Book Now: Taj Fisherman's Cove Resort & Spa

Excellent
From 98 reviewsSee what guests said
8.3
/
10

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (98)Booking.com Reviews (404)
8.3
/
10
Excellent
From 98 reviews
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities8.1
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality8.2
Service8.6
Value for money7.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (98)
All room types
Showing 84 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Venkat from Australia
Family with young children
Twin Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Good but not great”
Location, Staff and Food
Reviewed September 28, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Vinay from India
Family with young children
King Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Good service”
Cleanliness. Location. Food
Reviewed September 14, 2015
8.0
Excellent
anupam from India
Family with teens
Superior Room Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Nice property, by the beach.”
lovation, decor, hospitality
By The beach property, nice And comfortable stay.
Reviewed July 04, 2015
8.7
Excellent
leena from India
Couple
Twin Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
fabulous break at Fisherman's Cove”
staff service, beach access and food
excellent! the front desk manager, Ms Khushi was extremely hospitable and accomodating- we reached earlier than the required check in time, tired and sleepy from a long international flight, expecting to wait a few hours before we could unwind. we were assigned a room quite soon and also given an upgrade (as the one available immediately was in a higher category!). Started of the short stay on an extremely positive note-reinforced by the lovely beach and pool followed by an excellent dinner with personalized service by the restaurant manager of the Seagull outlet. All in all, most enjoyable stay and highly recommended break!
Reviewed March 25, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
DHIRAJ from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
lovely quiet resort”
Sea facing cottages; friendly staff; private beach
Very relaxing. We had a seafront cottage. Highly recommended. Great accommodation and fantastic outdoor shower. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would be nice to have another restaurant choice. Good location between busy Chennai and magical Mahabalipuram.
Reviewed March 23, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
SANGHUN from South Korea
Couple
Twin Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Good Place”
Great View, Clean, Kind
It is the best place that I have been in India. The restaurant serve high quality food and good manner. The room is very clean and has nice view. The hotel's landscape architecture also good.
Reviewed March 23, 2015
6.3
Good
Chandana from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
Fisherman's Cove”
Location of cottages, garden, ambience
Reviewed February 19, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Teresa from United States
Solo traveler
King Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Excellent staff!”
Service, spa, food
My daughter was ill with a high fever, etc while we were at Vivanta and the staff were exceedingly helpful and caring. They arranged for a doctor and ensured my daughter was as comfortable as possible given the circumstances. In addition to the exceptional service, the property is lovely, the food very good, and the spa exceptional. I would definitely stay again.
Reviewed February 13, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Rangachari from India
Couple
Superior Room King
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Stay in Taj Vivanta”
Resort layout, Restaurants and service.
Very good.
Reviewed December 19, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Rajan from India
Couple
Superior Room King
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
fishermen cove - taj vivanta ”
Location, Food options , Spa
relaxing, memorable one with vivanta taj, great location, clean beach, excellent service. dont miss to walk upto left extreme boundary, it is a very rare scene of sea water adjoining with back water. almost something similar to baga river. ( mutukadu back water stream) Ideal for short break. family planning to visit mahabalipuram is not a good option. Shell shaped sea view cottages are good. other rooms are normal. Drink options are less. Food is slighlty pricy, beverages are ok. Otherwise the property is little old, yet contemprory. Good to take a brief break.
Reviewed November 20, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Shaleni from Singapore
Family with teens
Deluxe Room Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Resort -Style Living”
The Pool, Huge Rooms and Ambience
It was different to be away from the city and focus on R&R. Extremely resort styled,beach was within walkinh distance
Reviewed October 10, 2014
8.0
Excellent
David from Australia
Couple
Superior Room King
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
NICE WAY TO RELAX”
Staff, location, clean
Our second of three stays in Vivanta establishments on this holiday. Our visit followed immediately on from our stay at the Vivanta by Taj Connemarra Chennai. We stayed 2 nights (19-21st Aug 2014) in superior charm sea view room 214. Great reception when we arrived at the resort. Being a little hot and bothered I found the attention from what seemed like several people at once to be a bit over bearing. However that passed and we were shown to our room. Great view out to the pool and to the Bay of Bengal. Once we were settled in our room we decided to take a look at the property. Luckily we were taken on a buggy ride around property as it is a huge 40 acres. Later that day we were offered high tea in the library. Although there are three restaurants we ate our two evening meals at that the Seagull all day diner. There were ample meal varieties to choose from and the food was good. Our meals cost INR2200 or $AUD45. The pool was large and appeared clean however there was algae around the sides of the pool. This is not good and can be dangerous – it should be corrected as soon as possible. On our departure we received a gift of a carved stone elephant – a nice touch. All the staff are courteous, efficient and have good English. It is hard to compare this resort with the Connemarra as they are situated in totally different environments. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the resort.
Reviewed October 02, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Vivek from India
Family with young children
King Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
staff go the extra mile”
location and shell shaped beachview villas
Excellent, even though the property is dated, the service and guest attention made up completely. The modern wing needs some heart...even though the rooms are contemporary fantastic, lack of activity makes it too cold and needs some warmth...
Reviewed September 10, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Mohammed from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Deluxe Room Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Very very good”
Very very good
Very very good
Reviewed August 03, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Janakbhai from India
Couple
King Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Fantastic location n breakfast”
Beach Breakfast Location
Good one but property old one Price too high good for weekend
Reviewed July 08, 2014
6.3
Good
Akbar from India
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Short and sweet!”
1. Proximity to the beach 2. Beach side restaurant 3. Cottages
Very satisfying and fulfilling. The staff there were extremely friendly and helpful.
Reviewed June 19, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Alex from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior Room King
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
THe Most relaxing place in India”
Location, environment, the people
From the moment you arrive at the Taj its clear its something very special. An Oasis of calm just off the busy East Coast Road. Clean, spacious, good long beach walks, secure, caring. Ive been lots of times and will return many more.
Reviewed May 12, 2014
7.3
Very good
Edith from Netherlands
Group
Superior Room King
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Nice stay in beach resort”
Clean rooms, Close to the beach, English speaking staff
We had a nice stay in the resort. It is fairly close to the tempels of Mahabalipuram (have the hotel call a meter taxi, much more affordable compared to hotel transport). The rooms are kept clean and offer good comfort. Hotel staff is very very friendly and Always willing to help in case of any needs. The beach near the resort was great, clean sand and nice beach chairs to lay down on. One downside is the price of hotel transport. Prices of airport drop off is way overpriced (almost twice as much as some other resorts charge for even better cars).
Reviewed April 27, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Srinivas from India
Family with young children
Superior Room Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Good one!!”
Rooms, beach side, lobby
Reviewed January 06, 2014
6.3
Good
saleh from Kuwait
Couple
King Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
quiet, nice view”
quiet, nice view, good staff
its good to stay close to the ocean but furniture's are old, need to replace and clean.
Reviewed December 25, 2013
7.7
Very good
Sandeep from India
Couple
Sea View Cottage
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
A very good beach hotel”
Location Beach Room
A very good hotel to stay in if u r looking for a beach hotel
Reviewed December 18, 2013
6.0
Alex from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe Room Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
bad experience”
beach
When I left the room I left an ipod after calling hotel to report I was givin a run around for more than a day only to be told it wasn't in my room. This ipod was stolen by member of staff and hotel ate not interested
Reviewed November 15, 2013
6.3
Good
Andrew from United States
Family with young children
Premium Villa
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Great staff and location, old hotel”
Staff, location
The staff were consistently friendly, and excellent with our kids. The beachfront restaurant was also very good - wonderful fresh fish! Our main disappointment was the condition of the hotel. It looks like it has not had any investment in interior or exterior decor for at least a decade. The bathroom in our villa was like something out of the 70s, and the main hotel and the breakfast restaurant were not much better. I expected a Vivanta hotel to be stylish and up-to-date - this hotel was definitely not.
Reviewed October 15, 2013
8.7
Excellent
MADHURI from India
Couple
Twin Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Beautiful hotel, love the location, romantic ”
location, service, view
Perfect! Beautiful location and friendly staff. 24hr check-in check-out would have made the stay even more relaxing!
Reviewed September 26, 2013
8.7
Excellent
SUSHANT from India
Couple
Superior Room Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
It was good...”
Food, Overall Feel, Hospitality
It was a good experience. But should have been little better for the money spent.
Reviewed September 04, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Nitin from India
Business traveler
Superior Room Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Just one word "Relaxing"”
Ocean view, good food, nice clean room
Excellent
Reviewed July 29, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Sasibagavathsingh from India
Couple
Superior Room King
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Good for family”
Pool, beach & hopitality
Reviewed June 05, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
natesh from India
Family with young children
Superior Room King
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
superb....”
clean beach, quiet surrounding & friendly staff
Reviewed May 22, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Isabelle from India
Family with teens
Deluxe Room Garden View
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Nice getaway close to Chennai”
Beach, food and service
Reviewed April 17, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
sathie from South Africa
Couple
Superior Room Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
stay at the Vivanta Taj was an encrdible enperienc”
staff friendly,location on the beach ,cleanliness of the hotel
i would recommend this hotel to anyone who want to get away from the rush and busy streets of Chennai,the beach and the location is soo beautiful and peaceful , it is abt 40 mins away from airport but worth the drive .Absolutely enjoyed my stay thoruoghly!! Thank u for recommending this hotel to me.
Reviewed April 14, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Prabhu from India
Couple
Superior Room King
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Excellent weekend getaway”
Dinning and the private beach
Reviewed April 10, 2013
7.0
Very good
faisal from India
Couple
Twin Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
good but quality of room was not of taj standard”
beautiful garden,nice view and beach
Reviewed April 09, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Ramkumar from India
Family with young children
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Pleasant stay and value for money.”
beach location, excellent rooms with open showers, very friendly staff.
Very pleasant and memorable stay. Would be happy to go there again.
Reviewed March 27, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Santhosh from India
Couple
Superior Room Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Great Location but very little options to choose”
Location, Ambience
Nice place to stay. Little costly. I will give 4 stars.
Reviewed March 08, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Elsa from France
Family with young children
Premium Cottage
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Professional staff, lovely location, lovely food”
Having rolled about for 6 days in mainly disappointing hotels, we really struggled with mosquitoes, despite having brought our electric racket, and therefore had very little sleep. The price we paid was still very steep for a sleepless night, the owners need to recognise this and do more than burn a couple of Mozzie sticks when you arrive. Our main activity was to zap mosquitoes. The music in the indoor restaurant was awful, we had to ask for it to be turned off, it was electronic aggressive rubbish out of keeping with the property and not what you expect to endure after a 5 hour drive on Indian roads. There was loud music on the villa side of the property in the evening, but that didn't last long, and the hundreds of crows do eventually go to sleep after a Hitchockian hour and a half! The food was lovely, even for the children, as usually they end up with limp French fries and pizza, Vivanta really make an effort on the menu and that was greatly appreciated. The breakfast spread is excellent and fast, even in a busy wave. Staff is attentive and professional, our additional bed arrived swiftly, we were offered pineapple by the poolside and the lifeguard on the beach acknowledged our presence immediately. The pool was very pleasant, with a shallow area and a slanted side for smaller babies who can sit and splash around We loved our stay, just the mosquitoes need to be addressed. It isn't hard to use citronella oil, especially in the restaurant and as infusers on sticks on the room, out of the reach of children, or directly rubbed onto the wooden furniture, out of sight
Reviewed March 04, 2013
7.7
Very good
Alex from India
Couple
Superior Room Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Good but not good enough for the money we spent”
good location, and food
receptionist would be even more friendly when receiving guests. we have been asked what time we are going to checkout tomorrow as soon as we entered in our room.
Reviewed February 01, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Karen from United States
Couple
Premium Villa
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013
Lovely Villa with beautiful and quiet location”
Great service , very friendly
Excellent food! Enjoyed eating al fresco in front of Bengal Bay, the only downside was the difficulty of booking at the spa ! I tried booking but was unable to acquire a booking and complained which did the trick.
Reviewed January 22, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Pete from United States
Couple
Premium Villa
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Great Location with private villas”
The villa locations on the beach with a great view.
The weather and service were great. The meal at the Mediteranian Restaurant was one of the best I've had in India
Reviewed January 18, 2013
5.0
Kakul from India
Couple
King Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Nice location but service quality wasn't great”
The campus spread and location
service wasnt good - very laid back hygiene wasn't upto the mark - dirty linen and cushions in the room construction workers on- site and nothing was done to shield them from visitors - found that very uncomfortable
Reviewed January 02, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Dharnendra from India
Couple
Deluxe Room Garden View
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Great room and location”
Service and Ambians
I have been to most of the resorts in chennai but this property byTaj has to be one of the best in its class. Great service, big rooms and perfect relaxing atmosphere. Would love to visit the hotel again.
Reviewed December 19, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Renushree from India
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Great escape from the busy city”
Excellent beach front resort
Ocean front resort with great views, relaxing beaches, wonderful breakfast buffet, extremely friendly staff. North indian dinner entree choices are limited.
Reviewed July 20, 2012
8.0
Excellent
gayathiri from India
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Clean premises but small rooms”
sea gull restuarant food is awesome
The hotel concentrates more on customers who are from foreign countries. We had to wait for 2 hours for a room to get allocated for us. Food is awesome is seagull restuarant.
Reviewed July 19, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Niyi from Australia
Group
Sea View Villa
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Paradise in Chennai”
Excellent customer service, romantic hotel design
We stayed at the bay view cottages, about 15 seconds walk to the Bay of Bengal. The service, room design, Internet connection meals and entertainment exceeded my expectations
Reviewed July 05, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Prasanth from India
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Awesome place for a weekend getaway”
the seafood was awesome though the buffet was costly
the stay was awesomely relaxing. since the stay was for a night could not explore much of the resort except for the private beach they had
Reviewed June 27, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Eiji from Japan
Couple
Sea View Cottage
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Facing the beach, lovely place”
Front of the beach, good staff
The hotel upgraded our room. The new buildin is well designed with bath tub. There is a peaceful palm tree garden in front. You can not swim in the sea but nice to relax by the beach. On Sat hand craft were demonstrating and selling the their lovely work.
Reviewed June 21, 2012
6.7
Good
Gary from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Sea View Cottage
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Beautiful place, shocking service”
Beach BBQ in the evening
An absolutely stunning complex with beautiful rooms and beach setting. This was only let down by particularly inferior customer service at check-in, and dreadful table service in the main restaurant. That said, staff at the poolside bar were wonderful.
Reviewed June 13, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
karthik from India
Business traveler
Premium
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Superb hotel with excellent hospitality...”
The see view from the room is awesome
I had a great time there with my friend it was clean and neet especially the dinner is very good the swimming pool and gym is very good
Reviewed June 01, 2012
6.7
Good
Weerana from Thailand
Family with young children
Sea View Villa
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Nice change”
Food
To came from Chennai, three night here are well relaxing. The food are delicious , grill fish is so yummy ! The room is old and really need to renovation big time. The bed sheet , pillow decor , bathroom make this hotel only 3 star type. But the swing out side the room is great. The swimming pool should only allow bathing suit because some people just jump in with their whole outfit??? Again I will coming back here until I find some where better. I will try the better room next time and will see.
Reviewed May 31, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Rafael from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Rooms, hotel and service excellent”
Service and people friendly staff
Our stay at the resort was nice staff were friendly and always accomodating and the amenities were great.
Reviewed May 02, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Shauna from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Great Location and Great Staff”
An Oasis close to a wonderful UNESCO Heritage site
The hotel is beautifully situated close to Chennai and a short drive from Mallabapuram UNESCO listed site. We have a wonderful experience here which started with our welcome and staff quickly finding a room for our early check in. The staff continued to go out of their way to make our stay comfortable and sought to assist in all respects. The cottage was generously sized with a bathroom and an outdoor shower area. It was well equipped with wonderful bedding and pillows and flat screen tv with cable etc. Wifi available both in the room and around the resort. The beach is spectacular and the resort keeps its area very clean ( which is not the case on other stretches of beach). The pool is very lovely and relaxing with a swim up pool side bar. The hotel has a coffee shop which serves buffet - and two lovely restaurants which only open evenings one on the beach serving sea food and the other above the beach serving mediterranean. Both were very good and my only criticism is that the a la carte was just okay at lunch in the coffee shop ( the only choice for breakfast and lunch).
Reviewed January 30, 2012