Studio Suite 2 Double Beds
Stayed 5 nights in June 2013
Good sized rooms in a good location”
Location, good sized rooms and friendly staff
Reviewed June 28, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
Lisa from United States
Business traveler
Studio Suite 2 Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Bare bones”
Happy hour, Great burger restaurant, tv at bar
Reviewed June 22, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
Sol from Canada
Couple
Guestroom
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
The hotel was satisfactory for the price”
location, cleanliness, size
Reviewed June 19, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Steven from Australia
Business traveler
Guestroom
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Great location, nice size room”
Great location, nice size room
Reviewed June 10, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Julia from United States
Business traveler
Guestroom
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Very comfortable and convenient”
Location, comfort, modern
Reviewed June 06, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
rotua from Indonesia
Family with teens
2 Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
very comfortable hotel to stay.”
the located, comfortable room, comfortable bed
Im glad to choose this hotel, i can walk to everywhere.
Reviewed May 20, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
iat from Canada
Solo traveler
2 Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Solid hotel in a relatively convenient area”
friendly staff, close to the heart of manhattan
Reviewed May 19, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Reid from United States
Couple
Guestroom
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
Very clean centrally located with friendly staff”
staff, location, cleanliness
Nice stay....would rate it a 3 star instead of 4 but it may have just been a corner room on a floor under renovation
Reviewed May 08, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Ian from Ireland
Couple
Studio Suite Queen Bed
Stayed 6 nights in April 2013
Comfortable, relaxing and ”
Location, staff, room facilities
Good. Would have rated it higher but rooftop facilities were closed and exterior work was going on during our stay.
Reviewed April 11, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Peter from Australia
Family with young children
Studio Suite 2 Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Lovely hotel.”
value for money
Enjoyed our stay. Staff are kind and courteous. Very comfortable and room is very spacious.
Reviewed January 27, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
Sarah from United States
Solo traveler
Guestroom
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Good hotel for last minute travel ”
Lovely rooms great location
I had a lovely experience at this hotel however I was dissapointed with the lack of service at the front desk
Reviewed January 15, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Michael from United States
Couple
Guestroom
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Nice mid-town hotel”
Convenient, clean, comfortable
Enjoyed our stay at this comfortable, convenient hotel. The lobby was functional with a very respectable restaurant that had high quality, well prepared food. The room was small but reasonable for the price and location.
Reviewed January 02, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
HO from Singapore
Family with teens
Studio Suite 2 Double Beds
Stayed 7 nights in December 2012
Superb Hotel With Great Location”
Spacious Room, Very Clean, Walking distance to Times Square and train station
All service staff were very friendly and helpful. Just love the great location. The food served at he bar were value for money and we had a sumptuous steak dinner. I would go back if travelling to New York.
Reviewed January 01, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Christopher from United States
Solo traveler
Guestroom
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Very nice hotel, great price”
Very Modern
Checked in at 11 AM and my room was awaiting. I had a special request for the desk clerk and she went out of her way to accommodate. All the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable and gave a couple excellent recommendations for food and sites!!! I cant wait to book again in a few weeks. The restaurant was busy but had plenty of seats in the bar while waiting for my table, I should have made rezi's
Reviewed December 27, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Rina from Australia
Family with teens
One Bedroom Suite
Stayed 8 nights in November 2012
Lovely hotel in a good location”
Nothing was too hard. Provided us with everything we asked for. Eg laundry services which only cost for self service!
the deluxe suite provided ample room for the three of us and was super comfortable. location was good as close to grand central and a 5 min walk to nearest subway station. front desk staff were very attentive and the services staff in the basement where you could do laundry were very helpful. special mention to the concierge david who provided inside knowledge and advice on sightseeing and with a great sense of humour! the only downside for us was that there was no free wifi in our rooms as this was only available in the hotel lobby.
Reviewed December 19, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
MICHAEL from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Guestroom
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012
Lively and popular hotel in a great area.”
Fantastic service, luxurious and comfortable hotel with all the facilities you would expect. Amazing lobby area and adjoining bar was always bustling with a good crowd.
would definitely recommend staying here for either business or sight seeing. the room was of a very high standard and surprisingly spacious. the comfort level was exceptionally high. i won't hesitate to rebook this hotel on my next ny visit.
Reviewed October 28, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Vijay from United Kingdom
Couple
Studio Suite Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
A cool and suave boutique hotel”
Nice touches, great finish, brilliant hotel
Now here's a refreshing place in NYC. A cool, stylish (not without substance) hotel that has thought about the finer touches! The rooms are spacious, well put together and comfortable. Great showers and beds, clean with everything you'd expect from a modern 4 star hotel. Now for the touches that make a visit special - you can borrow an ipod from reception with a waling tour of the city! You can choose what type of pillow you'd like to use, magnetic, memory foam, down... They can send up to your room a Yoga workout DVD, and Yoga mat. It's ideas like this that really make a stay special and convenient. Only thing I would say, is that if your room is on anything but floor 15.. your view is not going to blow you away..but on the bright side that's the way real New Yorkers live!
Reviewed October 10, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Lucy from Australia
Couple
One Bedroom Suite
Stayed 7 nights in September 2012
Great Location - but small bathrooms”
Location, room size
Overall, our Hotels stay at the Affinia Shelburne was nice. The location is very convenient, and the room we had was a nice size, with separate lounge and a kitchenette. The staff were generally very nice and helpful with the exception of one lady (who obviously was having a bad day). The one complaint we did have was the layout of the bathroom, the way the toilet was positioned, meant that your knees were almost touching the wall in from of you (ok if you are short like myself), my husband is 6ft, 2inch ( and this made is life very difficult when it came to using the toilet). But overall, the stay was ok. Just a note on the Kitchenette, there are no cutlery , so if you do get take out, make sure you get some from the restaurant.
Reviewed October 09, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
ISABELLE from France
Solo traveler
Guestroom
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
excellent choice and great features”
room size is very good when compared to similar hotels in midtown
I was indeed very pleasantly surprised by this hotel: overall"boutique" feel was pleasant, room size was indeed perfect, and much above usual standards for hotels of similar range in mid-town. Choice of amenities was above standards. maintenance was excellent, and so was the quality of food at the restaurant. very impressed keep it up!
Reviewed September 26, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Xiaonuo from China
Family with teens
Guestroom
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Gooood hotel”
great location, excellent service
The location of the hotel is really great, you can travel to any part of manhattan easily because it's really close to the grand central and you can even walk to some midtown sites. I like it very much and maybe I'll come back sometime except it's a little expensive though. What I must recommend is that the bed is extremely soft and comfortable, the room size is definitely okay considering it's in the midtown. Free wifi in the lobby, but if you once log on the wifi you can still use it in the room for free.
Reviewed September 06, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Phyllis from United States
Business traveler
Guestroom
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Nice hotel, good location”
nice staff
Easy... quick check in, room was ready. Room is large but view wasn't too great... don't really care about that. Location is good, but a bit of a trek from Penn Station.
Reviewed August 08, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Johnny from Belgium
Couple
Guestroom
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012
Good size and comfortable room.”
Very good value for New York City.
Very friendly staff and helpful front desk. Gym is also well equipped.
Reviewed August 06, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
Peter from Australia
Couple
Guestroom
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Good stuff but very small room”
Stuff good and clean
The stuff are very good they gave us goog advice and were to go and do,but the room was a lot smaller than it looks on the Agoda pictures ,I mean we had 2 check in bags and when open both together and lay the bags on the floor they block the path between the bed and wall. Bed was confitable
Reviewed August 04, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Richard from United States
Family with teens
2 Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Very nice hotel ”
Updated large rooms for NYC, reasonable food and bar prices
Enjoyed the stay, good service, nice quiet location for Manhattan
Reviewed August 02, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Martin from Canada
Solo traveler
Guestroom
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Great location and big room”
Location and size or the room
i had a pleasant stay. the room was comfortable with a nice bed. the size of the room is adequate. the room was clean but not perfect.
Reviewed July 12, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Sally from United Kingdom
Couple
Studio Suite Queen Bed
Stayed 10 nights in June 2012
Lovely time and great location”
Greatlocations location, suite was big and nice, clean and staff friendly. Rooftop bar was added bonus
stayed at the affinia for ten nights and was really pleased with my choice of hotel. i have stayed in a lot of hotels in new york but was on more of a budget given time of year and number of nights and was pleasantly surprised at how good of a find this was . we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite after originally booking a deluxe studio as the agoda website showed the incorrect picture. the hotel manager was very accommodating after realising the error and upgraded us without too much consideration. concierge was not that helpful with suggestions but always helped with reservations and very friendly. would definitely stay again.
Reviewed June 29, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Richard from United Kingdom
Couple
Guestroom
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Location,location, location”
Decent sized room for a city centre hotel and fantastic location in midtown
Within walking distance of most of the major tourist sites. Restaurants and bars also within easy walking distance. Big plus is on warm rain free nights they have a bar open on the roof with fantastic views of the New York skyline.
Reviewed June 24, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Guestroom
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Pleasant hotel in a good location”
Good value with decent bedroom
The hotel is in a good location on Lexington Avenue not far from Grand Central Station and Times Square in reasonable walking distance. The room was a good size with a nice bathroom. It also had a flat screen TV, ironing board and iron. There are many restaurants and shops nearby.They also have a good concierge where you could book Sightseeing Tours and Broadway Shows and advise you which are the best attraction places and museums to see. The staff were friendly and the hotel had a big car to drive you to the airports.
Reviewed June 23, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
bridget from United Kingdom
Couple
Studio Suite Queen Bed
Stayed 7 nights in April 2012
great location”
room had a fridge, apart from that, not alot
A great week, hotel was adequate, just used as a base.
Reviewed May 04, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
carmen from Philippines
Family with young children
Studio Suite 2 Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
clean and nice hotel”
all staff are friendly
I like where we stayed cuz its pretty close to Rockefeller but unfortunately there were no good restaurants near the hotel. Its only pizzeria.
Reviewed May 03, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Stephen from Canada
Couple
Guestroom
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Nice Hotel,good sized rooms”
Price and location
Overall a pleasant 1 night stay and helpful staff. No complaints. Location is good with restaurants nearby.Cafe/bar attached to Hotel is basic but good food and price is reasonable for breakfast. Rooms are large and clean. Access to Macy's and Times Square can be walked but takes 30mins+. Metro within 10mins
Reviewed May 02, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
viet from Vietnam
Couple
Guestroom
Stayed 8 nights in March 2012
Great Hotel”
Great Location
i spent almost 2 weeks in affiana shlburne. this hotel was awesome. it was located in mid-east town, where was very close to fifth avenue. it was a great location with many good restaurants, bars and supermarkets. you can get everything from this location. the hotel service was really good. the hotel reception was really friendly and welcomed. room service available everyday. the room was very clean and spacious.
Reviewed April 29, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Khongsak from Thailand
Group
Guestroom
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Good hotel, room is great”
Great room, clean and all amenities are perfect.
my friend and i stayed there for a night during april 2012. we traveled from dc to new york with triple bus. the bus stoped not far from the hotel. the hotel is in great location, closed to 5th ave where you can shop all day long. at night, walking to times square for some night colors is not that far. this hotel uses soap, shampoo, lotion from philosophy (nice). one draw back thing is that the hotel only provides paid tv programs & movies, no free programs.
Reviewed April 19, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Romain from France
Solo traveler
Guestroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2012
Good location and comfortable”
Recently redecorated, good quality/price ratio
set on lexington av. in a dedicated, red-brick building, the hotel has been redecorated in the "lounge bar" style - dark colors, indirect lighting, which gives it a contemporary feel. the rooms are spacious and comfortable. i was a bit worried about the noise, but both internal and external soundproofing is top notch.
Reviewed March 13, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
sylvia from United States
Business traveler
Guestroom
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
small ,classy hotel.”
well maintained older hotel in a great midtown location
stayed twice in january.. for business... friendly,responsive staff.
Reviewed February 03, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Mark from Hong Kong
Couple
Studio Suite Queen Bed
Stayed 7 nights in January 2012
Big Room and very friendly staff ”
Big Rooms, Good Location and good restauarant
the room is much larger than what we expect. good location and friendly staff. they have very good toiletteries brand but a bit skimpy and did not replace them everyday ( apparently they run out ). the room was quiet, large and comfortable with separate kitchentte
Reviewed January 22, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Betty from United States
Couple
Studio Suite Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
Trendy, Quiet Neighborhood, Roomy, Nothing Fancy”
quiet neighborhood, large rooms
affinia shelburne is tucked away between times square and herald square (34th) in a pretty quiet, "natural new-yorker" neighborhood. it's close enough to most major trains but in the cold it's a trek. there service was polite but they don't go out of the way to help you so don't expect anything magical. we had a suite, expecting it to be with a living room space but just ended up getting a decently large room. the place is very clean but nothing screamed "outstanding!" comfortable stay.
Reviewed January 20, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Louice from Sweden
Couple
Guestroom
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012
Excellent hotel for a small price”
Price-worthy, comfortable beds, quiet, clean, 7 different pillows to choose from, free wireless in the lobby, very good location only 5 min from the central station and 15 min from Times Square, nice restaurants nearby, very good service and friendly personnel.
we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. the rooms were very nicely decorated and newly renovated. the location of the hotel couldn't be better. it was free wireless in the lobby, a lots of channels on the flatscreen, comfortable bed, hairdryer, safety box and iron in the room. perfect!
Reviewed January 11, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
William from United States
Family with teens
Studio Suite 2 Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in November 2011
Great Location, Good Value”
Friendly staff and nice rooms
rooms were very well equipped and very quiet. took some time for room to cool off, but able to open windows to get some air. the bellman actually helped us with that when he brought up the bags. the doormen were also very helpful with directions and getting us in the door from the street with car. front desk staff was also very efficient and helpful. the location is great because you are in walking distance to everything you want to see and close to subways if you want to go other places. the walk time is about 15-20mins and probably is only good for older children.
Reviewed November 30, 2011
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Allyson from Australia
Couple
Guestroom
Stayed 5 nights in October 2011
Excellent hotel close to Grand Central Station”
The room we had was really large especially for New York, Staff were faultless at all times.
we stayed at the affinia shelburne for 5 nights at the end of october 2011. from beginning to end we only experienced excellence in comfort and customer service. the room was really large (new york is known for small rooms) i dont believe anyone could complain about the size of the rooms at the affinia shelburne. location - 3 blocks from grand central station. or 3 blocks from 33rd street station on the 6 line. great location for everything new york has to offer but you are still able to escape to the lovely murray hill area on lexington avenue to get away from the hustle and bustle. staff were wonderful from check in to check out. within our stay we thought we may have had problems with our airline carrier for our return journey ( industrial action) and may have had to extend our stay, we knew the hotel was fully booked however the front desk staff allayed any of our concerns and stated uncategorically that we would not be without a bed- this was even before we asked - they notified us as they had also received the update from our carrier. i tried 3 pillows on the menu and they were all wonderful. bed was enormous and furniture and fixtures extremely well cared for. all in all a 10/10 from us and we will be back.
Reviewed November 11, 2011
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Nicole from United States
Couple
Guestroom
Stayed 1 night in October 2011
Great, spacious hotel in NYC...”
Customer Service, cleanliness, spacious rooms
Great stay with a lot of room and customer service was key. Very attentive and good location not too far...
Reviewed November 08, 2011
Did you find this review helpful? |
2.0
Saud from Saudi Arabia
Couple
2 Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
lovely hotel and service with no smile”
selling points
it was realy bad
Reviewed October 08, 2011
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
CHON from Canada
Couple
2 Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in September 2011
Nice but expensive”
Comfortable rooms.
Location not bad, a bit far from the metro, not very convenient. Nice and clean hotel, but will charge outrageously for every little extra: internet 13.95$ per day, no included breakfast, etc. The biggest unpleasantness was the 55$ fee for valet parking for exactly 24 hours to the minute. We were told that one extra minute would have cost another 55$. Staff was borderline polite when we checked out.
Reviewed September 29, 2011
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
souheir from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Guestroom
Stayed 3 nights in September 2011
great location good service”
good customer service
I enjoyed my stay in Affinia and liked their service. One thing I didnot like is the food at their " Rare" restaurant which is junky and I had to stick to salad for 3 days
Reviewed September 21, 2011
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Wei
Group
Stayed 6 nights in May 2011
Small cosy hotel in a corner of the bustling city”
nice deco and concept, cosy
it was a cosy room to go back to after a long day of walking in the city. the room has almost everything, maybe except toothbrushes. the variety of channels on the tv was good. staff were friendly. could be better if connection of multiple devices to wifi could be easier.
Reviewed June 04, 2011
Did you find this review helpful? |

1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: