Book Now: Tambua Sands Beach Resort

Excellent
From 137 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
Recommended by 91% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (137)Booking.com Reviews (292)
8.2
Excellent
From 137 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.2
Facilities7.9
Location8.3
Room comfort and quality8.1
Service8.6
Value for money8.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Français
日本語
한국어
more
Room type
Garden View Bure
Ocean View Bure
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 110 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Alja from Australia
Family with teens
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 6 nights in March 2017
Very good”
Facilities need renovation, everything else was great.
Reviewed April 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Joanne from Niger
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 7 nights in March 2017
Exceptional”
This was our second stay with Tambua Sands Resort.We discovered this resort a year ago and enjoyed our stay so much that we vowed that we would return , which we did. The vibe of this resort is of chill out at the beach.The setting is great , the staff are freindly and helpful , food is great , bure on the beach - in fact everything we are looking for in a island holiday with out being on an island per-say. We will return.
Reviewed March 12, 2017
7.2
Very good
ilona from New Zealand
Family with young children
Garden View Bure
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Wonderful holiday!”
We had a wonderful 3 nights here recently, the staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was not flashy but it was very comfortable and clean and suited our needs perfectly. The beach was great for exploring and swimming and safe for littlies...lovely pool too. The one downside was the food... it was overpriced and not great and unless you have a vehicle there are no other food options close by. Otherwise i can happily recommend everything else about tambua sands. Vinaka vakalevu for the lovely holiday!
Reviewed October 24, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Cole from United States
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
It was a nice place on the beach in a remote location ”
Pros- on beach, good food, nice rooms Cons- have to pay for wifi, not walking distance to anything
Reviewed October 08, 2016
6.0
Keith from Australia
Group
Garden View Bure
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016
Good n bad”
Not a family resort in that no meal packages food expensive limited to one restaurant most staff excellent Small resort and beachfront bures adequate they are working there at the moment to do improvements which was noisy at times 2.5 -3 star
Reviewed August 28, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Tatyana from New Zealand
Family with young children
Garden View Bure
Stayed 6 nights in July 2016
Holiday Paradise”
Fabulous resort, Wayne and Tui and all the staff are 10/10! Many thanks for the great hospitality and service. The weather could not be better, very comfortable and clean bure. The meals are reasonably priced and delicious. The weather could not be better and we had an awesome time at Tambua Sands. Many thanks again for the fantastic service!
Reviewed August 02, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Charmian from Australia
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Great place to stay!”
Staff were genuinely friendly and accommodating. Whole resort very well maintained. Outlook from beachfront bure lovely.
Reviewed January 26, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Chris from Australia
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 13 nights in November 2015
Relaxing holiday”
Location, food and friendliness
We had a very relaxing time which is what we wanted. We would have probably explored the area a bit more but the 'Fiji system', whereby any tourist attraction is only accessible via tour operators - family relations with the various 'chiefs' - at rip off prices, deterred most of the guests.
Reviewed November 18, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Tova from Australia
Family with teens
Garden View Bure
Stayed 10 nights in August 2015
Tambua ”
Beach staff food
Lovely
Reviewed August 25, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Cherish from Australia
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Amazing place to stay!”
Friendly staff, the food and beautiful views!
Amazing! Everyone was so friendly. We really enjoyed our stay! If your wanted to get your hair braided, I 100% recommend getting it done there! We will be staying there again :)
Reviewed February 09, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Bree from Australia
Family with young children
Garden View Bure
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Paradise on a budget”
Welcoming, comfortable, paradise
We felt at home straight away, the staff were so friendly and welcoming, the beach was perfect for snorkeling, the pool fresh and inviting. The beach was right at our doorstep. Highly reccomend Tambua Sands if you want an authentic Fijian stay in paradise but don't want to spend a fortune.
Reviewed November 27, 2014
3.0
Sae from Japan
Group
Garden View Bure
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Beauftiful beach but Expensive breakfast”
Beautiful beach, quite
The location of the hotel is remote, there isn't much going on around there. Food quality is not very good, particularly for breakfast, they only had few kinds of fruit and a bread, and we had to pay extra for eggs and bacon.Water bottle is about three times more than what a shop offers. The room was not cleaned every day. The ocean is beautiful, but difficult to snorkel due to coral reef.
Reviewed October 07, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
David from New Zealand
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 8 nights in September 2014
Excellent value for money”
Location to beach, room and music
This was excellent stay. We were luckily upgraded from a garden bure to a ocean beach cottage (however garden bure not much further away from beach) probably as we were there from a mid week day for 9 days - most people seem to stay 5-7 days. The resort is the good value for money (as one of the most reasonably priced in Fiji). We could snorkel directly in front of our cottage out to the reef with great coral and fish. It has good double bed, fridge (great) and bathroom with shower which Ok but poor pressure (but normal for Fiji). Good being on the main road to catch local buses (F$2.20 each) to Sigatoka town (tours) for optional meals and supplies. The live music from a great band and extra activities were good.(Kava, frog race, shell snail race etc). Would recommend this to anyone. We meet couples who had gone to off shore islands for a stay and after finding their meals etc and prices a rip off came back to Tambua Sands.
Reviewed September 17, 2014
Bula & Greetings from Tambua Family. Thanking you very much for your feedback and looking forward to see you again. Island Regards
Responded January 21, 2018
Tambua Sands Beach Resort
9.3
Exceptional
Jean from France
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Charming hotel by the white sand beach !”
Great location by the beach with great snorkelling, Great food and friendly staff !
We stayed 3 days at the beginning of our holiday and came back for the last night as we really liked the place. There are about 30 bungalows in total by the white sands beaches! Sea is turquoise with great snorkelling to do ! The hotel is part of the Warwick resort which is located about 15 minutes from Tambua sands. Tambua sands is about 15 km from Sigatoka and 1h from Pacific Harbour. Good stay if you wanna do the Beqa shark diving; the diving center can pick you up in the morning or you can rent your own car (as we did) and drive abou 1 h . Amazing food with our favorite dish Koroko (raw fish in coconut milk) and Mahi Mahi dish ! Great vaue for money. Great staff.
Reviewed September 17, 2014
Bula & Greetings from Fiji Thanking you very much for your feedback and looking forward to see you again. Island Regards
Responded January 21, 2018
Tambua Sands Beach Resort
9.7
Exceptional
Colin from Australia
Solo traveler
Garden View Bure
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
Great value for money at a nice location”
Peace and quiet with simple accomodation, clean and comfortable even if a bit "worn". No TV and no phone - great to unwind
Enabled me to recharge after a very demanding schedule. Would go back again.
Reviewed September 03, 2014
Bula & Greetings from Tambua Family. Thanking you very much for your feedback and looking forward to see you again. Island Regards
Responded January 21, 2018
Tambua Sands Beach Resort
7.3
Very good
Mark from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Garden View Bure
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Pleasant”
Food, beach, garden
Pretty good relaxing time. Nice to relax and unwind there. downside for travellers without car is dependence on local buses etc. Also garden units close to busy rd for anyone who struggles with traffic noise. others nice. Little tired when you look up close but not major
Reviewed August 28, 2014
Bula & Greetings from Tambua Family. Thanking you very much for your feedback and looking forward to see you again. Island Regards
Responded January 21, 2018
Tambua Sands Beach Resort
7.7
Very good
Ross from Australia
Solo traveler
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 5 nights in June 2014
Homely and relaxing”
Located right on the beach, peace and quiet, genuinely friendly staff.
I definitely felt I got the value for money staying here. The bure I was staying in was about 10 metres from the beach, and the fan was enough to keep a very comfortable inside temperature (or at least for June weather, I'm not sure if it would be enough in hotter months). The place is quiet and peaceful; just the sound of waves rolling onto the shore. During my time in Fiji I visited friends at some of the nearby hotels, but Tambua Sands had by far the friendliest staff. They all learned my name by about the second day I was there and they made a real effort to make my stay comfortable.
Reviewed July 01, 2014
Bula & Greetings from Tambua Family. Thanking you very much for your feedback and looking forward to see you again. Island Regards
Responded January 21, 2018
Tambua Sands Beach Resort
8.3
Excellent
Denise from Australia
Solo traveler
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 6 nights in June 2014
relaxing, staff very friendly”
staff friendly, food good, quiet location
My stay at Tambua Sands was good The afternoon receptionist, held housekeeping and restuarant staff were very helpful and friendly.
Reviewed June 25, 2014
Bula & Greetings from Tambua Family. Thanking you very much for your feedback and looking forward to see you again. Island Regards
Responded January 21, 2018
Tambua Sands Beach Resort
8.0
Excellent
maha from Australia
Solo traveler
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 4 nights in May 2014
Relaxing great staff good swiming pool,, ”
Relaxing great staff on the beach
Great stay all staff were friendly snorkeling and kayaking area so it's not for swiming.. Food was good but drinks expensive You can have as much coconut and papaya street from the tress for free , very quite at night so if you want to party it's not for you,,
Reviewed May 18, 2014
Bula & Greetings from Tambua Family. Thanking you very much for your feedback and looking forward to see you again. Island Regards
Responded January 21, 2018
Tambua Sands Beach Resort
7.7
Very good
Wayne from Australia
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 9 nights in May 2014
Very pleasent and relaxing.”
The gardens and beachfront location.
Nice and relaxing. Perfect to escape and relax.
Reviewed May 14, 2014
Bula & Greetings from Tambua Family. Thanking you very much for your feedback and looking forward to see you again. Island Regards
Responded January 21, 2018
Tambua Sands Beach Resort
8.0
Excellent
Peter from Australia
Family with young children
Garden View Bure
Stayed 7 nights in April 2014
very relaxing, quite, friendly atmosphere”
Quite, friendliness, relaxing
very nice, do anything one wanted in their own time, restaurants/bar service hours were good just right for a relaxed lifestyle. Accommodation was good, some minor maintenance is required, especially in the shower areas of bathroom, shower heads need regular cleaning to be effective. Guttering on some roofs need replacing.All in all a good, relaxing time was had.
Reviewed April 22, 2014
Bula & Greetings from Tambua Family. Thanking you very much for your feedback and looking forward to see you again. Island Regards
Responded January 21, 2018
Tambua Sands Beach Resort
5.7
Sheryl from Australia
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Disappointed with meals quality”
only good thing was being near the beach
I was very disappointed as the meals were poor with the fish being very dry and the stir- fry being very dry. On more than one occasion we were not left clean towels when the rooms were serviced, however, dirty towels were collected. Therefore, we had no towels and did not realise until I was in the shower, partner had to run down to reception (a fair distance from the room). Staff were not overly friendly. Overall I was quite disappointed.
Reviewed January 23, 2014
7.3
Very good
Qamar from Canada
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Beautiful place Beautiful people”
Walk onto beach from villa. White sand, nice clean sea water
We enjoyed it and would like to go back someday. Nice clean beach and sea water for swimming.
Reviewed December 16, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Manon from Canada
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 5 nights in October 2013
Extra perfect !”
Beauty and confort
Excellent place for romance, well maintainted hotel, food is extra good you don`t want to eat elsewhere transportation to the city is very easy with city bus or people pick you up for the same price as the city bus. rooms are very pretty and clean, the people at the hotel are very attentive to all guests we were taking a walk and a man came out of his home to thank us for coming to fiji, people are very welcoming.
Reviewed December 04, 2013
7.3
Very good
Wayne from Australia
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 7 nights in October 2013
Nice quiet resort, perfect for couples to relax”
Peaceful, nice rooms, great view.
The resort is perfect for couples who want a quiet escape with no interruptions. The live music at night was lovely, as were the staff. Highly recommended for those seeking to relax.
Reviewed October 24, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Iris from United States
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Honeymoon Upgrade!”
Convenient, Clean, Good meals
Upon our late arrival we were surprisingly upgraded to the honeymoon suite, with our own plunge pool and ocean view- it was awesome! We were told we would only be able to stay there for one night, but ended up staying for both nights. It was a cute and quaint beach hotel, we had a relaxing and fine time, played some ping pong, picked seashells in the morning, and lounged. It rained a day or so, but it was refreshing since we are from a town where it rains often. There were lots of families there, which didn't bother us too much because we have a little one ourselves (but left him home for our honeymoon), so its a good place for kids of all ages. The food was good, we had breakfast included in our stay which made it a good deal, the breakfast was fresh island fruit, cereal, fresh bread butter and jelly, coffee, tea, and juices- it was yummy! the dinners were good as well, no complaints. Our stay was great!
Reviewed October 01, 2013
5.3
Laura from United Kingdom
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 7 nights in August 2013
Very quiet hotel with basic facilities”
Lovely ocean views
We stayed in the beachfront/ocean view cottages. The room was large but not particularly clean - the floor had not been swept so was filthy and the fridge smelt musty. The facilities in the room were basic - poor water pressure in the shower but not the basin tap, no tv, wooden shutters instead of windows, no hand towel, towels large but fairly thin and grey looking. Staff were great, as were the house band. Breakfast was a good continental spread, but otherwise for lunch and dinner the menu was quite limited and food was mostly western. I had the same dish for lunch each day and every single day it was different. There is a kayak you can use slough we didn't. After dinner not much to do so plenty of early nights for us! If you are looking for a cheap mainland option with basic facilities then I would recommend this place. They do have some renovated cottages which look good form the outside but can't comment on the inside.
Reviewed August 24, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Leanne from Australia
Group
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 9 nights in August 2013
Relaxation is what this resort is about”
The Fijian Staff, The Peaceful surroundings. Room Views
Our stay at Tambua sands was great. Avery relaxing Hotel. Nothing was any bother for the staff.I would recommend this Hotel for couples who want to get away and do nothing
Reviewed August 22, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Glenys from Australia
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 8 nights in August 2013
Will be back”
The best things abouf Tambua Sands would be location if Bures, right on the beach, clean, large, comfort rooms and if course the friendly staff.
We stayed twice during our month long holiday. ..both stays were wonderful. Friendly staff, great surroundings, great food, large pool to relax by. Will definitely be back.
Reviewed August 22, 2013
7.3
Very good
Rebecca from United Kingdom
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013
Hotel good for the price but could do with update”
Free kayak hire, welcome drink and music, snorkelling/coral life
Reviewed August 15, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Pauline from Australia
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 6 nights in July 2013
Peaceful. relaxing, great staff”
Location, food, staff
We had a great 6 night stay and enjoyed the friendly, relaxed atmosphere and wonderful staff. Good value with a lovely tropical breakfast each morning and a nice lunch & dinner menu to choose from.
Reviewed August 03, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Sheryl from Australia
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013
Relaxing and beautiful views”
beach views, friendly staff and quiet relaxing vibe
Amazing!! Totally relaxed and staff were amazing!! The beach views are breath taking and we enjoyed every second of the holiday. There was nothing negative about our holiday at all. In fact we loved it so much that we are planning to get married at this resort in the near future
Reviewed August 03, 2013
8.3
Excellent
James from United Kingdom
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 4 nights in March 2013
Relaxing resort on beautiful beach”
Perfect beach location with a lovely pool and very friendly staff.
Lovely place to relax, food good but limited menu. Local snorkelling poor but shark diving near Suva is awesome.
Reviewed July 30, 2013
7.0
Very good
Mike from United Kingdom
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013
Good value but a little tired”
Friendly staff, ocean location, nice grounds
The bures are a bit tired, and the bathrooms in particular are run down. The bures could do with a little investment, but still a great location and, of couyrse, lovely staff.
Reviewed July 29, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Talita from Australia
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
So nice, relaxing and easy”
Easy to book, friendly staff, clean rooms
Only stayed one night but was easy to book last minute, such a nice relaxing place, our garden view bure was actually beachfront. Could occasionally hear trucks or buses on the highway but it wasn't a problem. Breakfast was plain (fruit, toast and cereal) but it was still filling and nice, the fruit was more fresh than we had at Hideaway! The only complaint I would have is that the pillows were too high and hard, you could probably ask for a different pillow but we were only there for one night and I had a travel pillow I used instead.
Reviewed July 18, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Donna from Australia
Family with young children
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 7 nights in June 2013
Very quiet resort all staff were friendly ”
The staff very quiet resort The bures on the beach
It has been a very long time since we have stayed at a resort where all the staff went above and beyond our expectations I think they need to transfer some if the staff from here over to the naviti as there staff on the front desk were appalling
Reviewed July 07, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
David from United States
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
Perfect place to unwind”
Quiet, attentive staff, good food and great location.
Reviewed June 25, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Hoi from Hong Kong
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Great staff! Whole resort feeling like big family!”
Nice staff, nice surrounding, nice service
Reviewed June 18, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Henry from Australia
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013
Clean Room, Great Tasting Dinner, Quiet & Relaxing”
Quiet Beachfront Location, Friendly Staff, Dinner was always satisfying
This resort is along the Queens Highway on the Coral Coast. The location is suited if you are planning to do tours to Nadi or Pacific Harbour as it's in a convenient location. If you want to do some shopping, it's about a 25 minute drive to the nearest town of Sigatoka. Beach is well suited for snorkeling & kayaking, may not be ideal for swimming in my opinion. be aware there are alot of rocky coral on the shore, although this is common in Fiji. If you want a massage, I recommend you to walk 1 minute west of the beach, just outside Tambua Sands is a small hut with blue covers which is where you will sometimes find the local masseuse. She charges $40FJD for full body massage, great value and right on the beach! There are 2 tour desks at Tambua Sands. One is a local tour guide and the 2nd is a commercially operated tours (obviously with more options). The local guide will take you on private type tours. He also can be your taxi at cheaper rates if you need to go somewhere. If you are not comfortable with private tours I recommend to go with to the commercial tour desk. Room - clean and serviced daily. Staff are very friendly. Pool seemed nice at first glance but was covered with floating bugs & insects - we relaxed on sunlounges nearby instead. Dinner menu choices was great and delicious, hats off to the chef! Breakfast (continental) needs improvement but you get what you pay for. Overall I would recommend this resort for couples that want a quiet relaxing place at an affordable price. Be aware of the location to ensure it suits your trip to make this resort worthwhile.
Reviewed June 15, 2013
4.3
MiHee from South Korea
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
so so .”
reasonable price, close to beach, very quiet
many mosquito...but there is no repellents in hotel. terrible food and expensive can't swim in the beach.
Reviewed June 14, 2013
7.3
Very good
Yingxun from Australia
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Private and relaxing environment”
Private, close to ocean and freidly staff
Reviewed June 06, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
peter from Germany
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 5 nights in April 2013
amazing resort with great staff”
room size, gardens
Reviewed May 24, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
peter from Germany
Solo traveler
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 5 nights in April 2013
great location and huge gardens”
the room was great and huge, great friendly staff
Reviewed May 24, 2013
6.0
james from Australia
Solo traveler
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Made for couples”
Beach on doorstep, large spaces between chalets, quiet surrounds.
The resort is 1hr and 20mins from airport, 20mins from Outrigger hotel, which is a must visit. Decent Chalets. Stiff beds, old pillows, no internet in rooms, large rooms & bathroom but old thin stained towels, shower head was busted in my chalet & no hot water. Included breakfast was lame, the continental was a bit better and reasonably priced.
Reviewed May 09, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Lucinda from United Kingdom
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013
Lovely hotel on the beautiful coral coast”
Staff, location to beach, relaxing
Had a great stay here, staff are very kind and helpful. Stayed in one of the beach bungalows, which is definitely worth the extra money. Coral coast is amazing, and the hotel offer free snorkelling equipment. Limited meals available, and quite faraway from shops, so having a car would be best. Great place, would visit again.
Reviewed May 07, 2013
6.3
Good
sheena from United Kingdom
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 5 nights in April 2013
very relaxing stay”
beach pool an quite location
enjoyed our stay but i feel that the staff could make a little more of an effort to make conversation hardly stoke to us
Reviewed April 17, 2013
7.0
Very good
Sarah from United Kingdom
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 5 nights in March 2013
Quiet and relaxing”
Tours, pool, Quiet
Perfect if you want a quiet few days. There is not much within walking distance of the hotel so you do have to heavily rely on the local tours.
Reviewed April 17, 2013
7.0
Very good
MICHAEL from United Kingdom
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
VERY RELAXING AND QUIET”
BEACH FRONT, FRIENDLY STAFF, EVENING MUSIC
Reviewed March 27, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Stephen from United Kingdom
Couple
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 7 nights in January 2013
Very relaxing”
Beach location, quiet environment
ideal for anyone wanting to relax by the beach: reading books, kayaking, swimming in the hotel pool. the hotel is small and friendly.
Reviewed February 19, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Leanne from Australia
Solo traveler
Ocean View Bure
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
Loved Tambua Sands, the staff were great, ”
The beach at your door and a pool as well
Staff were friendly, rooms were clean and serviced every day. Restaurant had a good selection of meals.
Reviewed February 13, 2013