Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type

based on 136 reviews
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 4.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 6.3
  • Service 6.1
  • Value for money 6.6
  • Food and dining 5.4
Sort by

Grace from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
Always a pleasure staying here
Location, Staff, Pool side public area
I have stayed here a number of times and always a pleasure. This is what i would describe as "back-packer plus". The rooms are adequate but not fancy - but reasonable for the price. I know that some reviewers are a but critical of the rooms but as said they are reasonable for the price. The pleasure of this place is the whole experience. The public lounge and pool side terrace areas are great for chilling and relaxing. The location is superb with everything you need within easy walking distance - especially John's bar just up the lane. The staff are friendly, speak good English and are very helpful. The Smile breakfast is always a pleasure - enough to keep me going till dinner time.
Reviewed August 30, 2014

HU from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
great staff and clean room
great staff, clean room, quite location
great staff, clean room, quite location but its pity that they dont sell light food or snacks, and the swimming water is dirty
Reviewed August 29, 2014

See from Singapore
Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Aging and wearing hotel room
Location, pool, quiet
There are some improvement required in the room I stayed. Weak wifi, water leaking air-con, moldy wooden floor due to air-con water. This is the first time I see a toilet built inside the room with no ventilation or window, and sharing the same open ceiling as the rest of the room.
Reviewed July 02, 2014

James from United States
Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
Nice location for in-city Chiang Mai visiting.
Location, proximity to good restaurants, pool.
My wife and stayed at Smile on the advice of a friend and we were very satisfied due to the location and pool. There are many excellent restaurants nearby and it's a five minute walk to the start of the Sunday Walking Market and a variety of other in-city things to see and do. Also, our favorite breakfast cafe is just around the corner (called the Dada Cafe) and do try their cheese omelettes which are really great!
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Felix from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Clean, affordable and convenient guesthouse.
swimming pool, cleanliness, friendliness
I had a good stay. The swimming pool is great. The staff is helpful. It is centrally located to all the attractions. Good stay.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

KAI from Malaysia
Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
nice room and cheap price
room ,near shopping street
nice room, cheap price , poor wifi connection , need go to lobby connect wifi but dont stay near banglow , at mid night very noisy when people after clubbing back to the hotel.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

jack from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
had a great time in chiang mai.
1) great room 2) great location 3) great value for money
i thought this hotel was awesome. my room was very nice and a great shower.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

SU from Malaysia
Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Clean Room.
Clean Room. Good
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Kevin from Canada
Family with teens
Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 9 nights in June 2013
Cozy place for backpackers
Pool, location, and friendly guests.
Our stay was cozy however the showers were weak and the rooms a bit dirty, even after cleaning. Lots of European backpackers. The pool was refreshing at times but is quite small and closes at 9 p.m. Wifi can only be connected to in the lounging main area.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

natpaphas from Thailand
Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
It is very nice cozy hotel. I has very nice pool.
Pool has 2 places and they both are nice and clean. good for family.
It is very nice cozy hotel. The pool is not too small and very nice. Good location. It is very good decoration.
Reviewed July 11, 2013


Select loyalty program

Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.


Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.


Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: