Book Now: Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel

Excellent8.4
Based on 1436 reviews
96% would recommend to a friend

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (1436)
Booking.com Reviews (355)

8.4

Filter by guest type:
Excellent
based on 1436 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Room comfort and quality 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 7.2
Excellent
based on 755 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Room comfort and quality 8.5
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 7.0
Excellent
based on 317 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Room comfort and quality 8.7
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for money 7.5
Excellent
based on 188 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Room comfort and quality 8.7
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 7.6
Excellent
based on 45 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Room comfort and quality 8.8
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for money 7.0
Excellent
based on 56 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Room comfort and quality 8.8
  • Service 9.0
  • Value for money 8.0
Excellent
based on 75 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Room comfort and quality 8.3
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 7.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:

Language
  • English
  • 日本語
  • ภาษาไทย
  • Deutsch
  • 简体中文
  • 한국어
  • Français
  • Bahasa Indonesia
  • Italiano
  • Nederlands
  • Tiếng Việt
  • Русский
  • 繁體中文 (香港)
  • Español
  • Svenska
  • 繁體中文 (台灣)
  • Português (PT)
  • Norsk
more less

Room type
  • Deluxe Room
  • Horizon Club Room

Sort by
Showing 1385 verified guest comments
  • clear all

9.6
Patrina from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Exceptional”
Excellent location, near to places of interests and shopping streets. Staff are great and friendly. Special highlight to Ms Keiko, I think she's the Front Desk Manager. She gave me some excellent recommendation of a very awesome restaurant which I made reservation immediately and really enjoyed it.
Reviewed April 11, 2017
Thank you, Patrina! Keiko will be glad to hear of your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back on your future travel to Yangon!
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
CHOON from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Good Choice”
always is my first choose hotel at Yangon.
Reviewed April 07, 2017
Thank you for always choosing us, Choon! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
SeokJin from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
best hotel in Yangon”
clean, comfortable and so kind reception. very good hotel.
Reviewed March 25, 2017
Thank you, SeokJin! To be regarded as the best hotel in Yangon is truly amazing.
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Jennifer from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Great hotel with excellent breakfast”
Everything is great with this hotel - spacious and clean room, large and comfortable bed, great pool, professional and helpful staff and excellent breakfast with a massive selection of Japanese, Burmese, Chinese and western food. Will definitely stay here again.
Reviewed March 16, 2017
Thank you, Jennifer! We certainly appreciate being labeled as a great hotel!
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
arunluck from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Best in town”
Great room breakfast service 5 stars
Reviewed March 15, 2017
Thank you, arunluck! We certainly appreciate being regarded as best in town.
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
Shang from Hong Kong
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Great experience”
Nice spa and massage, nice buffet breakfast and dinner. Please aware some birds are drinking water at the kid pool which may cause infectious sickness
Reviewed March 12, 2017
Good to know you had a great experience with us, Shang! Thank you for staying with us.
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
David from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017
Great stay in Yangon”
This was my first trip to Myanmar, and I was happy to find a Shangri-La hotel in the area that I wanted to stay. Shangri-La is a preferred choice for me, wonderful accommodations, very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff, and great restaurants. I enjoyed using the nice pool, and the very good gym facilities, which is important to me when I'm away from home. The location was great, easy walking distance within downtown, the market, river, and local historic sights. The concierge also helped arrange excellent day tours for us which was much more convenient than if we attempted to get around ourselves.
Reviewed February 23, 2017
Thank you for this wonderful review, Dave! Good to know you found your Shangri-La in Yangon!
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Paul from China
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Lovely hotel for final night in Myanmar”
- Comfortable room and there is a great selection at breakfast. - Great location in downtown Yangon. Shwedagon pagoda is 15min taxi ride (K3000) while the airport is 30min to 1 hour (K10,000).
Reviewed February 05, 2017
Thank you, Paul! Good to know your last night in Yangon was lovely with us.
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
rosaline from China
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Your best choice”
We were at the Savoy hotel, arrived late in the evening and was given one of the 'joint' rooms, and it turned to be very noisy, the other guest using the kettle to boil water, walking around the room was like we were in the same room. Finally got to sleep, mosquitos attacked, call the hotel reception, someone brought a huge can of insecticides...... couldn't sleep all night and requested for late checkout, and was granted for one hour, so we checked out and moved to Sule Shangri-la instead. Much better rooms and much better service at the Sule Shangri-la
Reviewed February 03, 2017
Thank you, Roasaline! We certainly take pride in being your best choice.
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
Angela from Netherlands
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Great location, very comfortable”
It's nice to be in a 5 star hotel after trekking thru Myammar
Reviewed February 03, 2017
Thank you, Angela! Glad to have been your home while in Myanmar.
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Maria from Colombia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Excellent conditions”
Nice staff Good location Good food
Reviewed February 02, 2017
Thank you for staying with us, Maria!
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Wang from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Excellent location ”
Everything is very good except the transportation changes between hotel and airport.
Reviewed February 02, 2017
Thank you, Wang! Good to know you found everything excellent!
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
chayoung from South Korea
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
newly renovated and nice launge ”
newly renovated and nice launge
Reviewed January 23, 2017
Thank you for staying with us, chayoung!
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.6
Olivier from France
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
expensive and comfortable”
high quality but expensive
Reviewed January 17, 2017
Thank you for staying us, Olivier!
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
james from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Would stay here again”
Good location, clean and comfortable
Reviewed January 16, 2017
Thank you, James! We certainly look forward to welcoming you again.
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Maneerat from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
great location”
good location. near by market
Reviewed January 11, 2017
Glad you enjoyed our location, Maneerat! Thank you for staying with us.
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
Chi from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Great Location and Service in Yangon”
10mins only to most of the land mark in Yangon.
Reviewed January 10, 2017
Thank you, Chi! Glad you found our central location convenient.
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Good location”
Nice hotel near downtown
Reviewed January 06, 2017
Thank you, Peter! Glad you found our central location convenient.
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Jeremiah from United States
Couple
Horizon Club Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Excellent service, location, and facilities.”
It's a little pricey but you can't beat the location or the service. Staff are very attentive and helpful. Room was wonderful. The pool area is functional. Definitely recommend when staying in Yangon.
Reviewed January 06, 2017
Thank you for your kind recommendation, Jeremiah!
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
Charlie from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Excellent location”
The hotel is right in the middle of downtown. Very convenient to walk to Scotts market and 999 Shan noodle. Love the breakfast, lots of variety. The road in front of the hotel could be very jammed up though.
Reviewed January 03, 2017
Thank you for this wonderful review, Charlie!
Responded August 11, 2017
Show more
Sule Shangri-La, Yangon Hotel
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
Giovanna from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
two perfect days in Yangon”
very nice hotel in a convenient area close to the most interesting attractions
Reviewed December 15, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
GUOHUA from China
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
good,little expensive”
good,little expensive
Reviewed December 09, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.4
Matthias from Switzerland
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
old fashion hotel”
doesnt reach normal standards of 5star hotel. a lot of details has been not fulfilled. curtain in shower seems to be one from 20 years ago... the breakfast buffet was amazing!
Reviewed December 08, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Matthias from Switzerland
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
nice hotel”
good fitness area but the hole hotel needs to get a renovation
Reviewed December 07, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Helen from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Horizon Club Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Great hotel in downtown Yangon ”
Close to Market. Easy walk to local attractions. Friendly staff.
Reviewed November 28, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Ron from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Great hotel with amazing staff”
Can't say enough about the staff. They are incredible. The location is good too, and easily accessible to other interesting parts of Yangon. I really enjoyed my stay here.
Reviewed November 28, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Kelly from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Great hotel!”
Exceeded all expectations! Would highly recommend.
Reviewed November 27, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
jason from Australia
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Great hotel and location for yangon and other limitations for the city. ”
Staff were great and very happy to help The hotel is 20 years old this month and although very clean is starting to show its age for the cost
Reviewed November 25, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Regina from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Good location. ”
Bathroom a bit worn down
Reviewed November 24, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
oliver from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Great 5 star hotel”
Typical 5 star heaven
Reviewed November 22, 2016
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you? |
9.6
Ron from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Great hotel and amazing staff!”
This hotel is well-located for many of the sites and interesting areas of Yangon. It has everything one could need, and the staff were exceptional! I really enjoyed my time there.
Reviewed November 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.4
irene from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Best choice in Yangoon”
Love the hotel room and facilities great restaurant we dine in most of our stay, extensive menu great taste and quality. Staffs speak good English,overall very satisfied. Located close to many sights in Yangon which are walking distance so its a plus.
Reviewed November 17, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
irene from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Best choice in Yangon”
So happy we picked Shangri-La,not much to do in Yangon,the hotel is well located,walking distance to Sule Pagoda,Bogyoge market,Cathedral and Maha Bandula Park. A Short ride to Swedagon Pagoda and restaurants. We had 2 dinners at the Sule Cafe and both were extremely good,service and quality. The room really comfy,internet connection was great,all staff were so attentive,friendly and speak good English. The breakfast is great worth the extra money. Real good choice in Yangon.
Reviewed November 15, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Zi from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Beautiful room”
Lovely beds, clean
Reviewed November 11, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.6
Charlie from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Locations is good”
Helpful staff
Reviewed November 11, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
Veng from China
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016
Location”
The location is quite central. However, very very traffic
Reviewed November 10, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Meijaka from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Central downtown ”
Very good location near many attractive place e.g 5 min walk to Scot market / 10 mins walk to Sule Pagoda. Hi-speed wifi. Food is nice and service meets expectation.
Reviewed November 10, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Bundit from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Good”
Good
Reviewed October 25, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.6
MOHD from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Good location. But busy area”
Near to halal restaurant and mosque
Reviewed October 15, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Susan from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Superb”
Exceptional service, perfect location, highly recommendable.
Reviewed October 15, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Arthur from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
New Year 2016 Celebration!”
The Sule Shangri-La served as our base to explore downtown Yangon. It is conveniently located near the colonial part of Yangon (City Hall, Sule Pagoda, Aung San Bogyoke Market, Old Colonial Railway Station). The New Year party in the hotel was a blast!!! The only option when in Yangon.
Reviewed October 08, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
Siew from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Good location in downtown area”
Excellent buffet breakfast w many choices
Reviewed October 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
Siew from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Downtown and near to shopping area”
Is pricey but buffet breakfast is good
Reviewed October 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
WONG from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Great location and worth staying”
Overall me and my partner had a great stay! Staff, room, food and restaurants are fantastic. And yes we will stay at Sule Shangri-La again if we go to Yangon.
Reviewed September 17, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
Maypo from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Excellent service ”
Stayed at this hotel last December the staff are most helpful and attentive. They make you most welcome which one of the main reason why I stayed here again. We met Smith and he remembered us from our previous visit. They go the extra mile for guests.
Reviewed September 14, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Pui from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Fantastic service and comfortable beds”
I booked 2 rooms for 4 adults on this trip. The room is spacious, bathroom is clean and the bed is very comfortable. Love the pillows! The concierge was very helpful with our tour to golden rock. The guest relation mgr even surprised us with birthday cakes. The breakfast place offers a great variety of food. Love the lounge at lvl2 where i can smoke and drink to my hearts content. I definitely had a great stay at Shangrila.
Reviewed September 14, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Clara from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Very good”
Concierge is great. They are knowledgeable and most helpful .
Reviewed September 10, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
KOK from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Fabulous services!”
All staffs are well trained and provide a good quality services!!
Reviewed September 09, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.2
Lim from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Lack of service ”
My own experience, parkroyal staffs more attentive vs shangrila. Every morning I step out main entrance, no greetings, and staffs not helpful, when I need them to get me a taxi to meeting address, wrong location was communicated to the taxi driver. Vs parkroyal staffs, I didn't face that issues. I has been staying in park royal yangon 5 times when I traveling since Aug 2015 until recent trip in June 2016. Anyway, parkroyal breakfast have more food selection, and both are 5 stars hotel. Compare, I think parkroyal suit me more.
Reviewed August 26, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Le-yin from Singapore
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016
Great experience. ”
Hotel is old, but well maintained. Super convenient. Also everybody in Yangon knows where it is so you don't need to spend time explaining to taxi drivers, even out in the countryside. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Well worth splashing out a bit more for horizon lounge access. Food in the hotel is excellent.
Reviewed August 25, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |

1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: