Book Now: Soria Moria Hotel & Spa

Excellent
From 351 reviewsSee what guests said
8.6
Recommended by 88% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (351)Booking.com Reviews (28)
8.6
Excellent
From 351 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.7
Facilities7.1
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality8.8
Service8.8
Value for money8.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
简体中文
Deutsch
more
Room type
Family Suite
Superior Single
Superior Double
Superior Twin Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 333 verified guest comments
6.8
Good
SHI from Malaysia
Group
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
nice hotel with good breakfast ”
Good location, good breakfast and friendly staff. The only disappointed is the facility, which not being well maintained.
Reviewed August 25, 2016
6.8
Good
SHI from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Nice hotel but running down ”
This hotel is not well maintained and has the sign of running down.
Reviewed August 25, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
CHUAH from Malaysia
Group
Superior Triple Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Good hotel”
Free breakfast and near to town. Perfect
Reviewed August 16, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Roman from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Good hotel, unpleasant experience ”
The hotel is quite good, especially the location is awesome. Area is very quite but super close to pub street. Basically overall the hotel is nice, but few things made my personal experience unpleasant. First of all I booked standard single room. Upon entering the room I realized that room is with twin beds, additionally rooms got terrible smell and furniture was very old and tired. When I ask to change to king bed room, I was told that standard rooms come with only twin beds. So I had to pay additionally for upgrade to Superior room. Difference was only USD5 per night, but anyway not so cool to pay more for your basic preferences. From the good side it is fair to admit, that Superior roon is bigger in size, got no smell and looked much better. So my strong advice to do not consider standard room and book superior. Another unpleasant experience was reception service. Very helpful guy at the front desk briefed me about tour options. So I booked a big tour around Angkor including sunrise, he quoted USD20. First of all Tuk Tuk driver arrived 20 minutes later. So I missed the main part of sunrise at Angkor wat he just said "yeah, you have been so long buying tickets, so many people today", but if the driver was on time, definitely it would save the situation. Then the driver surpised me saying that in fact the tour booked is the small one visiting only 3 temples. But the price is still $20. This kind of rubbish is unacceptable for drivers provided by hotel. Unfortunately that day and the next day I didn't have time and mood to make a fuss about it. But for me it is huge shortfall from the hotel side.
Reviewed August 05, 2016
4.8
Heather from United States
Group
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Falling apart”
We were a large group, but the Internet was out all the time. Three rooms had major plumbing issues with water pouring out and many minor things like curtains that don't actually close, etc. The staff is very uneven. Some are friendly and helpful, but others are difficult to communicate with. Until things improve, our group will seek different lodgings in Siem Reap.
Reviewed August 03, 2016
7.6
Very good
Marco from Italy
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Big and comfortable room, location ok”
Good and large breakfast. They can arrange your journey with trip in and around Angkor.
Reviewed July 29, 2016
7.2
Very good
Wahjoe from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Good hotel in a strategic location”
Soria Moria is a good hotel with awesome hospitality. Ask everything about your destinations and tours in Siem Reap, they are very helpful. They have very delivious breakfast too. The hotel offers big room. During my visit the electricity went out several times and AC was not working properly at my last two days. The seimming pol size is also too small. If they can provide better facilities, the hotel will be ideal for travellers.
Reviewed July 25, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Harris from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Charming Little Hotel.”
Great location, city centre and amenities are just a quick walk away. The rooms are clean and spacious. Room facilities were adequate but might need some minor repairs here and there. Wifi was good, seems that they upgraded their network so that each floor has it's own Access Point now. The staff were friendly and approachable. Didn't really use the facilities except the dining room for breakfast.
Reviewed July 24, 2016
7.6
Very good
John from South Africa
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Average hotel”
This is a lovely hotel but is starting to age a little. Rooms very clean and comfortable but internet was very poor during my stay. Breakfast was good but could improve.
Reviewed July 13, 2016
6.0
Amelia from United States
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in June 2016
Satisfactory basic accommodation”
Nice quieter location that's a very quick walk to Pub St. Air con works well. Internet wasn't working the entire length of our stay.
Reviewed July 02, 2016
7.6
Very good
Quyen from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Much to be improved ”
The good: Helpful staff, huge nice room, allowed me late check out, quiet location close to old market and walkable (for me) to pub street, takes about 10mins. The bad: I had to arrange my own transfer (arriving the taxi driver didn't wait for me even though I was out within 20mins of landing), had to request a bath towel, 'fitness centre' is a small room with a couple of old machines and benches with no AC, my bathroom sink plug was immovable, bath mat was dirty and coffee wasn't topped up following day, wifi wasn't the best for videos but adequate for messenger.
Reviewed June 27, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Nafisah from Malaysia
Couple
Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Excellent ”
We can check in early without additional cost. Staff was so helpful and friendly. Strategic location. Clean. Value for money
Reviewed May 24, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Kira from United States
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Good Hotel”
We had a nice stay at Soria Moria, the staff was great and the food was good. We stayed 2 nights in 3 rooms. The beds are a little hard, and the pillows could be better, also the TV options leave something to be desired, but overall the stay was nice.
Reviewed May 16, 2016
6.4
Good
Preeyanit from Thailand
Family with teens
Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Reasonable price”
Given the price, this hotel is reasonable.
Reviewed May 08, 2016
7.2
Very good
Trevor from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Great hospitality”
Always has been a great place to stay. Good bicycles too
Reviewed April 19, 2016
7.7
Very good
Philip from Australia
Couple
Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Clean and well placed in the city.”
Position. Cleanliness. Service
Stay was pleasant and enjoyable. The pool is on the small side and became crowded easily; but at least there was a pool!.
Reviewed February 17, 2016
7.7
Very good
Thomas from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Single
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Good location and staff”
Location, Available massage, rooftop bar
Very good and efficient staff...my room was spacious and comfortable. Old style TV but many channels. Breakfast was just average but adequate for me. They have a small pool and hot tub which I did not use. I could easily walk across the river into town using one of two bridges. The Internet at the hotel is inadequate when many people try to use at the same time...hotel should seriously consider an upgrade.
Reviewed January 11, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Felix from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Single
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Great hotel but....”
Staff. Public areas. Location.
It would have been a great stay but for one major flaw. The hotel does not allow guests to control the AC in their rooms. As a result the temperature is a constant 83 degrees(28 Celsius). Coming in from a hot street into a hot room is not my idea of comfort. This is really unacceptable in a hotel of this caliber. I would like to stay here again on my next visit to SR and recommend the hotel to others but unfortunately I am going to choose another place to stay until this problem is solved.
Reviewed December 29, 2015
8.7
Excellent
sam from Macau
Solo traveler
Deluxe Single
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
Good location. Helpful staff”
Location is good, not too busy but near city centre. The staff are nice and helpful. The atmosphere is nice and warm.
Reviewed December 27, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Steven from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
A gem of a hotel for the budget traveler.”
Cheerful, courteous staff, Cleanliness, great breakfast
A wonderful value and pleasant experience in almost every respect except some wifi difficulties.
Reviewed December 25, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Marc from France
Solo traveler
Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Nice hotel with a great staff”
Location, rooms, staff
This hotel has great rooms, good location, staff very friendly and available.
Reviewed December 24, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Melissa from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Double
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Great value for money”
Very good location, walking distance to the night market/pubstreet; place is clean; nice staff; cute pool and rooftop bar with great promotions everyday
Reviewed December 23, 2015
8.3
Excellent
David from South Africa
Business traveler
Family Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Great Hotel”
Staff, Location, Comfort
Had a great stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I feel that guests should have preference in the restaurant. I was there on a Wednesday night when the Tapas are on special but the the restaurant was already booked out by the locals who know about this. I got the room on special via Agoda otherwise I would probably not pay the normal rate for the room especially after staying there.
Reviewed December 07, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Christa from Denmark
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015
Very good hotel”
Comfort, service, location
I stayed at Soria Moria for 5 nights and I really enjoyed it. The rooms are flawless and cleaned every day. The staff is helpful and friendly. I forgot my cardigan when I left and they were so kind as to send it to me in Battambang by bus. Excellent service. The pool and spa are great and clean, and there is a nice roof top bar / restaurant, where they train vulnerable youth once a week + it's cheap and good food. The location is perfect - just a short walk to the center. Highly recommended.
Reviewed November 27, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Nguyen from Vietnam
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
A hotel with valueable money”
Staffs are friendly, clean, and near pub street
I and my husband are very happy to leave here. Very friendly, nice and clean. I forgot my phone at the reception and she keep for me.
Reviewed November 25, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Dipen from United Kingdom
Couple
Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Good hotel, good value for money”
Price, location and standard
All good. Cheap and comfortable.
Reviewed November 13, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
rebekah from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in October 2015
Excellent value, excellent location.”
Rooms, food, location, service.
Excellent stay, comfty, clean and friendly, with great food. Excellent value.
Reviewed October 18, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
John from United States
Couple
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in October 2015
Great place to start my vacation ”
Location, room size, great breakfast with friendly staff
Very pleasant experience. Check in was smooth. The room was large with a great air conditioner. In the morning there was a complimentary breakfast that had everything I needed. Would definitely return.
Reviewed October 09, 2015
6.7
Good
Geoff from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 7 nights in September 2015
Good location in Siem Reap”
The hotel is in a good location less than a kilometre from the town centre. The staff are friendly and the dining specials on certain days are good value.
OK hotel, but a bit tired. The small pool and breakfast options were a bit disappointing.
Reviewed October 09, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Anil from India
Group
Superior Double
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Great Stay at Soria Moria”
Cleanliness Friendly staff excellent service
Great No comlaints
Reviewed October 05, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Rod from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
What a Great Story”
The Old World Building/Location/Staff
Its got it all-Roof Top Bar/Roof Top Spa/Gym/Swimming Pool.A good location just across the bridge from Pub Street Area , and a Great Story with the Norwegian Owners having 49% & Staff 51% share in the Hotel & a commitment to Training in the hope soon it will be 100% owned by Local Staff.
Reviewed September 29, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Jason from United States
Solo traveler
Family Suite
Stayed 5 nights in September 2015
wonderful hotel”
Staff, staff and staff
Soria Miriam is a very nice hotel. They can arrange all touring of Angor wat and always give service with a smile. I'm definely coming back.
Reviewed September 26, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Jessieca from Philippines
Group
Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Best 3 star hotel”
Buffet breakfast, staff very accomodating, clean room
Reviewed September 26, 2015
7.3
Very good
Jennifer from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
clean, helpful staff, good location, improve decor”
Location, quiet, helpful staff
It was fine. No complaints. Add some decor to rooms to make feeling more welcoming.
Reviewed September 16, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Brian from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
One of Siem Reap’s best”
professional and courteous staff, clean and comfortable, convenient location
Will definitely stay again! Having been to Siem Reap more than a dozen times over 20 years, I have experienced many different accommodations. Soria Moriia is one of the best. Staff are not just employees, they are partners in the business. They have a vested interest in the operation and success of the hotel. Friendly, accommodating, helpful, informative and sincere. Their professionalism and concern for guest's experience shines in every facet!
Reviewed September 15, 2015
7.7
Very good
Susan from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
Staff, roof top bar were best”
Help given and information available.
Proper cornflakes and fresh orange juice would be nice. Thicker towels.
Reviewed August 19, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Michael from New Zealand
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 6 nights in July 2015
Siem Reap in July”
Staff attitude, Food quality, Value for money
We stayed for 6 nights in a lovely room, first floor. Staff were extremely helpful, getting information, booking performances, etc. The restaurant was excellent at good prices. We loved the cocktails on the rooftop bar, and the varied daily specials. The pool was great in the heat after an excursion.All in all a memorable stay in a memorable city.
Reviewed July 28, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Carole from Australia
Family with teens
Family Suite
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015
Perfect accommodation. Very ethical business. ”
Their commitment to caring for their community's, ownership is shared by staff, the hotel is absolutely adorable
Wonderful. The building is so solid. Great location and staff were so helpful.
Reviewed July 02, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Deirdre from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Single
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
excellent refuge from heat and fatigue”
delicious food, spacious room, professional staff
Far enough away from the noisy tourist center but near enough to walk to shops and cafes. Hotel is quiet, extremely comfortable, professionally run, and has a fine kitchen. Would recommend to anyone visiting temples especially for breakfast box at 5 am to go view sunrise views.. Nicer and more affordable than a boutique hotel in Phnom Penh and more luxurious by contrast. Social concerns supported and worker-owned structure of hotel make it a place one can feel virtuous supporting and enjoying.
Reviewed July 01, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
susan from United States
Solo traveler
Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Lovely Place”
Helpful & Friendly Staff, Nightly Specials, Very Clean
Loved It
Reviewed April 29, 2015
7.0
Very good
Genevieve from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 5 nights in February 2015
Good, but I expected better”
Beneficial to the employees and environment, good breakfast, nice amenities
I heard about the Soria Moria on the radio, because it's environmentally conscious and all employees are part-owners. I was pleased with most of the service, but saw one receptionist sleeping on the job (at 5 am) and another, who appeared European, caused me several minor inconveniences and felt no need to apologize. I liked the food in the restaurant, and the prices were very good, but one busy evening the service was extremely poor. Also, the hotel's tuk-tuk prices are too high, and their rental bicycles, while mostly functional, are not well-maintained.
Reviewed February 28, 2015
6.0
Kristy from Australia
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Doing social good, but quality doesn't add up”
supports local community causes, changed our room when there was a problem, cheerful receptionist
I found out about Soria Moria through a responsible travel network. As someone who works in social enterprise and is passionate about ethical travel, I loved the idea that the hotel supports several local causes and also shares profits with local staff. I had high hopes. Unfortunately the quality of the rooms/food/cocktails/service isn't equivalent to other Siem Reap hotels of a similar or cheaper price. We had a 5 night stay in Siem Reap and decided to change hotels after 2 nights at Soria Moria. After paying $75AUD per night at Soria Moria we easily found a newer hotel for $60 that outclassed this one in room standard, pool quality, staff service, food/drinks and location. When we checked into Soria Moria we were greeted by a delightful Cambodian female manager - I wish I remember her name as her upbeat service was the highlight of our stay at Soria Moria. The other staff and supervisors we encountered weren't particularly engaging. The rooms are ageing and the one we checked into had a urine smell in the bathroom. To their credit they quickly moved us to another room, although the next day I found leaks in that bathroom too. Aside from the bathrooms needing some attention, the bedrooms are large, clean and quiet. The pool is refreshing, but somewhat makeshift (hard to describe, but it's not made of tiles or fibreglass) - it's absolutely fine to swim in, but in my experience it's not on par with other hotel pools in their price bracket. If you really, really want to support a social enterprise for your accommodation, then this hotel is adequate, but you can get better value for money elsewhere.
Reviewed January 15, 2015
7.3
Very good
lisa from Australia
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Three comfortable days”
Location, Comfort, Friendliness
More than adequate. All good.
Reviewed December 17, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Stuart from Canada
Couple
Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Wonderful welcoming staff.”
The friendly staff, location, roof top dining.
We were made to feel so welcome and the staff were always smiling. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was also good and varied from day to day.
Reviewed November 28, 2014
8.0
Excellent
EMMANUEL from Philippines
Business traveler
Family Suite
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Nice Hotel”
Clean, nice staff, worth of the money
Every time in Siem Reap, this is the place to stay. Its a nice place and good worth of the money. Thanks.
Reviewed November 05, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Anna from Australia
Solo traveler
Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Soria Moria single female traveller”
Location, cleanliness, nice staff
Great except that I left behind a favourite item of clothing that was somehow 'missed' by the housekeeping staff. Much follow up re the missing item was needed before it miraculously reappeared, 2 days later. So, theft by housekeeping staff may be possible.
Reviewed November 04, 2014
8.0
Excellent
tomy from Indonesia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
one of the best for mid range hotel”
room, food, location
one of the best mid range hotel in siem reap. 10 minutes walk to night market, restaurant at hotel was good.
Reviewed October 21, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Helen from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior Single
Stayed 6 nights in September 2014
Excellent value”
location, cleanliness, price
Some of the sheets and towels were a little shabby, however, the general standard of cleanliness was excellent, friendly helpful staff, good location and great weekly program of activities,eg Wednesday tapas night. I recommend the breakfast chef's omlette!
Reviewed September 21, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Thomas from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 7 nights in August 2014
Definitely Stay here!”
Staff, Restaurant Specials and Food, Value.
I got a great deal including breakfast. Spotless room, great location with short walk to pub street, but their restaurant specials! $1 Wednesdays, $1 drinks, and $1 appetizers, $5 bottles of wine. Thursdays buy 1 get 1, drinks, 50% off menu. Wine night, movie night, ladies night. Staff fantastic, friendly, helpful. Stay here. you'll be happy you did.
Reviewed September 05, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Kar from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014
Nice hotel”
location, food, friendly staff
good location, value for money, helpful staff. will recommend
Reviewed August 20, 2014