Excellent 8.6
Based on 344 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 344 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Room comfort and quality 8.7
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 8.4
  • Food and dining 8.0
Sort by

Mao from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Disappointed in the check-in . But good location.
Food is good.
Check-in was a big disappointment. We arrived at the hotel at around 2:30pm. The check-in time is 2pm. There were no rooms available. The front desk merely told us that due to high occupancy, the housekeeping could not clean up the rooms in time. As our rooms are the higher-priced rooms, we were offered to have a drink at the executive lounge. We were told that our rooms would be ready in 1 hour but we waited at the lounge for almost 3 hours before our rooms were ready. And we had to constantly check with the reception at the executive lounge on the rooms readiness. As we flew in with our aged parents, they were so tired by the time we had our rooms. Also, the beds mattresses are old and need to be changed. The mattress foams are sunk in. The consolation is the breakfast buffet spread and the food at the chinese restaurant is good and the hotel location is excellent.
Reviewed December 25, 2015

Emma from New Zealand
Couple
Superior King Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015
Not as good as other Sofitels
Location and service were great. Food at the Italian restaurant was good and the restaurant was very nice.
Overall our stay was good. Leo the concierge was the most helpful person we've dealt with, nothing was too much to ask him. Location is near the centre of Xi'an so quite handy. However, the nearest metro station is about 20mins walk so we generally took a tuk tuk or taxi. Pool and hot pool were nice (although spa could have done with a clean) and located in the spa. The hotel is probably coming due for a refurb (bathroom sink was chipped, paint was peeling, carpet in hallway was lumpy). Also, be aware that there are two wings to this hotel and all the amenities are in the East Wing.
Reviewed November 17, 2015

RICKY from Singapore
Couple
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
GREAT HOTEL IN THE HEART OF XIAN
The room condition and amenities. The helpful staff and the great ClubSofitel hospitality.
Every thing was close perfect. We had a wonderful rest after each activity each day in our cosy room as well as hospitality rendered at 11th floor Clubsofitel.
Reviewed October 11, 2015

Katie from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior King Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Stunning hotel
Huge room, very helpful and attentive staff, food
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Kristen from United States
Group
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Decent hotel in central Xian
nice property, good location, good breakfast
I live in China and stayed here with my parents during a visit to Xi'an. The three of us shared a room. My mother refused to take off her shoes during our 1 night stay because of how dirty the carpeting was. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was nice. The lighting in the hotel room was very dim, and made it a bit difficult for my parents (both in their late 50s) to see in the evening. My parents ate breakfast in the hotel. They said it was very good, and they enjoyed the Chinese breakfast selections as well as Western fare. Given the other properties in Xi'an and my familiarity with travel inside China, I would say the Sofitel is a very solid choice for your stay in Xi'an. However, it will not match a 5-star property in Shanghai or Beijing, so be forewarned.
Reviewed September 07, 2015

SANG from South Korea
Couple
Junior Suite King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Wonderful stay at great location !
1. Sophiscated atmosphere. 2. Excellent food and dining at the restaurant. 3, Safety
Excellent and would love to stay again !
Reviewed August 06, 2015

hsu from Australia
Couple
Junior Suite King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
comfortable
environment
Reviewed August 03, 2015

Paula from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
A good hotel but did not fully meet my expectation
I had the non upgraded room and it was lovely, can't imagine what else you could get. The english speaking staff made the China experience better.
I booked a room not including breakfast, the front office clerk offered me an upgrade that would have included it but I didn't take it. My advise is to take it if offered. We still used the breakfast buffet and it was excellent value. Extensive western and chinese items. The staff were efficient but I felt lacked personality, but that could be the brand philosophy. I personally like to interact with employees who leave a lasting impression and none of them did. My biggest disappointment was the group tour to the Terra Cotta Warriors booked by the hotel which was 480yuan per person. The english of the guide who was very knowledgeable was difficult to understand. The van was small, hot and bumpy. Those sitting in the back row constantly hit their head on the roof. The warriors were great and a must see but the lunch that was included was poor. The staff directed our guide to the foreign area but she insisted that we go to the chinese section, which was chaos and the food presented like they were feeding animals. I did look in on the foreign area afterwards and it was calm andclean not sure if the food was any better of course. At the end of the visit the guide could not contact the driver or find the bus for 20 minutes. The ride back to the hotel was uncomfortably hot. I aired my concerns to the guide when I paid her and to the concierge as I felt it did not match the level of service of the hotel. To the hotel's credit they listened, ensured that they understood my concerns and followed up with the travel agent who arranged it. The agent called, apologized, had fruit sent to the room and personally delivered a gift. All very good and appreciated however if I were to go again I would take the private taxi option and purchase my own entrance tickets.
Reviewed July 21, 2015

Liam from Ireland
Group
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Almost perfect. Definitely 5 stars but
Breakfast, location, overall quality
Loved the hotel and the facilities. Would stay again. Only gripe is the fact that when you ask the hotel to get you a taxi they bring you taxis they have on retainer which cost 2-3 times as much as standard taxis. They don't initially tell you this which leads to unnecessary back and forth and occasionally having to get a new taxi, all of which could be avoided by being more upfront
Reviewed June 04, 2015

Jackson from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
HOTEL RATING STANDARDS
Normal, Normal, Normal
Ordinary nothing fantastic. The driver of the car we booked from the hotel on April 07 2015 for the day tour to the Terra Cotta warriors is " very commercialised ". Me and my American friends do not appreciate this.
Reviewed April 18, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: