Excellent 8.6
Based on 32 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 32 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Room comfort and quality 8.5
  • Service 9.1
  • Value for money 8.8
  • Food and dining 8.3
Sort by

Jane from United Kingdom
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed one night in November 2014
Charming ryokan with excellent host
Personal, characterful, comfortable
We loved this ryokan. It feels like the real thing. It's in a quiet and pleasant part of town, walkable from the station alongside the river, and within walking distance of the castle (main attraction in Matsue) and town centre. The host, who speaks some English, is very welcoming and thoughtful; our tatami room spacious and pleasant, though the bathroom was downstairs (washing facilities and toilet by room). We were worried that it was by the railway tracks but we did not hear any trains at night.
Reviewed December 01, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

PHILIP from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Enjoyable stay
Enjoyed staying in a typical Japanese style room, excellent Japanese breakfast, walking distance from station and sunset view.
Reviewed October 29, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Choi from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed one night in September 2014
Pleasant stay
Clean , friendly, comfortable.
The owners are a friendly couple. Our stay was a pleasant and location wise, not too far from station.
Reviewed September 09, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Thomas from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Traditional Japanese style
Friendly, close to sights, traditional
If you go to Matsue, I would highly recommend staying in this hotel, especially if you want to stay in a traditional style room in a family run place that seems popular with the natives. The room was a traditional Japanese style one and I found it very comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The place was clean and tidy. Although the hotel is close to a train line, any noise from it did not disturb me. At first I was a little apprehensive to find that my room door had no lock on the outside, however I felt my belongings were going to be perfectly secure and they were (even with my laptop left on the table when I went out).
Reviewed August 24, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Mark from Australia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Warm welcoming ryokan .
Family who ran it and simplicity
Old style ryokan close to station. Situated between canal and shrine and serviced by charming older couple who cater for families.
Reviewed June 27, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

John from United States
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Great traditional Japanese inn at low price
great price, near the lake, easy to find
I had a great time staying at this ryokan. The couple who run it were very friendly and helpful. It is near a big lake and not far from Matsue station -- just follow the train tracks. They gave me breakfast in the morning and offered me brochures about the places I wanted to visit. I'd definitely stay there again.
Reviewed July 20, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Manuel from Spain
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Un lugar entrañable
el personal,la habitación,el precio.
se trata de un alojamiento tradicional japonés en toda la regla, un Ryokan modesto pero que cumple con todas las espectativas para un viajero experimentado. los dueños nos hicieron un pequeño desayuno que no estaba incluido en el precio, una demostración de la ceremonia del té y luego tuvimos una sobremesa matinal en su cocina en la que a pesar se las dificultades en la comunicación nos reímos batante.
Reviewed April 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Margot from France
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed one night in August 2016
Personnel chalheureux et belle déco
Bien situé, beau, acceuillant.
Reviewed August 06, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Marie-Cécilia from France
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Auberge traditionnelle japonaise
Bien conforme à la description
Reviewed March 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Pascal from France
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed one night in May 2013
Difficile: chambre s voie ferrée
Salle de bains et toilettes communes douteuses
Comme je l'ai indiqué le Ryokan est à quelques métres d'une ferrée, à fort trafic.
Reviewed June 03, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: