Excellent 8.3
Based on 332 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 332 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 8.5
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food and dining 8.1
Sort by

Shahirah from Singapore
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
its not a resort
its good location to galle fort, nearby to mirissa for whale watching, walking distance to beach. the pool is clean and nice to swim in
It was average. The towels given to us were torn. The toilet door is see through. The breakfast that packed for us for our whale watching to mirrisa was so cold.
Reviewed March 14, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Charles from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Spotlessless clean hotel in the jungle. How do they do it? With remarkable staff.
We were so pleased to find this jungle oasis after touring for one month frough SL. Each room (we peaked) is uniquily different, but they each have mosquito netting, are spotlessly clean, and have a view and/or deck. The pool is a unique shape that allows 6 or 8 groups to have privacy while swimming. The food is very good and every night we checked the chalkboard to note the special of the evening. This is a very attentive and person al staff. We came to know and enjoy conversing with Siri, the head maitre d' who teaches hoteliering as well. The hotel's motto seems to be "if you are happy, then we are happy." They go out of their way to make your time at Thambapanni unique but they do it in a nonaggressive and even casual way. Wonderful skills! We took advantage of every aspect of Thambapanni. The ayuvedic treatments are individualized. While my wife went for massages with S, who has the best hands in SL I am told. I went for a more traditional workup with the doctor himself who worked on previous issues. The books say Unawatuna is too crowded and is touristy, but that is if one stays on the closest beaches to the highway. Venture into the jungle section of Unawatuna and you will see why people come back again and again just as we will.
Reviewed March 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

amanda from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
5 minutes from the beach in a beatiful garden
hotel cleanliness, location, staff
I had a fantastic stay at Thambapanni Retreat. The staff was very professional and knowledgeable and helped me with all my questions and requests. The hotel rates itself 5 stars, please be aware this will not be like a 5-star hotel in the west but you will be sure to enjoy the accommodations. I liked that the hotel was not on the beach but only a 5 minute walk away. It was quiet and once inside the fence it was as if you were walking through the garden of eden with a small pool, beautiful trees, flowers and birds chirping. They have an Ayurvedic doctor on hand who offers traditional treatments for a reasonable price and he was great! He also offers a daily yoga class from 8-9AM (except Saturdays) for around $6 in a beautiful open-aired roof studio on the second floor of the hotel. I needed a driver to take me to 3 additional cities and I booked him through Thambapanni for a very reasonable price. My driver, Suresh, was professional and knowledgeable of the areas we went to. I asked for a more local experience and he would stop sometimes during our drive and pick up fruit from stands along the road so I could try fruits that I didn't have back home. Overall a great experience and I would recommend this hotel with pleasure. Even though the price was a bit higher than some other hotels in the area, it was worth every penny! Thank you Thambapanni for a wonderful time!
Reviewed February 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Stephen from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016
A lovely spot
Thambapanni Retreat is an island of peace hidden away off the bustling road into Unawatune Beach with its restaurants and shops. The rooms are generous, many looking out into the canopy of trees which give the sense that the Retreat is set entirely in rainforest. I had a nasty fall in the shower while staying at the Retreat, and the staff sent me to hospital immediately for an X-ray to check I had not broken any bones, and they looked after me with great care for the whole of the rest of my stay. Thank you for your concern!
Reviewed February 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Stephen from Canada
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed one night in January 2016
Beautiful location with amazing staff
Location, Nature and tranquility in the perfect location.
We loved our stay and the staff at Thambapanni Retreat. I recommend taking a Superior room at the minimum due to some minor maintenance issues and to not have people smoking outside of your room. Superior and Tower suites are up in the treetops with the birds and monkeys. .. beautiful to hear the birds jn the morning. The spa and pool were exceptional. Beautifully decorated boutique hotel. All the best restaurants in Unawatuna are a pleasant beach walk away. We didn't have a chance to sample the hotel restaurant but will be back! Truly a positive experience!
Reviewed February 02, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Andrew from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed one night in January 2016
Poor Quality Room
The buffet food was good. The management team did respond to problems raised
Our room (no19)smelt and felt damp, the air conditioning was not working properly so the room did not cool down. We had to ask for a bed net to be fitted as the mosquitos were prolific. However my brother's room in the main building of the hotel was good, I wished I had asked to move room. The hotel was difficult to access by our tour driver, single lane road which was extremely busy. On the positive side the food was good and reasonably priced and the staff were polite and helpful.
Reviewed January 14, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Frederick from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 8 nights in December 2015
A Fantastic Oasis
Staff absolutely fantastic, Attention to detail, Value for money
From arrival to departure our stay was excellent, 8 days in an 'Oasis' the staff were exceptional, only 17 rooms. Some rooms a bit farther to walk too. Food both at breakfast and evening was good, with choice of both western and local dishes, which we thought reasonably priced All area's are kept clean and tidy. The staff especially 'Iresha' who helped us sort out a serious issue with a previous tour operator (not connected to this hotel) We would not only recommend but like one day to return. Outside the hotel area is busy, busy, noise & traffic. None of which affects you in the hotel. Well done to everyone for making our Christmas and New Year a relaxing holiday.
Reviewed January 02, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Tuija from Finland
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Great value for money
Location, swimming pool and location
Reviewed December 29, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Neil from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Superior Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
Boutique Hotel Near The Sea
Room comfort Pool Ayurvedic Spa and doctor
My wife, daughter and I stayed for 5 nights at this boutique hotel for 5 nights over Christmas 2015. It is located and the end of a quiet cul-de-sac towards the western end of the beach at Unawatuna. Birds, squirrels and monkeys abound in the heavily vegetated premises which is set into the base of a small mountain. The swimming pool is partially shaded shaded by trees and shrubs which is welcome protection from the Sri Lankan sun. A lovely sheltered beach about 5-10 minutes walk away where there are many beach restaurants and small waves which are ideal for family fun. We stayed in a superior room which was beautifully appointed and had a great bathroom. The beds were really comfortable for all three of us. The aspect of this hotel that sets it apart from similar establishments is the willingness of the staff to meet all requests not matter how trivial they may seem. From the maintenance and housekeeping staff all the way up to the general manager, everyone works really hard to to ensure that guest wishes are met. The staff maintain a good visible presence, are incredibly friendly, but never imposing The spa and in-house ayurvedic doctor were fantastic for yoga and body massages helping my wife and I to ensure that we had a relaxing stay. The restaurant served beautiful food and I thoroughly recommend the authentic and delicious Sri Lankan breakfast which I had nearly every day while I stayed. The only improvement that I would suggest would be to have a kids’ menu for lunch and dinner or maybe even consider half portion servings. I would recommend, without reservation, a stay at the Thambapanni Retreat if you want a relaxing family holiday very near the sea, but not on the beach. We are already looking forward to our next visit.
Reviewed December 27, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Neil from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 7 nights in November 2015
Great place. Great team. Great 7 days
Restaurant. Had great food. Really recommend it.
Really relaxing with attentive staff. Great food and we'll looked after. Thank you.
Reviewed December 11, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: