Book Now: Summer Side Residence

Excellent
From 875 reviewsSee what guests said
8.3
/
10

Reviews of Summer Side Residence Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (875)Booking.com Reviews (270)
8.3
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.6
Facilities8.2
Location7.5
Room comfort and quality8.6
Service8.7
Value for money8.7
All languages
All guests (875)

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 789 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
inge from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Lovely place to stay ”

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved the place. The lady was very very helpful, she arranged us everything we needed (from a scooter to tea in the room when we felt sick to extra bedsheets, new towels, an extra cleaning of the room, etc). We couldn't ask for more. Breakfast was very good, it was a small party each morning! The hotel isn't in unawatuna city itself, but just outside the village. If you don't have a scooter, this might be annoying. However for us it was no problem and we enjoyed the quiet nights.

Reviewed October 27, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Damien from Sri Lanka
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Decent Stay”

Comfortable Beds, average sized Bath and good decent water pressure. The pool seem to be relaxing even though its small (we couldn't use it). However I wish they had Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room which was a bit of a dissapointment. Overall a decent Stay

Reviewed October 21, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Liza from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Relaxing”

The hotel rooms have balconies either overlooking the river and swimming pool or the entrance of the hotel. The double rooms are spacious, clean, and complete with towels, shampoo, shower gel, and lotion. Breakfast was included with toasted bread, butter, jam, egg, fresh fruits, yogurt, and coffee or tea. The location of the hotel is around half hour from airport.

Reviewed May 02, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Russell from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Great value, wonderful place”

Nice, modern and clean rooms. Soft, comfortable bed. Lovely pool and property backs onto a river. Quiet at night, we had a peaceful sleep. Staff are friendly and helpful. Short walk to the beach and restaurants. Breakfast consisted of toast, fruit, eggs and yoghurt. We had a pleasant stay and would recommend.

Reviewed February 03, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Ryan from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Great place to stay with a friendly staff”

Very accommodating, clean, new and modern. The main road with all the restaurants is a 10 min walk, but it's quieter than most places. Bed was super comfy. Breakfast was excellent with a perfectly cooked over-easy egg.

Reviewed January 01, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Anna-Carina from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

Cheap, clean and comfortable”

Pros: Clean, A/C, fridge, comfy bed, good breakfast although we would have preferred Sri Lankan breakfast. Cons: The pool could be cleaner and there are no sun lounges to relax. The juice at breakfast is terrible and should be made from fresh fruit not powder. Can recommend if wanting something quiet and clean for small budget.

Reviewed October 27, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
John from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016

Simple, clean, great value”

This place appears still new, and the room and bathroom are still in excellent condition. The staff are extremely nice, even though we arrived past 2am from the airport. Breakfast was just simple continental but still very filling. It's located in a quieter area of town, with a 10 minute walk to the beach. You would need a tuktuk to go to the main part of town and the fish market.

Reviewed February 07, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Samuel from Ireland
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

A lovely little property and a pleasant staff team”

Value for money, staff, breakfast

Everyone here was lovely from the minute I arrived. Breakfast was great, basically three courses and right beside the river. Rooms were comfortable enough :-) The owner even had a member of staff give me a lift to the train station on his motorcycle. Great service!

Reviewed December 31, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
FAISAL from Yemen
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2015

Was a nice stay”

Location, Staffs and price

The hotel located in Negombo city about 20 min. from Colombo int' Airport, The staffs were been very very friendly and helpful feelings really like a home, The room was very clean with a good size, WiFi had a strong signals, I got a TukTuk driver his Name is Nilanth and he really helped me a lot to tour around with a very reasonable price, i can suggest this driver for someone who is interested and here is the contact details for this driver, Skype: Shehan chmpaka, Facebook: Shihan Silve , and his mobile number is: +94777470863, Thanks.

Reviewed June 19, 2015
8.7
Excellent
veronica from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015

Fabulous and unassuming ”

Quality of fittings/furnishings, swimming pool, cost

Quiet location within easy walking distance of the beach and some great restaurants and bars. Excellent value for money with a very big breakfast! The rooms are fully furnished and very comfortable with all the mod cons and definately one of the best places I was able to stay in during my trip. able to organise a spa treatment and transport to the airport through the hotel.

Reviewed April 07, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Li from China
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

Very good hotel with nice staff.”

quiet, good breakfast and friendly staff.

The room is very clean and well equipped. We stayed on the second floor and there is a balcony in the room. The staff greeted us with nice cool drinks and helped with our luggages. The checkin was pretty quick and smooth. The boy at the reception was very friendly. The food for breakfast was really good and delicious. They even have yoghurt for breakfast, which was very nice. There is a church close by. I would like to stay here again if we come back to Negombo in the future!

Reviewed August 15, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Danny from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

Excellent Value for money”

Cleanliness, quality of residence, staff service

Could not really find fault, small neat garden, quality building, very clean premises, attentive staff, good privacy, quiet location, very reasonable breakfast, we stayed two nights and would recommend as good value for money.

Reviewed July 25, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Rie from Japan
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

Oasis in quiet neighbourhood”

Comfortable, Clean, Cheap

We stayed just for one night. Our flight was very late and also the road seemed to be little complicated for taxi driver, we arrived in the middle of night thought the hotel staff was waiting for us. There was no breakfast time, they said 'just come down stairs when you like', so we did. Very nice, small opened restaurant looking to a river. We got continental breakfast together with fresh fruits platter. We didn't use swimming pool because the weather was not good. Only one negative was that we didn't get hot water in shower. The room was very clean, nice, and value for money

Reviewed June 30, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Robert from Ireland
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

Comfortable stop over hotel”

Room, location and price

We stayed here for one night after travelling to Sri Lanka. The perfect stop off before heading down south. Probabely the best value for money I have seen in a long while. Not flash but clean, comfortable and a balcony overlooking the canal. Quiet and close to restaurents/ beach.

Reviewed April 07, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Fiona from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2013

Great boutique hotel!”

Service, room, breakfast

We arrived late at night to Colombo and were heading to Kandy the next day so we wanted to stay near the airport (Negombo is closer than Colombo). As it was night time, the taxi driver had trouble finding the hotel but we called the hotel and they gave the driver quick and clear directions. Even though it was quite late, they were waiting for our arrival, and took us up to the room straight away. The room was clean, large, modern, with a balcony and fast wifi. The service was personal and friendly and breakfast was great on the morning! I would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed December 29, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
ANDREY from Russia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

nice new hotel at a reasonable price”

big new room, big brekki, friendly stuff

We booked a deluxe room for one night and were very happy with the hotel and the quality of the room. Breakfast was pretty good including even some extra fruits (my friend asked for more). The room has a french big window so nearby palm trees looked pretty good as well as a small river.

Reviewed November 10, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Suphachai from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

An awesome modern, clean, quiet, budget room!”

Staff, value for money, comfortable room...

I stayed at this hotel on my first day in Sri Lanka, waiting for my friend to arrive the following day from the airport. It was a great way to start your trip. Ruwan, the owner made my stay felt like I was home. He was willing to help you with almost anything, all you have to do is ask (but ofcourse sensibly). The room was very clean with modern design for a budget hotel. Nice relaxing view from balcony facing the Dutch canal. Not a problem with late/early check-in at all, although I had to wait 10-15 mins for the room to be cleaned up for the early check-in. Breakfast was awesome, toasts with butter/jam, juice, eggs, tea/coffee, fresh fruit platter... couldn't ask for more. In summary, it's a nice, simple, clean, quiet, budget hotel... I'd definitely come back again.

Reviewed October 23, 2013
8.0
Excellent
AMANDA from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013

I wish I could have stayed longer”

The hospitality & location

the room was clean & spacious. the deluxe room came with a big bed. however it was big enough to put in an additional single bed. so even though you are not traveling as a couple, there is an option to still share the room. or travel in a group of 3. just contact the hotel directly. i loved how summer side was located away from the bustle of the main street & yet only a nice 10min walk to the beach. the walk would take you past homes of locals, a church & a school for the deaf. you would see people setting up shop along the street. from the snack vendors in the morning to people selling fish in the night. there seem to be a few local families who live on this compound. ruwan the proprietor himself just welcomed a new addition to his family less than a month ago. he was a friendly & helpful man. this hotel is value for money & i recommend it. it has sufficient amenities to make this a comfortable temporary home for those visiting negombo.

Reviewed February 19, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Kungsadal from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

clean room with modern stlye”

new and clean room with best service

modern and clean room with best service staff . i stayed 2 night book from agoda but i decided to stay more 1 night caz the hotel really comfortable with large tv screen and big clean room. small pool but no other guess . but it s far from beach fit for who want private and quite. and restaurant service food is ok.

Reviewed November 08, 2012
6.8
Good
Shafraz from Sri Lanka
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Good”

great hotel

Reviewed April 22, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Theo from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Exceptional”

Summer Side Residence is a very good guesthouse with a wonderful management and staff. Nice aircon rooms and a small swimming pool. Airport pick up and drop is possible. There is a breakfast selfservice and the waiters are very helpfull.It is possible to arrange dinner on demand.

Reviewed January 30, 2018
4.4
Siew from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Close to airport”

Stayed there for my first and last night in Sri Lanka. The first night, the room we were given was dusty and didnt have a fridge, adaptor and hairdryer. On the last night, the room was much cleaner with fridge, adaptor and hairdryer. Staff were friendly.

Reviewed December 14, 2017
4.0
Tan from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

Some rooms were better”

Our triple room was very basic. No hot shower in the morning! My friend booked a double room which looked cleaner and better equiped with adaptor and hairdryer. As much as we know tipping is customary, this is the only accommodation we have stayed where the staff (owner's son?) WANTED a tip for carrying one of our many bags.

Reviewed December 12, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Linda from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017

Very good”

Good basic budget hotel. Not fancy but good hot water, comfy beds, good set menu breakfast (thank-you Rohini!) a/c. a bit noisy, but staff were very friendly & helpful. A pity there were no lounges around the pool

Reviewed June 22, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Barbora from Czech Republic
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2017

Would recommend”

Close to the ocean, we got transfer to the bus station in Negombo center for free, clean and cosy room, nice surroundings. The pool is a big plus. Relatively far from the centre, good for a first/last night. Not many opportunities to eat in June.

Reviewed June 21, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Rene from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017

Amazing Staff”

Room very clean, bed comfortable, wifi great in room so could plan our travelling(other reviews said there was none, but maybe it changed, good connection and speed but in the garden the signal was low). No mosquitos - after reading another review i was expecting many but in fact there were none in the room. The room was very luxurious for the price paid, couldn't get the safe to work but not a big problem. The staff were amazing though, the lady who cooks breakfast always had a smile on her face and nothing was a problem to do. The other boys/staff were very good and courteous. Would definitely recommend and come back again. A little bit away from the main areas but actually enjoyed this as felt more local than tourist and it is still only a short walk to the beach.

Reviewed May 05, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Andrew from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Exceptional”

The owner and staff are very friendly here and they let us use the pool and shower after our checkout time because we left for our flight in Negombo in the late afternoon. They would also offer juice while we used the pool each day and always asked if we needed anything. The breakfast was a large portion of fruit, toast with jam/butter, eggs any way you prefer, yogurt, juice and tea/coffee. The pool is small but clean and has a nice area with tables along the canal to read and relax. The room itself was spacious and came with a large balcony with chairs. The wifi worked pretty good throughout the property as well. You can easily walk to the beach and Main Street with shops and restaurants in 10 minutes. Our tuk tuk ride to Negombo airport was around 30 minutes. I would recommend the place to anyone, and find that it's a great value. Thanks again to the kind owners and staff for accommodating us!

Reviewed April 12, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Marie from France
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Nice hotel in Negombo suburb”

The hotel is close to the sea, about 10 minutes walking, but 20 min walking to get on the nice beaches. It is important to note that the hotel in not in Negombo but outside. The place is nice, clean, and the breakfast is great.

Reviewed January 03, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Abdul from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

A perfect stay and good start in Sri Lanka”

I was here with a friend. We had a perfect stay here. Clean room with double bed, air conditioner and lovely breakfast. Owner is a nice person, gave us good suggestions and deals for Dutch Canal boat trip and taxi fares. I would definitely recommend here and we will come back.

Reviewed December 30, 2016
6.8
Good
Darryl from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Good for a night's stop! ”

Pros - clean, big rooms. Friendly staff. Stayed up to allow us to check in even though we arrived 130am. Check in was minimal fuss as they expected us. Breakfast was simple and good. Cons - location was a little remote and in the middle of residential area. The driver had problems navigating to the place if not for Google maps. What stood out? Good value for money stay.

Reviewed December 21, 2016
8.0
Excellent
paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016

A good option”

We stayed here for a couple of nights prior to leaving Sri Lanka and found it to be an excellent option. It was spacious and clean and had the nice added bonus of a pool. The guy who was running the place kindly arranged an airport drop off in the early hour. We enjoyed our stay here.

Reviewed November 24, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Cassidy from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

Been a great stay”

Everything been great here have used as a base for getting about on local transport bus's trains all in easy reach. Staff delightful and so helpful, we Evan had a fridge in our room! Luxury! Sad to say good bye .

Reviewed October 30, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Yana from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016

Loved it!”

This place was a gem of a place to stay after a long plane ride. It's new, clean, has great air con and is tucked away from the business of Negombo. The family that run it are lovely and helped me plan my travel to Dambulla. It's located along the Dutch Canal which was great to wake up to. On our first morning we saw a huge water monitor.

Reviewed September 09, 2016
6.0
Peter from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016

Not Bad”

This hotel is about 20-30 mins walk from the main Negombo downtown area and about 10-15 mins walk from some beach-side restaurants, along busy St Anns Road, without a footpath (but all roads in Sri Lanka are busy). The rooms are spacious and have been renovated, but not serviced unless you request. The pool was slightly cleaner than the canal it was next to, in a pleasant garden setting of bamboo and flocks of crows. The breakfast was satisfactory. The high point was the breakfast chef and housekeeper, Rohini, who is beautiful, friendly and keen to help. The hotel wouldn't function without her. She organised the other staff who didn't appear to speak much English or were terrified of the guests. The manager and his wife were there occasionally. You could probably find a similar place closer to the action in Negombo. No-one appears to use the beach due to strong currents, but if offers sunset views - about 10 mins walk from this hotel. While the hotel's website offers an email address, we discovered that they don't use it. They do answer the phone however, especially when Rohini is there.

Reviewed July 29, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Ross from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Great place!!!”

Only stayed here one night, but the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, even serving is breakfast at 6.30, so we could get a taxi at 7. Great room with a really good breakfast. Would stay again.

Reviewed July 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Ritunjay from India
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

You wont regret this!! Its more than just value for money!!”

The last leg of my journey of Sri Lanka was in Colombo/ Negombo. Had to leave for the airport the next day. When I arrived at my hotel after a tiring tuk tuk journey, I could not believe my eyes. The cheapest of all the accommodations I had stayed in while touring Sri Lanka, this place was just unbelievable for the price I paid. Few pointers below may be helpful: - Of all accommodations (expensive and cheap) I stayed at, this was the only place where the TV actually had cable, the room had a kettle for making coffee etc.; - The rooms were very spacious, the bathrooms were very clean and functional (again, only accommodation where they even gave a hair dryer, although of not much use to me); - The happening street of Negombo (where all pubs and restaurants are located) is walking distance from this place; - BEST PART - The host/owner of the place (Ruwan) is a gem of a person. I had to leave for the airport the next day at 5.30am. The owner called a tuk tuk for me and negotiated a good price with the tuk tuk guy. Further, he made breakfast for me (more than I could have eaten at such an ungodly hour) and it was delicious. All in all - You have to stay here!!

Reviewed June 29, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Leigh from South Africa
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

Quite close to the beach”

We didnt get a very warm welcome, the owner was on his way somewhere and our arrival seemed to inconvenience him. The friendliest staff was the cleaning/cooking lady and the waiter who couldnt speak much english. The pool was nice, and the breakfast omelette was also good. The room was very nice and spacious and the mattress was very comfortable. the house is abt 10 mins walk to the beach, and at least 25 mins tuktuk drive from the airport. The best part of our stay was the Jasmin garden massage which sent an a/c minivan to collect us and drop us off again. very good value for money and lovely staff and facilities.

Reviewed May 11, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Clare from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

One street back from the beach and close to a train stop”

This was our first place in Sri Lanka and it set high standard for the rest of our trip! The room was very large and good air con and a nice bathroom/shower. You can walk around the block and be in the hustle and bustle of Negombo beach with lots of shops, restaurants and of course the beach! We also got a tuk tuk through them to Colombo for the afternoon (it was Sunday and it was like a ghost town so I don't recommend this) which was USD20 and the train back to the stop AFTER the main Negombo one and walked back to the guesthouse with an easy 5-8min walk - this cost us about 40-50rupee. The breakfast was lovely - fruit, yogurt, omelette, tea/coffee and toast. The staff were amazing and very helpful! I cannot recommend this place enough for the price and service and location!! Please stay here!! Oh I didn't use the pool but it looked nice!

Reviewed April 07, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
timothy from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 7 nights in March 2016

Very suitable for families staying with young children,breakfast was very good.”

Property is a 5 minute walk from the beach,walk past the lovely Catholic Church,and over the canal bridge,just enough of a walk to shake the sand from the children's feet.Staff at the hotel extremely helpfull and did everything to make our stay comfortable,bargain price for the quality this place has to offer. Timothy ( UK)

Reviewed March 31, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Anoushka from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

As first stops go... ”

... This ticks all the boxes. Negombo itself is not the nicest, but that's no fault of these guys. Clean, comfortable, decent breakfast, lovely staff. My sole gripe was the tuktuk driver they called for me. I'm assuming he was a friend of theirs. Asked to go directly to the town and could not shake him off. Quoted 350 sl rp for the (very) brief journey. 3 hours, several unsolicited stops to questionable "must see" destinations, which he stopped at repeatedly despite my protestations - "no. I just want to go to the town while it's still light".... 4000 rp. I was essentially taken hostage and then charged for the pleasure. Damn you tiredness. If I'd been less disoriented I would have clearly not fallen for such an obvious scam! But Summerside? Yeah. Very decent first stop. However, next time I'll avoid Negombo altogether and just go straight to my chosen destination or Colombo.

Reviewed March 21, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Linda from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016

A perfect quit stay”

Cleanliness. Location staff

The hotel is a short walk from the main area making this a nice quiet retreat. The staff are super nice without being intrusive. The room are nice and perfectly clean. Also the have a nice little water heater with instant coffee tea bags and sugar. I loved that.

Reviewed March 18, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Magda from Poland
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016

great room standard, very nice staff”

room standard, clean, value for money

We had a great stay at this place. It accually was the best standard for such value from all of the places we visited during our trip in Sri Lanka. Very helpfull staff. Nice breakfast. The place is very clean. It is only about 10mins from the beach. I would stay here again.

Reviewed March 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
stan from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016

recommended hotel”

good staff and manager, good value,clean and secure

ticks all the boxes,pleasant staff and a manager who could not do enough to please you,rooms are clean and secure,very good quiet air conditioning,good breakfast,nice location overlooking canal were you can sit relaxing by the swimming pool watching the many species of birds and wildlife I WOULD PERSONALLY RATE THIS HOTEL HAS A 9 THANKS FOR A PLEASANT STAY

Reviewed March 16, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Robert from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016

Great Little Place”

We enjoyed our stay at Summer Side Residence. Only about 10 min walk from the beach, and the main street, and clean. Room was well-appointed, and the staff were very attentive and accommodating. We were allowed to check in very early in the morning we arrived at no extra charge. We have paid much more for much less in comfort and cleanliness. I would not hesitate to go back there.

Reviewed March 09, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Goran from Croatia
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016

Great beach location, close to CMB, superbly nice staff”

The guys waited for us in front of the hotel to help with the luggage, rooms were clean and well air-conditioned. The hotel is close to the airport and perfect for a convenient overnight stay before travelling on!

Reviewed February 26, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Adam from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

Nice quiet place with great staff”

Staff, room, and peacefulness

We were there only to sleep, but our room was clean and the a/c and wifi were good. In the morning we were about to leave for our tour, but the manager ran after us to make sure we had breakfast! A very nice thing for him to do, and totally unnecessary. Overall, I would go back again.

Reviewed January 27, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Yinxi from China
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

Nice place for short stay”

price, room, location

The location and room are ok. less than 10min walk to the beach. stuff are nice. breakfast is good, but there are many mosquitos near the pool when eating. room is clean and comfortable, the only problem is the sound-proof is not very good.

Reviewed January 08, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Cengiz from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

Australian middle aged couple”

Staff, location and breakfast

Negombo was not part of our plan and we booked the hotel only because it was close to the airport and the reviews. Young family running the place (looks brand new) and living downstairs with two sons. They have three staff members (from what we saw)a lovely lady who is so pleasant and nothing is a trouble (went out of her way with home remedies to fix my sore throat and my vegan demands:) two young boys who are very pleasant and very efficient ( not very commen in Sri Lanka generally live is a slow paste:)) I would highly recommend this place for its location in terms of distance to airport 25 mins by car 1500rp, breakfast fresh fruit and fried eggs, beach 5 mins walk where they serve ice cold beer and chips and other restaurants and bars. Good wi-fi. The best experience was the free pick up for herbal massage we loved and extended our stay for another day. The owner gave us a free lift on Sunday when we struggled to get a tuck tuck and it was raining and provided late check out no extra cost. You will not be disappointed.

Reviewed December 08, 2015
8.7
Excellent
oleg from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

Excellent service, comfortable and clean”

The staff, the bed, the pool

Stayed two night on arrival from UK. Very clean room. Enormous bed. Everything worked. Good plugs and bathroom fittings. Quiet and comfortable...just what we needed. The staff and the manager where extremely helpful with our stay and with the arrangements for our onward journey. It set our Sri Lankan trip off on the right note...

Reviewed December 06, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Eric from New Zealand
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

Perfect place”

Clean, roomy, family friendly

We stayed with our 3 older teenagers and found this hotel to be more than we expected. Large clean rooms with ac and fans and lovely linen. The staff are so friendly and helpful and breakfast is excellent. The owner is very helpful with information on travel and nothing is too much trouble. We found it to be excellent value for money and would recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet hotel away from the beach area.

Reviewed December 05, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Natalie from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Excellent value for money ”

Great location, amazing value for money and lovely pool overlooking the river

This hotel is really good value for money. The room was quite big with a massive comfy bed. The bathroom was also nice. Location is good, it's just a 5 min walk from the negombo beach. The staff were really helpful and helped us to get our train to our next location.

Reviewed November 06, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Lucy from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2015

Young Family”

Attentive Staff, fresh breakfast, clean pool

We stayed at Summer Side Residence for one night when we first arrived in Sri Lanka, and for our last night before going home. The location is good, 5min walk to the beach, easily accessible by car or by train. The rooms have smart décor and were clean. We had requested a cot for our youngest child but this wasn't provided and it would have been good to have been informed of this in advance. We did get an additional bed for our older child. The first night we had a lovely clean room, although the shower was cold. The last night we stayed the room wasn't ready so we were told to wait outside while they quickly took the dirty towels away and made the bed up with the same sheets the previous resident had used. The shower was hot that time. There are no mosquito nets. There is wifi. The pool was small but clean and the boys loved it. There's a small grassed area out front which the boys played on too. Breakfast in the morning was simple, fresh and tasty - fresh fruit, fried eggs / omelette, yoghurt, toast. The staff were helpful, and provided our transfer back to the airport.

Reviewed October 29, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
rebekah from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

Lovely hotel and staff”

Breakfast, room and helpfulness

I was there alone for two nights. I was suppose to leave juat before checkout but i had to change my flight and needed rom for 12 hours longer, the manager was very kind and even drive me to the aiport at midnight for a reasonable price.

Reviewed October 26, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Bridget from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015

Fantastic value!”

The quiet location close to the beach, new and clean rooms, the flexibility of staff

I had a fantastic three nights at Summer Side! It is in a neighborhood off of the louder Main Street, 5 min walk from the beach, cheap and good food next door, and great rooms for the price. I would definitely return.

Reviewed September 09, 2015
7.7
Very good
Eirik from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

Nice, quiet location”

Quiet and peaceful location

Overall, quite nice place to stay. Don't let the tuk tuk taxi charge you more than 300 rupees to get there from the bus station. While it's not on the beach, it is within an easy walk. The included breakfast was fried eggs, hot dog, and toast with juice and tea.

Reviewed August 20, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Wendy from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

Modern rooms, lovely balconies, friendly staff”

Modern rooms, lovely balconies, friendly staff

My last night in Sri Lanka was spent at Summer Side Residence, and I highly recommend it! The rooms are spacious and modern. So are the bathrooms. The room and bathroom are separated by a large window (which can be covered using blinds) From my balcony I could overlook the garden and swimming pool, which made a nice spot to relax. Breakfast was great and included fruit, egg, yoghurt, toast and jam. The hotel is 5-10 minute walk from the beach. The only thing to improve would be the cleanliness of the swimming pool - it looked like it was not be filtered at the moment. The staff was helpful and organised my tuktuk to the airport.

Reviewed August 17, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Elisabeth from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015

Clean, crisp linen and modern rooms”

The rooms were fresh and clean, good wifi, in fact best we found in Sri Lanka, able to update phones etc. nice dining , common area, small plunge pool to refresh after the heat of walking.

The stay was great, refreshing to stay in budget priced accommodation that took pride in their appearance and condition of rooms and linen etc. cable TV and wifi worked a treat. Great pool. Ruan was super helpful, in fact the most genuinely helpful person we have come across in our travels. A nice family, good breakfast.

Reviewed July 19, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Robbie from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2015

Short stay”

Staff, breakfast, service

We arrived very late from the airport and although the hotel was shut and all the staff asleep they let us in after a few phone calls. We only stayed one night in transit to sigirya however the stay was pleasant and the staff extremely friendly and attentive. The location is at the quiet end of Negobo away from the touristy area however restaurants and the beach are only a short stroll from the hotel.

Reviewed July 03, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Russell from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015

Excsllent value for money”

Great breakfast, large quiet room, very helpful staff & owner

The Owner, Ruwan, was very helpful and arranged a driver for 4 days touring the sights of Sri Lanka at a very good price. Ruwan's car was a good quality air conditioned Corolla. The driver, Supun, ( Soopun), was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Another good feature was we left our large bags @ Summerside when touring, and returned to stay the night before flying out. Colombo Airport is only 20 mins drive and Ruwan met us and returned us to the airport for US$40.

Reviewed June 01, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Dusan from Czech Republic
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015

Excellent accomodation option”

room quality, peaceful place, breakfast

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and unlike most of other places we stayed at around Sri Lanka, for the money we paid, I could imagine to stay here easily for a week stay. Modern, beautiful, large, well equipped rooms with balcony, nice breakfast, tranquil atmosphere and caring people who run this place, what more could I say. AC, fan, TV, wifi as well as hot water were functioning perfectly fine.

Reviewed March 24, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
david from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

great first point of stop off on arriving ”

comfortable bed, fridge, pool, t.v. cleanliness

great stay, ideal stop off and return for flight home, little bit out the way approx 15mins plus to restaurants beach well worth the walk as its quiet and you will certainly get a peaceful night sleep. have already recommended it and will stay on return journey before flying home.

Reviewed January 20, 2015
6.3
Good
David from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

3 Night Stay in Negombo”

Peaceful Location, Nice Spacious Room, Comfortable Big Bed

I loved the location of this hotel. Although it's a little bit of a walk into the nearby restaurants and the beach area I thought it was worth it for the peace and quiet. We had a very large room overlooking the canal at the top of the house. We could listen to the birds in the morning and watch large monitor lizards swimming down the canal as well as enjoy the breeze on our balcony. The breakfast was simple but pleasant to eat sitting in the dining area by the swimming pool, again which overlooks the canal. The downside with this hotel were some quirky issues that the owner could easily attend to if he wanted to. Firstly there is the issue about poor maintenance. A lightbulb needed replaced in one of the bedside lamps - it was never attended to. The expensive German brand shower didn't have a rail or hook to hold it on the wall - it just lay in the shower area and you had to pick it up and hold it when you wanted to shower. It looked like one had never been fitted since the place was built. Sometimes there was no hot water and you had to remind the staff. The towels were very thin and of inferior quality. The first day we returned to our room early in the evening after being out all day tired and looking forward to a shower only to discover our room hadn't been touched. WHen I complained to the staff he said that because it had been raining so much the clean towels and sheets weren't dry so they couldn't change them. I told them even so they could at least clean the room and make up the bed - that is what we expect when we stay in a hotel!!! Finally, hotels in Sri Lanka are overpriced so you have to be prepared to be disappointed when you compare what you get with say - Thailand, which is great value. However, compared to what else is available around here I would still recommend this place - but I wouldn't particularly go out of my way to visit Negombo again.

Reviewed January 12, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Mary from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

Short Stay ”

The rooms are very modern and very clean. Bed and pillows are very comfy. They serve u with a very good breakfast...eggs of your choice, toast, a yummy yogurt, fruit juice, fresh fruit and tea or coff

Only spent two nights here has a stop before we flew home. Only downside was 2nd night was around midnight for 3 hrs when you could hear guests talking rather loudly and banging doors wasn't very happy has we had to be up for 5 am for our flight home. Hotel has own car to take you to airport at a cost of 1500 rupees which is about £8 which I thought was very reasonable. Beach is about 10 min walk. Would stay again.

Reviewed January 01, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Pete from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

Very nice hotel with a boutique feel”

Design, service, canal side

We had a short one night stay here as we flew out the next day and Negombo is a kind of beach side air port lounge for arrivees or departees The hotel is very well designed with a boutique feel about it and also an most 'zen' feel It is run by a young chap who I think is going places who lives in the hotel with his family The room was good with a balcony to the canal and a lovey bathroom The pool and veranhad at the front are wonderful A very good place to stay - a bit away from the beach but nothing that a 3 min drive In a tuk tuk that can't be sorted out

Reviewed December 30, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Julia from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

Summer Side in Negombo ”

the room and balcony, breakfast,location

Lovely hotel in nice location by canal,5mins walk to beach and some decent restaurants. Good takeaway very close by. Great room,everything works,big TV with good choice of channels,comfy bed,clean linen and towels. Generally clean throughout. Nice friendly staff.Good breakfast with choices of eggs or local. Had a pleasant stay and would recommend for families and others not wanting to party all night.

Reviewed December 24, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Berangere from France
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014

Beautiful Property”

Villa architecture - free wifi

The Villa is located at the end of the main road that goes along the beach in a another street behind the canal. The beach is however accessible by foot in 5 min. The villa is beautiful, rooms are brend new, the breakfast was also nice. By tuk tuk to the airport ittakes about 30 min to get there

Reviewed October 13, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Matthew from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014

An amazing value”

Clean rooms, good breakfast, nice staff

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and spacious. The hotel staff were nice and helpful. The breakfast was good. The pool wasn't the cleanest, but we still had a good swim with our daughter. The hotel is a short walk away from the beach and main tourist areas of Negombo. This is an excellent hotel for a very good price.

Reviewed June 29, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Josephine from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014

great hotel for your first stop”

close to airport swimming pool manager great guy will help you

this was our first stop straight from airport arriving at 5am I emailed our arrival time Ruwan the owner sent his mobile number to give to taxi there he was with a big smile & cold drinks at 5am the room was perfect top floor overlooking the river,Ruwan also emailed us you cannot get Sri Lankan Rupee in UK after you clear passport there are 2 banks open 24/7 they change any money then opposite the banks is the taxi counter also 24/7 tell the lady were you want to go she gives you a form you pay local fare & a guy takes you to your taxi avoiding all the touts with Ruwans help we were in our room in under 30 mins from arrival I would recommend summer side residence they all so hire motor bikes push bikes so you can get around

Reviewed June 18, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Arnon from Israel
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

Short and Sweet”

facilities, location, people

We arrived late in the evening from a very long bus trip and booked our room an hour before on Agoda. They had a special discount offer at the time and we thought that our last day in a nice hotel with good facilities would be suitable. We were welcomed by the owners very nicely, who promptly escorted us to our deluxe room. The room was beautifully decorated in a clean contemporary style with a nice balcony looking out unto the Dutch canal and the swimming pool below. The neighborhood was nice and quiet and very close to the shopping/restaurant area and the beach. We walked over to a local restaurant Petit (strongly recommended!!) to have dinner and it took us about 10 minutes to get there. In the morning, we had a complementary breakfast, which was basic but good! We went out to explore the area for the day and the family was kind enought to offer that we leave our bags in their apartment for the day. When we returned, they even offered us to shower in their apartment if we need. Amazingly nice people! All in all, the place seemed wonderful, I can imagine that it would have been nice to spend another day relaxing by the pool. Strongly recommended!

Reviewed April 27, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Marcel-Kurt from Austria
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

Short stopover before heading to the airport”

clean, friendly and close to the airport

Our stay was actually very short as we arrived late afternoon and had to leave for airport very early in the morning. staff was very friendly and helpful to organise transportation to the airport at 3:30 in the morning (!). room was very nice and perfectly clean with a/c and fan - it was the cleanest and nicest room we had during our entire stay on the island! If we would have knows how nice this place is, we would have certainly booked for a longer stay...

Reviewed April 25, 2014