Excellent 8.1
Based on 397 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 397 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Room comfort and quality 8.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food and dining 7.8
Sort by

Susan from New Zealand
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Pleasant stay in a lovely area.
its fabulous beach location, friendly helpful staff, shopping in the immediate surrounds.
We really enjoyed our stay, the staff were friendly and accommodating at the front desk and breakfast restaurant, service in the beach/restaurant area could have been a bit more attentive. Would have been happy to stay for a few more days. Inadequate aircon and a fan that was obstructed by the mossi net made for a bit of an uncomfortable sleep, but the bed was comfortable. Could have been a bit cleaner. Overall though a pleasant stay and I would stay here again, and recommend to others if they checked out the aircon.
Reviewed September 03, 2015

Sarika from Sri Lanka
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Incompetant staff, who messed up our booking
Clean room with tea/coffee, AC, Hot water, Safe, mini fridge, TV.
We arrived at the hotel at 5pm to be told that they didn't have rooms and tried to move us to their sister hotel, Thambapani retreat which is further down the street and inland. When asked why they didn't inform us earlier, we were told that they couldn't find our number on Agoda!!We insisted that we wanted a beach view room as was booked for and already paid. After much confusion, they gave us a superior deluxe but on the ground floor, although we had booked for one with a balcony. The other guest who was with us who booked a deluxe room, was asked to stay in the other hotel down the road and after much argument, the staff suggested making our superior deluxe a triple for one night only as there would be rooms the following day. Apart from that they had the audacity to charge the other guest US$30 for making our superior deluxe a triple....which we didn't have a choice but to do. We suggest Agoda looks into this matter, as we didn't get what we paid for. And looking at previous reviews this seemed to have happened before as well. At the end of it, it took 4 "managers" to sort the problem out. We never got an apology or offered any form of compensation. The owner of the hotel who was there, didn't even bother to get involved. Very disappointing experience.
Reviewed August 18, 2015

Scott from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Great stay
Incredible location, staff and rooms
Amazing stay here. Beautiful waterfront location and great evening ambiance at dinner.
Reviewed August 17, 2015

Andrew from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
A great beach hotel with helpful staff
friendly staff comfortable room good dining
I have eaten here in the past but never stayed.We were greeted warmly and always asked if everything was ok.The food in the restaurant was very well presented and excellent value. The room was clean and spacious with a tv bathroom and balcony.The beachside area was clean and you could get onto the sand in seconds from your room. I would definitely stay again.
Reviewed August 16, 2015

Trihan from Sri Lanka
Family with young children
Penthouse Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Great place
Great place, great food, great service
Reviewed July 23, 2015

Max from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Sri Lanka. Adventure
Superb location, great food and comfortable rooms although the cost was pensive for a 3 stars hotel.
It was a great stay, no issues, wifi was slow when everyone is signed in , food was good although portions are not huge. Fabulous location b the beach, great music and good service but no pool.
Reviewed July 13, 2015

Yasser from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Best hotel in Sri Lanka
Staff food location
Reviewed April 07, 2015

Melaynie from United Kingdom
Couple
Penthouse Suite
Stayed 5 nights in February 2015
An OK Hotel
Location. Food. Hotel driver.
The food was excellent if a little overpriced. The hotel is a little shabby and in need of refurbishment, which should have been reflected in the price. The bed was beautifully made and decorated every day with fresh flowers, but the room itself was a little grubby and the shower just a trickle, which we did report. The Hotel organise trips, but at a cost, it is better to organise them yourself. The hotel was not happy with us paying the bill by card which meant we were at the mercy of the Hotel´s exchange rate. Having said all this, overall we enjoyed our stay in Unawatuna very much but would not return to this Hotel.
Reviewed April 02, 2015

Kristoffer from Norway
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Excellent
Location, service, value for money
We had an excellent 3-nights stay. Location superb, so is the level of service. Clean rooms. Slow wifi, but spend your time on the beach instead.
Reviewed March 16, 2015

Kanchana from Sri Lanka
Family with young children
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Beautiful location & excellent service
Great food, helpful staff, lovely place
Reviewed February 25, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: