Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4054 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food and dining 7.4
Sort by

Radoslaw from Canada
Couple
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 6 nights in April 2010
Well priced clean contemporary hotel steps in Kata
Clean & contemporary rooms, with all the necessary amenities well laid out. Free wifi in the rooms. Friendly service from all staff. Nice views of Kata town and the beach. Pool access rooms available at a very affordable price.
We couldn't think of anything, but if we were to think of one con, it would be the location of the hotel, which is up on a hill, so its a bit of a trek to return to your room, but for us it was not a problem. It can also be avoided by asking for a room close to the reception area.
We absolutely loved this hotel, it was one of the better resorts we have stayed at in our lifetimes. We both appreciate good architecture and interior design, and this place was literally jaw dropping upon arrival. The concrete interior might be cold for some, but we love the industrial-like simplicity of the design! We opted for the pool access room, instead of the beach view, as both were equally priced, and we made the right choice, as pool access rooms usually cost lots more elsewhere. We loved having our midnight swims in what felt like a private pool, or just having a pool to jump into after hiking up the hill from town drenched in sweat. Wifi was free and the connection was excellent, the staff were very friendly, and we never felt that they were hard to communicate with, yes some did not speak good English, but we still understood each other. We had breakfasts included, and they were wonderful, with lots of choice, it felt more like a brunch buffet. We would recommend this resort to all our friends. Its very close to the beach, shopping, restaurants etc.
Reviewed May 02, 2010

Yu-Tin from Taiwan
Couple
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 2 nights in April 2010
Great value for money
Location was great, the room was spacious, the pool access was great! Since we got the bar right across the pool too! At night the pool view is very beautiful too. Room service was reasonably priced too so we didn't have to walk all the way down the hill and up again just to fill our stomache.
the aircon was very loud, but that's a really minor thing!
Over all it was a really nice hotel with a young atmosphere with the matching price! The hotel staff were very nice and Agoda price is always the best! Thank you Agoda. Also we visited the hotel the night before (we were staying at the sugar palm at first) and requested the room that we were shown to, and at our request we got the exact room that we wanted which was great!
Reviewed May 02, 2010

Jo from Singapore
Group
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 2 nights in April 2010
Fantastic Stay
Modern and contemporary design Clean, spacious rooms with huge bathroom Rooms come with semi-private pools
Counter service staffs not very friendly and helpful
The 3 of us booked 2 pool access rooms and we practically get the pool to ourselves as the pool was only connected to the 2 rooms. It felt pretty exclusive and convenient. Especially when, we were given rooms higher up the hill where the pool comes with nice view. The rooms came with a DVD player and free wi-fi. I loved the huge bathroom which came with a huge bath tub and shower area. Upon check in, the counter staff got a golf-cart to drive up the hill to our rooms. The staff didn't warn us of the steep ride and it almost scared the hell out of me. Luckily, we held on tightly to the rails. The hotel is just 5 - 10 minutes' walk to the beach and everything and anything can be found along the walk to the beach. The only bad experience would be with an unfriendly guy counter staff. He didn't smile and gave us a "No" when we enquire if he could help us arrange a taxi for us the next day. Overall, We enjoyed our stay and would love to go back again.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Elizabeth from Canada
Group
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in April 2010
beautiful hotel perched on a hill
very close, about 6 minutes walk to kata beach. free wifi
it was on a pretty steep hill
this hotel should be named grand hillside sugar palm as you have to walk up a steep hill to get to it. albeit not very long distance, it is steep and can be hard if you are wearing heels. the staff were friendly but not particularly helpful. the whole hotel concept is of concrete so I'm not sure if that is the reason why the washroom fixtures were coming off the walls. e.g. our shower head screws were coming loose off the wall and houskeeping did not fix it throughout our stay. also the faucet had the same problem, it was loose coming out of the concrete counter. the pools on the different levels of the hotel are beautiful and we had a nice plasma tv in our room.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

CHATCHAPHON from Thailand
Group
Stayed 3 nights in April 2010
a challenging stay
beautiful, modern hotel, near sea, good breakfast, beautiful and spacious room
no lift to the room, guests have to endure steep climbs to go to room and back
We enjoyed the beautifual and well-designed hotel which is well located at Kata Beach, a smaller and quieter beach than the over-crowded Patong Beach. The distance from Kata to the airport is abut 47 km, though so you have to provide enough time to get back to the airport. At all cost, avoid rooms on higher levels unless you enjoy walking up slopes to get to and from your room everyday! This is a serious disadvantage. When we arrived, the receptionist said he was upgrading us to the pool view. I thanked him, not ralising that we're being upgraded physically!
Reviewed April 16, 2010

david from Australia
Family with teens
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 5 nights in March 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel
great hotel with free internet
none
booked two delux pool axis rooms at 20% off which was great value the rooms were excellent and the pool was good with a good view of the street below (but be prepered to walk as this hotel is built on a hill which was not a problem for us)the breakfast was very good and staff helpful i could not ask for beter and would stay here again
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Wong from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2010
Very suitable for a quiet vacation
Very clean and neat The environment is perfect for a getaway from city The staff are very polite Swimming pool is very clean and special in design Very convenient and quick access into the free wi-fi network, need not enter username and password for every session Just a 10-minute walk to arrive at restaurants and Kata beach. Restaurants nearby are of better bargains.
The elevator button is difficult to press despite the beautiful design Slope too steep for the elderly and children to move up
1. This is an excellent hotel of very reasonable price to live in which I strongly recommend. Located in a quiet environment up on the hill but with convenient access to beaches, marts and restaurants. 2. Improve the design of the elevator button, it is very difficult to press every time. 3. Should offer shuttle to pick up customers from places like the airport, beach areas, Phuket town or downtown, especially for the elderly and children since the slope is too steep to move up.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Kwok from Hong Kong
Couple
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 1 night in April 2010
Nice hotel!
nice swimming pool, clean and neat room! the staff are quite helpful. there are flowers on your bed upon arrival
the location of the rooms is a bit inconvenient
the room is a bit less good than expected, but still it is a pretty nice hotel with their low price. I had a relaxing stay at the hotel. The beach is just around the corner.you can go back to the hotel immediately after swimming which is nice. there are various tv channels. and a dvd player in the room. even if you have ur dvds. you can borrow one at the front desk. good!
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Ming from Singapore
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2010
Awesome
Clean, Beautiful, Great Location and Spacious Rooms
Expensive breakfast, Couldn't connect to the wifi in my room. weird smell in the lift.
The stay was pleasant and enjoyable. Interior of the room was great. Neat, spacious and the pool side view is lovely. Location is great as Kata is a lovely place. Peaceful and quiet, unlike Patong which is very chaotic. You can rent a bike from the lobby for 250 baht. It is safe to ride around in Kata. but if you were to head down to Patong, please beware of the police as they tend to fine tourists for riding without a license. So, its best is you bring your vehicle license along to avoid the 300baht fine.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Kwok from Hong Kong
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2010
Sugarpalm grand hillside~ a nice hotel
the hotel is nice and mostly clean staff is quite helpful too the pool access room is great! u can actually jump into the pool outside your room!
the internet is not fast enough and the hotel is built on the hill so if u stay in high floors, u need to walk a long way bk to ur room, which is quite inconvenient and tiring
everything is new and there is a DVD player! so u can bring your own dvds or actually borrow one from the front desk, and hv a relaxing nite! service is also quite gd in the hotel. u can order meals straight to your room without going downstairs. the quality is good too there are nice orchid flowers on ur bed when u arrive. the only disadvantage about this hotel is that u need to walk uphill. and if ur room is on high floors, you will be quite exhausted especially after a playful day at the beach but in general, this hotel is new and good! just walk for around 5 - 10 minutes, u can get to the beach!
Reviewed April 11, 2010


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: