Good 6.8
Based on 22 reviews
Very good 7.6
Based on 903 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 22 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.5
  • Service 6.6
  • Value for money 6.7
  • Food/Dining 6.5
Sort by

Zack from Canada
Business travelers
Stayed 6 nights in January 2010
Royalty Barra Hotel not so bad after all....
Right infront of the beach. Round the corner lots of eating places and super markets.
Difficult to get taxi some times.
Knowing hotels in Rio de Janeiro are freaking expensive, Royalty Barra Hotel is consider good value for the money. I would stay here again if I come back to Rio de Janeiro.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Catherine from United States
Solo travelers
Good
Location was great. This was a very laid back beach compared to Copacabana which I enjoyed at the tail end of my 10-day stay in Brazil.
The spa was not working correctly when I visited (Sep. 6 - Sep. 7). Internet was 30R/day. Breakfast was very basic.
Reviewed September 11, 2015

James from Brazil
Families with young children
Good
The view from the room was beautiful
The balcony was not clean when I got to my room.
Reviewed August 10, 2015

Lori from United States
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in July 2009
Beautiful Stay in Brasil
The hotel room was a perfect size with beautiful views off the terrace of the ocean and mountains. The breakfast was fresh and very good. Not your typical continental breakfast of cereal and bread. The breakfast had fresh fruit, a variety of Brasilian breads, eggs, quiche, cheese meat. . .Very good!
No iron and no washclothes! Had to send out to get my clothes ironed, b/c no irons are allowed in the room and it was around 5,00R.for a pair of pants and when the clothes returned they still had wrinkles. I also had to use a hand towel in place of a washcloth.
Overall, I give the hotel a thumbs up! I loved the location, accross from the beach and views of the beach/ocean and mountains from the terrace of the room were absolutely beautiful. The breakfast was great with a variety of fruits, cheese, meats, breads. . .etc. One negative is that you cannot even bring a cup of coffee up to the room from breakfast. There is someone who is 'standing guard' so NOTHING is removed. I was also disappointed in not having an iron in the room. After I sent out my clothes to pay to get ironed, they came back with a bill and wrinkles still on the clothes. I recommend bringing your own starch and a mini iron if you want your clothes wrinkle free. The hotel was very safe and clean. This is my first visit to Brasil and I felt very safe, even on the beach. Most of the people around the area are locals that live there and are not there to hustle you.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

David from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2008
Royalty Barra Was Great!
Beautiful view. Able to experience Brazillian operated establishment. Simply appointed rooms but functional. Immaculate. Good dining room. Good customer service. Always someone in reception and dining area who could speak English.
none
Staying at the Royalty Barra was a good choice. For the price of the rooms, the view, accommodations, cleanliness, availability of a nice dining room, we were very satisfied. The staff in the reception, dining, support services, and housekeeping areas were accommodating and made every effort to fulfill our requests. There was always someone on site that was available to speak English if the need arose.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

Pity from Switzerland
Families with young children
good location destroyed by bad...
location
breakfast paid wifi is a rip
Reviewed August 08, 2015

Traveler from United States
Families with older children
A grand hotel that could...
Great location and a grand looking interior structure and decor.
Elevators old and slow. Some updates needed.
Reviewed August 03, 2015

Martin from Argentina
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2011
Hotel impecable, muy recomendable.
Muy buena ubicación, las instalaciones Estan en perfecto estado.
La verdad es que el hotel es muy bueno. Lo recomiendo completamente. La ubicación es cómoda, esta sobre el mar, la pileta es grande y cómoda. Las habitaciones son grandes y con muy linda vista. Muy limpio, No hay nada para criticar realemente. Si vuelvo a ir a barra seguramente lo vuelva a elegir.
Reviewed February 02, 2011

HERNAN from Chile
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in November 2010
Excelente ubicación
desayuno y cafe durante todo el día
muy agradable el personal las habitaciones limpias, pero sin buena vista la piscina muy pequeña y el gimnasio no tiene buenas instalaciones el desayuno muy bueno pocas mesas se hacia colapso durante las mañana,
Reviewed November 06, 2010

Anonymous from United States
Families with young children
Good
This was a great option for families with young children.
The customer service was very mixed. There were a few people that were extremely helpful and friendly but a few people working the front desk that were not helpful. I do not speak Portuguese and do ...
Reviewed July 26, 2015

Bernard from Uganda
Solo travelers
Very good
neighbourhood to the beach
nothing
Reviewed July 26, 2015

Paul from France
Couples
Deluxe double room
Stayed 11 nights in March 2011
Hotel moderne face à une très belle plage
Excellent petit déjeuner, piscine agréable, personnel souriant, réponse rapide en cas de problèmes
malgré un temps assez pluvieux avec une rue à traverser pour être sur la plage nous avons bien profité des moments de soleil. loin du centre de rio nous avons peu souffert des embouteillages gigantesques. la clientèle plutôt jeune, était principalement brésilienne (business,mariages et réunions). situé près d'une station de taxi, nombreux autobus réguliers, une station de pompiers/samu proche donnant une impression de sécurité. hôtel bien placé pour profiter des sports de plage, surf et windsurf en particulier
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Christian from Switzerland
Business travelers
Master Suite
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Aussicht aufs Meer
Die Aussicht, das grosszügige Zimmer.
Positiv aufgefallen sind mir das grosszügige Zimmer mit grossem Balkon und wunderbarer Aussicht auf den Strand. Ansonsten stünde dem Hotel eine Renovation gut an und das Personal dürfte freundlicher sein. Waren wohl durch den nahgelegenen Kongress etwas überarbeitet.
Reviewed April 28, 2015

Mama from Switzerland
Families with older children
Great location, less great service
Great ocean view
You have to pay in advance and pay WiFi which is not at all usual in most hotels, so royalty is abusing a bit from customers
Reviewed July 14, 2015

Paula from Portugal
Couples
Great view, great bed!
Great view to the sea, excellent bad. Staff very kind and orientated to the client.
Reviewed July 04, 2015

FEDERICO from Italy
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in January 2010
ottima scelta
è un buon albergo, meglio dentro che da fuori. camere pulite, ampie (un po strettino il bagno, ma con una bella ed ampia doccia) e con una terrazza molto vivibile. personale cortese, colazione veramente abbondante e varia con molta frutta. posizione ottima, sulla spiaggia e a 15 minuti di taxy da ipanema. mai avuto problemi, sicurezza molto curata, poco traffico sottostante. proprio di fronte alla spiaggia c'è il centro dei bagnini di salvataggio, la spiaggia viene pulita ogni giorno
è un po lento il collegamento internet, il cambio euro/real nell'albergo non è particolarmente conveniente. ma si tratta di piccolezze. un po rumoroso il condizionatore.
siamo rimasti tutti e 4 molto soddisfatti.
Reviewed February 01, 2010

Carla from Brazil
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in March 2011
Hotel decente mas com preco alto!
Em frente da praia, uma delicia!
Hotel com caracteristicas antigas e com preco alto. Otima vista da praia mas os quartos cheiram a mar!!!
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Joseph from United States
Solo travelers
Good
Location
No power outlet
Reviewed June 06, 2015

Nicholas from Brazil
Couples
Requires a Breath of Fresh...
The location was super, On the beach front with a main street full of shops and places to eat running beside the hotel too. 2 minutes round the corner from Hotel is a great Mexican restaurant. The ...
This hotel needs a good breath of fresh air, as things just seem tired. The pool area is a great space, but it needs cleaned up and all the old fittings requiring replaced. I ceretainly wouldn't ...
Reviewed May 31, 2015

KIYOTAKA from Japan
Business travelers
Stayed 5 nights in September 2010
セフティボックスが壊れていた
なし
称号に記載
セフティボックスが壊れていて修理に1時間以上かかった。 パウポート、現金は持ち歩きたくないので、クライアントの約束の時間に遅れてしまった。
Reviewed October 06, 2010


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: