Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4054 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food and dining 7.4
Sort by

raegan from Australia
Couples
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 7 nights in May 2012
Perfect destination for a perfect holiday!
Pool access suite amazing!
We loved Sugar Palm Hillside! Perfect location! Perfect atmosphere! The pool access room where great! The relaxed feeling walking into your room and jumping straight into your own private pool was out of this world!! I would definently stay here again and have boosted to all my friends to stay and already a mate has taken my advice and have booked for September! The staff were fabulous and the fact that you get a free mini bar stocked daily and free wifi in your room just makes it a better place to stay!! Take my advice and book Sugar Palm HillSide for your next stay!! We will!!
Reviewed June 01, 2012

warista from Thailand
Couples
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Boutique hotel
Great location, pretty good service
This hotel has many room types that you can choose. I surprised about the bathroom caz it's no painting but so beautiful in boutique style.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Sara from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Lovely rooms but service could be better
Good location, lovely sea view
Stayed for 2 nights and loved the room - nice and spacious with a big bath and a mac mini computer was an extra luxury. Had a lovely sea view although also a partial building site opposite which spoilt a little. It was only the service that disappointed, some of the front desk staff were fine but others were extremely rude and looked angry most of the time, not the lovely Thai hospitality I have experienced before. For breakfast again one young girl who was very rude and both days as I was up quite early no one in the egg station so I just ended up eating fruit. Pool was ok. Could be a nice hotel with better service and the occasional smile.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Julian from United States
Solo travelers
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
great
location
i really enjoyed staying here, great location, great room, clean, only cons were the staff is somewhat surely but so are most people in thailand, and the room was ontop of a enormous hill i had to walk up and down daily.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Luke from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 8 nights in May 2012
Pleasant hotel
Breakfast Buffet and the Pool.
Nice hotel in Kata. Close to the beach, and the pool was great. Breakfast buffet was worth waking up for even if it tended to be the same thing most days. If any bad side, the staff could have been a bit friendlier
Reviewed May 29, 2012

TIANG from Singapore
Couples
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Great For Value
Great Location, Modern Rooms
The hotel location is great but be prepared to a steep climb to your rooms. Tt was easy to get to the beach, street shops and restaurants, but quiet as it was tucked away enough, The hotel is built around a nice pools and gardens with each room having an overlooking verandah. Their rooms were clean and well maintained and had nice views. Rooms were very modern with concrete floors, walls, countertops. The bathrooms were up to standard and beds were comfortable. My room had a jacazzi located in the balcony which was a nice touch. The breakfast had good variety but the quality of the food was not good. It was convenient, but it would be better to eat breakfasr somewhere else.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Ma from Philippines
Groups
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in April 2012
Spacious Room with Massive bathroom!
Quiet but not too far away from the beach, big rooms, great bathroom, nice design concept, awesome pool
Staff was very friendly! We initially arrived at a different Sugar Palm, and the staff arranged for us to be picked up by the hotels golf cart which shuttled us up the hill. Loved the design concept behind the hotel - concrete floors and spacious rooms, welcoming lobby, great pool outside. Our room smelled a little damp but nothing that was too bothersome. We tried the hotel breakfast one morning and found it too expensive for the type of food that was served. We opted eating else where the other mornings. The lift was broken half the time we were there so it was a slight inconvenience to have to trek up the really steep slope to get to our room. All in all - had a great time. Great to spend some time just relaxing indoors if you don't want to head out. Would definitely stay there again in the future.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Raymond from Australia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in May 2012
Good location
The location is very central to the busy end of Kata Beach
The first impression we got was a very unfriendly reception staff. This turned out to be the same throughout the resort and in particular, in the restaurant. the only smile we saw on the 5 days we were there was on the room maid. This is sad because the resort has a lot of potential, but until the staff can connect with the customers it isn't going to impress. The room was quite well set out although I was not impressed with the floors which are not tiled but are in "polshed concrete". Supposedly very modern but to me they were like a jail or warehouse.The pools are lovely (there are 11 around the resort). A vase of flowers in the room were very sad on arrival and even sadder on departure. There is very limitted storage space in the room. There about 50 channels on the TV but only about 5 in English and the Australian Channel did not work at all. All enquiries at reception were met with "it is raining". It wasn't most of the time but what the heck. The lift to our floor (there are a series of 3 to the upper floors) smelt like a dog's breakfast and had a terrible clanging alert payed very loudly when arriving at the floor required An English guy who had the misfortune to be in a room alongside the lift was complaining about it.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Jordan from Canada
Couples
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Top Notch
Everything, I cant think of any cons
Got a pool access room for 2 nights. It was great, the room even came with a mac mini in it hooked up to the TV. It certainly deserves the 4 star rating, or more. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, except my enemies. And i will be back for longer next time!
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Paula from United States
Families with older children
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 6 nights in May 2012
Nice Hotel, great location but on a steep hill
Loved the pool access room with swim up to the pool bar. Lovely rooms with unique decor and very clean.
At first, we had a "sea-view" room but changed to the pool access room with swim up to the pool bar. This was much better. Our adult sons stayed in a room two floors higher than the elevator would reach, so they had a bit of a climb to get to their room. They are athletic, so it was fine for them and they also had pool access which they loved. However, anyone who doesn't want the extra exercise should make sure to get a room not higher than the 7th floor. This hotel is not right on the beach, but about a five-minute walk away.
Reviewed May 25, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: