Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4053 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food and dining 7.4
Sort by

matthew from Australia
Solo travelers
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2010
Great location, Nice hotel
1 min walk to Kata shopping & restaurants Value for money if you use agoda etc Modern rooms
Have to picky here, but up a slight hill, new lifts make access to rooms easy
Have stayed in Sugar Palm Grand Hillside twice now, firstly in room 1907 which is a spa room & now staying in 2204 which is a pool access room close to the top of the resort that has views over Kata. Have found the staff to be helpfull & friendly, some reviews reported otherwise, but this is not my experience. The rooms are spacious, no complaints, but you somehow feel that they have not been completely finished, as there is bare concrete floors in most rooms. I realise that this is part of the design, however you feel that the tiles are missing. I would stay here again, room 2204 is better with view & pool access.
Reviewed March 09, 2010

Mathew from United Kingdom
Couples
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2010
The Thailand Experience
Modern hotel, clean and well presented, with excellent bathroom facilities. Numerous pools with ample space to chill on a sunbed.
Some rooms are situated high up on the hillside and take several minutes to get to and would not be particularly suitable to the elderly and unfit.
A clean and well presented hotel, the Sugar Palm has been recently built and has been completed with modern furnishings. The bathrooms are large, although the rendered grey plain walls may only suit a younger eye. Some rooms entail a signifcant uphill walk, which may not suit the elderly or infirm.
Reviewed March 09, 2010

andrew from United States
Solo travelers
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 12 nights in February 2010
Great Pool-Poor Service
The pool
The staff not speaking english.
The Sugar Palm Hillside Hotel was a much different stay for me this year then it was for me last year. The staff this year spoke little to no english at all. They were very difficult to communicate with. This made some of the normal things a hotel is responsible for very hard to change or excute in the way I wanted it. I wanted to cancelle a fishing trip I booked and I asked the hotel to cancelle the trip for me and they said they would and didn't. On a more positive note, the hotel has made some improvements to the property. They added a elevator and a pool bar.They have great swimming pools at the hotel.They have a great pool bartender named Joe who was very good at his job. Overall, my stay was just fair and I am not sure if I would stay at the Sugar Palm Hillside Hotel again.
Reviewed March 07, 2010

San from Singapore
Couples
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2010
Our Stay at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Resort
Beautiful pool and view. Staff are friendly. Comfortable place to stay in.Love the pool access room, esp romantic for couple. Free Wi-fi within the resort and internet access at the main reception area.
Have to walk up a steep pavement to reach the resort lobby. No in-house restaurant and felt they can have more facilities. Better mosquito breeding control as I was stung quite badly even with repellent stay and the sticker type.
Would like to stay at the resort again should we go phuket again.
Reviewed March 07, 2010

Kent from Canada
Solo travelers
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2010
Disappointing Experience
Friendly housekeeping staff
hotel layout poor, basic rooms, distance to rooms up hill, broken elevators, poor front desk service
Very disappointed in this hotel - I travel extensively in Asia and for the price this was a big disappointment. From front desk the room was a 10 min walk up a hill, two elevator rides and then a climb up a cement driveway followed by two sets of stairs - this wasn't indicated when I selected - would be inaccessable to anyone with mobility issues! Hotel is about 10 min walk from beach - poor views from many rooms - I overlooked the side of a building with no view. Hot water not always available, odour of sewage in room, air conditioner worked too well (couldn't control temperature). Front desk staff were not friendly.
Reviewed March 06, 2010

CHAN from China
Groups
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 4 nights in February 2010
Value for Money
Ambience : quiet Location : near to the beach Price : value for money Service : acceptable Breakfast : good
Maintenance of the hotel should be enhanced since some facilities have gone aging.
I had gone through the comments from other hotel guests in the site saying that it was hard for high floor guests to go back to their rooms without using club car. Now, I can tell everybody that the elevators are in operation now. I just wonder that nobody had told me that thave had elevators for use. I am quite lucky that I had read other guestss comments before I go. That said, the elevators were being built. For the time being, it can be open for the guests' use. Given that you are residing at the high floors, you can go to your rooms easily.
Reviewed March 05, 2010

Jemma from Australia
Couples
Grand Deluxe
Stayed one night in February 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
The pool bar was great.
It would be good if the pool bar also served some food. More pool chairs would also be great.
The rooms were very nice and spacious and we especially liked the design of the bathroom including where the water flowed from the shower into a gutter. The beds very very comfortable and the TV was nice and big. We decided not to have breakfast at the hotel as it was too expensive and found places down the street were of the same quality and much cheaper. The pool was the highlight of the hotel however it would be good if more chairs were available for guests to lay on.
Reviewed March 04, 2010

Linh from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed 8 nights in February 2010
nice!
Spacious rooms, nice staff, modern design, nice location
breakfast to expensive, slow internet (but that is in whole Phuket I think)
I stayed here with my wife 2 weeks ago for 10 days and I had a very good time here. I got a free upgrade to a room with private pool and it was a very big room so that was nice. I like the design of the rooms, very modern. The staff is very kind. My room was all the way up the hill so when you go down you have to walk all the way down. You can call the staff up to pick you up with a golf-cart as well, but walking is faster when you go down, when you go up you can go with the golf-cart. I didn't mind the walking because I like the little exercise because I ate so much in Phuket For people who have difficulties with walking this is not the perfect hotel for you. The lady who sits at the counter for booking tours is very lovely and we booked many tours at her. Besides the hotel there is a very nice restaurant with very good food. We ate breakfast there everyday because breakfast at the hotel was pretty expensive (350 TB p.p if you didn't booked it with the hotel right away) Nice location because you are very close to Kata beach, but if you hire a motorbike you can go to more quitter beaches more South. Perfect hotel for young couples!
Reviewed March 02, 2010

Jacintha from Australia
Couples
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2010
Nice stay @ Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Very clean and neat rooms. Free internet
Our room previously had a smoker, made the whole room smell very bad. They need to have a stricter smoking policy or have rooms designated to smokers and non smokers. If you have a room at the back of the hotel the climb up the extremely steep slope is quite an effort. Not all the hotel staff spoke very good english
My partner and I stayed on the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside on the 23rd-25th Feb 2010. The hotel is walking distance to the beach and into the streets. However the slope is very steep, but they provide golf type buggies to take you to your room. The view from this hotel is beautiful, especially at night when they had these LED lights at the bottom of the pool. However they do not allow night swimming? Our room was very clean and neat, providing a big TV and DVD player, however it STUNK of cigarette smoke. The staff here are friendly however their english is not very good. We asked if they had a cardboard box we could have, they couldnt understand. We didnt try any room service. I found my stay at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside quite enjoyable despite my minor complaints, especially seeing we had a good price from Agoda.
Reviewed March 01, 2010

Alaisha from United Kingdom
Couples
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in January 2010
Decent location but poor service
We had a Grand Pool Access room and were able to access the pool directly from our room which was a really cool concept and very convenient. The many pools are also a plus which meant they were often empty. The hotel was only a few minutes walk away from the beach and not too far from the main area of Kata. We had free wi-fi in the rooms and there was free internet access in the lobby. The hotel was on a very steep hill and so we had some great views from our pool. There was free parking available right next to the lobby, which was great for the days when we hired a car.
I think the experience of staying in Phuket is tainted by the mentality the workers seem to have, of trying to squeeze as much money out of tourists. It is understandable to a point, however the service level greatly decreases. I think evidence of this is much apparent at Sugar Palm - the hotel staff were rude and spoke almost no English. On asking simple requests, for example the price of a taxi, the staff would break off mid-conversation, and talk with each other in Thai, before quoting a price that was clearly unreasonable. This was extremely frustrating and unprofessional. We also had the same problem organising or enquiring about excursions. On checkout, they informed us that the ashtray was missing, and would not let us leave. We don't smoke and therefore didn't notice whether there was an ashtray in the first place. Eventually, after making a scene, and offering to open our bags to be searched, the staff begrudgingly allowed us to leave, though not without an extremely bitter taste in our mouths. The hotel was on a steep hillside and it is a very tiring climb back to the room after each day. However from reading the other reviews you should be expecting the multitude of steps and ramps. There was a golf buggy to take you up if you wish, however the staff make it obvious a tip is required by loitering until satisfied. Room pictures are accurate, however on closer inspection, finishing is not as crisp as the pictures suggest. There were a lot of spiders and cobwebs. We also had an invasion of ants in the bathroom. There was a sewer smell that would come and go from the bathroom, which required us to close the bathroom door at all times. I suspect there is a drainage problem in the complex.
This hotel has some really special features and has the potential to be a good hotel. The staff need to work on their communication skills, and also their attitude. Rooms need to be cleaned properly and if they are going to offer a service to take people to their room, they have to offer it without making people feel obliged to pay for it. An improvement in customer service is needed, a basic requirement in the service industry. The location was decent and the rooms quiet, away from the hustle and bustle, though not too far. I would not recommend this hotel for families due to the difficult treks to rooms, it is more suited to bargain hunters, though I think better value for money could be found elsewhere.
Reviewed February 28, 2010


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: