Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4054 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food and dining 7.4
Sort by

Simon from United Kingdom
Couples
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Still good but fading faxt
Design, multiple pools, hillside location
We visited this hotel when it first opened and it was great, it's now starting to fade a little. Staff service was very poor at breakfast, more interested in their smart phones than serving.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stephanie from Hong Kong
Solo travelers
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Great pools, mediocre service
Pool Pool Pool
Initial checkin was smooth at first. I was taken to a room on the first level, but the card reader that's supposed to activate the power was malfunctioning so there was no electricity. Maintenance looked into it but couldn't seem to get the power to stay on after 20 minutes. I went to lobby and asked if I could be given another room since I had a 5:30am tour pickup the next morning and I just wanted to settled in and rest. Front desk was reluctant and asked if I could wait. 10 minutes later I was told that the problem was fixed, only to find out that it wasn't when I walked back into the room. I had to make my way back to the lobby again to demand a room change. I was then taken all the way up to "Level 9" in a golf cart to another room. I later I realized that maybe I would've been better off waiting it out and staying on the first floor because the walk from the ground to this level was pretty gnarly. It's a good 10 minutes of confusing turns with 2 different elevators and then an uphill climb, and I wasn't even at the top level. Some of the staff at the front desk didn't speak English at all, which I found odd. The staff at the restaurant wasn't particularly friendly either. My room included breakfast and I was given a coupon for each day. I forgot to bring it with me one morning, and I was not going to walk my way back uphill just to get a piece of paper when they could easily check my room number to see that I had free breakfast. The hostess at the restaurant actually wanted me to go get my coupon. When I refused and told her to check my room number, she gave me a really nasty look. She didn't really speak English either so the communication regarding this snafu was difficult. Overall, I think the service at this hotel was mediocre. The only saving grace would be its central location and the many pools.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Christer from Sweden
Couples
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 15 nights in April 2013
Very Good!
Breakfast,Poolside,Clean
We had a very good stay at Sugar Palm grand Hillside,nice clean rooms,nice pool and GREAT brakfast:)
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stacie from United Kingdom
Couples
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 10 nights in April 2013
Relaxed
Stylish, View, Location
First off you will see allot of reviews perhaps on here or Trip Advisor mention a hill it really isn’t that bad. We dropped off to CC's Hideaway one the way to Sugar Palm Hillside now that was up a big hill. I think the shame about Sugar Palm Hillside Grand is the design might be divisive. Personally I love the concrete design features and its feel and the black tiled pools but I could see how it could feel cold and uninviting to others. Clearly Trip Advisor loved the design as they named it most stylish 2 years running but I don’t think it is to everyone’s taste in fact I know it isn’t as a couple that we knew where also staying at the same time were less impressed as me and my husband. I think the pictures do it justice though as I stayed in other places in Thailand where I felt disappointed when I arrived but there was no such feeling here. The bed is quite small which is ok and comfortable for me but my husband had a couple of bad night’s sleep. We got a room with a bath on the balcony which I frequently used. I am more of a bath person rather than showering. Watching the sunset in the bath with the bubble jets on was a treat. I really wouldn’t bother with a room with pool access unless you really want to. Breakfast was average but the dining hall again is very stylish. The pool didn’t have very many beds but never seemed busy. The pool side bar seemed like an odd feature which in my eyes could use an overhaul to make it more of a swim up bar as it might as well have not been there. We didn't use it, you could barely tell if it was open or not. Would we stay here again yes but perhaps we would try Karon next time instead of Kata. I would say this is the best hotel in Kata for a mid-range budget.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Noor from Malaysia
Couples
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
value for money
location, room size, swimming pool
Reviewed April 22, 2013

serena from Canada
Solo travelers
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in April 2013
Excellent hotel, will return soon for sure
Quiet, Clean, Large bath tubs!
Wonderful Hotel, great location, quiet and conveniently located in Kata Hillside. Rooms are bright, clean, large and the beds are comfortable, which can be a surprise in Thailand. This hotel was so great I extended my stay for 3 more days. My only recommendation is that there is NO where at the hotel to get food after breakfast is closed. Also the pool bar is really under done for this hotel, barely has service and nothing to eat when you are roaming around the beautiful water fall pools this resort has to offer. On another note, this hotel "cools" their pools, so it is wonderfully refreshing when you go in. Please, open a restaurant or pool bar service soon! Thanks for a great 11 days :-)
Reviewed April 22, 2013

tze from Malaysia
Couples
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed one night in April 2013
Great view and comfortable
Big room,friendly staff,nice view
Very enjoy and the swimming pool is big.I like the view,is very nice.Staff is friendly.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Mirko from Switzerland
Solo travelers
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in April 2013
Great Pool and Location
Nice Pool, Big Rooms and quite Location
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Chuan from Malaysia
Couples
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Value for money
Proximity to the beach and activities, value for money and reasonably clean and comfortable
The service wasn't fantastic but can't really complain as the rooms were reasonably clean and comfortable and the location of the hotel was great.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Cheya from Thailand
Couples
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in April 2013
Amazing pool , perfect location and great service.
Pool & Spa, Location, nice room and service
The day we arrived we have to ask the hotel give us a room close to the lobby due to my age & health. We requested a higher floor at the beginning through Agoda. They can just manged us a new room in 5 mins. We were so impressed with their staffs, very friendly & enthusiastic during our stay. A swimming pool & the sew view make us feel very relaxing here. Free Sauna on the 6th floor is also a nice treat after swim. It is quite a family friendly hotel. The Hotel's comfy bed make it hard for us to get up in the morning. We love everything about this hotel. The hotel only do (good)breakfast buffet. But if you need lunch /dinner,there are really good restaurants around the corner such as Horn grill,Boathouse, Mom tri, Rico's and so on. We would highly recommended this hotel to everyone.
Reviewed April 17, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: