Tassie Backpackers @ The Brunswick Hotel
1 Person in 10-Bed Dormitory - Mixed - Room plan Tassie Backpackers @ The Brunswick Hotel
Lobby Tassie Backpackers @ The Brunswick Hotel
Lobby Tassie Backpackers @ The Brunswick Hotel
See all 25 photos
Removed from saved list
7.2
Very good
/10
(255 reviews)See what guests said
See map
8.9
Excellent
Location rating score
Excellent location - Inside city center
Popular neighborhood
Parking
Available
  • Recycled Recreation Shop70 m
  • Elizabeth Street Mall110 m
  • Paddy Pallin Shop120 m
  • Red Metal Designs150 m
  • Teros160 m
  • Argyle Medical Centre170 m
  • Royal Hobart Hospital180 m
  • Hobart Private Hospital190 m
  • Antiques Market210 m
  • Tasmanian Environment Centre220 m
  • Free Wi-Fi

    Tassie Backpackers @ The Brunswick Hotel

    67 Liverpool St, Hobart TAS, Hobart CBD, Hobart, Australia, 7000 - See map
    "There are many interesting place of interest to visit, places like Mount Wellington, Zoodoo widlife zoo, Richmond Historical Village, etc."
    LOO - September 12, 2016
    Exceptional reputation
    Recommended by 89% of guests
    Very good service
    7.6 rating for service
    • Located in heart of Hobart

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Air conditioning

    • Daily housekeeping

    • Bar

    Property ranking|Compared to 522 Hobart properties
    See all rankings
    Cheapest price score
    Review score - United States
    7.6/10
    Location score
    8.9/10
    Room comfort score
    6.3/10
    Better than
    99
    %
    of Hobart properties
    Better than
    94
    %
    of Hobart properties
    Better than
    92
    %
    of Hobart properties
    Better than
    86
    %
    of Hobart properties
    Value for money7.1
    Location rating8.9
    Nearest airportHobart International Airport (HBA)
    Distance to airport15.2 km

    Rooms available at Tassie Backpackers @ The Brunswick Hotel

    1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    ...
    • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double Ensuite Room
    Double Ensuite Room
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Twin Room
    Standard Twin Room
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Double Room
    Standard Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    1 Person in 10-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    1 Person in 10-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
    1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Triple Ensuite Room
    Triple Ensuite Room
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed and 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • 1 single bed
    Enter dates to see prices

    What people love about Tassie Backpackers @ The Brunswick Hotel

    • 6.0
      Review score
      Location

      "Location is good"

      Wei

      |

      June 7, 2018

    • 6.4
      Good
      Cleanliness

      "The room is quite clean."

      Wai W.

      |

      January 2, 2017

    • 9.6
      Exceptional
      Staff 

      "Ensuite included, lovely staff and awesome pub downstairs."

      Cora

      |

      May 6, 2018

    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Tassie Backpackers @ The Brunswick Hotel

    More about Tassie Backpackers @ The Brunswick Hotel

    8.4
    Excellent

    "It's cheap and the location is great."

    Bo

    |

    January 5, 2019

    An overview

    Show less

    What they offer

    8.8
    Excellent

    "Great WiFi working in the rooms as well."

    Monika

    |

    January 31, 2018

    Read more reviews
    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show more

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Reviews of Tassie Backpackers @ The Brunswick Hotel from real guests

    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    Agoda Reviews (255)Booking.com Reviews (799)
    7.2
    /
    10
    Cleanliness6.5
    Facilities6.5
    Location8.9
    Room comfort and quality6.3
    Service7.6
    Value for money7.1
    Rating
    9+ Exceptional (18)
    8-9 Excellent (36)
    7-8 Very Good (46)
    6-7 Good (34)
    <6 Below Expectation (55)
    Time of the year
    Mar - May (41)
    Jun - Aug (34)
    Sep - Nov (57)
    Dec - Feb (57)
    All languages
    All guests (255)
    All room types

    Show reviews that mention 

    Showing 189 verified guest comments
    12345
    8.4
    Excellent
    Bo from Hong Kong
    Solo traveler
    1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
    Stayed 1 night in December 2018

    Good value for money”

    It's cheap and the location is great. However, the hygiene could be improved (for both bathrooms and kitchen). Still a good value for money, would recommend it to my friends if you are looking for a cheap option.

    Reviewed January 05, 2019

    Dear Guest, Thank you so much for spending the time to write this review. We love hearing from our guests on where we are doing well and where we need improvement. We clean our bathrooms and kitchens daily in the morning but we are sorry that they were not looking the best when you stayed with us. We hope you will stay with us again. Best Wishes, Accommodation Team.

    Responded January 24, 2019
    Tassie Backpackers @ The Brunswick Hotel
    5.2
    Faryn from Taiwan
    Solo traveler
    1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
    Stayed 1 night in February 2019

    Great location. Shit shower. ”

    There was no hot shower in this backpacker and the shower area / kitchen were pretty dirty and messy. The staff was ok but not very helpful. I would recommend people to go for YHA if you are paying the same amount of money, to be honest.

    Reviewed February 17, 2019

    Dear Faryn, We are sorry that the hot water wasn't working properly this is easily fixed by our staff if we are informed as we are a nearly 200 years old we do have some quirks that are easily remedied by our staff. We are sorry that you didn't find our staff helpful we do try our best with every guest that we have. We understand how frustrating it is when other guests don't clean up after them selves and make the common areas messy for everyone else. Thank you for your review you have given us some areas to improve upon. Best Wishes, Accommodation Team.

    Responded March 01, 2019
    Tassie Backpackers @ The Brunswick Hotel
    9.7
    Exceptional
    Daniel from United States
    Solo traveler
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 5 nights in February 2015

    Good Value, clean.”

    Loceation, great staff, clean

    I don't understand the other complaints. The staff was extremely helpful, and given the price, the hostel was very clean and comfortable. I'm not sure what else is there more to expect. The bathrooms are cleaned daily, and you're given clean towels daily. The restaurant/bar downstairs is a real treat.. they have great food, great atmosphere, occasional live music, great people.

    Reviewed March 08, 2015
    8.7
    Excellent
    Violet from Singapore
    Couple
    1 Person in 10-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    Stayed 1 night in June 2014

    Reasonable stay for backpackers ”

    location, reception staff, rooms

    The female dormitory room was quite ok although it was right on top of the bar downstairs so if one is staying there on a Saturday, you'll have to bear with loud music till about midnight. Shared bathrooms were clean. Very easy early/late check in/out, no frills at all!

    Reviewed June 17, 2014
    9.0
    Exceptional
    WONG from Hong Kong
    Solo traveler
    1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    Stayed 1 night in November 2013

    fabulous”

    good location, nice staff, nice room

    The hotel owner is very nice and helpful. Although he doesnt speak english, he is so willing to provide assistance to us. Rooms are widely spaced , very comfortable and it provides a best place to rest after one day exhausting travel.There are also many restaurants nearby and so it is very convenient for tourists.

    Reviewed December 02, 2013
    9.0
    Exceptional
    WONG from Hong Kong
    Solo traveler
    1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    Stayed 1 night in November 2013

    fabulous nature”

    good location, nice room, nice staff

    The hotel owner is very nice and helpful. Although he doesnt speak english, he is so willing to provide assistance to us. Rooms are widely spaced , very comfortable and it provides a best place to rest after one day exhausting travel.There are also many restaurants nearby and so it is very convenient for tourists.

    Reviewed December 02, 2013
    8.8
    Excellent
    Monika from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    Stayed 1 night in January 2018

    Nice stay in Hobart”

    Old fashion hostel. Quite clean, good kitchen facilities, maybe better signs for bathroom would help. Food very expensive though. However supermarket just across the road. Great WiFi working in the rooms as well.

    Reviewed January 31, 2018

    Hi Monika, Thanks for taking time and leaving us such a nice review, we do take pride to give our guests pleasant experience. we"re glad you found our hostel clean and close to everything, we have done a lot of stuff in the hostel recently. Thanks again for your honest and constructive review. Kind Regards Faz

    Responded October 17, 2018
    Tassie Backpackers @ The Brunswick Hotel
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Suzanne from Australia
    Couple
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 1 night in November 2017

    great budget option”

    A really pleasant stay. Perfect central location and welcoming professional staff. A little worn around the edges and there were moments where other patrons were a bit noisy in the night (nothing major they became quiet fairly quickly and it didn't impact on my sleep) all of this is pretty normal for backpackers places. Clean room and facilities, friendly services and absolutely awesome food available at the Brunswick hotel downstairs. If you want well priced, great location and go into it recognising that this is a backpackers you wont find a better option. We ended up staying an extra night :)

    Reviewed November 17, 2017

    Hi Suzanne, Thanks for staying with us and leaving us such a nice review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Thanks again Kind Regards Faz

    Responded October 17, 2018
    Tassie Backpackers @ The Brunswick Hotel
    8.8
    Excellent
    Polly from Australia
    Solo traveler
    1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    Stayed 4 nights in December 2016

    no pillow and smelly sheet ”

    due to my delay flight I arrive only at the midnight, a very friendly pub lady help me to get my key. however when I get to my room, I found that my bed has no pillow and the sheet has a strange smell like they haven't change it from the last guest. it was too late and I have no one could ask, so I just get the pillow myself from the cabin........and sleep with that smelly sheet

    Reviewed December 14, 2016
    6.4
    Good
    xu from China
    Solo traveler
    1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    Stayed 2 nights in September 2016

    Not good”

    Outside is really noise. I can't sleepy all night and so tired regret ! faclity old. Choas and dirty Espesally kitchen! Good things. Nearby CBD have a good loaction. Behead is woolworth you can buy something easily.

    Reviewed December 11, 2016
    6.8
    Good
    Xiaomin from China
    Solo traveler
    1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
    Stayed 1 night in March 2015

    good location; staffs are helpful”

    good location; room is not very big (we order three ppl bedroom but after we put in our luggages,not much space left in the room); shared bathroom is okay, quite clean actually in terms of a shared bathroom. staffs are helpful, providing a lot of travelling info.

    Reviewed March 06, 2016
    8.7
    Excellent
    Wilfred from Singapore
    Couple
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in February 2016

    My stay in Hobart”

    Clean, good location, centralise.

    My double bed room was great. It has its own washing basin, very clean bright rooms with great location. Superd if there are some hook for handing towels and clothing on the wall. Overall i like this place.

    Reviewed February 28, 2016
    7.3
    Very good
    Tony from Taiwan
    Group
    Triple Ensuite Room
    Stayed 4 nights in November 2015

    Nice place, great location”

    Good location (close to Woolworths and some recommend cafes also shopping places), great staff (was nice and helpful) and comfy rooms.

    I stayed in a tripe room, which its for three people, my friends and I enjoyed the stay, the room is comfy with air-con, and provide towers and tea/coffee, also a fridge to store ur food, overall I think the room is great. And the location is good, close to every where in the city, the only thing I think it's a bit not useful is the internet over there, I think we have to share the Internet with all the people there, so it's really slow, so I end up using my own mobile data, besides that all its good.

    Reviewed November 24, 2015
    7.7
    Very good
    Yuk from Hong Kong
    Group
    Double Ensuite Room
    Stayed 1 night in July 2014

    Ballball ”

    pub, location, historical building

    Although it is a historical building, it looks shabby. It is hard for us to carry our luggage upstairs as there is no lift. Heater is not warm enough and the smoke detector is too sensitive in the room we stayed. The alarm was activated by the stream from shower. It caused us to pause from taking shower.

    Reviewed May 08, 2015
    2.7
    Charles from United States
    Solo traveler
    Double Ensuite Room
    Stayed 6 nights in February 2015

    Don't stay here!”

    Shared toilet + shower were filthy- smelly, dirty clothes. Rooms are tiny with dirty floors + walls. Bed old and soft- woke up with broken back. Staff act like they are doing you a big favor just to give you a room...

    Reviewed March 07, 2015
    8.3
    Excellent
    Shu from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    1 Person in 10-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    Stayed 7 nights in December 2014

    Simple”

    Great bed spacing even in 10-bed dorm, friendly staff, great location

    It is a simple and nice backpacker in a great location. Met lots of friendly backpackers and staff there. A few comments though: the kitchen is often messy and cluttered with dirty dishes. But this is probably due to the backpackers themselves rather than the hostel. Also, public access from the Laneway Bar feels a little dodgy. Maybe make the doors accessible from the laneway locked (and can be unlocked using guests' keys)?

    Reviewed December 18, 2014
    8.3
    Excellent
    SuJin from South Korea
    Solo traveler
    1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
    Stayed 2 nights in January 2014

    Good”

    Friendly staff, good location, a lot of travel information

    Staff there was really friendly. Though I asked a lot of questions, he answered with smile. But the number of staff was not enough. They had to take care of checking in and out, and served at the bar. It has great location. The bus stop from and to the airport was nearby, and it is located in the center. Tasmania is so small that we could walk anywhere in the city. (친절한 직원, 좋은 위치-공항에서 올때 바로 앞에서 내리고, 갈 때 조금만 걸으면 됐음. 시내에 위치해 있어 어디든 갈 수 있음. 한인교회 바로 뒤쪽에 있음)

    Reviewed October 17, 2014
    6.7
    Good
    farah from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    1 Person in 10-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    Stayed 1 night in October 2014

    mediocre place to stay”

    location, good value and live band entertainment

    standard for any backpackers' hostel. NO hot water during the first day of my stay which was terrible. Staff is not so friendly and appear uninterested. No filtered drinking water for guests. however, downstairs get quite lively in the evening with the live band performance. Location is easy to find and close to city attractions in Hobart.

    Reviewed October 09, 2014
    8.3
    Excellent
    david from Australia
    Solo traveler
    1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    Stayed 1 night in June 2014

    Convient &cheap ”

    Price, staff & position

    The hotel was clean, the showers hot!, bed wasn't ready when I arrived... Seen to straight away and offered a complimentary drink whilst waiting. If you don't mind a bit of noise when going to bed before midnight! Then fine, would use again

    Reviewed June 23, 2014
    8.7
    Excellent
    Sylvia from New Zealand
    Business traveler
    Standard Twin Room
    Stayed 5 nights in May 2014

    Loved how central it was! Beautiful bar area!”

    Central, cheap!!, and I love love love how we (in room 20) had our own bathroom for the floor!!! Felt like home, not like camp styled bathrooms that most back packers had!

    I loved the staff, loved the location, loved the facilities and the outdoor back/side area with the kitchen and that was awesome! Too bad it was too cold to enjoy it! Haha. I loved the fact that we had a proper bathroom, didn't have to go running around to find a toilet! My only two concerns was the shower, should really have some regular cleaning as the actual shower cubical itself was very scummy.. But for the price we paid I loved the stay! I think all the hostel really needs is a fresh lick of paint! But over all a wonderful stay would definitely recommend :)

    Reviewed June 02, 2014
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    Tassie Backpackers @ The Brunswick Hotel
    |Very good 7.2
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Excellent location
    • Farm Gate Market