Book Now: Sunlife Hotel 2.3

Excellent
From 2708 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
/
10
Recommended by 87% of guests

Reviews of Sunlife Hotel 2.3 Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (2708)Booking.com Reviews (2714)
8.1
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities7.3
Location9.5
Room comfort and quality7.5
Service8.2
Value for money8.1
All languages
All guests (2708)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 1722 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Maria from Philippines
Family with young children
Double Room Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in April 2019

Affordable and convenient.”

The Hotel is just across the Hakata Station. It is very convenient especially when you have kids in tow. The area constitutes lots of cafes, diners, restaurants, aside the the Hakata Station malls shops. It is a great value for money considering its proximity to the main city.

Reviewed April 22, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Betty from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Great location”

Just across Hakata train station, value for money while transit for 1 night in Fukuoka. One good options if you need a quick stay with value for money.

Reviewed May 01, 2019
8.8
Excellent
dusitchai from Thailand
Group
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Excellent”

Very Good Location.

Reviewed April 27, 2019
5.6
Thai from Malaysia
Couple
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Hardball hotel”

We checked in way past 10pm. We requested a little more time to check out. But nope - the typical by-the-book Japanese style. But I wouldn't write this hotel off because most Japanese hotels are uncompromising anyway. But it won't be my first choice if I can help it.

Reviewed April 22, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Karen from Philippines
Couple
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Very convenient location”

Super near Hakata station. You can walk from the Chikushi East Exit. There’s also a direct exit near the hotel. Rooms are small but if you’re out most of the time, this shouldn’t be a problem. Staff had a hard time understanding English but Google Translate helped a lot! lol

Reviewed April 09, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Sapatporn from Thailand
Couple
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Fantastic location, just step out from Hakata station at East gate. Close to both subway and bus”

I totally recommend this hotel for travelors who need to transport easily. This Sunlife 2.3 is just walk across the opposite East gate of Hakata station. You can shopping and keeping your stuffs at your room during the day & night. The bus stop and subway to the airport is just 5 second -walk. You can leave the luggages before check-in. The staff are very helpful. The room is tiny but it’s very convenient. A ton of food court at surrounding department stores are provided until 23.00. The family mart is just cross the road. You will survive!

Reviewed November 21, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Gan from Singapore
Solo traveler
Single Room Nonsmoking
Stayed 1 night in September 2017

Of proximity to Hakata railway station...”

The hotel is in front of Chikushi side of JR Hakata Station (Subway East No. 6 exit). It is within 1 minute walk from Tsukushi entrance of Hakata station, which is of 5 minutes of travel by subway to the Domestic Terminal of Fukuoka airport and 15 minutes by bus from Fukuoka international terminal. I will stay here again if I planned any visit to Kumamoto and Amakusa from Fukuoka.

Reviewed June 17, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ryuji from Japan
Business traveler
Single room smoking
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

GOOD”

GOOD

Reviewed March 19, 2019
8.4
Excellent
APIKALLAYA from Thailand
Couple
Superior Semi-Double Room Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017

Small room”

Great location opposite the train station but very small room. Value for money if you are just use the room for sleep at night and breakfast are too boring they provide the same 2 sets to choose everyday.

Reviewed April 19, 2018
8.4
Excellent
RICHARD from Philippines
Couple
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018

Location is superb”

The location of this hotel is superb, which is infront of JR Hakata Station (Chukushi Exit). Room is small, typical of Japanese Hotel Room Standards. Toiletries provided are wonderful. Staff are friendly and cooperative. The nearest subway exit has no lift/escalator so you'll have to carry your luggage if you'll use exit 6 of the Hakata Subway Station. I hope next time, hotel will be able to provide complimentary bottled water. Other than that, we are delighted with our stay in the hotel. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Fukuoka.

Reviewed February 16, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Patrick from United States
Couple
Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Excellent choice”

Sunlife hotel is connected to the Hakata Train Station at Exit 6 and it was a good thing because it was pouring rain when we arrived and we did not get wet. The hotel is directly across the street from the train station where there are lots of really good and reasonably priced eateries. The rooms are typical efficient Japanese design and super clean. The staff are very pleasant and courteous. Breakfast is a choice of well prepared Japanese or Western fixed menu. This is a great hotel to consider.

Reviewed November 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Paul from United States
Couple
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Exceptional”

The hotel's location was perfect because it was right across from the JR train station. The room was clean and quiet which were more important to my wife and I than the size. A unique feature of this hotel is that it actually has free lockers in the lobby for you to store your bags which we took advantage of.

Reviewed April 15, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Myrna from Philippines
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016

Cost effective”

Just across the road from hakata station. Very accessible from the airport via the airport bus (260 yen). The room and CR is small for 2 persons but can do if you only intend to sleep.. Many restaurants, shops and convenience stores in and around hakata station. Subway exit right at the doorstep of the hotel- side entrance.

Reviewed July 17, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Robert from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2015

Did the job well”

Convenient and clean

Enjoyed my stay here. Just a quick stopover for a flight the next day. The room was small but location was unbeatbale, I was at the airport in 10 mins ! Totally fine for a short stay and the room is clean.

Reviewed February 16, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Ngai from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2014

Excellent location!!”

The hotel is just a few steps away from Hakata train station, clean and reception staff are friendly

The hotel is located just a few steps from Hakata train station where you can catch the train or subway easily. You can find lots of restaurants at the train station. The room is clean and comfortable although it is quite small in size.

Reviewed December 02, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Dylan from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2013

Simple sleep and go hotel.”

Location. Ease of access. Staff.

Great location. Tiny room, but who cares? You're not staying here to spend time in the room. Like all business hotels in Japan, even the non smoking rooms stink of smoke. Great happy hour for hotel guests at the bar downstairs.

Reviewed March 12, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Apiwan from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

Convenient location but no Wi-fi”

The hotel is conveniently located across the road from Hakata Station. The room was well-equipped and clean. The staff were friendly and relatively helpful, considering their limited English.

I enjoyed my short stay at Sunlife Hotel 2.3 I flew into Fukuoka quite late but the hotel is only 10 minutes by bus from the airport so it's very convenient. The location is also great for someone who travels by trains. Sunlife Hotel is just opposite JR Hakata station. The only downside is that there is no wi-fi internet available in the room, only LAN

Reviewed April 05, 2013
4.8
Amy from New Zealand
Couple
Superior Semi-Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Wouldnt pick this place again”

Hmmm where do I begin. First of all, room was very small but I guess thats good enough for what we paid. Cleanliness wasnt there. Staff were sort of not rude but also not helpful which I found very unusal for Japan. We checked out at 6am having to catch our train and staff at counter gave us an impression that he has been out drinking and just came to work. Overall, if you can pay a bit more you should consider another hotels. This would be our one and only time to stay here.

Reviewed October 26, 2018
6.8
Good
TINGYI from Taiwan
Couple
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Good”

Location is very good and it stays in front of the hakata station

Reviewed April 08, 2019
7.2
Very good
LYN from Singapore
Solo traveler
Single Room Nonsmoking
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Location is near the stn. ”

Location is near the stn. The staffs can speak very little english. Some staffs are helpful some are not.

Reviewed April 06, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Prangkaew from Thailand
Family with teens
Triple Room - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Good overall”

Room was a bit small (comparing to the price) but all for all its clean and comfy. Location was great too.

Reviewed November 22, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Jaegeon
Solo traveler
Single room smoking
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

Good place”

Best location and clean

Reviewed October 05, 2018
8.4
Excellent
MINHUI from South Korea
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Nice location!! ”

nice location!! but restroom very small....

Reviewed September 30, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jittikarn from South Korea
Couple
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

Very close to the station”

This is a good location for staying while you are travelling to Fukuoka. Location is superb, close to the station and travel attractions

Reviewed September 26, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Sylvia from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

2min wak from Hakata JR”

the location is the main reason I choose to stay here. room and toilet is small but very clean. staffs are extremely helpful helping me to reserve my day trip in Nagasaki.

Reviewed June 20, 2018
5.2
Barry from Taiwan
Business traveler
Twin - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

no air conditioner in April”

I stay in this hotel on April 2. when turned on airconditiiner, only heater is working with hot air. The room has no air circuitlation. After complain it to the front desk, the only way is to open window.

Reviewed April 04, 2018
5.6
Amy from New Zealand
Couple
Superior Semi-Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018

You get what you pay for ....”

Location is great, right opposite to hakata station. Limited English communication but staff did tried.. Room is very small, but you get what you pay for. I won't recommend this hotel if you plan to stay in hakata more than 2 nights. Note: we booked for a non-smoking room(whole of 7th floor is non-smoking)but it was filled with smoke smell, staff didn't hesitate to move us to a different floor (5th floor) which our room was free of smoke smell

Reviewed March 08, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Michelle from Australia
Family with teens
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018

Hotel across the road from Jakarta Railway station.”

Room was small but ok for 2 adults. Hot shower/bath. Clean (double) bed with daily clean linen/sheets. Tv and tea making facilities. Very conveniently located from Willer Express bus and JR bus stations and railway station so great if traveling to Fukuoka by public transport. Luggage can be left before check-in (which is from 1pm) and at check-out. Didn't eat in as eateries at railway station and cafe close by serving cheap hot breakfasts. Overall value for money especially with location.

Reviewed February 23, 2018
7.6
Very good
David from Australia
Couple
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018

Very convenient to station”

Extremely small bathroom, so much so that I have to stand sideways to shower and I literally tumbled out of the bathroom each time. On the plus side, there is reasonable space in the room, western tea/coffee/cream powder facilities, and it's best feature - the very convenient location to the station. We didn't pay that much for this hotel so we are happy with what was provided.

Reviewed February 15, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Maleeya from Thailand
Couple
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Close to Hakata sta. ”

Best location, Close to Hakata station. Room is quite small but it's ok to stay here for short term. Breakfast service in Japanese style meal set on the first floor, in Japanese restaurant, good taste but not hot served.

Reviewed January 06, 2018
6.8
Good
Ellen from Singapore
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

Good”

The location is good, directly opposite train station. The room is slightly bigger than some of the business hotel. The room wasn't clean, sheets are dirty, I developed rash as I have sensitive skin. The room do not have night light, so those who are scared of dark might not want to stay here.

Reviewed November 30, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
TingTing from Taiwan
Couple
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

Nice choice near Hakata station”

Hotel is near to the Hakata station. Very convenient for taking trains or subways. Staffs are nice and willing to help. The room and bathroom were very big, but enough for 2 people with 2 middle-sized lockages.

Reviewed November 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
benchawan from Thailand
Family with teens
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017

Exceptional”

This is the only hotel that staff are mostly smily, I remember. Fukuoka is very interesting city to visit. The hotel location is really really good , not sure behind/in front of the Hakata station. Very easy to catch the bus from airport to here. Just across the road then reach the hotel. Staff are friendly. Cleanliness is good. Room is small but same as the other hotels and finally we will familiar with it size :). Hakata station is very big, we can find everything i.e. convenience store, tokyu hands, fast food etc. So cool and clean.

Reviewed August 03, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Shiho from United States
Group
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Great location”

The location is great! We stayed there for one night to catch the early morning flight next day. It's just a few minutes or so from Hakata station chikushi exit. You can see the hotel from the station. If it's raining really hard, you can go down to the subway station and walk to the exit #6 (east). You will be right in front of the hotel's entrance! If you have lots of luggages or your luggages are heavy, going down to the subway station might be a little bit tough though, because i'm not sure if there's an elevator or not... It was really easy to get to the Fukuoka airport next morning. It's only 2 stops away (i think it was like 240 or 260yen) . I would recommend this hotel to anyone who are looking for an easy access to the Fukuoka airport or JR station.

Reviewed April 19, 2017
6.8
Good
Tsoi from Australia
Group
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Great location but staff no good”

The hotel is at a great location, just across the road from Hakata station which is perfect when travelling with train. However, the staff at reception have disappointing attitude. The hotel provides luggage storage service and yet when we arrived with one piece of luggage each to store overnight the male staff at reception looked very reluctant and gave us a straight face. This is the worst service I ever received in Japan which is well known for politeness.

Reviewed March 14, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Kitty from Singapore
Group
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017

Feedback”

Highly recommended as it near to Hakata Station. The only step back was the laundry area are only available at Building 3. Got to take lift up and down and walk to their next building to access the laundry area. It will be even better if they could have another laundry area at Building 2 too.

Reviewed January 26, 2017
7.6
Very good
Boonchu from Thailand
Couple
Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017

Best of the best in term of location”

Locates just next to Hakata station. You can easily access to travelling area by Underground and gets the JR to outside city. Perfect for tourist. Room size is acceptable. Service is fine but i almost lost my t-shirt there since the hotel maid carelessly took it with sheets but finally hotel staff helps to find it.

Reviewed January 10, 2017
7.6
Very good
Samrit from Thailand
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

Good Hotel that is super near Hakata Station”

The great advantage for this hotel is location. It's very near to Hakata Station, just cross the street. So, you can easily travel to anywhere from Shinkansen, JR and subway. If you take bus from airport to Hakata station, this hotel is opposite to bus top at the station. It's very convenient for all especially for tourist with big luggage. Cause it's super near to Hakata Station, so there are plenty of restaurants around you can find, also convenience stores, souvenir shops and Starbuck's Coffee. If you're shopaholic, there are many big department store both inside and around this station. Tokyu Hands is one of creative shop there that you should visit. I booked Single room that is quite compact but acceptable cause its size is quite normal for most of business hotel in Japan. in room, there are dryer, pajama, toiletry and Wi-Fi that is necessary for stay (however, Wi-Fi signal signal is super weak in the room I got, that is the weakest point for this hotel). Staff here can communicate in English well with good manner. They also have umbrella for borrow on raining day. In summary, it's a good hotel for your choice when you visit Fukuoka.

Reviewed January 05, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Lim from Singapore
Family with teens
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Restaurant has room for improvement ”

Given its location, the hotel can definitely expect a lot of Travellers. . When we checked in late one night, the restaurant was still open. Unfortunately, there was no English menu, English speaking restaurant staff or pictures of the food. The bathroom came with premium toiletries but the bathtub was way too small

Reviewed December 20, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Katja from Denmark
Group
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016

Fantastic hotel at Hakata station, Fukuoka”

Very nice hotel, cheep and clean, at Hakata station, 5 minutes from the airport and very close to all the attractions around Hakata, busses and trains. Have stayd there in 5 days. The rooms are small, but enough for 2 guests, clean, have wifi, coffee, tea and all the nessesary things for the bathroom. Will surely come there again.

Reviewed December 18, 2016
6.4
Good
Yue from Hong Kong
Couple
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

Comvenience place”

The hotel locate next to railway station, family mart and a lot of restaurants located near by. Staffs dont have good english and without smile. The room is small and the lamp is moldy, the only good thing i can say is the location.

Reviewed December 01, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Sirion from Thailand
Family with teens
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

Perfect location”

Pro: Compact hotel with reasonable price. Location is perfect just right opposite the Hakata JR station. Take few mins to walk. Convenient stores nearby. Walk slightly further will find good ramen shop with friendly services. Tonkatsu ramen is available nearby. Department store not far from hotel. Take 5 mins to walk there. Breakfast is good with 3 choices like Japanese style fish set with rice, Japanese style chicken set with rice and western style breakfast. Fruit and drink is self service. Taste is good. Con: Due to hotel is at the main road. At night you will hear the car's noise. However, it's acceptable.

Reviewed November 29, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Lai from Singapore
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October 2016

Kyushu Travel”

We booked this hotel on the first day and the last two days. We are relieved that the hotel allowed us to care of our baggage with them during our travelling in other prefectures of Kyushu island. Among those hotels we booked, this is the only hotel that check-in at 1pm unlike others at 3pm (usually).

Reviewed October 12, 2016
5.6
Chun from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

OK but not great”

Rooms were very small and a bit smelly. Breakfast choices are limited and all Western breakfast were gone when we came at 9 am (we checked in very late.) The good thing is location, it is just next to the subway exit (紫筑扎口).

Reviewed July 16, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Dylanna from Philippines
Business traveler
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

Fully equipped”

I love how this hotel has provided as materials we never thought we needed such as body scrubs. The wifi Is ok. The place is close to the airport around 1,300 yen for taxi if you cant do an airport pick up. Also close to the hakata station. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed July 05, 2016
5.2
Chan from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

The staff is not polite”

For my experience to Japan, most of the Japanese are very polite. Unluckily, when I check-in to this hotel, the front desk staff is not polite, quite rude to me. The toilet is too small and not very clean. The location is really good instead, very convenient.

Reviewed June 02, 2016
7.2
Very good
Sik from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

Good hotel with good location, and nice staff”

This hotel is just besides JR Hakata Eki, just across the street. Many restaurants and shops around, room size is okay, however, the condition of the room needs improvement: bed, table, chair, looks pretty old. Toilet needs more cleaning. But overall, it is a good hotel, which nice and polite staff, recommend to stay for 1 night only.

Reviewed April 15, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Juhee from South Korea
Couple
Small Double Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

good value for overall”

location service cleaness

It was very clean hotel and service is effcient. But the Room was very tiny. and bathroom makes you feel like you're in a toilet in airplane ^^ But overally location is fantastic and good value for price. I would love to visit this hotel when I travel fukuoka again.

Reviewed March 14, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
chin from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

Great location”

location, price, service

This is the third time I stayed in this hotel, I really can't find anything that is cheap price in a good location. The hotel is located right across from Hakata station, it is extremely convenience when you also have the subway entrance right by the lobby too. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Room is a little small but that is Japan, also room is in good clean condition.

Reviewed January 07, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Ashleigh from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

Wonderful Location”

Location, English-speaking reception staff, Spotless room

The hotel is right in front of a pedestrian crossing after exiting from Hakata Station's East Exit. The room is small but very comfortable with a well-designed miniscule built-in shower and toilet. I requested for a non-smoking room but was given a smoking room instead and this was corrected quickly at the reception. The hotel name can be hard to spot as it is small and hidden under facade glass panels but a quick search using google streetview will get you there.

Reviewed October 17, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Ara from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014

Awesome location”

Location, staff, cleaness

The location was great! Right in front of Hakata station which is "the place" have everything! Shops, restaurants, entertainment, etc... Also, staffs were very helpful and kind. I stayed 2nights in twin room which was a little small but, the room was clean and had everything that I need.

Reviewed October 11, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Esther from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2014

Excellent location and value for money”

Proximity to JR Hakata station with direct access (East 6) from subway, gracious and helpful staff who can communicate in English, free wifi in room

Despite the dated decor and small bathroom, the room is very clean. The staff are remarkably helpful and strive to assist. Excellent location as a base for making day trips to different cities by JR. Value for money.

Reviewed June 04, 2014
8.0
Excellent
NG from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Clean room”

Clean room, nice staff and convenient

Clean room, nice staff and convenient Clean room, nice staff and convenient Clean room, nice staff and convenient Clean room, nice staff and convenient Clean room, nice staff and convenient Clean room, nice staff and convenient

Reviewed December 29, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
chin from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Great location”

staff, location, fair price

The hotel's location is right across from the train station which makes easy to find. location is a little far for the rest of the city, but can be easily access by the subway. The room is a little small for two people, but keep in mind this is Japan. Staff was friendly and if you need to put away your luggage and walk around more there are lockers available for you.

Reviewed June 16, 2013
6.7
Good
Ho from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013

A cheap option at the city centre”

Cheap, Convenient and nice service

Highly recommended if you want to choose a relatively cheaper hotel at the hakata station. It is very convenient no matter you want to go to take the JR or airport bus. However, I found a cockroach in my room! Luckily, the staff changed my room instantly upon the request.

Reviewed June 13, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Christina from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Very convenient hotel 1 min walk from Hakata sta”

Convenient location, clean rooms, friendly staff

The location of the hotel is very convenient, just across the road from Hakata station. The room was satisfactory for the price that we paid. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were satisfied with this hotel.

Reviewed January 11, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Wu from China
Couple
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

Great hotel with great service”

Good location, convenient and safe

We had a really good time in this hotel. It was very convenient as it takes only a few minutes to the eki and there were restuarants and minimarts around the hotel. The staff performance is very friendly even though they speak little English. Overall, we had a great time. I recommend this hotel for both business and leisure.

Reviewed January 08, 2013
8.7
Excellent
ernest from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

convenient hotel with great service”

hotel right across the Hakata station

The hotel rooms were small; however, it is sufficient for a brief stay. The t.v. channels were limited. The room was clean and lightning was good. Because we didn't eat at the hotel, I could not comment about the food or dining. You need to have a check off which will show not applicable.

Reviewed January 04, 2013
6.7
Good
kwok from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

Choose this only if you want convenience.”

Very near to Hakata JR station

Requested for non-smoking but given smoking room The sheets were yellowish, cigarette holes on the comforter. The bed mattress was not comfortable. (Hard) Not as clean as compared to other hotel. No free WIFI even at the lobby compared to other hotel.

Reviewed January 04, 2013
6.0
kwok from Singapore
Group
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

Unpleasant experience ”

Price is quite reasonable.

Clean cleanliness 7/10 The rooms are not as clean as I expected as compared to other hotels in Japan. Hotel service staff 8/10 Staff are helpful. A big minus is the rooms we stayed in are rooms for smokers when we specifically asked for non smoking rooms.

Reviewed December 27, 2012
7.7
Very good
Martin from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

Nice hotel, great location!”

Clean, well kept, and directly across the street from the train station.

The hotel is very clean and well kept. I stayed there the night before flying out do to the fact I had an early a.m flight. The hotel was directly across the street from JR Hakata station. This made it easy for me to get up in the morning and catch a train to the airport, which by the way is only a 5 minute train ride from Hakata station. This is a big big plus! With agoda, my check in and check out was very easy. No long lengthy check in process. Just went in, showed them my agoda confirmation and signed my name on a sheet of paper and i was checked in in less than five minutes. I was checked out in less than two minutes. All around good experience. The only negative I have, was the room was very small, however this is normal in Japan. For me, it got the job done for what I needed. I found it quite cozy myself.

Reviewed December 11, 2012
5.7
Mia from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

So-so hotel”

Strategic place

The stay was okay. The room is clean enough. However, it's too hot inside the room. No controller for the individual room's AC. The room didn't come with the wi-fi, which is mostly common in hotels in Japan. The building (room) is old. For me, sorry to say...the hotel is too expensive.

Reviewed November 25, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Choong from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012

Clean hotel, small room.”

Just opposite Hakata Railway Station

Very convenient if you want to travel by train or bullet train to go to Nagakasi, Hiroshima & Kyushu Island. Tour around Fukuoka using the 100 Yen bus. You can find alot of eating places around Hakata Railway Station.

Reviewed November 20, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Dauchung from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

Great location but small rooms”

location location location

Exit from the eastern main exit of the JR Hakata railway station and the hotel is located at the eastern end of a small square, a white (Sunlife 2) and a black (Sunlife 3) builing connected to one another, after crossing a small street. You get all the conveniences of a big Japanese train station has to offer: buses, trains, subway, shopping, and restaurants.

Reviewed October 31, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Dauchung from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

Ideal for Transit”

Easiest Acess to Hakata RR Station

In the underground restaurant row of Hakata train station, there are at least 50 restaurant choices complete with the true-to-life, colorful, plastic/wax food model displays easy for non-Japanese to order. We had a breakfast set of freshly grilled fish, steamed tofu in a banboo basket, a boiled egg, pickled veggie, miso soup and plain rice, all for 504 yen including taxes. It's the first restaurant on the right as you walk from the hotel. The old lady owner sits at the end of the counter greeting every customer warmly. What an experience!

Reviewed October 31, 2012
7.3
Very good
Ashleigh from Australia
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in September 2012

Good location”

Directly across the road from JR Hakata station. Good eateries around the place.

Helpful staff. The place is a little run down/musty. The bathroom smelled badly. Internet access on a really slow computer for 100 yen/10 minutes. The rooms are a decent size for Japan. I recommend the kaiten (conveyor belt sushi) that is located in the yodobashi across the road. There is also a daisou (105 yen shop) on the top floor of the bus terminal.

Reviewed September 27, 2012
7.0
Very good
Daniel from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012

Generic business hotel next to station”

convenient

Sunlife provides what you expect from a cheap business hotel. The facilities are fine (including a useful washing machine in the building), rooms clean and tight, quiet, convenient. The price is good if you're looking for no hassle. Not a lot of character to this place but it does allow a good night's rest.

Reviewed September 18, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Matthias from Germany
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Good location, very basic”

Location

Well, it's a business hotel, and like all business hotels in Japan, it is incredibly well located - literally in front of the train station - but thats about all there is to say about it. I would say the service is good too, because we accidentally booked a smokers room and they made no fuss assigning us a new room. Also, the pricing seems pretty cheap to me.

Reviewed July 23, 2012
7.0
Very good
HareshGovind from India
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012

Excellent”

Location

Great Area Of Hakata, Very Close to the train station, To the Jr Line, to the subway as well as the bus station and the Bullet train express. You can get anywhere from a 50 meter walk to the hakata station. The Hotel was nice but very small rooms. If you are 6 ft you will have trouble managing. Bathrooms are made for dwarfs not for men.

Reviewed July 11, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Jayson from South Africa
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January 2012

Great Location but small rooms”

Location

We stayed for one night, very close to the subway. The room and bathroom were very small, and the room was either too hot with the heater and too cold without. The room was clean and comfortable, and as hotels in Japan go I would recommend it for it's location alone.

Reviewed January 28, 2012