Book Now: Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta

2017

Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta Reviews

Excellent
From 2700 reviewsSee what guests said
8.3
/
10
Recommended by 83% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (2699)Booking.com Reviews (290)
8.3
/
10
Excellent
From 2699 reviews
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities7.5
Location8.8
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.5
Value for money8.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Bahasa Indonesia
简体中文
한국어
more
Room type
Deluxe
Deluxe Pool View
Deluxe Pool Access
Suite
more
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 2373 verified guest comments
4.8
Ronald from Australia
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 8 nights in August 2018
Sun Island”
Breakfast was cold with no cutlery and no tea or coffee service offered. No milk or spoons offered when requested. Very poor service and needs lessons in English. Issue also with pre-payment and wanted more money. Been to Bali over 15 times are worst place we have stayed. Rooms and towels smelt of urine. Asked for 3 rooms together but was denied.
Reviewed August 25, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Julia from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018
Nice hotel in good location ”
Rooms were amazing - clean and comfortable. Shower screen was tiny so water went everywhere!!!! The rooms had a bath which was handy for the kids. Good location, close to Waterbom, beach and restaurants.
Reviewed August 17, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Claire from Australia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018
Great hotel and staff”
We had a girls trip to Bali and stayed here, it is a great hotel with a fantastic location, very close to Discovery mall, Lippo mall and great fixed price shops. The hotel rooms are spacious and clean, great air conditioning and comfy beds. We needed to change rooms to 2 rooms with interconnecting door, and spoke to the manager who was so helpful showing us the rooms that were available and even upgrading us to pool view room. All the staff were very friendly, the restaurant was amazing, great food and very reasonable. Breakfast was also nice. Would definitely recommend and will come and stay again.
Reviewed August 14, 2018
6.0
indra from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018
average”
there arent much facilitation in this hotel. location is good.
Reviewed August 14, 2018
6.0
David from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018
Noisy”
The room could have been cleaner. Shower is in bath and water goes all over the floor. At 1am returning guests and staff laughing loudly. Do not stay in rooms above restaurant as you will hear everything.
Reviewed August 12, 2018
6.0
lian from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
still ok”
so far so good
Reviewed August 08, 2018
3.6
PETER from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Disappointing on every level”
Poor facilities
Reviewed August 05, 2018
6.8
Good
Richard from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
good location”
good location, old emenities
Reviewed August 04, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Abdulkarim from Saudi Arabia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018
Very good hotel”
Location very good
Reviewed August 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ryan from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018
Exceptional!”
Room was big and clean and hotel is in a good location. Staff was friendly and was always ready to assist. Breakfast can be improved though.
Reviewed July 28, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
neil from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in July 2018
Exceptional”
I can't believe the bad comments on this hotel I loved it , nice breakfast , nice staff , nice rooms and the staff were good
Reviewed July 25, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Kai from China
Family with young children
Deluxe Pool Access
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018
Very convenient location in Kuta beach.”
Very good location in Kuta beach and 5 minutes walking distance to discovery shopping mall. The breakfast is terrible at all and after we took lunch at the nearby hotel you will definitely have the same opinion!
Reviewed July 16, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Jehanzeb from Pakistan
Family with young children
Deluxe Pool Access
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018
Location location location”
This hotel does exactly what is says on the tin. Minutes walk to Discovery Shopping Mall and plenty of eating options. The staff were friendly and greeted us warmly. Recommended.
Reviewed July 16, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Harvey from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018
z”
- nearer to shopping mall, waterbom - staff
Reviewed July 12, 2018
6.8
Good
David from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
Strategic Location”
In the middle of Kartika Plaza Street and next to Discovery Mall made me choose this hotel for my vacation at Bali. Kuta Square, Kuta Beach, Beachwalk, Legian are all within reach at walking distance. The hotel is OK, room is spacious, swimming pool is OK. However the internet speed was very slow when I was there. Complaint many times but that was already maximum speed. The staff is average.
Reviewed July 12, 2018
6.0
Wen from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018
Property is not up to 4stars”
The breakfast is boring same everyday.
Reviewed July 11, 2018
3.2
Rachameedavi from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Acceptable”
Unfriendly staff, dirty , but near to center location
Reviewed July 10, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Feraera from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
Good value”
Value for money Good location, friendly staf, great breakfast
Reviewed July 04, 2018
5.6
Martyn from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
Too noisy ”
Breakfast is not very fresh and we were kept awake by the loud televisions in the bar until 2am.
Reviewed July 03, 2018
8.0
Excellent
IMRAN from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Budget kuta beach stay”
Pool ans breakfast was good. Staffs very friendly as usual in bali. Room aircon cold but adjustable. Great for the price i paid. Nice Windy lobby and bar area.
Reviewed June 28, 2018
8.4
Excellent
MD from Bangladesh
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Excellent Hotel ”
I was impressed by their service. The Indoor Pool was really nice and the hotel staff was very helpful. There were many varieties of Breakfast and the main point was the very good location of Kuta, Bali.
Reviewed June 27, 2018
6.0
Darrin from Australia
Family with teens
Deluxe Pool Access
Stayed 8 nights in June 2018
NOISY”
We booked 2 pool access rooms for 2 adults per rooms about 5 months in advance. Firstly when we arrives at check in time of 2.00pm was advised rooms not ready, had to wait another hour. Secondly got 2 pool access room right in front of the shallow/kids swimming area. Swimming hours are 8.00am-8.00pm but unfortunately had kids screaming and swimming 2 mornings in a row at 6.30am and 7.00am. Also had people swimming and noisy later some evenings as well, around 10.30pm and 11.00pm. Staff did not do anything or appear to want to do anything. Unfortunately World Cup soccer was on and all matches were played in the bar and echoed through the whole complex, keeping in mind the late games started around 3.00am. Breakfast also very average as the hotel now appears to be more orientated towards the Asian/Chinese/Muslim market. I have stayed in this hotel twice previously with no issues.
Reviewed June 26, 2018
6.0
nita from Indonesia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
Above average”
standard of cleanliness of his hotel is bad (floor and bathroom)
Reviewed June 25, 2018
7.6
Very good
Ferdi from Indonesia
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018
Very good”
breakfast is really delicious, place is really great near beach and mall, but the problem is the rooms not really good even though they clean it every day still looks dirty and old
Reviewed June 21, 2018
7.2
Very good
Yuansa from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 4 nights in February 2018
quite OK”
price is quite high location is good hotel clean friendly staff we don't like the food
Reviewed June 21, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Prashant from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Nice location, staff and facilities ”
It was nice experience at the hotel and the location is near from airport Staff was very helpful and breakfast was good
Reviewed June 20, 2018
6.4
Good
Audi from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
Lokasi macet, kolam renang bersih”
Makan pagi menyenangkan dengan beacon bali enak. Harap beacon jangan diganti dengan sosis. Kolam renang bersih menyenangkan supaya dipertahankan.
Reviewed June 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Narapareddy from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Pool Access
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Good ”
Bathroom curtain should be controlled only from inside the bathroom. Basically there is no privacy for people in bathroom.
Reviewed June 16, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Hariyadi from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Great property”
Aside from no shower curtain, my stay was perfect
Reviewed June 15, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Adhiguna from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Good service”
I stayed there for 2 nights during the Nyepi holiday. Good ambience and a complete breakfast menu.
Reviewed June 14, 2018
6.8
Good
Barathan from Singapore
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Great Rooms and Location”
We took a family suite and it was awesome with huge space and good amenities. Dissapointed that arranged Hotel Pick up did not turn up otherwise everything else was good with the property but they need to look after the Pool and surroundings with some improvement in Housekeeping
Reviewed June 11, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Suvendu from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018
Overall nice experience ”
Apart from the morning breakfast 😞..rest all things are awesome.. 😊 1) starting from location.. 2) value for money.. 3) cleanliness. 4) staff 5) spa
Reviewed June 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
YASMEEN from Australia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018
Amazing ”
Lovely & friendly staff , awesome breakfast variety, excellent location , very clean rooms & enjoyed every bit of it .I am definitely coming back to stay here again .Thanks to all the reception staff & everyone at sun island for a pleasant stay.
Reviewed June 07, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Frances from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
Exceptional”
Good location. Near discoverymall and beach. Bfast is adequate.
Reviewed June 06, 2018
5.2
Mark from Australia
Couple
Suite
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
disappointed with sun island”
Reception - satisfactory. Location - excellent. Meals - satisfactory Room - awful. Booked a suite room. On arrival room looked outstanding however during the stay room not cleaned appropriately. The big no to staying at this hotel was maggots found in the outback shower / bath area. Advised management 2 times. Only on the second discussion did they act. Sprayed floor and removed maggots however new batch returned the next day. By then the stay was nearly over. Didn’t use out back shower / bath.
Reviewed May 26, 2018
7.2
Very good
Michael from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 11 nights in May 2018
Very good”
Staff were fantastic and could not fault them. The room was OK, however every time we turned on the shower we had to let it run for 5 minutes as there was an stink egg smell. The pool was OK, but limited hours in the sun, if you like sun baking 11 till 3 pm. The Breakfast buffet was always cold, unless you got fresh cooked eggs. Location was very good.
Reviewed May 26, 2018
4.0
John from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Worse customer experience ”
Very bad customer services.
Reviewed May 23, 2018
4.4
Guy from United States
Couple
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Disappointing stay”
We travel to Bali a lot and this was a bad experience. We paid about $67 usd for the night and relative to other options in Bali, there is no way it was worth that much. The wait to check in was long. Our room was small and dingy, the bed was hard, and the A/C broke. We were facing the pool, and that was a huge mistake because the swimmers were loud. There is little insulation on the door front as well, so we could also hear noise from the hallway. I will say that my friend had a suite that was about $93 usd and it was more than twice the size of my room and he liked it. However, we definitely disliked the normal room. The breakfast was nothing special, but satisfactory. The swimming pool was decent although we did not use it. The location of this hotel is in a busy area of Bali with shopping malls and restaurants near by, that is the main positive of this hotel. We stayed at this hotel when it first opened and had a decent experience. However, I would not recommend it anymore.
Reviewed May 20, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Sophie from Vietnam
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in May 2018
Great value for money.”
All the staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, but sometimes cold. It's a great price for the hotel but it's not 5 stars. The location is good! The floors in the room were filthy, feet were black after 10 mins. The shower also didn't drain so just flooded over. Definetly not a five star hotel but for the price it's good!
Reviewed May 19, 2018
5.6
Willa from Australia
Group
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 10 nights in May 2018
Very average hotel”
The pool area has not been maintained. Not a well thought out designed hotel. Rooms that should have balconies facing the ocean are facing the pool and main road. The only plus was the beds are very comfortable, but that's about it.
Reviewed May 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Rana from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 8 nights in May 2018
Great location and value for money ”
Great location and value for money
Reviewed May 13, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Ermelinda from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Excellent”
I liked the location. The room was nice aIthough our room didn't have bathtub. It was weird that they do have lift but you still needed to use stairs after taking the lift. Breakfast was standard but good
Reviewed May 10, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Mochammad from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Sun Island Hotel Good”
Easily accessible to nearby discovery mall or Lippo Mall. Very good,great location,friendly staff
Reviewed May 06, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Mohammed from Bangladesh
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Great hotel.”
Very nice. They upgraded us to a suite and the location is excellent. Right in the middle of the most lively place in Kuta... i found it a better place than Legian. The malls are nearby as well.
Reviewed May 03, 2018
7.2
Very good
Lukman from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Nice ”
Location of the hotel is good. Easily accessible to nearby discovery mall or Lippo Mall. Room is spacious with a bathtub. However the aircon was not strong.
Reviewed April 30, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
William from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Exceptional”
Very good,great location,friendly staff
Reviewed April 29, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Ajcharaporn from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Good location”
Nice place to stay. Location is perfect. Close to beach and mall. Breakfast is ok. My kid like the pool.
Reviewed April 19, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Saing from Singapore
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Value for money ”
Pros- location is perfect Cons - for Asian like us are not used to open concept for shower (there’s a transparent glass between shower room and bed room)
Reviewed April 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Saing from Singapore
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Value for money ”
Pros- location is perfect Cons - for Asian like us are not used to open concept for shower (there’s a transparent glass between shower room and bed room)
Reviewed April 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
RUDY from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Good hotel”
Cheap and good hotel. Good location . Value for money
Reviewed April 12, 2018