Book Now: Soe Ko Ko Beach House & Restaurant

Soe Ko Ko Beach House & Restaurant Reviews

Excellent
From 180 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
/
10
Recommended by 85% of guests

Reviews of Soe Ko Ko Beach House & Restaurant Reviews from real guests

Overall rating
8.2
Excellent
From 450 reviews
Provided by verified guests of
Agoda Reviews (180)Booking.com Reviews (270)
Rating via Agoda8.0
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.1
Facilities7.2
Location8.0
Room comfort and quality7.1
Service8.8
Value for money8.0
Rating
9+ Exceptional (51)
8-9 Excellent (21)
7-8 Very Good (34)
6-7 Good (15)
<6 Below Expectation (25)
Time of the year
Mar - May (29)
Jun - Aug (12)
Sep - Nov (43)
Dec - Feb (62)
All guests (180)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 146 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Roxanne from Myanmar
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Great hotel, perfect location!”

I really enjoyed my time here, initially booked for 1 night but extended. I had the single room which was upstairs. The room was simple and basic as per pictures but very comfortable and clean. Wifi was great! Breakfast was delicious and the beach was literally a 2-3 minute walk. Staff are friendly. Highly recommend.

Reviewed March 04, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Goektan from Germany
Couple
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016

great laid back location”

We stayed there during the rainy season but had an amazing stay after all. The beach houses are really sweet with a nice terrace to hang out, even during rain showers. The son of the owner was always super kind and tried to help as much as possible. Definitely would recommend this beach house for those who are seeking for some relaxed days.

Reviewed August 21, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Ophelia from Denmark
Group
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016

Chill atmosphere and really helpful staff!”

After staying at Soe Ko Ko, and checking out the other options, I'd say it is the best place to stay if you want something nice with atmosphere, but have a budget of a backpacker. The owner is German and always ready to help and give advice. Very recommended!!

Reviewed February 19, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Rudy from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Twin Room with Balcony
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016

good”

very good beds, situated not far from the beach,staff friendly but speak little english

Accomodation ok, very clean.good big beds.breakfast simple but why only till 9am. Could be better service when it is possible to enjoy holidays. Because of construction activities in this area heavy trucks passing by from early morning till afternoon,leaving clouds of dust all over the place.wish for this hotel that it is only temporarely.

Reviewed February 05, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Michael from Myanmar
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018

Nice, clean and friendly place very good value for money”

I can absolutely recommend this place for some days stay in Ngwe Saung. The location is 5 minutes from access to the beach in quiet neighbourhood, small lane in front with local people passing by foot or motorbike. Few cars. Walking distance to the restaurants. Rooms good size and style, mattresses very good hotel standard, clean, simple, veranda, good fan. Bathroom big, clean, simple. Breakfast very nice (you should try the mohingya). Plenty of accurate information available. Have tonic water, ginger ale and soda! Did not try eating since low season and not much available. Can recommend motorbike rides on the beaches and on tiny motorbike "ferris" to Chaungtha in the north or to Simne in the south. Lovely staff! Thanks everybody!! So sorry, I forgot your name dear friend from Baden-Wurtemberg!!

Reviewed September 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Roxanne from Myanmar
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

I booked twice that says it all”

Great place, comfy mattress. Recommend

Reviewed March 04, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Marie from United States
Solo traveler
Twin Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

Thank you!!!!”

Very family oriented with wonderful staffs!! Owner and his mom went out of their way to help me with my need. I was born in Burma but left the country for more than half of century and it was my first time back since I was a baby. I chose this place because I wanted to feel like a local and was not disappointed. Not only they made sure that I was well taking care of but also bought me a Burmese traditional outfit to take home. Definitely recommend!!!!

Reviewed January 24, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
yarden from Israel
Couple
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017

we loved this place!”

Very homey and comfortable place, with great staff. the room was clean and spacious and the location is great, 5 minutes from the beach and close to the local village. the food in the restaurant is absolutely amazing - a must try! very much recommended!

Reviewed January 04, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Florian from Germany
Couple
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Excellent”

Nicest staff I've ever seen! The food is very good and especially the included breakfast is very good for the price! The rooms and bathrooms are clean. The shared bathroom has no sink for some reason, but that's really the only downside. There is no WiFi, but that's because there is no wired internet available in Ngwe Saung. You should enjoy the beach and relax instead of surfing the web anyway 😉. Thank you so much for the very nice stay! Viele Grüße noch an Andy! Wir konnten uns leider nicht verabschieden, da wir dich an unserem letzten Tag nicht mehr getroffen haben.

Reviewed November 28, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Ricky from Australia
Solo traveler
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 8 nights in November 2017

Great place.”

It was a great stay in Ngwe Saung made all the better for by my stay at Soe Ko Ko. Nothing was too much trouble at anytime of the day. The food is great and great value. Just need to work on colder beers for your non german visitors, hey Andy!!! Thanks and i hope to see you again.

Reviewed November 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Simone from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017

Perfect Stay”

Soe Ko Ko Beach House is a wonderful place to stay! The stuff is very, very helpful and friendly. And the food! The food, oh my god, was sooo yummie delicious! I staied in a Bungalow, which was very cosy and clean. The Beach House is close to some shops and of course to the Beach. I can deeply recommend it to everyone!

Reviewed November 01, 2017
7.2
Very good
Thomas from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 1 night in October 2016

Very good”

Accommodation in Myanmar is generally overpriced and low quality. This hotel was neither - clean, friendly and reasonable for a tourist spot in Myanmar. It's fairly basic but the rooms are well made and don't feel like being in bamboo huts at all. They've solar panels so avoid some blackouts. Not on beach but a very short walk away. All in all, much better than the concrete monstrosities eating the rest of Ngwe Saung...

Reviewed September 17, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Paola from Italy
Couple
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Good staff and food!”

We could stay only one night Because it was fully booked, but we enjoyed very much,we had a small room with fan and mosquito net,bed on the floor but confortable and clean. The staff is really friendly and the restaurant offers very good and fresh food.we went back to eat their coconut veg curry and bbq tuna,very fresh and cooked with love!no wifi but they have generator, during day they use solar panels,recommended!

Reviewed March 19, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Joffre from France
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Dont hesitate to stay here!”

Located in the northern part (close to everything), the place has a great vibe, the staff is just amazing and they are learning english at the same time they work here. Support locals by coming here. Bike and scooters for rent as well. If you dont choose this place, its ok, BUT come to the restaurant as food here is just the best one in Myanmar, you wont regret it!

Reviewed March 16, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
dara from South Korea
Couple
Twin Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017

cheerful & comfortable”

The staff at soe ko ko couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful, and andy, the german guy who was managing it was funny, charming and attentive. This isn't just a throwaway compliment because quite often in Myanmar I've found staff to be quite gruff. But at Soe ko ko they are lovely. The room was comfortable, although on a minor point it lacked a table or some surface to put things on apart from a small locker. Minor but inconveniencing. It is about 100m from the beach which isnt far at all. But just a slight hassle. Also the rooms are facing a small road. It's not busy or noisy but not ideal if you are hoping to have a really pretty scene in front of you. Despite the slight drawbacks with the location I would return for the low price and stay for the people.

Reviewed February 22, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Helene from Norway
Couple
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017

Exceptional”

Good vibes and close to the beach, best hostel we've stayed at. We stayed in an economy room with fan and it was perfect. The manager was really helpful, food was good (you can get western breakfast), we loved it.

Reviewed February 09, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Angie from France
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017

Amazing stay !”

Definitely the best hotel in Ngwe Saung and one of the best we tried in Myanmar ! Rooms and bathrooms are clean. The staff is very helpful, always trying to help you and very nice. Not to mention the food which is delicious and affordable ! Don't think twice about staying there, it's definitely the best option !

Reviewed January 22, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Lukasz from Singapore
Group
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016

Nice and cozy place to relax”

Very clean and comfortable bamboo chalets - perfect for someone not looking after big fancy resort Ngwe Saung is full of. Nice breakfasts (also local option), helpful staff - absolutely nothing to complain about.

Reviewed November 24, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Robert from Ecuador
Couple
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

Amazing Hotel with Great Company Near the Beach”

We stayed in two economy rooms for the evening and had a great time drinking (a bit too much) at the bar/restaurant downstairs. As the "economy" name implies they were extremely simple, with nothing more than a light, fan, mattress, and a few plugs, but we didn't need anything more than that. The bathroom is shared amongst rooms down the hall, and if you need a sink there's one just downstairs (none in the actual bathroom so we just used the shower tap). Compared to other hotels the price was reasonable, and we were able to make a booking on one night's notice. Overall the people we met there were great, and they were helpful enough to arrange for 3 motorbike taxis to take us along the beach route to Chaung Tha (highly recommend doing this).

Reviewed November 08, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Lamia from Myanmar
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

Completely worth it!”

Absolutely great staff members. They are so attentive to your needs without being overbearing. Great hospitality and when you consider the price of the rooms, amazing value for money. Will definitely be singing their praises to everyone. Lamia UK

Reviewed October 29, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Vanessa from Australia
Solo traveler
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 1 night in October 2016

Great people and place but make sure book ahead and bring cash!”

Great english and german speaking manager,helpful staff and very comfy king sized beds but make sure you bring cash, the 3 atms in the area had run out of cash 2 wks before and weren't expecting a delivery for another 2 weeks. Also, a great place to try Mohingha, very tasty.

Reviewed October 20, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Julija from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Twin Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

Good value when compared to other options, felt being taken good care of ”

The best thing about this place was Andy, the manager, who speaks perfect English and German, and is always willing to provide tips and recommendations. I just followed his suggestions and had a great two day three nights stay at the place. The bed was super comfy with a great mattress, pretty big for a twin. There was no hot shower, as with most places around, but the bathroom was spacious and functional. The one complain I have was the lack of air flow. The small windows without mosquito nets aren't helping this situation and the bungalows do have a strong smell of humidity. Otherwise, this is a very underdeveloped area of Myanmar, and even thought the hotel tries to make their guests comfortable at the end the mosquitoes get the best out of you. The value of this hotel when compared to other places is pretty good, but I still think the prices are pretty high overall when compared to other places in SE Asia.

Reviewed October 18, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
PAUL from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 10 nights in September 2016

Great stay”

Absolutely loved our extended stay at Some Ko Ko, it is in a lovely spot just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and a couple more to the village centre. We found that with the fan in the room we had much better sleep quality than in other places with air conditioning. Whilst the breakfast is not s great choice it was perfectly adequate and the meals that we had in the evening were very good. But the best bit for me were the staff who were tremendous and special thanks to Andy who was so helpful to us. If we get back to Ngwe Saung we would not stay anywhere else.

Reviewed September 25, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
HAENA from South Korea
Solo traveler
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016

Nice host, staffs and hotel :)”

The host(a kind german guy) was very familiar and kind so I could had a great time in this house. Of course, staffs are also kind and nice. The location is near the beach and downtown so easy to look around this small area on foot. Especially the traditional style room made me feel comfortable, and I could took a rest enough here. I really wanna recommend this place :)

Reviewed September 25, 2016
7.6
Very good
MEI from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016

Good location just 2 mins walk to the long beach side”

Staff particular the staff came from German was nice, responsible, flexible in providing the most suitable services to guest. Nonetheless, there was no hot water supply for showering. It was still ok as the weather was hot there & so the water too. The electricity gererator was too noisy, the poorest.

Reviewed September 21, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Oleg from Russia
Couple
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

Nice place decorated in a traditional style”

The hotel is nicely decorated; the hotel's manager (Aung) speaks good English, he is very communicative and helpful; the hotel has its own solar batteries so you experience no problems with power

We spent at the hotel only one night as we arrived at Ngwe Saung one day earlier than planned and the hotel we stayed the remaining five days was fully booked for that date. But we used to come to Soe Ko Ko every day of our holidays - for a dinner or just to chat with Aung (the manager). The hotel is made of bamboo tree and nicely decorated in a Myanmar national style. The hotel has a chef who cooks good food, Tom Yam Goong was best we tried in Myanmar. Tempura prawns were also delicious. One day Aung arranged a special dinner for us - he bought a big fish from local fishermen and his chef cooked it perfectly. The price for this nice dinner was more than modest. The hotel's staff is very friendly and helpful but speaks very little English. The hotel's owner, Aung's father, did a favour and delivered us to Yangon when our holiday came to an end. Our room was basic but cozy and we had electricity during whole of the day. One possible inconvenience is that the hotel lacks hot water but we did not consider it as a huge problem. The hotel is located a bit outside the village (in a quiet and safe place) but it only takes 5-7 minutes to get it. The beach is in 5 minutes distance from the hotel. We recommend Soe Ko Ko if you are looking for an authentic, well managed and and reasonably priced accomodation in Ngwe Saung.

Reviewed January 19, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Andreas from Germany
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

A paradise for budget and eco tourists!”

Great breakfast & food, helpful staff, lovely and clean huts, 24h electricity by solar

Only 300m to the beachfront this newly built guesthouse is a great place to stay: Nice and helpful staff (special thanks to Aung, the owner's son with very good english skills). clean rooms with phantastic beds and a really good western breakfast: They provided not only packed butter but also packed jam: Very hard to find in Myanmar! And they offered tasty local sweets instead of boring banana or papaya that you get everywhere. The restaurant serves delicious food (try Hot & Sour!) with one of the cheapest beer prices in town. Their 24 hours electricity (normally only to find in the high priced resorts of Ngwe Saung) comes mostly from a solar system, not from a noisy generator. I fully recommend this guesthouse to every budget and eco tourist!

Reviewed January 07, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Indra from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Soe Ko Ko... Little get away from Yangon”

Peaceful place with nice people and close to the beach

I stayed only two and a half nights at Soe Ko Ko after arriving there with the night bus. I stayed in an economy room with shared bathroom. The room was very basic with only two mattresses on the floor but absolutely fine and clean. The shared bathroom offered toothbrushs & soap and was mostly clean. Shower was ok but the water pressure was not the best. The guesthouse also offers breakfast which is convenient but a little too oily (as in other places in Myanmar so this is not a negative point). The staff is always helpful and friendly with a smile on their faces. They also can organise bus tickets and motorbike taxis for you. The guesthouse is located at a quiet end of the village so the only noise you might here will be their generator which will grant you electricity all the time. You will have easy access to the beach after a short walk. It is very peaceful and if you like coconuts it's the first thing you can find there (beer is available too). I would totally recommend this place. Thanks for making my stay enjoyable

Reviewed December 01, 2015
6.4
Good
Renaldo from Myanmar
Family with young children
Twin Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018

Good value and very nice people”

Clean, simple and affordable place. Staff are all very helpful and friendly. Food is very good; specially breakfast. Good location if you want to be close to the village.

Reviewed October 28, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Justin from United States
Solo traveler
Twin Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018

Great Place: Friendly Staff, Good Food”

This place is awesome!

Reviewed April 17, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Inge from Myanmar
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Exceptional”

Nice bungalows, comfortable beds, good location, good food but above all: super friendly staff! No WiFi but everything else makes up for it.

Reviewed March 06, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Pascale from Canada
Couple
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 5 nights in February 2018

Best restaurant in Ngwe Saung”

You won’t find a better restaurant at those prices, excellent tuna and salads. The bungalows are roomy and confortable. Staff very friendly and helpful, easy communication in english.

Reviewed February 24, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Maung from Norway
Couple
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Great place and great kitchen and lovely family.”

It's 5 mins from the beach . The huts are spacious and the restaurant offers delicious dishes including pasta dishes. Great atmosphere . Probably the most popular place in Ngwe Saung.

Reviewed January 12, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Daniel from Australia
Couple
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017

The best food and staff”

Great little place, food was amazing. I don't usually eat were I stay but this place was great. Staff were great, friendly and nothing was ever too hard. Not too far of a walk to the beach.

Reviewed December 05, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
MINQI from China
Business traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

location,staff”

location is very well,just a few minutes to beach,staff is very nice

Reviewed October 19, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
MINQI from China
Group
Twin Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

Good experience”

location is very well,just a few minutes to beach,staff is very nice

Reviewed October 19, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Niko from Finland
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015

Everything goood!”

Staff. Room. Atmosphere.

I booked 5 nights but I endup to stay 17 nights. I like this plase sooo much! I recommend Soe Ko Ko

Reviewed December 03, 2015
7.6
Very good
Zena from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

PRETTY HUTS”

We stayed for 2 nights and then moved to the beach as they were booked up. We stayed in the end hut which was really lovely and clean, lovely bed and bedding and porch. Bathroom was fine too. We did have the water pump in our front garden which was a bit annoying as someone kept coming and checking it through the night. The sound travels a lot so as with all the accommodation in Myanmar I'd recommend the best ears plugs you can get. The big Burmese guy was really friendly with us (Al I think it is). I thought I'd lost my camera (not anywhere near the property) and he was genuinely concerned and sorry, (I found it Al, not lost at all but thanks). They have push bikes and motorbikes, you really need a motorbike to get very far here and you get a nice breeze then too. We only hired the push bikes here. Top tip, I always squeeze my gel saddle cover in my backpack. Sooo worth it.

Reviewed February 09, 2017
7.2
Very good
Janele from United States
Solo traveler
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

slightly overpriced - paying for location”

Pros: close to beach and town, no problems speaking English, good size room and big bathroom, had vegetarian options on menu, can rent beach towels and bikes and helpful staff Cons: thin walls so noisy with vehicles or neighbors, no place in room to put bags or to sit (only has bed and 1small night table). Cleanliness only 3 because ceiling fan was too dusty to use and ledge by upper window was really dusty, but the bathroom was clean. No internet but in town there is 1 shop you can get it (not really a big deal but nothing to do after dark).

Reviewed December 11, 2016
5.6
Blaz from Slovenia
Group
Twin Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

Nice bungallows, friendly staff, with slightly inconvenient location (a bit far out from the village, about 5 min walk to the beach). The only huge downer of the establishment is their generator: the electricity is in short supply in Ngwe Saung, thus each place needs its own generator to produce power. Soe Ko Ko has one that runs almost all night and is very loud (although you get used to it). Bring earplugs. Laundry was more like soaking of clothes in water than actual washing, as it was not very thorough (virtually all stains remained in the clothes). No WIFI.

Reviewed November 17, 2016
7.2
Very good
Emma from Ireland
Couple
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016

Relaxed and comfy option close to beach and village”

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights. The staff were lovely and the breakfast good and varied (love the mohinga!) Our bungalow was very spacious and clean, with a large ensuite too. The veranda was great for sheltering from rainstorms! It's a few minutes walk from the village side of the beach, you'll have to go further south for the more picturesque part...but it was very handy for getting to the village too. Solar power there is a great idea...only problem was the weather over our few days there meant the generator ran out and there would be consistent beeping every few hours during the night until someone topped it up. Otherwise though, we had a lovely stay and I'd recommend it very much!

Reviewed September 19, 2016
7.6
Very good
Alicia from Spain
Couple
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Simple but good”

The location is great and the staff is very helpful. We had a great time and we would definitely stay there again. Bear in mind however that there is not hot water so if that is an issue for you this is not the place.

Reviewed August 01, 2016
7.2
Very good
Ossi from Finland
Couple
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 6 nights in May 2016

Nice little place to stay”

Staff was friendly and was always ready to give service. However at off season there wasn't anybody who could speak english and restaurant was open only 7pm-8pm. Perfect for backpackers. Maybe there is different boost at high season.

Reviewed May 26, 2016
4.8
Richard from Switzerland
Group
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016

Very friendly staff, but unreliable service”

I would rate the Soe Ko Ko better, would they not have chosen to increase their prices during Water Festival by more than 300%: the bungalows are very basic, never worth the 95 US$ we paid, and the extra bed was nothing more but a thin mattress on the floor, without even a blanket! The bathroom was clean, but water on the floor would not evacuate… The bungalows are located a 5 minutes walk away from the beach, but unfortunately directly on the road, with traffic noise early mornings, hardly absorbed by the thin bamboo walls. On the positive side: the staff is very friendly and they seriously try to be helpful, offering us on the first night of arrival beds, so that we could rest until our room was ready. I wish however they would be more reliable when you order a service (in our case motorbikes): they confirmed several times that there would be no problems, but then somehow forgot about it… All in all: a decent choice if you get it at a good price, but outside the peak days of Water Festival, I guess you could find more attractive places for the same price...

Reviewed April 16, 2016
2.0
Sven from Germany
Couple
Twin Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016

Unbelievable stay”

We booked this place because of good recommendations on agora but we were deeply disappointed. These must be all fakes or people had an enormous tolerance level. The hotel is located on a small dusty road with several big constructions beside and nearby everything was coated with a big layer of dust and dirt! As we arrived we told the stuff that the room is not ready prepared but they ignored it so we had to sleep in pre used beds. Also there was an disgusting smell like from rotten dead animals coming from under our hut. They ignored it also, I think it's normal for them. As we arrived early in the morning for having our breakfast.... there was none, just only green tea and two slices of black burned toast. In the menu they offered also some fried rice or soup but they told us: Sorry, no have. So think twice before you book here, we left this place on found way better one for less money. Better beware of this place, it's not even worth the money.

Reviewed March 22, 2016
6.7
Good
Catherine from United Kingdom
Couple
Twin Room with Balcony
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016

Average accommodation”

Nice bamboo style hut, location to the beach, clean

Generally a good hotel. The rooms have a fan which is nice, be warmed the power regularly goes off in the nice, ? Power cut which means it can become very hot without a fan. Also be careful when ordering food as there is a language barrier and you may not get what you think your asking for. The staff try to be as helpful as they can. The wall of the huts are also very thin so keep your fingers crossed for nice neighbours that don't make too much noise. However a couple of points to think about this was a good place to stay and affordable given the other hotel prices in the area. If only staying for a few nights I would recommend.

Reviewed March 19, 2016
4.8
Johanna from Germany
Couple
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2016

Not what we expected”

We switched from the economy room to a bungalow (first one next to reception), because we didn't want to sleep on the floor. The bungalow as itself was ok, but because of constructions made in the village, a lot of big construction cars were driving by and causing a lot of noise even at night. The street is dusty and it smells all the time due to the staff bathroom next door. For that price you should get something better.

Reviewed March 05, 2016
7.7
Very good
Lucia from Myanmar
Couple
Twin Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016

Hotel with Local Feel”

We loved the fact that bungalows were made in a traditional Myanmar style and the little terrace where we could hang out. Also the option of local breakfast menu items is a good idea.

We liked the local style of the house, little terrace where we could hang out in the evening and the friendly staff. The local breakfast options are definitely interesting for first timers in Myanmar but I would suggest including some fruits such as papaya or bananas or other seasonal fruit as the quantity (especially for continental breakfast) was poor and not filling. One thing to improve the services at the guest house would be to have some maps available for guests as when we asked there were not any - marking the spots for good food, bike rental, snorkeling trip rental etc. Otherwise beds were very comfortable, shower had only cold water (we didn't mind as it is always quiet warm in Myanmar anyways), rooms were really cool even though there was no AC just a fan (I was even cold at night - good that the beds had duvet).

Reviewed January 06, 2016
2.3
Marie from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

what a shame!!!”

How to describe our experience in this so-called "guesthouse"...? We booked an economic room and it was so bad I thought it was a joke... The beds were in fact very thin mattresses put on the floor, the shared bathroom was dirty, and is probably never cleaned up. There is no sink so you brush your teeth in the shower and you can hardly shower because there is no water (and it is cold of course) getting out of it. What a shame... The owners were sleeping in the rooms next to ours and were snoring all night long. What a nightmare!!! Not to mention that breakfast is disgusting and that the staff is not helpfull at all. I am very upset and won't tell any good of this place.

Reviewed January 05, 2016
4.7
Youmi from Switzerland
Couple
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

friendly staff but...”

clean bed / friendly staff / close to the beach

this is located in the northern part of Ngwe Saung town, so it's convenient to go to restaurants, a supermarket and the beach. but... as I heard from other guests, they had experienced several break-ins in 2 bungalows. there are no lights around this street, so it's very dark after daylight time and around a hotel there are not so many other stores, who can easily find out, if something is going on. so apprently some local teenagers watched for a chance and took the window of bungalow out, which is very vulnerable when it comes to the "security". and they stole valuable stuff from guests, like iphone, tablet etc. the staff were very friendly and the bed was nicely made and the toilet was also very clean. however there are some holes on the thin wall, so small mosquitoes could come in to the room through this holes. but they offered a mosquitoe net so it was okay. overall it's still a nice place with friendly people, but i found the price is really overhyped for what this vulnerable bungalow offers. and once again don't leave anything valuable in the room, when you go out.

Reviewed December 21, 2015
7.3
Very good
Emma from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015

Nice but noisy”

Great Location, Food on site, Rooms are clean

This is a lovely place to stay except the rooms are above the restaurant and there is absolutely no soundproofing and in my room the windows didn't close, making the sound worse. The manager likes to get chatting to guests and stay up till the early hours however there is no escaping the noise and you can every word of peoples conversations and the music that is played. Perfect if you have gone to island to party and stay up all night but awful if you want a nice relaxing getaway!

Reviewed December 19, 2015
7.2
Very good
Chong from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016

Cosy Simple Nice Hostel”

Easy access to ngwe saung beach with walking distance; simple breakfast was served; good native speaker (son of owner)

Reviewed November 29, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Wenyan from China
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

Good location”

Good location which near the bus stop. The room is not big and only one bed in it. Anyway I enjoyed a good night there.

Reviewed November 06, 2017

Dear Matilda. Thanks a lot for your review and especially for your nice words about our rooms and our location. We are also very happy that you remind everybody that we provide no WiFi and no aircon. To miss theses facts is very easy when you don't read the hotel descriptions carefully on Agoda and book it in a hurry ;-) We also don't provide hot water, same as all budget guesthouses and hotels in Ngwe Saung. If you like to have 24h electricity as we do - we have a solar system - and in addition aircon, hot water and WiFi the whole day long, provided by diesel generators: It is available in the seafront resorts for 100US$/night up ... With best regards, Ko Soe, Owner of Soe Ko Ko

Responded November 09, 2017
Soe Ko Ko Beach House & Restaurant
8.8
Excellent
Shane from United States
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017

Great place”

Clean and spacious bungalow. A bit hot, but it was hot season. Very nice staff and good food. Worth a visit!

Reviewed May 24, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Vendula from Czech Republic
Couple
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

The best!”

The best! Great service. Very friendly. Great spaghetti and bbq! 😄

Reviewed March 08, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Jennifer from Netherlands
Couple
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017

definitely worth a stay ”

Really nice place and friendly staff. Everybody works hard to make you feel at home. Food is great and the house is decorated with love.

Reviewed February 13, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Christine from United States
Couple
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017

Overall pretty good. Great vibe. Gotta rough it a bit.”

Sometimes comfort is sacrificed because power is scarce and wifi/data isnt that great in the area. But the people are wonderdul, food is great, basics are there.

Reviewed February 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Radka from Czech Republic
Couple
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Nice”

Nice place near the beach. The receptionist (german guy) was really nice. They let us check-in at 3.30 am for free without any problems. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

Reviewed August 06, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Spencer from United States
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Great all around experience”

The staff was very friendly, the rooms were beautiful, and it's only a few minutes walk to the beach and the village.

Reviewed August 02, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Felicity from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Twin Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016

Good place to stay and relax”

Would stay there again

Reviewed July 18, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Michal from Poland
Group
Twin Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

Amazing ”

It's a grat place with amazing staff and delicious breakfast! Very clean and spacious.

Reviewed June 17, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Kerstin from Myanmar
Couple
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016

Nice stay”

relatively clean and nice place

Reviewed April 25, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Elizabeth from United States
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016

Good little new place”

Good price, well run, easy booking, enjoyed it

Reviewed February 24, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Philipp from Myanmar
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

Nice poace”

food, friendly staff, good price
Reviewed February 05, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
nadia from Italy
Solo traveler
Twin Room with Balcony
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Super Soe Ko Ko House!”

The House is 300 m from the Beach, nice & clean bungalow, very kind staff, excellent ratio quality/price! Thank you for the nice stay!!!
Reviewed December 09, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Elisabeth from Myanmar
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015

A lovely place to stay, relax and enjoy ngwe saung”

1/ the bungalow: wonderfull 2/ the helpful staff also so nice 3/ only 150 m from the beach!!

I enjoyed to spend some few days in Soe Ko Ko. Thanks to Andy and the staff : Really helpfull. I Love this place !!!

Reviewed December 03, 2015
9.6
Exceptional
Jakob from Sweden
Solo traveler
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in December 2019

Nice place”

Friendly staff. Good food. A little loud at night from time to time mostly cuz of buses and trucks. Mosquito-net is a big plus

Reviewed December 27, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Leonie from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Twin Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in November 2019

Great vibe! Lovely staff. ”

All is perfect; great food (coconut curry!) it is located on a road so you can hear traffic. But it can also be really quiet.

Reviewed December 04, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Samuel
Couple
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in November 2019

Nice place to stay ”

Good location, very friendly staff and great food!

Reviewed November 07, 2019
6.0
Marta from Spain
Couple
Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 4 nights in September 2019

NO HOT WATER”

Nice room but they don’t have hot water, and doesn’t advice you before your booking. The breakfast can be better

Reviewed September 28, 2019

Dear Marta. Thanks a lot for your review. We are really sorry that you was missing hot water. We apologize for this inconvenience. And we ask you to read more carefully online descriptions before you book or double-check your issue before you write a review: Under 'Property's guest policies' you will find in our Agoda's description: - There is no electrical grid in the area. However, solar electricity is available 24 hours at the property. - Hot water is not available at the property Under 'The fine print' in our Booking .com's description you will find: - Please note that as there is no central electrical supply in Ngwesaung, the property provides 24-hour electricity through solar power and LED lighting. Hot-water shower are not available. On our homepage you will find: - We protect our environment and 'generate' no hot water. With best regards from the Ngwe Saung Beach, your Soe Ko Ko team

Show more
Soe Ko Ko Beach House & Restaurant