Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4053 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4
Sort by

Wee from Singapore
Groups
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
Great Place for a short stay
Access to swimming pool Great place for sun-tanning
lotsa flies!!! having to climb up a super steep slope!
this is a great place to stay for a short trip. hotel rooms are clean and comfy! breakfast was great! location is good (shops and restaurants down the hill) Service could be improved though. There's free internet usage at the hotel lobby and free wireless in the room. The only downside is having to climb up a hill, take 2 lifts and walk for 5 mins before reaching our rooms. Other than that, everything was great!
Reviewed May 30, 2010
Did you find this review helpful?

HARRY from Australia
Couples
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 5 nights in May 2010
sugar palm hillside needs attention
The pool access room on a lower floor. Two elevators are now working.
The Floor of the room looked ready dirty but was just stains and marks, when wet it is so slippery. The walls were dirty and in need of painting. Bathroom concept of the natural cement look failed and although it was not dirty it looked dirty. The "modern" design is so impractical eg to adjust the blind between the bathroom and the bedroom, to put the plug in the bath or turn on the taps one needed to get into the bath that has a ledge around it making it difficult to get in and out.
We were fortunate to have a lower floor pool access room. Guests with rooms on the higher levels needed to walk up and down many steep steps to the main pool area. The cascading waters looked great but it was difficult to have a conversation because of the noise of the water. The main pool area has no railing and has about a 3 m drop and could be very dangerous for children.
Reviewed May 29, 2010
Did you find this review helpful?

Randal from United States
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in May 2010
Sugar Palm Hillside-A 3 1/2 Star Experience!
Rooms are nice although minimalistic; night front desk clerk excellent; some sea view rooms have a good view(others don't); breakfast was filling and good quality; center pool was very relaxing; our rooms have good maid service.
Daytime front desk clerk arrogant; some sea view have a lousy view, even if you pay for more; a few good staff and a number of indifferent staff; pools need to be cleaned, some of them smell; room service meals are small and mediocre at best.
There are so many things to say about this hotel--some of them good and some of them not as great. Altogether the hotel is quite good--a definite 3 1/2 star experience. I say that because although the appearance of the hotel is very nice, many of the services and features of the hotel do not meet expectations. There is nothing horribly wrong with the Sugar Palm Hillside, however, there are very few services and features that I would call excellent or 4 star. Altogether though, in view of the off season price, I would say it is a good value mainly because of the attractiveness of the buildings and the general appearance. As detailed above, the services vary in quality, depending on the individual personnel. I would dare to say that unlike a 4 star hotel, the staff do not persevere to ensure a good stay for the guests. They generally do their jobs but are not that concerned about the experience of the hotel guests. If you can get a good price for the seaview rooms, it probably worthwhile, however that does not ensure you will have a great view. Our room had a partial view of the beach(as do most rooms), however, for some reason it was classified as a seaview room even though it was towards the back of the hotel on a midlevel floor. When we asked to a room with a better room, we were told one might be available 2 days later by the night staff. However, the day staff flatly refused us when we inquired 2 days later and was quite arrogant about refusing to give us a room with a decent sea view. We simply waited until the night staff started work and requested the change then. The place appeared very well cared for and has a good maintenance staff in general. However, the bell staff and many of the other staff seem uninterested in providing good service for the guests. Makes me wonder if the manager ever comes out to ensure high quality service--apparently not!
Reviewed May 28, 2010
Did you find this review helpful?

Janinne from Australia
Groups
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
Consider your Guests
It is very modern, centrally located.
Understanding the requests of its guests, no information about the area was provided.
While the hotel is brand new and looks great the administration is poorly organised. We were three single guests requesting 3 separate beds. On arrival we asked if there were three beds. 'Yes'. Of course when we reached our room there was a king sized bed and a trundle (which we paid extra for) but no elusive third bed. There seemed to be no understanding that we required three beds and it had been a request at booking. The next morning more time was wasted without the third bed being a possibility. Eventually a third trundle bed was delivered to our original room. The room also did not have fascilities for three guests. It is not hard to make people feel welcome by ensuring there is water for everyone and tea cup and glass! Maybe due to our poor start the staff then did not inform us of any fascilities like the lift! We trudged up to our room in the rain! They did apologise and offered us a plate of fruit.
Reviewed May 26, 2010
Did you find this review helpful?

Ang from Singapore
Couples
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010
Pool Access Room
The location of the hotel is great. There's two 7-11 nearby & there are many restaurants & a bank within a 1 min walk from the hotel.
The floor in the shower area seems quite sticky & there are some ants in the bathroom. Other than that, all is fine.
The rooms are designed with a chic, minimalist and industrial concept with concrete floors & walls in the bathroom. The rooms are big and mainly white. So if you prefer hotels with elaborate details, this will not be the place for you. We stayed at the lower floors & love the pool access room. It feels great that the pool is just at your doorstep! The walk uphill to the hotel from the junction is about 1/2 a min walk & it was no problem to us.
Reviewed May 25, 2010
Did you find this review helpful?

ng from Singapore
Couples
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010
Phuket Kata Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
The clean design of the room.
Some of the staffs have no service standard.
The hotel is location at the end of kata which is pretty quiet. The room was quite clean, the lobby was not what i expected with two desks and a few chairs. But the internet, book and DVD are free to use and borrow. Lobby staffs are pretty ok with service. But the staff that give us a ride up the hill have no service at all and expected us to tip him for giving my wife and i attitude. But there are also staffs with good attitude and service who greet and smile whenever they saw us.
Reviewed May 23, 2010
Did you find this review helpful?

Szilard from United States
Couples
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in May 2010
Upscale Hillside Hotel
Pools, pools, and pools. balcony some with direct access to pools, location was excellent, rooms are modern design, big with good amenities, tub with seperate shower, flat screen TV, my room had an ocean view. friendly staff, elevator, beach towels, big comfortable room and bed. good AC.
A lot of stairs to get to pool(s). Parking was limited for cars, better for motorbikes and had to take a flight of stairs down to parking lot. There are staff yhat will happily take you and your luggage in golf carts to whereever you need to go, but you will need to climb stairs eventually to get to one of 10 pools.
I stayed at the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside for almost a week very near Kata Beach, my favorite beach in Phuket. The rooms are modern, nice, big, comfortable and well equiped. I stayed here because of the great low season rate that was available and it was a new Hotel. The night life in Kata is more family oriented/ quite, but you can still find bars ajnd action if you look for it...and remember that Patong is just a 15 minute motorbike ride away. This Hotel has overnight joiner fees that will put a dent in your wallet should you decide to be a butterfly! For Couples it is perfect, for families too, but older patrons not willing to navigate the stairs should find better accomodations. I would stay here again.The largest pool had a cool light feature that would change colors only seen at night.
Reviewed May 22, 2010
Did you find this review helpful?

Chantelle from New Zealand
Groups
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
Amazing Hotel
Everything about this hotel was great, clean rooms, pool access, big rooms, nice staff, good breakfast
Nothing
Stayed here twice now and it was great. We had to get picked up at 5.30am for our airport transfer and the staff even made us a packed breakfast box to take with us
Reviewed May 21, 2010
Did you find this review helpful?

Jennifer from United Kingdom
Groups
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Review
Gorgeous room with a huge bath/bathroom. Stunning black infinity pool to relax in. Local amenities close by - beach, shops, restaurants, bars, massage parlour etc.
None whatsoever!
The hotel was amazing, my friend and I had a wonderful stay there. The location was good, in the quieter end of Kata, away from the main road up a little hill. The hotel room itself was gorgeous, very 'boutique hotel' like and minimalist. The room provided adequate facilities for us on our stay and had a lovely balcony overlooking the area and pool. The two level, black infinity pool was stunning too. It was just what we needed!
Reviewed May 20, 2010
Did you find this review helpful?

Sunny from Singapore
Couples
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in May 2010
Not Enjoyable stay
Room is big with big balcony. New. Good internet connections. Nice pool.
Staff is rude,need more smile. Breakfast not delicious,very messy. Island tour selling in Hotel is very expensive. Need to climb up steep to the room. Not suitable for the elderly.
First day reach the hotel, I had change 4 rooms. First water dripping, second foul smell in the toilet,third not my kind of booking and finally the forth is jaccuzzi room which I booked. Hotel staff need more smile, especially those serving in the restaurant. Hotel situated up the hill, very tiring walking up and not suitable for the elderly. Breakfast is just a simple layout though, not delicious at all. The pool is the best part of the hotel and the room is not bad either with free WiFi. Not recommended to stay here unless the staffs change their attitude,we tourists like someone who smile rather than pulling their face to us.
Reviewed May 20, 2010
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: