Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4054 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4
Sort by

Jason from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 8 nights in August 2012
Love the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside but...
Good location, Pleasant atmosphere, Friendly Staff, Decent Breakfast, Fair rates
This was my second stay at this hotel and I'm glad I chose to stay there again. The hotel is a short walk up the hill from the beach which I enjoy as it gets my legs a little pumped up. My son, who is ten, loved it as well and called it "cool". He enjoyed the walk up the hill as well and loved the structure of the eleven small swimming pools. The staff was just as friendly as I remember and they accepted both of my requests which were changing rooms and a late checkout. My only gripes this stay were the lowly maintained tiny "fitness center" in which none of the equipment was working and the "out of service" elevator which lasted for four days. In conclusion, the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside is an excellent choice to stay in Kata Beach except for the fitness center and their slow hotel maintenance.
Reviewed September 05, 2012

Pei from Malaysia
Families with young children
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Great Location
Location
This was my second stay at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside. The difference was we bought the Jacuzzi Room instead of the Pool View Room. We got the sea facing room without any obstruction from our balcony. We have a queen bed and a single bed in the room which was perfect for the 3 of us. However, we were only given 2 breakfast voucher even though the room was meant for 3 pax, and we ended up have to pay for the breakfast for our 4yo son. During check in after finding out that the lift was not working, my wife requested for the buggy but were told that the buggy were out of battery. She had no choice but to walk up the steep rood to the room which was on level 5. The lift was broken down for 2 whole days.
Reviewed September 05, 2012

Tze from Singapore
Families with young children
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 7 nights in August 2012
Nice Designer Hotel overlooking Kata
Pool Access Rooms
Stayed here for 7 days Good priced room service food. Not a huge selection but sufficient for our family. Buffet Breakfast - Had all the basics and an egg station. 6/10 Service - Satisfactory, was not bad but some staff could be better. Overall - Was a nice hotel, view was great but location is on top of the hill. Quite steep but manageble for 2 parents and 2 kids with prams. Will stay again if hotel maintenance is kept up. Have restaurant next door if unwilling to travel. Massage at the bottom of the hill is great.
Reviewed September 05, 2012

Jingjing from China
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
unique hotel in great location
location, facilities, view
It's my first trip to Phuket, Kata is a nice and peaceful place to stay. We enjoyed the hotel very much, the staff is very helpful and nice,we checked-in early around 10am,the sea view room is very nice, but next time I might try the pool-access.
Reviewed September 04, 2012

Phoowanat from Thailand
Families with young children
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Lovely place and service is very good and smiling.
Good view and look like a little adventure for kid.
Almost satisfied overall only one is not comfortable is walk way between separated elevator. Anyways should stay more day is the recommended.
Reviewed September 03, 2012

Krzysztof from Poland
Groups
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 11 nights in August 2012
Good value for money
Very cosy room
Good breakfast. Nice and well maintained pool. Very helpful and kind staff although not so good at English.
Reviewed September 03, 2012

Peh from Singapore
Couples
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Decent hotel Value for money
Pool excess room
room is very spacious, comes with apple mac computer with lcd screen hang on the wall. negative is that the wifi is too slow with bad reception. the breakfast variety is very limited but taste fine. service is acceptable. hotel is located uphill right at the end of kata. not recommended for travelers without having motorcycle or car.
Reviewed September 03, 2012

Krzysztof from Poland
Groups
Stayed 10 nights in August 2012
Good value for money
Near the beach, good breakfast, nice staff
Low season so we paid quite little for the rooms. Breakfast is good, some dishes change so it's not all the same food everytime. Rooms well maintained and comfortable. Clean and well upkept swimming pool. The road to the hotel goes really uphill! It's about 100 m steep slope. Most likely will stay again if i go to Phuket.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Natasha from Singapore
Solo travelers
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012
Memorable
Good guest service
I had left something in the hotel but had already left for the airport, i asked the driver if he could turn around. He immediately made a call to the hotel and my stuff was waiting for me at the lobby. It was very quick with no fuss and i was still early for my flight.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Xiao from China
Solo travelers
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Excellent 4 star hotel
Price, service, location
This is an excellent 4 star hotel with a very great price. Excellent service as well
Reviewed August 30, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: