Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4054 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4
Sort by

Alaisha from United Kingdom
Couple
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in January 2010
Decent location but poor service
We had a Grand Pool Access room and were able to access the pool directly from our room which was a really cool concept and very convenient. The many pools are also a plus which meant they were often empty. The hotel was only a few minutes walk away from the beach and not too far from the main area of Kata. We had free wi-fi in the rooms and there was free internet access in the lobby. The hotel was on a very steep hill and so we had some great views from our pool. There was free parking available right next to the lobby, which was great for the days when we hired a car.
I think the experience of staying in Phuket is tainted by the mentality the workers seem to have, of trying to squeeze as much money out of tourists. It is understandable to a point, however the service level greatly decreases. I think evidence of this is much apparent at Sugar Palm - the hotel staff were rude and spoke almost no English. On asking simple requests, for example the price of a taxi, the staff would break off mid-conversation, and talk with each other in Thai, before quoting a price that was clearly unreasonable. This was extremely frustrating and unprofessional. We also had the same problem organising or enquiring about excursions. On checkout, they informed us that the ashtray was missing, and would not let us leave. We don't smoke and therefore didn't notice whether there was an ashtray in the first place. Eventually, after making a scene, and offering to open our bags to be searched, the staff begrudgingly allowed us to leave, though not without an extremely bitter taste in our mouths. The hotel was on a steep hillside and it is a very tiring climb back to the room after each day. However from reading the other reviews you should be expecting the multitude of steps and ramps. There was a golf buggy to take you up if you wish, however the staff make it obvious a tip is required by loitering until satisfied. Room pictures are accurate, however on closer inspection, finishing is not as crisp as the pictures suggest. There were a lot of spiders and cobwebs. We also had an invasion of ants in the bathroom. There was a sewer smell that would come and go from the bathroom, which required us to close the bathroom door at all times. I suspect there is a drainage problem in the complex.
This hotel has some really special features and has the potential to be a good hotel. The staff need to work on their communication skills, and also their attitude. Rooms need to be cleaned properly and if they are going to offer a service to take people to their room, they have to offer it without making people feel obliged to pay for it. An improvement in customer service is needed, a basic requirement in the service industry. The location was decent and the rooms quiet, away from the hustle and bustle, though not too far. I would not recommend this hotel for families due to the difficult treks to rooms, it is more suited to bargain hunters, though I think better value for money could be found elsewhere.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Greg from Australia
Couple
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 6 nights in February 2010
Grand Style at a great price
A modern & unique very functional hotel, the rooms were clean, cool & uncluttered, extremely comfortable with its own style. We had a ground floor room with our own pool, fabulous!! but with a pool on every level not far to get to a pool wherever your room was.Great restaurant, only open for breakfast,a great selection of both Thai & western foods,. A great location away from the busy street quiet but only a short walk to the beach & shopping.Free internet use in reception 3 computers available, and friendly helpful staff.
None really, only good things to say.
We chose Kata Beach to be away from the busy Patong area & we were happy we did. Kata is a very beautiful beach, family friendly with a huge selection of restaurants & shopping. The hotel is located just far enough away from the busy streets to be a peaceful retreat. It was a fabulous hotel and we enjoyed it thoroughly, the cool air conditioning of our room was a great reviver after a hard morning on the beach,some snorkelling,shopping, drinking & eating the great Thai food. So many wonderful surprises in Kata Beach, a wonderful place for relaxing.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Alan from Australia
Couple
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 4 nights in February 2010
Amazing. Very beatiful and close to the beach.
hotel rooms, the swimming pools, design of hotel
service can be a bit desperate (as are all services in phuket ie, very dependent on tourist money and tips)
layout of room was fantastic, hotel service was agreeable, although not amazing. breakfast buffet very acceptable compared to other hotels. step infinity pools add amazing ambience and style. will definitely be returning to this hotel.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Matt from Australia
Couple
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 5 nights in February 2010
sugar palm grand hillside
great looking hotel with well appointed rooms
Our pool was a bit slimy.
Our stay at the sugar hill grand hillside was great all the staff were friendly and very helpful. We had a pool access room and were surprised by the standard of the room for the price we payed. The only down side was that the pool had a layer of thin green slime on the tiles and the 5 days were were there I never saw anyone come and clean the pool. But over all we had a great stay and recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Kata.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

LAY from Singapore
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2010
Great as Usual
Clean, modern, spacious room.
Service quality of staff.
This is the second I've stayed at the hotel. The first was a pool access room and this time round a pool view room. Both rooms were good, though I prefer the pool view room (level 6) as the view out of the window was great. Nothing to fault about the rooms. However, it would have been a even better experience if the staff could have been able to offer more smiles. Services rendered were rather curt.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

DEHENG from Singapore
Couple
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 3 nights in February 2010
Great relaxing hotel, away from the buzzing
It was great to have the pool at your balcony. Service quality was excellent. Great place for relaxation, honeymoon and group holiday...
Located on the hillside, the slope was tiring. But thank goodness, there was lift.
The hotel provided a great relaxation escape for both couples as well as big group holidays. Ideal location for young adults with an eye for unique designs. Apart from walking up steep slope to the top rooms, everything else was great.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Leong from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in February 2010
Feb 2010
Near the beach. A lot of restaurants, coffee clubs and some shopping. Partial sea view. Clean, tasteful design.
Located on a hill. Have to climb up a slope to reach the hotel. Elevator does not reach the highest floors.
Hotel is located on a hill within 5 - 10 mins walk from the beach. There are restaurants and coffee clubs and some shops just at the bottom of the slope. Rooms are clean and tastefully designed. Staff are very very friendly and helpful. Our family booked the pool access room (no view of the sea), sea view room on the high floor with partial sea view and sea view room on the lower floor but with jacuzzi and partial view of the sea. We have a fabulous time using the facilities. It provides a resort feel to the hotel. Only detraction if you book rooms in the higher floor is that you have to take a elevator to the 4th floor, traverse a corridor to another elevator which brings you to the 8th floor and up the slope to reach my pool access room on the 9th floor which is quite a hassle if you have to do that many times a day. Other than that, we had a very enjoyable time and will definitely stay here again.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

LI from Hong Kong
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2010
Excellent
Great location and Nice swimming pool
Mosquitos
Worth to stay!!Excellent and Modern Design. There is free internet at the lobby. I highly recommend this hotel for couples. Big and clean swimming pools, having drinks at the pool bar is so relaxing. Just 10 mins walk from the hotel to the Kata beach. Many good restaurants near the hotel.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

William from New Zealand
Couple
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in February 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Location. Rooms were fine. Staff were good. Breakfast
The gym was small with only 1 small multi gymn and 4 exercise machines
Location was excellent,Staff were good. Breakfast was fine and a good way to start off the day. Shopping for anything was handy. We will have no problem with going their again.Having to barter is a pain now and again but you get used to it. Kata beach is a great location and the beach is excellent.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Terry from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in February 2010
The best hotel!!!
The rooms were large and modern. The pool access room was fantastic, didn't see anyone from the neighbouring apartment the whole time. Staff very friendly and helpful, willing to drive us to our room in the golf cart if necessary.
Slightly unclean.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay for 4 nights and were sad to leave. Next time we would like to stay for 2 weeks minimum. It is a very modern looking building, with great views over the town and the sea. We stayed right at the top and whilst it is very steep we enjoyed the walk and the staff were willing to drive us up if needed. We didn't have breakfast included but there were plenty of restaurants nearby to eat breakfast. The room was lovely, very large and modern and spacious. Had a great TV with lots of good channels. Towels were changed daily. The pool access room was fantastic, went for quite a few swims daily, only once did we use one of the big main infinity pools. We really liked the atmosphere and enjoyed relaxing by the pool when we weren't down at the beach or touring the islands. Kata Beach was really nice, lots of tourists but still nice. The water was lovely and warm. Defnitely recommend this Hotel and we will be staying there again next time we go to Phuket.
Reviewed February 12, 2010


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: