Book Now: Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

Excellent
From 4245 reviewsSee what guests said
8.3

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (4245)Booking.com Reviews (418)
8.3
Excellent
From 4245 reviews
Filter by guest type:
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities8.0
Location8.3
Room comfort and quality8.3
Service8.4
Value for money8.6
Food and dining7.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
ภาษาไทย
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Grand Deluxe
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Grand Pool Access
Sort guest comments by:
Showing 4145 verified guest comments
10.0
yingxin from China
Couple
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Exceptional
the pool were sososososo nice and i hope i will come back again
Reviewed September 30, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Eric from Malaysia
Couple
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Nice View, Comfortable
Clean, Comfortable, Just few minutes to the beach. Rather stay here for relax than in patong.
Reviewed September 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Pavel from Russia
Solo traveler
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in August 2017
Very convenient location, just 5 min walk to the beach. Amazing view from the room!
It was my second stay in this hotel. Overall great experience again. You don't need to rent a motorbike to reach the beach and good restaurants. Everything in a walking distance. My room has a spectacular sea view! Staff is very helpful! Will stay here again.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
jeanali from Singapore
Couple
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Scooter available for rent on site
Our room was one with a private jacuzzi. We rented a bike for the three days in Phuket. It's definitely the recommended way to get around in Phuket! We did not have breakfast included so no comments about the morning buffet.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.6
Wenchang from Singapore
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Above average
Not bad, but quite below the standard of a four-star hotel. The hotel was fully occupied by Chinese tourists and the room is not very clean. The hotel is located on a hill where few taxi drivers want to go up. Since the hotel does not provide any free shuttle service, we could only walk along the steep hill even when we were super tired. As for the food, there are limited options for breakfast buffet.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Nurul from Malaysia
Couple
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Overall is very good
The women reception is being rude when I'm asking how may I know if the mini bus is ours . Overall the room is very good as in the picture. The room got one smell I don't know what smell is that but it is ok for me.
Reviewed August 14, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Miguel from China
Solo traveler
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
just a beautiful room. large bed, clean , spacious balcony with a great view.
Friendly staff, beautiful hotel.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Meg from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 11 nights in July 2017
Above average
Location was great and there were 2 helpful staff (Paul in the Reception and also the guy who drives and helps with the luggage). But that's all we can say. Not much to rave about. Breakfast is also disappointing.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
TAI from Malaysia
Couple
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Very good
location is good just walk 3 minutes to hot area have restaurant, bar, cafe, shop and 7-11, but u need to climb a very high slope to enter hotel. Need to change 2 times lift if ur room at high floor but is worth because the view is very nice. I stayed in Jacuzzi room can see the sea view. Staff is friendly. But the hotel is quite old some facility not well maintain but still very clean. Room aircond take very long time to cool we feel hot in midnight.
Reviewed July 22, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Deon from South Africa
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 15 nights in December 2016
Great Staff, friendly helpful and polite.
We had a great stay and would recommend the hotel to everyone!
Reviewed July 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Glecy from China
Solo traveler
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017
Beautiful Place
This is absolutely a beautiful place located at the heart of Kata beach. My room is sea view overlooking Kata beach and pool from the balcony. Pools are clean and beautiful. Staff are quite nice but not very considerate. It's a very business-like place. Gym is at the basement but treadmill not working.
Reviewed June 25, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Debbie from United States
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Overlooking Kata Beach
Very friendly staff. The hotel is perched on a hillside on the south side of Kata Beach with views overlooking the beach. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Water temperature and air conditioning were both good. The breakfast buffet was nice. There was something for everyone.
Reviewed June 24, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Elizabeth from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Excellent
lovely hotel nice roof top bar away from traffic
Reviewed June 19, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Stephanie from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in May 2017
One of the best hotels I've stayed in
Perfect location, close to beach, shops, restaurants & local Phuket bus stop. Facilities are very clean. Service & staff are very friendly. Breakfast was sufficient too, several options available . I would definitely stay here again.
Reviewed May 27, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
Jenny from Germany
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Very good
Think we got a good deal on this one but it was certainly a nice big clean room. 4/5 star quality. Only problem with this place was the layout. It took 2 elevators and about 10 mins walk to get to our room. That aside it was nice. Friendly staff.
Reviewed May 23, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Eileen from Singapore
Group
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Second stay
I like being high up. So this hotel is great for me. Some rooms can be hard to get to because not all are accessible via lifts. Do put in a request if that's a problem for you. Dunno about breakfast I slept so well I overslept lol. The free minibar is a nice touch
Reviewed May 14, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.6
Tapanon from Thailand
Family with teens
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Pool access is beautiful scene.
The location is actually up to the hill, so it is a little bit hard to climb to the room :), but the scene is quite exciting. Food not so good. If it is improved, it will be great.
Reviewed May 07, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
2.8
Jinyong from South Korea
Family with young children
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Not recommend it
It's on a hill, so it's quite hard to approach.. and other bad things are; 1. Water leak from toilet 2. Many ants, fell like not pest control regularly 3. Staff attitude, looks they've never get the training about HTL service and give me an unpleasant feeling, front, operation and house keeper, even engineer. 4. Dirty floor and bath room 5. not cool air conditioner and noise and bad smell from there
Reviewed April 14, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
JINHEE from South Korea
Solo traveler
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 6 nights in July 2015
I love this hotel.
I ll definitely stay again at this hotel. Good price, nice pool, nice place to chill.
Reviewed March 25, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Norramon from Thailand
Couple
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 2 nights in June 2009
Staff very nice
Staff very nice,helps full
Reviewed March 09, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Nur from Singapore
Couple
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
sugarpalm grand
love love love sugarpalm, good location, nice staff
Reviewed March 09, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
cherry from Malaysia
Family with young children
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
overall good, staff friendly and helpful...
Nice view from the room that we stay. Love the swimming pool just in front of the balcony. Nice rooftop to view sunset & we get free nice drinks too!! A bit tiring when need to get down to the lobby, need walk a while and change evaluators to get down.
Reviewed March 03, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
Jodie from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in February 2017
The room smelt of mould
Food: I oredered a chicken ceaser salad and it came with ham instead of chicken. Our room self of mould, was not a great experience as I had stayed here a few years ago and was disappointed with my recent experience.
Reviewed February 19, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Inna from Russia
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 16 nights in December 2016
Great hotel - superb location - exceptional service
We stayed st sugar palm with family and few friends over NYE for over 2 weeks and they didn't dissapoint. Rooms are quite big with nice views, they arranged in such order so you get a little bit of privacy as well. Clean rooms. Breakfast range is good and staff always very helpful and making an effort to go above expectations. The hotel is above 5 minutes walk to the beach and pools are never crowded like in other hotels in the first line, there was not many kids either. With no rooms available over NYE period and full capacity the hotel didnt feel crowded at all. Overall highly recommended and great value for money.
Reviewed January 17, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Jason from United States
Solo traveler
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Solo Tavel one night
Great location but there are better deals if you walk around great for couples and families. Staff very friendly
Reviewed January 16, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.8
Jacob from Denmark
Family with young children
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
Nice room, bad service
Nice, clean and spacious room (corner, jacuzzi suite) with a fine view and location. The service/ information level was pretty much non-excisting and the breakfast was moderate.
Reviewed January 10, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Marinela from Mozambique
Family with young children
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Good
P
Reviewed January 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Chris from United Kingdom
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
build on hill, difficult to get to rooms on upper levels, 5mins walk to beach
Quick walk to kata beach (5mins), longer to kata noi over a hills (about 20mins). Mini-pools on every level, but small. Good for walking to near by restaurants at nighttime. Staff were poor during checkin, didn't make us feel welcome at all, bad first impression. Top level rooms involve 2 separate lifts and a walk up a slope, you don't want to forget something in your room in this hotel as takes at least 10mins to go up and down again. Ok hotel, but would look for others next time.
Reviewed January 04, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
LI from Singapore
Family with young children
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
near kata beach,good place of relax
i been here for many times, very worth of money , the hotel is quiet and quiet near to the beach, the only bad thing is the breakfast worse than before
Reviewed December 12, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Leong from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Standard place to stay...
If you ask me to come again, i may consider and most properly say No. As i do not feel any outstanding and overall.. it is just a standard place.. not very good or not very bad.....
Reviewed December 05, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Pamela from China
Family with young children
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in September 2015
fantastic place to stay, my kid loved the swimming pool.
walking distance to beach. the steep slope in the front of the gate is.quite easy for my 3-yrs old kid. It s OK if you wont take heavy luggage with you by walking to.the hotel.
Reviewed December 01, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
colin from Australia
Couple
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016
gave me a room without hot water. next day gave me another room with hot water.
Apart from having the no hot water initially, the manager changed rooms for me and gave me a Massage coupon for the spa they own down town and a 70% discount for food at a restaurant they own down down. Also shuttle back and forth at a phone call. very nice pool. big tick manageress
Reviewed November 30, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
RIccardo from Italy
Family with young children
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Nice Room, great location
very nice room, walking distance from the beach, nice swimming pool
Reviewed November 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Janice from Singapore
Group
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
good
Location is far off from everywhere else, but the private pool view outside the room facing the city is worth it.
Reviewed October 31, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Alisa from Malaysia
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Old hotel
Hotel is too old and water pressure is low. We changed our room three times and we got so tired, we just decided to stay on the last room. The bathtub was faulty.
Reviewed October 30, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Randal from United States
Solo traveler
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in October 2016
Very nice hotel on a hill centrally located. Good service with nice breakfast.
Front desk service was good with excellent service from Filipino young lady. Rooms were modern and spacious including a bathtub. View was poor and access to room was difficult so don't recommend asking for high floor as that involves a 10+ minute hike up 2 elevators, then uphill 2 sets of stairs, another 50 meters to 3rd building and up another set of stairs. Whew!!! Still you get used to it.
Reviewed October 26, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
kuba from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
hotel
hotel close to the beach with pool
Reviewed October 14, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
who from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Good service, with affordable price
The staff and the environment or even the room is very nice!
Reviewed October 14, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
mohd from Malaysia
Family with young children
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Good value for money
This getaway was a surprise from my husband. Our son turned 1 so we thought it would be nice to have a short escape to the beach. The hotel was so kind enough to prepare a surprise cake and card in our bedroom! Thumbs up to them! I was really overwhelming with the rose petals and all but it was an excellent start for our trip. We rented a bike to Karon Viewpoint and just kind a went around the city. We didnt get a chance to dip into the pool since it was raining almost all the time. I would say this hotel is excellent if you're travelling with kids and dont want to stay in the hectic Phuket town. One downside, it's on a hill so expect to do some exercise!
Reviewed October 13, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Jeffrey from Singapore
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Nice Hotel, Friendly Staff, Good location and Very Spacious Rooms.
Hotel is located near the Kata beach, just few minutes walk. Also near the Stores and restaurants. You can rent motorcycle, just ask the receptionist. Staffs are friendly, accommodating and helpful specially the Filipino staffs. Buffet breakfast was good. The only problem we encountered was that we waited for around 30 mins to be able to check-in, maybe, because of the other guests that did not checked-out on the scheduled time. For me, I recommend this hotel to every one.
Reviewed October 06, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Thananant from Thailand
Family with young children
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
good
good to be there
Reviewed October 05, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Jun from Singapore
Couple
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015
Good location, value for money, private pool!
Location is 5-10 minutes away from the beach, 5 minutes away from a convenience stall but the hotel is located ontop of a slope. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. It has a pool outside the balcony.
Reviewed October 02, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Debbie from Indonesia
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014
Nice place! Great location!
Love the hotel's design and the pool. Very close to the beaches. Easy to look for local or fusion food. Surely will come back someday with my kids!
Reviewed October 01, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
kuba from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
hotel with pool
Very good location, big room with balcony and very nice pool,good breakfest
Reviewed September 28, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Nutthasinee from Thailand
Group
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Nice view
Room with nice view
Reviewed September 25, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Huey from Malaysia
Family with young children
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Nice hotel
Nice hotel , spacious room , clean , nice view ! We like the Jaccuzi so much ! The bed in the room too high , my baby falling from the bed , luckily no hurt ~ Overall good !!
Reviewed September 20, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
Stella from Singapore
Group
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Value for money
Probably it's the low peak season so price is quite reasonable. We paid s$700 plus for 3 rooms for 3 nights with breakfast and hotel arranged all 3 rooms to be next to each other so that we can have our own pool. Changed bed dings is dirty so a little disappointing and Apple TV and tv channels were not functioning well too. Wifi signals in rooms not great either but breakfast is good with quite a good variety of selections.
Reviewed September 16, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Blair from New Zealand
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 12 nights in August 2016
We keep comg back
We have come back here for the fourth time and we usually stay for 1-2 weeks. So we obviously like this hotel. The rooms are very large, with nice bathrooms and balconies. The lobby is stylish and the breakfast room airy and interesting. It is a short walk to the beach, although it requires a brief uphill stint on return. The view of Kata Bay and the island more than compensates. There are many restaurants and coffee places nearby. The staff are to be commended. The Front Desk has people who speak excellent English and the General Manager (Michael) is improving this hotel through training of young agreeable and courteous staff, and by offering incentives to repeat guests. As examples, we were taken for an excellent dinner at Palm Square, and a courtesy car was provided for our trip back to the airport. We will be back!
Reviewed September 13, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
soyeon from South Korea
Solo traveler
Grand Pool Access
Stayed 5 nights in September 2016
good hotel
but swimming pool very dirty... :(
Reviewed September 08, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Henno from South Africa
Family with young children
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Must stay in the jacuzzi room
We had an awesome time at this hotel. Rooms were spacious and clean. Sitting in the jacuzzi from afternoon to nighttime was a highlight. Highly recommended. Very close to the beach too. Our kids 10, 8 and 4 had no complaints walking to the beach and back so no need to worry about that
Reviewed August 28, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|