Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
See all 60 photos
Standard Double Room Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Standard Double Room
See all 60 photos
Lobby Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Lobby
See all 60 photos
Lobby Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Lobby
See all 60 photos
Interior view Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Interior view
See all 60 photos
See map Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
See map
Location
Very good
7.7
See all 60 photos Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
See all 60 photos
Removed from saved list
2017

Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Very good location
Have a question for Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa?
Excellent
From 330 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
  • Airport transfer

  • Private beach

  • Currency exchange

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms

Room choices
8.8
Excellent
Room comfort & quality
Deluxe Double Room
Deluxe Double Room
...
  • Ocean view
  • 88 m²/947 ft²
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Double Room
Standard Double Room
...
  • Ocean view
  • 72 m²/775 ft²
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Two - Bedroom Suite
Two - Bedroom Suite
...
  • Partial ocean view
  • 88 m²/947 ft²
  • 2 king beds
Enter dates to see prices
Basic Suite
Basic Suite
...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Have a question for Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa?
    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

    More about Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

    An overview

    Show more

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What they offer

    Show less

    Guest policies

    Show more

    Some helpful facts

    Show more

    Real reviews from real guests

    Agoda Reviews (330)Booking.com Reviews (374)
    8.2
    Excellent
    Cleanliness8.4
    Facilities7.3
    Location7.7
    Room comfort and quality8.8
    Service8.7
    Value for money7.8
    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    Filter guest comments by:
    Language
    English
    简体中文
    Dansk
    Deutsch
    more
    Room type
    Standard Double Room
    Two - Bedroom Suite
    Deluxe Double Room
    Search reviews
    Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
    Showing 303 verified guest comments
    12345
    6.0
    Constantin from United Kingdom
    Family with young children
    Deluxe Double Room
    Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
    Trying hard but nowhere there”
    I booked a "Double Room Deluxe" which was advertised as having 88 sq.m. and a wide view to the ocean. 1) the room had at most 35 sq.m. - if also counting the bathroom. Without the bathroom it had around 20-25 sq.m. 2) there was no view to the ocean 3) the wifi only works in the early morning when nobody is using it. In the hours when you'd actually want it, the whole hotel is offline 4) the hotel cannot control its guests: one night there was a locals' party with bass music until 1 a.m. followed by drunken laughing by the poolside until 4 a.m. All of these might be ok for an another price, but for the asking price these are unacceptable.
    Reviewed May 04, 2018
    8.0
    karen from Sri Lanka
    Family with young children
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
    Excellent pool”
    sea water pool fab - overpriced restaurant and bar but good local alternatives good
    Reviewed May 02, 2018
    8.0
    Keith from United Kingdom
    Couple
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
    Ideal Recovery Location”
    I always try to have a couple of days to recover after a long flight and many hours to get to my destination. We had decided to settle first near Galle and although we didn't realise this hotel was a few kms from the city it didn't matter. The arrival was a warm greeting and easy. The room was very comfortable and well proportioned with a view of the sea over roof tops. For us all we really wanted was somewhere to gather ourselves in comfort and this place suited our needs perfectly, friendly staff, nice grounds, big pool, good food. The hotel arranged a car for us on our second day to take us to Galle and the driver showed us the sights, was very helpful and charming. In retrospect I think I might have chosen to stay actually in Galle as the hotel is out of the way a bit but for the 2 days we had there it was ideal.
    Reviewed April 29, 2018
    8.8
    Aditya from India
    Couple
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
    Excellent Staff.”
    Everything is excellent, just that it's not located on the beach, it's has a lovely swimming pool though. if you want to go to the beach it's a 10-15 mins walk. They has another property Thoproban Beach house is guess, it has excellent location, and love beach restaurant, but no pool. we had our dinner there. Best staff in Unawatuna.
    Reviewed April 18, 2018
    Dear Aditya, Thank you for your review, We are pleased to read your comments and appreciate your rating of 8.8 for the hotel. Our location is away from the main beach like you said 10 - 15 minute short walk, which is actually a good thing as our guests are in a complete privacy location away from the hustle and bustle of the main beach :) Our swimming pool is a eye catcher and our guests enjoy it very much. We hope to welcome you back to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa in the future. Thank you, The Management.
    Show more
    Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
    8.8
    Syed from Singapore
    Group
    Two - Bedroom Suite
    Stayed 1 night in March 2018
    Excellent”
    all is okay, just that we request for room with ocean view. All is fully booked, so ours do not have the view
    Reviewed March 17, 2018
    Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, The two bed room suites usually doesn't have a sea view to the room, only the double rooms have. We appreciate your comment and the time spent on recommending our hotel. Thank you, The management.
    Responded April 22, 2018
    Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
    6.4
    Wendy from United States
    Family with teens
    Deluxe Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
    Misleading pictures re: beach”
    Hotel was sandwiched into small area with no beach although pictures made it seem to have a great beach. Poor exercise room for hotel of this quality. Breakfast average, nothing to rave about. Unawatuna was too busy and crowded, a poor choice for us.
    Reviewed February 19, 2018
    Dear Wendy, I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience with us. We like to specify that our beac area is a very private beach area as specifically shown on the hotel pictures, no outsiders can walk in to our beach side, only hotel guests, if you wish to go to the main beach its a 10 minute walk through the village road. Everyday we try to make our product better by improving our areas which needs improvement. You are valuable to us and we would love to have the chance to keep you among our most valued customers.
    Show more
    Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
    8.0
    Thomas from Sri Lanka
    Couple
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 1 night in February 2018
    Spacious room and silent place”
    We stayed only one night there, but have been impressed by the spacious room and the nice view direct to the ocean.
    Reviewed February 08, 2018
    4.0
    Serene from Singapore
    Couple
    King Room with Sea View
    Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
    Dreadful NYE stay and definitely not worth USD240 per night that we paid”
    We expected room rates to be higher for NYE but this was a ripoff. Pictures looked good online but felt like we were sleeping in a dusty construction site. Most decent hotels would at least highlight the construction to guests before booking. I'm allergic to dust and wouldn't have booked this. - Room was recently completed and was extremely dusty - ongoing construction in the hotel, so there was a wave of bad odor from the site every time we opened our door - floor was coated with some layer of residue / oil from disinfectant / chemical so there were prints when we walked around the room and bottom of bedroom slippers turned brown. The white bathroom floor also turned brown when wet. - Despite asking for the room to be cleaned thoroughly, it remained very dirty throughout our 2 night stay - bathroom had construction dust on the towel racks, walls, glass divider, etc so towels became dusty - to top it all, there was no phone in the room to call for assistance!!
    Reviewed January 31, 2018
    We are sad to hear the hotel did not work for you. Yes we had construction occurring in our new wing however all this is now complete, due to bad weather in the country during September / October 2017 our targeted date was dragged further and due to this we had this issue, However the hotel is fully operational now with 0% construction. Again, everyone here is working hard to deliver seamless interactions. For having failed you we are very sorry.
    Show more
    Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
    10.0
    Shreya from Singapore
    Group
    Deluxe Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
    Great Hotel!”
    The Manager, Menaka, took very good care of us and made sure things were in place for each person staying at the hotel. Great food, location and very friendly staff. Thank you for a great time!
    Reviewed January 30, 2018
    Dear guest Greetings from Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your time while staying with us and were impressed with the superstar service that we provide. Your kind review will be shared to the entire team to motivate them always giving an excellent service to all of guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for more cosmic experiences with Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa. Kind regards The Management Team
    Show more
    Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
    6.0
    anish from United Arab Emirates
    Family with young children
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
    hotel stay at galle”
    This was the second hotel we stayed while we were in Sri Lanka...only location and few staff was Good.. rooms were seriously not great as expected n not worth the money we paid... the room we selected was a normal deluxe room... when we entered that room... it was full of mosquitos.. even the flush was not working properly.... we lodged our complaint n asked whether they have a better room... we are ready to pay.. day gave us but it was also not so great... only the view from the room was superb.. there are many points that was ignored or not taken care by them ... we didn't expected a hotel to be so bad in spite paying a good amount just like a 4* or 5* property.... few staff were good...not forgetting MS. Noor.. the assistant manager n one more staff were gems in the hotel.. finally after complaining on the last day.... they only took the room charges and waived the upgraded one.... bt we would suggest that they should really work on their property n services they provid
    Reviewed January 24, 2018
    I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience with us. We are renovating our rooms during May / June 2018 and all our areas to improve will be newly renovated. As you mentioned are working on the property and making it the best hotel in Unawatuna. We realize you have options and would like to have a second chance to show you what we are capable of doing.
    Show more
    Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
    9.2
    Anette from Finland
    Group
    Queen Room with Sea View
    Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
    Beautiful hotel”
    Beautiful hotel and location. Staff very qualified and food good for a hotel. Hood to understand that part of the hotel is beibg constructed but this didnt bother us at all.
    Reviewed January 06, 2018
    3.2
    RAJIV from India
    Family with young children
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
    Awful experience, just avoid”
    Stayed from 21st to 25th Dec 2017. Had an awful experience. Bathroom shower didn't work after 1st day, we had to take our showers outside the hotel as the Hotel guys won't attend to it or change our room wince they claimed fully booked. Breakfast was really bad with eggs arriving in 45 mins and water in 60 mins. Ordered Pasta for lunch and it was saddest pasts ever. Christmas Gala dinner was forced on us because Agoda mandated purchase of expensive dinner. They didn't offer even a bottle of water, let alone Beer. Entire spread was tasteless, badly cooked, served in suffocating Non AC dining room. Most of us went back to rooms without eating. Will never recommend this to anyone. Avoid if you can
    Reviewed January 01, 2018
    Dear Guest, We are sad to hear things did not go as expected. The whole of Unawatuna had a water cut on the day you experienced this issue, there was a water cut without any prior notice as there was a urgent repair, the issue was sorted within 2 hours. I have taken up your comments with our Team including with the Executive Chef involved and would like to inform you that this kind of problem usually does not happen with us , but will assure you that his does not arise in the future. It is our constant endeavor to serve our guests to the best of their satisfaction and I am totally disappointed to see that we did not meet to your expectations. I do hope this will not deter you from coming back to The Thaproban Pavillion Hotel in the near future where we can have the pleasure of serving you once again.
    Show more
    Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
    4.0
    PRITHA from India
    Family with young children
    Two - Bedroom Suite
    Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
    Dirty hotel and construction going on with loud noise ”
    Hotel room and food was way way way overpriced for this level of cleanliness and staff were slow and construction work so noisy. I can’t believe we paid this much for this kind of room - the bathroom was dirty, towels not replaced, housekeeping slow, breakfast selection very average and food was over priced - I will never stay again and in fact complained to the manager but not much was done
    Reviewed December 31, 2017
    Dear Guest, We had construction going on in December 2017 and we are proud to announce that all constructions are over and we are fully operational. Our guests are experiencing a very quiet environment and a very unique one!
    Responded April 04, 2018
    Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
    4.4
    Manoj from Sri Lanka
    Couple
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 1 night in December 2017
    Overpriced for Facilities ”
    Closer to sea, however it is rocky and there is no beach. Need to walk approximately for 10 minutes to reach Unawatuna beach. Hotel is new and architecture is nice and the view from room was nice. Those are the only plus points. I felt it is over priced for the service provided. I experienced following issues during my stay: a) hot water supply was not regular, even though I informed the staff, it was not rectified b) there was no phone inside the room, had to go down to lobby for room service c) staff lacks professionalism - Day 1: it was raining when I reached hotel and I had to go inside and ask for an umbrella Day 2 : I was woken up at 5.30 am one staff member knocking the door to ask whether I requested a towel d) lift was not working e) swimming pool was not clean f) part of the hotel is still under construction - therefore it is noisy
    Reviewed December 26, 2017
    Dear Guest, Our hotel is with a private beach which is not accessible for outsiders other than the hotel guests. Our beach is show in the hotel photos and this is the exact product we offer! All our rooms are equipped with phones, hot water issue has been rectified. Our contraction has ended in December 2017 and the hotel is fully operational with out any construction noise.
    Responded April 04, 2018
    Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
    10.0
    Ajantha from United States
    Couple
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
    Exceptional”
    staff were amazing. view was gorgeous. breakfast was really good. they set up dinner on the beach so we could eat there. we will definitely stay here again.
    Reviewed December 14, 2017
    Dear guest Greetings from Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your time while staying with us and were impressed with the superstar service that we provide. Your kind review will be shared to the entire team to motivate them always giving an excellent service to all of guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for more cosmic experiences. Kind regards The Management Team
    Show more
    Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
    9.6
    sharon from Australia
    Solo traveler
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 7 nights in November 2017
    Exceptional”
    Would recommend this hotel.
    Reviewed November 10, 2017
    5.6
    Stephen from Canada
    Couple
    Deluxe Double Room
    Stayed 1 night in October 2017
    Looks abandoned and dirty”
    Great location to chill and feel the sea breeze. However a lot of broken furniture, peeling paint. Dirty furniture. Terrible old soft mattress. Spa locked up. Spa had dirty windows and no staff present. Door locked and broken rattan furniture inside. Food is extremely average. Can't recommend this one
    Reviewed November 06, 2017
    Dear Guest, We hope you give us a second chance. Rest assured we won't disappoint. Our hotel is now fully operational with many upgrades with our new wing. Two swimming pools, ocean view Spa, kids play area. You will see a totally different hotel and im sure you will enjoy your stay with us.
    Responded April 04, 2018
    Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
    2.0
    YI from Hong Kong
    Business traveler
    Deluxe Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
    The hotel charged my credit card TWICE for the room fee, and no feedback after keep contacting ”
    VERR DISSAPPOINTING!! After I back from Sri Lanka and checked my credit card bill, I found the hotel charged my credit card TWICE, the more disappointing is that after keeping contact Agoda for half a month, the hotel did not give any response / feedback! Please pay attention that do not choose this hotel if you do not want to have the same exprienece !!
    Reviewed November 04, 2017
    Dear Readers, The guest has booked the hotel via Agoda and the hotel does not charge guests credit card, Only Agoda will charge and pay the hotel. Therefore we would like to inform our readers that this review is not valid.
    Responded April 04, 2018
    Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
    7.2
    Govardhan from India
    Group
    Deluxe Double Room
    Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
    Overpriced but great location. ”
    I have booked on agoda which i regret till this day. Thaproban is a great location and very hospitable staff but i feel it is overpriced for the amenities offered. It is a nice little hotel right on the beach and caters to the European tourists.
    Reviewed October 27, 2017
    8.4
    Dane from Australia
    Family with young children
    Deluxe Double Room
    Stayed 6 nights in October 2017
    WONDERFUL staff”
    We travelled to Unawatuna with our 8 month old and the staff did absolutely everything to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We were upgraded to a 2 bed villa which was just what we needed when it came to nap time for our litttle boy. We also enjoyed the pool (lack of shade was an issue however with only sparsely spaced out stationary umbrellas), which backs right onto the ocean with the wonderful sound and sight of crashing waves onto the rocks out the back. A short 5-10 min walk into the main street meant we were always nice and close to the "hussle and bustle", beac restauratns etc, however we just as often ate at the hotel restaurant which was although a touch pricier than the beach places, the food was great, and we could eat in the restaurant, out by the pool/rocks or in our room... All in all a wonderful experience i would recommend to anyone.
    Reviewed October 12, 2017
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices