Book Now: Sugbutel Family Hotel

Very good
From 549 reviewsSee what guests said
7.3
Recommended by 81% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (549)Booking.com Reviews (179)
7.3
Very good
From 549 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.5
Facilities6.7
Location7.6
Room comfort and quality7.2
Service7.4
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
日本語
简体中文
more
Room type
1 Person in 12-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Standard Twin
Family Room
Superior Twin
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 400 verified guest comments
6.8
Good
Alejandro from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
It is a plain place to sleep in. Nothing more.”
It is relatively clean. It is advised to eat out as their cafeteria has only — as expected —- cafeteia food. But for the price you pay, it is good value for money.
Reviewed December 09, 2017
3.2
TRUONG from Vietnam
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Facility is very bad”
Every thing is old and not good with this price
Reviewed December 06, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Francis from Philippines
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Good”
Good
Reviewed December 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Madeline from Philippines
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Accessible and great value of money.”
I love that it is near sm city. So perfect if you are looking for an overnight stay.
Reviewed November 29, 2017
6.0
hazel from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Above average”
Food is not so good Friendly, great staff Location mear malls but near factories Easy to get taxi Good for solo tavellers looking for cheap lodging, not for family type
Reviewed November 09, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
lee from Malaysia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
good near ferry”
breakfast not good
Reviewed November 08, 2017
7.2
Very good
Ailene
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Very good”
the breakfast could be improved!
Reviewed November 07, 2017
7.2
Very good
joeniet from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Very good”
Their security guards and male attendant are not helpful. But their room attendant was so friendly that she requested for us to change our room from having twin bed to matrimonial bed with no hassle.
Reviewed November 05, 2017
5.2
Nikki from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Not for me”
The place according to the locals are not safe to walk around especially during night time and the food does not taste good.
Reviewed October 27, 2017
7.2
Very good
Sheila from Philippines
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
low water pressure”
i hope they would clean the shower heads, there are molds and mildew. the water pressure is low.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Melanie from Philippines
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Great Stay!”
The room is clean. The staff are friendly and they were very accommodating of our requests.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Charmaine from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
2 nights in Sugbutel hotel”
The location is very convenient. it is located near the SM City Mall. only 5 mins by jeepney. Room is very clean, very satisfying :) highly recommended.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
6.4
Good
Maj from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
the location is not accesible if you want to buy food outside. ”
the food is so limited and you can hear loud noises outside the room that disturbs your sleep. the location is not accessible to any food outlet you have to grab a car just to get some food somewhere.
Reviewed September 24, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
CATHERINE from Philippines
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Superb Staff & Yummy Breakfast”
The breakfast was delicious. Although it was not buffet style, it was enough to fill you up for the day. The staff at the kitchenette were friendly and very accomodating. 👌🏼 🏆 The receptionists and guards were friendly very helpful as well. I booked a double room and it was spacious. The criticims i have for this hotel are: 1) the lack of bidet 2) walls need a painting job and 3) one can hear the noise coming from outside ☹️. Overall it was a nice experience. I'd be glad to book here again.
Reviewed September 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Michelle from Philippines
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Exceptional”
It was worth the money. The location is just behind Sm Cebu. Facilities are excellent for a budget hotel. They also give free soap, towel and bottled water. Wifi works well in the room.
Reviewed August 25, 2017
8.8
Excellent
cresilda from Singapore
Family with teens
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Value for money”
Will comeback... soon
Reviewed August 22, 2017
4.8
roque from Ireland
Family with teens
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
The service is not that good..”
More training for staff and maintenance for rooms.
Reviewed August 12, 2017
Dear Mr. Roque, Greetings! Our sincerest apology for the the inconvenience caused during your stay with Sugbutel Family Hotel. The management is taking the necessary actions to ensure that maintenance of room facilities are given most appropriate action. We are also doing the best efforts in training the personnel in-charge to improve the service. Hope that this incident will still make you decide to stay in the hotel in the future. Providing the highest level of hospitality is the hotel's top priority. Thus, hearing said comment is very much appreciated for further process improvements. Thank you.
Show more
Sugbutel Family Hotel
8.0
Excellent
Diovee from Philippines
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Very good”
Staying here is very cost-effective. The room is clean and cozy but our blanket is itchy and caused minor skin irritation, we had it changed the following the day. Please add dormats in the bathroom.
Reviewed August 05, 2017
5.6
Duraid from Sweden
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Above average”
The taps was broken. Personal are very kind and helpfull. Wifi is somehow good. There is no face towels. Only shower towels. The breakfast is not meeting foreign tourists taste. The only i could eat is frites egg and it was not warm.
Reviewed July 29, 2017
7.2
Very good
Jonathan from Philippines
Family with teens
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Very good”
Interior not ok. Reserved Window room
Reviewed July 21, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Luke from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Booked for my spouse and they were taken care of well”
2nd stay and no problems yet
Reviewed July 06, 2017
2.0
Bonnevie from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Acceptable”
toilet shower not functioning well. The booked room was transferred to other room due to miscommunication and no landline..
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Dear Maam, We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. Sugbutel Family Hotel is looking into the matter with utmost importance and concern. We can assure you that we will do the necessary action to improve on our processes. Thank you and we appreciate your comments Maam. Sugbutel Family Hotel
Responded May 19, 2017
Sugbutel Family Hotel
8.4
Excellent
Maria from Philippines
Family with young children
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Good!”
Good value for money.Breakfast food was good too.
Reviewed May 13, 2017
3.6
johannie from Philippines
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
ok”
ok
Reviewed May 02, 2017
7.6
Very good
Ernesto from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
good for backpackers”
good for the backpackers very affordable,close to the bus station and many malls!Don't expect to much from the room; it's very simple, but good enough to have a good night sleep without spending too much.
Reviewed April 18, 2017
6.8
Good
Oliver from Philippines
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Limited Space”
Room is a bit narrow, breakfast is just ok. Very near to Robinsons Galleria and SM City.
Reviewed March 31, 2017
4.0
Amy from United Kingdom
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
No sleep due to traffic on the main road”
We stayed here to be closer to the airport as we had an early mistake. Do not stay here if you need sleep
Reviewed March 26, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Leandro from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017
Exceptional”
A clean hotel with good internet connection, very accommodating staff and good location.
Reviewed March 21, 2017
6.0
Saneth from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Good for budget traveller”
Easy to find , near SM Mall & its cheap...
Reviewed March 14, 2017
3.6
dianne from Philippines
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Smelly and smokey bleach place!”
The room looks old. The dust all around the hotel is so smelly. The breakfast is not tasty. Its near the Pier so even i took a shower wen going outside , smokes from trucks and dust just stick to me ryt after!!!!! Worst hotel area ever.
Reviewed February 21, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Elijah from Philippines
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Right Value for Money”
I stayed here with my sister and made the reservation a day away from our trip. Right value for your money and location is just in between of SM City Cebu and Robinsons Galleria Cebu. Almost an hour away from the airport via taxi. Though the breakfast food is kinda salty.
Reviewed January 30, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Michael from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Nice hotel”
Comfortable. Friendly staff.
Reviewed January 18, 2017
6.8
Good
Puteri from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Perfect stay for shelter”
Not for fussy as sleeping areas are very close to another and bed are just nice to fit one. bring your own toiletries, blanket and towels to save more money! location is near the ferry terminal, far to any where else.
Reviewed December 20, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Carlito from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Worth your money to stay in this nice place”
Its accessible and convenient to move around nearby malls in the area
Reviewed December 18, 2016
5.6
genevieve from Philippines
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Nice location near at sm city, seaside, robinsons galleria. Value for money, breakfst not so good”
Nice location near at sm city, seaside, robinsons .. friendly staff
Reviewed December 01, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Suzette from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Nice location and the area is clean. ”
I recommend this since I've been staying here many times already
Reviewed November 19, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Nathalie from Philippines
Solo traveler
1 Person in 12-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
I had a good stay”
The individual bunks were pretty satisfactory, and include their own light, power outlet and bedside table of sorts. The curtains were pretty thick too so you get complete privacy--if you are so inclined, you could even change your clothes while on the bed, which I did a coupla times. :P The shared toilet and bathrooms were clean and not cramped; I only wish there's a rack for your change of clothes and towel. All in all, I had a good stay and I'd gladly recommend this to other travellers looking for a cheap but decent place to stay.
Reviewed November 16, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Roxanne from Philippines
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Very Good”
Highly recommended for those who are budget concious.
Reviewed November 12, 2016
5.2
Rey from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Dark Rooms, Noisy Construction, Very very very poor WIFI”
If you have a business to attend to within the vicinity, you can stay at this hotel. In front of the hotel is the RTC, a block away is SM Cebu. For nurses taking NCLEX, HAAD, CBT etc., the test center is located on the 4th floor in the same building. However, if you're on a vacation, with family members and small children please avoid this hotel. During the day, there is a construction going on in the building, rooms are dark and small, the wifi was not functioning at all, they told us that they were repairing it but by the time we checked out it was still broken. Overall, this hotel was a dissapointment.
Reviewed November 11, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Victoria from Philippines
Group
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Convenient and cheap”
The place is walking distance to SM. Stayed here with friends and we found it comfortable enough. Check in and check out were a breeze. Breakfast is simple and standard, so do lower your expectations. Overall, a decent stay.
Reviewed November 06, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Maricor from Philippines
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Nice place”
Breakfast - very bad Location - Good Staff - Very good Room - you get what you pay for. No complains
Reviewed October 23, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Paul from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Good business hotel”
Good place to stay. Only complaint is the accessibility
Reviewed October 14, 2016
4.4
Joseph from Philippines
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
sugbutel”
not good place it noisy since it is in the busy highway especially during early morning. the promo rate on line is confusing since the room is superior twin and only max of 1 person at the rate of p1300 .hope to raise this matter for better accommodation and offer for the next time
Reviewed September 28, 2016
6.8
Good
francia from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Affordable and great location”
Pros: Affordable, Easy to find, near the malls, convenient location. Friendly staff. Cons: hot and cold shower is not working, the toilet is not clean so be sure to bring your own flip flops, since they are always crowded expect noise even when you're trying to get sleep so bring something to plug into your ears. Verdict: I still recommend this place, not bad if you need a place to stay for at least a day or two.
Reviewed September 18, 2016
6.0
Davey from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Receptionist took too long”
Upon arrival, the receptionist took about 30min to verify my booking.
Reviewed August 08, 2016
2.0
Mae from Philippines
Solo traveler
1 Person in 12-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
horrible bes bug bites -- nightmare”
i had a severe case of bed bug bites after just one night!! my whole body is xovered with welts and bumps and it was very itchy! no one addressed my concerns and there was no first aid action done on their part! i have called their online number twice but no one called me back! i am suffering and my work is now compromised!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reviewed July 28, 2016
4.4
aekammata from Laos
Solo traveler
1 Person in 12-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
i wont stay here again”
the room not clean, too noicy from Philiipino , actually this hostel is not for foreigners all are workers filippino . the restroom very dirty....conclude this hostel not good. Only staffs very nice.
Reviewed July 04, 2016
7.2
Very good
Jennifer from Philippines
Solo traveler
1 Person in 12-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
its ok for a night”
Nothing much.. its ok for a night
Reviewed June 16, 2016
4.4
Romulo from Philippines
Group
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Overall experience was underwhelming.”
Staff insisted on only issuing one room key despite knowing more than one person was booked there. Breakfast was served only until 9am. And lastly, they tried to charge a "lost" hanger to one from a member of our group, and successfully charged another "lost" hanger to another member.
Reviewed June 15, 2016
4.8
Sharon from Philippines
Group
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
You get what you pay for, i guess ”
They didn't clean our rooms the whole time we were there (friday-monday). They should specify the rules for the breakfast since they wouldn't let us get 2 entrees.
Reviewed June 14, 2016