Book Now: The Apsara Hotel

Excellent
From 212 reviewsSee what guests said
8.6
/
10
Recommended by 96% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (212)Booking.com Reviews (170)
8.6
/
10
Excellent
From 212 reviews
Cleanliness8.9
Facilities7.6
Location9.3
Room comfort and quality8.8
Service8.9
Value for money8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (212)
All room types
Showing 176 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Max from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Downstairs
Stayed 7 nights in June 2018
Attentive staff”
Really love to place to arrive after a fraught trip from Ho Chi Minh City. The rooms are lovely, the staff is helpful and friendly. There's a water cooler for refilling your bottle. The breakfasts are tasty. I was worried about noise from the road since the rooms face the river, with the road in between. But it's a very quiet town and street noise was never a problem. Luang Prabang is small and you can walk everywhere from the hotel. I had some trouble with lost luggage and they helped me sort it out and collect my bag from the airport. I would definitely stay there again. Thank you for a lovely time!
Reviewed July 08, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Curtis from United States
Couple
Standard Downstairs
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
Highlight of our SE Asia Journey”
Pros: amazing location, amazing value, near great restaurants and cafes, walking distance to temple hike and night market, friendly and attentive service. Cons: as a big eater, the breakfast was a bit unsatisfying.
Reviewed May 29, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Justine from Australia
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Very good”
Stayed here early March. Nice hotel situated just across the road from the river Breakfast good and staff friendly and helpful. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the river. Nice large room and very clean.
Reviewed March 30, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Andrew from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018
Great location & rooms”
Close to river and night market. Larger than usual breakfast/restaurant area. Friendly/helpful staff. They even have a michelin star! Rooms are well furnished with balconies. Not too noisy.
Reviewed November 29, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Garry from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Upstairs River View
Stayed 7 nights in November 2017
Kingdom of a Million Elephants”
Simply gorgeous property on the banks of the Nam Khan River. Friendly staff, rooms that were a throwback to Indochina in the forties. The hotel itself is a converted rice storage warehouse. Lovely little bar area where one would almost expect Graham Greene to be propped up writing, whilst enjoying a cool drink. Save yourself time and trouble if going to Luang Prabang and just book yourself a room here and let the ambience do the rest. Charming in the extreme.
Reviewed November 30, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Wei from Malaysia
Group
Standard Downstairs
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Great location. Clean floors.”
Nice little place facing Nam Khan river and just behind the main street in Luang Prabang. Floors felt really smooth and clean. Doors were a little old-fashioned and probably not hard to break down but we felt safe in the area. Extremely nice and friendly staff. Will stay here again!
Reviewed October 29, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Jackie from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Good option”
The hotel is well-located within walking distance of the best Luang Prabang has to offer. The breakfast is delicious and it's nice watching the street scene from the restaurant. The staff does its job well; the front desk lady was super helpful in arranging the connection to my next hotel. I was in a classic room and while the construction could have been better, there is nothing really wrong with it. I would opt for the "superior" room if I stayed here again.
Reviewed July 01, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Catherine from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
A Wonderful Colonial Style Hotel in Luang Prabang”
I loved my stay at the Apsara. I stayed in one of the upstairs rooms with balcony that overlooked the river on the opposite side of the road. The room was delightful and furnished in keeping with the building. There was also a nice balcony where you could sit and watch the world go by. Luang Prabang is compact and easy to get around. Apsara is well situated for the main shopping street, the market and the monks early morning alms walk. Breakfast was excellent with freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, main course of egg dish or cereal and followed by baguette and coffee or tea. I also found the staff to be friendly and helpful. If I return to Luang Prabang I will certainly stay at the Apsara again
Reviewed April 17, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Karen from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Downstairs
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Excellent Location and Service”
The hotel is very conveniently located just a few short steps from the main street in the historic area of town and about five minutes walk to the Night Market, but is generally quiet at night--the area along the Nam Khan River tends to have less pedestrian and vehicle traffic at night than the main street or the road along the Mekong side. Rooms were atmospheric but very comfortable, breakfasts excellent, and staff very helpful. The only downside is that the downstairs rooms don't have windows--the only way to let in natural light is to open the doors out to the street. They felt a bit claustrophobic--I think it's worth paying a bit more for an upstairs room where one has windows and access to a shared balcony.
Reviewed October 22, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
diane from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 6 nights in June 2016
Almost perfect”
A lovely room, good bed, sheets, towels, lights, electrical outlets. Tastefully decorated, nice view of trees and Nam Khan River, quiet room On arrival my perceived problem with air con and wifi was quickly fixed. I used a bike everyday, no charge. Didn't like the rain shower but water pressure and temperature was good. My one concern was the door lock. It was the kind that cam be opened with a credit card and there was no second lock on the inside. But the security was good. Breakfast, included, varied from eastern soup and congee to western omlette and bacon. It always included fruit, fresh juice, toasted baguette, jam and coffee or tea. NOt sure why the baguette was toasted, it seemed to get more solid the longer it sat. All in all a good choice.
Reviewed July 02, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Nicholas from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 7 nights in January 2016
Great place, fabulous location”
Our room overlooked the river and was large and comfortable. The location is amazing, just around the corner from all that Luang Prabang has to offer. Breakfast is the best we've had in South East Asia
Reviewed January 31, 2016
8.7
Excellent
sophie from France
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Charming hotel with a colonial feel”
Location, style, staff
The hotel is located just 1 street behind the main road so great location, whilst being quiet. We booked standard rooms, with river view which had a little balcony facing the river - they were spacious and clean. The only downside was the extremely creaky floorboard and the consequent noise from adjacent rooms. The floorboard was also extremely well polished which made it very slippery and caused my partner to slip and fall, so beware! Breakfast was also a little challenging with a few attempts needed to get our orders right. Overall a good stay in a nice little hotel - the staff was friendly and helpful
Reviewed January 31, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Deborah from United States
Couple
Standard Downstairs
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Wonderful Stay”
Food, location, friendly staff.
We originally booked two nights and extended it four more. The room was very nice, clean and had one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on in a hotel in a long time. The food was excellent, the staff was friendly and very helpful. The location is really good for exploring the town and you are between two of the best cooking schools/restaurants in the city, that is if you want to eat anywhere else. For a good laugh, read the hotel information book. It was written with an excellent sense of humor.
Reviewed April 13, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Seng from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Good place to relax”
Helpful and friendly staff, quite location and good service.
From the day I arrive to departure, the staff was very helpful especially the front desk. The room is decorated with old Asian style and the bed was comfortable for me. Free bicycle to borrow from the hotel to travel around the city. Overall, I find the hotel was a good stay at Luan Prabang.
Reviewed December 11, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
sandra from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Downstairs
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Central Nam Khan location”
Well fitted room and bathroom; staff helpfulness; central location
I enjoyed staying at this very well equipped hotel. The room was comfortable and spacious. While a kettle was not a part of the room facilities staff were quickly able to supply a kettle and cup and saucer on request. The food is good though I would have preferred having a choice in the order in which my breakfast options were delivered.
Reviewed November 24, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Beryl from Thailand
Couple
Superior Upstairs River View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
Pleasant stay by the river”
Room size, river view, balcony
The Apsara is a beautifully renovated hotel on the riverside of Luang Prabhang. The rooms are very large with a huge four poster bed and a sofa. The breakfast is very good and has good choice of food. It is a short walk into town and the major attractions of Luang Phrabhang. The hotel has bicycles for hire to tour around the town easily. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. A good choice when staying in Laos.
Reviewed May 13, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Katherine from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Beautiful hotel in the heart. Of old Luang Prabang”
Lovely decor, great views of the river, great location
Really liked the Apsara hotel - the decor is beautifully and stylishly done. It felt like a very chic hotel at an affordable price. The bedrooms aren't enormous but they all have a balcony or terrace overlooking the river, which compensates. bathrooms are very nicely done. Breakfast was very good and the staff are very professional and helpful. I would stay again!
Reviewed March 19, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Russell from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 11 nights in January 2013
My sixth or seventh stay!”
Understated elegance, great location, excellent friendly & helpful service, great value.
This is either my 6th or 7th stay. I visit Luang Prabang often and have over a 10 year period stayed at several places but Apsara Guesthouse I now regard as my 'home away from home'. I prefer staying on the Nam Khan side of the historic peninsula. It's quiet & I love the outlook over the river towards the mountains. It's within walking distance of everywhere (although I love walking). The guesthouse has a quiet elegance. The rooms are basic but extremely comfortable. The lack of a TV in the rooms is a huge plus for me and I think enhances one's experience of Luang Prabang. (It is also one of the reasons I like staying here). The staff are very friendly, welcoming, helpful and you feel like they are "there for you". The guesthouse is split between 2 buildings with the outstanding and justly famous Tamarind Restaurant in between. I have already booked my next visit in October 2013.
Reviewed January 28, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Veronica from Australia
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Traditional elegance, but small rooms”
Location, bed was great!!
we went for this hotel as it had 3 main things we were looking for, free wifi, room safe and the room not a shoebox size.  our room was in the second building, upstairs and had a nice view of the river.  it is in the old city and is in a very convenient location to the main city attractions, morning alms can be seen just up the lane, one street behind the hotel.  the room was tastefully decorated, the bed was very comfortable and cosy, lots of nice pillows and it had a large bathroom, with huge fluffy white towells.  breakfast was western, which i was initially disappointed about, but it was extremely high quality including different freshly squeezed juices and homemade jams each morning.  on the downside, very minor, no tv, no room service or tea and coffee making facilities.  otherwise all good, a quality establishment.
Reviewed July 24, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Loan from Vietnam
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
Would recommend it”
Best part of town in my opinion
We liked this place very much. I like the way that they do things the best way even if it's not the accepted way. So you might expect a TV in a hotel of this price but instead you get free WIFI. Give me WIFI any day. In addition there's no buffet breakfast but instead you get a fresh, well made, beautifully presented breakfast from a small choice on the menu. Great coffee too. Minor whinges - a great shower was ruined by the fact that at 50% of the time it was cold. If you were second into the shower there was no chance of getting warm water. I also thought it was just slightly over priced but not by much. A kettle in the room might have been nice too. Oh and if there had been a mosquito net we could have opened our windows for a breeze instead of having to rely on the air con. The other thing is, as the Khao San Roadisation of Luang Prabang continues this corner is the most restful, quiet and unspoilt. Lovely spot.
Reviewed January 31, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Joel from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior Downstairs
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Traditional feel and clean attractive rooms”
Though I'm reviewing this after some time, I remember the Apsara fondly for its traditional Laotian wood motifs, tasteful room decor, cleanliness, and styling, friendly no-nonsense staff, and good location not far from the river.
Reviewed June 06, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Naomi from Canada
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
A very good hotel”
This hotel had very friendly,welcoming staff. The room was clean and had all the amenities that we needed. The view of the river was very charming. Breakfasts were substantial with good choice. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.
Reviewed April 21, 2018
7.6
Very good
Iain from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
Very good”
A good hotel for the price, with clean and spacious rooms and a small but adequate terrace to sit and have a beer. Breakfasts were reasonable and the staff were friendly and helpful. Location is good with plenty of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance.
Reviewed March 26, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Michelle from Singapore
Couple
Standard Downstairs
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Heritage, tropical colonial boutique hotel in Old Town”
Apsara is just one street (3 mins walk) behind the main old town street which is great because you don’t always want a crowd eg Night Market at your very doorsteps. Reasonably sized rooms, and very huge toilets for the Standard Downstairs Rooms. It also faces the river. This street appears to be slightly more “upclass” than the mainstreet in Old Town filled with small shops, tour agencies. Would consider this boutique accommodation, prices are not expensive but perhaps a bit higher than average expected for South East Asia or even its immediate neighbours in Thailand and Cambodia. Luang Prabang however is more beautiful than Bangkok or Siem Reap, so.
Reviewed January 02, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Luca from Norway
Couple
Standard Downstairs
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018
Great place!”
Great place, fascinating building, helpful and lovely staff, nice breakfast, recommended!
Reviewed July 25, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Vincent from Singapore
Couple
Standard Downstairs
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018
Exceptional”
noisy because of the road
Reviewed October 09, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Reuben from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 5 nights in June 2017
Friendly & Clean Hotel”
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They helped us to find out information about places of interests and transportation to other towns. The hotel is well maintained and very clean. It is situated at the quieter side of the Nam Khan River which makes it the best place to chill and relax.
Reviewed July 23, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Maria from United States
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017
Perfect Spot to Explore Luang Prabang From”
We absolutely loved staying at the Apsara! It was a nice quiet side of the peninsula but still close enough to walk everywhere. The staff was helpful and breakfast was amazing each morning. Our room was on the second floor and we had a balcony with canvas chairs that I found myself reading on for a significant amount of time because it was so peaceful. My husband and I felt like the Apsara was an excellent value for the money.
Reviewed July 12, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Thomas from Australia
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
Had a great stay, loved Luang Prabang!”
Pros: Great room, the bed was extremely comfy and shower/bathroom was great. We were in a pretty great location not too far from Main Street and walked around town with ease! They also had bikes to borrow which was handy (although mine was in poor condition - still pretty nice). The food at the restauaunt was also quite good and enjoyable. Service was also very good and the staff went above and beyond. Cons: rooms overlooking street are quite noisy and we used earplugs each night to get to sleep. Wifi is also inconsistent but enough to get you through. on our last day our shower also had no hot water for some reason. Other than these few minor issues we had a pleasant stay!
Reviewed February 01, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Lars from Norway
Couple
Standard Downstairs
Stayed 5 nights in January 2017
Great location, good service and funny staff, but still overpriced”
Love both the location and the funny and very helpful staff! Gone for 15 minute breakfast? You'll still probably come back to a ready made up room. Forgot to lock that finicky outer door lock? Someone else remembered. Put your shoes outside during the night to keep that traveller smell away? The next morning you'll find that someone covered even your sad flipflops with pillows. The rooms are huge and the style is very nice, but in some cases form trumps function - like the fantastic looking showerhead that still makes it close to impossible to wash your feet without getting half your body wet. The breakfast isn't anything to write home about, but the restaurant is well above average. There were quite a few misunderstandings though, and we soon learned to keep the language short and simple when expressing our wishes.
Reviewed January 27, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Alistair from Canada
Couple
Superior Upstairs River View
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016
Great Location and Good Value”
Good sized rooms with everything necessary for a comfortable stay. Great, quiet location overlooking the river and within easy walking distance of most of the sights. Very friendly staff, eager to please. Pleasant breakfast and also tasty Lao food for dinner. All in all a good choice.
Reviewed January 04, 2017
7.6
Very good
Laura from France
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Nice stay in a well located hotel”
The Apsara is particularly convenient for its location. The room was nicely decorated (lao style) and clean. Breakfast takes place on the terrace next to the river, which was very pleasant. My only negative feedback will be about the bill settlement. I had a minibar item and it was 15,000 Kip. I handed out 50,000 Kip. The staff member didn't have the exact amount for change as she only had 2,000 kip notes and no 1,000 (which she needed). Someone (who I think was the manager of the hotel) told her to give me back 34,000 Kip. I personally think she should have given me 36,000 Kip as it wasn't my problem if she doesn't have the change. They also didn't say anything to me about it or apologize for it. I know 1,000 Kip is nothing but assuming they can do it is wrong. The staff at the restaurant was really lovely.
Reviewed December 09, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Kathy from Canada
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Very nice hotel in great location”
This hotel is right at the Nam Kham river. We liked the fact that it was very near the most important Wat and some of the best shops and restaurants but not on the busy strip around the night market. We were surprised at how quiet it was at night. The room was lovely and clean. The breakfast was great. The hotel kept our bags for a night while we went to the Elephant Conservatory. Very friendly and responsive staff. Highly recommend.
Reviewed November 17, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Scott from Canada
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Historic building, quiet, relaxing”
Beautiful, old building overlooking the Nam Khan river, its just far enough away from the main drag that you dont have to put up with the noise or the dirty hostel revelers but still close enough go easily get to anywhere in the old quarter, including the night market, the Wat Pa Huak and many good restaurants and shops. Take advantage of the location to try the Tamarind restaurant next door (excellent traditional Lao food), the bamboo bridge and head down to the tip of the peninsula early evening
Reviewed August 05, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Kim from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Visa run 3 day weekend ”
I stayed in the hotel on a fri - sunday, I cant really complain about anything. I would suggest dropping them an email to confirm an airport pickup. The hotel and room was clean and quiet, the view of the river was lovely. The breakfast & selection was Yummy! The location of the hotel is central and an easy walk to anywhere in the town. The wifi in the room was not to bad either. It was a nice, easy, simple stay from start to finish.
Reviewed July 19, 2016
6.0
Matthew from Australia
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 4 nights in June 2016
Pretty good if you like this type of place and are actually in the hotel itself”
Its a nice place for an 'old Raj' type feel of a place but expensive relative to other options if you don't relish this type of atmosphere. Bar and restaurant prices are relatively high so most people went next door/ elsewhere it seemed - we did. We discovered we were in the block of apartments just down the road rather than the hotel itself (because we booked the slightly cheaper rooms without realising this) which made us feel like lesser guests. Also it took a switch of rooms and then additional help to finally have a room with good air conditioning. My wife was very concerned about the room security (just one normal lock) as we were not in the actual hotel which I think is understandable and should be addressed. But if it is your type of thing, book the best rooms in the actual hotel, pay the hotel bar and restaurant prices and really enjoy it and you'll love it.
Reviewed June 14, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Peter from Australia
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016
A very pleasant surprise.”
Staff, location and food.
One of the best places we stayed in over our three weeks away. We would definitely come back, and recommend to friends. We weren't sure what to make of this hotel, as it was our first time in Lao/Laung Prabang, however our expectations were meet, and then some!
Reviewed January 06, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Geoff from Australia
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Great stay”
Staff ere friendly,good location,rooms were excellent
Good location hotel manager offered private car to see waterfalls and Budda cave, was expensive as there is a lot of cheaper booking tours available but if you want peace and comfortable car than this is the way to go.
Reviewed October 10, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Rebecca from United States
Business traveler
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Lovely hotel!”
location, room, breakfast
Gorgeous little hotel with relaxing feel. Its located along a quiet river road but close to walk to everything in LP. Awesome breakfasts! My only complaint would be the lack of toiletries in the rooms. I'd definitely stay here again.
Reviewed August 24, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Brenda from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Upstairs River View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Fantastic Hotel”
Staff, food, location
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Apsara Hotel. It was easy to walk to all the attractions from there, the food was fantastic, but the staff were the best thing - friendly, attentive, knowledgeable and helpful. They couldn't have done more to make sure I enjoyed my stay. The rooms are lovely, given the history of the building, and very comfortable.
Reviewed November 30, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Bjarne from Denmark
Solo traveler
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
My wounderful stay at the Apsara ”
Location in the centre of Luang Prabang, staff, restaurant
In October 2014 I stayed at the Apsara Hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang. I enjoyed every minute of it. From the initial check-in where the most friendly and helpful staff provided information about the hotel and sights in the city, to the cosy old French-styled room, and to the fantastic meals in the restaurant. The location in the center of Luang Prabang could not be any better; I could easily access all the main sights on foot.
Reviewed October 13, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Andrew from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Upstairs River View
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Comfortable stay in quiet hotel”
Location, historic building, staff
Attentive and helpful staff with good English language. Restaurant food good in quiet restaurant which perhaps suffers unfairly from being next door to one of the most highly regarded restaurants in the city. Breakfast good but not outstanding for this class of hotel. Room well appointed.
Reviewed April 23, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
David from Australia
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Relaxing and felt at home. Friendly staff.”
Location was superb-close enough to the action but far enough to get away from the noise.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the hotel lived up to our expectations after reading the reviews by others. Our friend had a problem with his passport & the owner & his staff did everything they could to assist.
Reviewed April 14, 2013
8.0
Excellent
dr from Germany
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 4 nights in March 2013
nice hotel with friendly staff in ideal location”
breakfast, comfortable and kingsize bed, quietness but central located
all in all we did very much enjoy our 4 ddays stay there advice to the management: please make it more clear, that there are 2 APSARA Hotels in town, we wanted to stay in the one with swimmingpool, and booked the wrong one, therefore the disapointment was big at the beginning in hotels elsewhere in this category flatscreen Tv are standard - not in this hotel.
Reviewed March 17, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Francis from Canada
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 6 nights in February 2013
The Best Hotel Experience Ever”
The Service
There had been a mix up in the reservations. I found out about this while on an extended tour of SE Asia and just before heading to the airport for the flight to Luang Prabang. Without going into the details, the manner in which the hotel management and staff handled this was outstanding. They went to great lengths to accommodated us. I highly recommend this hotel, which is also conveniently located next to the best restaurant in Luang Prabang.
Reviewed March 09, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Graham from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Excellent Stay”
Staff very friendly and helpful. Spacious room. Good breakfast.
Good location within walking distance of most sites of interest in the old part of town. Good dining options nearby to suit all budgets although there were cheaper options on the other side of town overlooking the Mekong. We were very well looked after by the staff from the moment we arrived to check in until the minute we departed. Nothing was too much trouble but equally the service and the suggestions offered were not overly in your face, as it sometimes can be in this part of the world. A most pleasant and relaxing stay.
Reviewed March 04, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
debra from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Great location and service”
Hotel is on the river and near main attractions
The staff at the Aspara was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable but be prepared they are very homey but don't have TVs or have a modern look. I was quite happy there but it depends on what you are looking for. They are located in an excellent spot. I walked everywhere from the hotel without a problem.
Reviewed February 06, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Christina from United States
Couple
Superior Upstairs River View
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013
Amazing hotel! great room & location”
Huge room, great light, comfortable bed.
Cannot say enough good things. The room and hotel were great, the staff friendly, the breakfast good, the location perfect. Our first visit to Laos, and this hotel made our stay exactly what we hoped for.
Reviewed February 03, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Meredith from United States
Couple
Superior Upstairs River View
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Superb hotel in a great location”
Rooms and location
We recently stayed at the Apsara and had the most magnificent stay right in the centre of Luang Prabang. The upstairs rooms are well-appointed and very large with beautiful wooden furnishings and high quality linen on the bed. Hotel staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to help. Excellent breakfast included.
Reviewed January 14, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Bev from Australia
Couple
Superior Upstairs River View
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Deserves to be in top "Hip Hotels" list/book”
Great location, Delightful large and beautifully decorated rooms, Peaceful, Great breakfast
The hotel and our room were wonderful to return to each day. We stayed at the Apsara for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. Large, cool rooms with high ceilings and a balcony overlooking the river.
Reviewed November 27, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Wayne from Australia
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
great location but no television/coffee making fac”
great service & excellent breakfast, quiet, night markets
Hotel was in a great location near the river and only one street back from the main street. Have lots of 10 000 Kip notes to pay for attractions ( even walking up to a lookout ). Town of long lunches, coffees and step aerobics. The population of the town were very friendly and honest.
Reviewed November 12, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Alexandra from Canada
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Peaceful boutique location along the Mekong”
A very relaxing stay - location, decor, etc all very peaceful
This boutique hotel is a great budget option. Restaurants line the strip and Monks are passing by every minute. The room was clean and nice and our view of the Mekong was superb! The staff were incredibly helpful. One afternoon we expressed interest in travelling to the waterfalls and they arranged a wonderful van driver named Loun, and organised a bag of towels and bottles of water (free of charge!). Loun was such a great driver/tour guide that we used him again even when we stayed at another hotel. All in all, a nice stay
Reviewed November 11, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Mike from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Excellent hotel all round”
Fantastic decor, great bathrooms and lovely breakfasts.
This is a fantastic hotel set in a French style villa. The rooms are very well decorated and the bathrooms are huge! It's in a quiet location by the river but only a short walk away from the main street. The staff were lovely!
Reviewed October 26, 2012
7.3
Very good
Meg from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Upstairs River View
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012
Nice peaceful location”
quiet side of town but close to everything
The breakfast at the Apsara is amazing! The rooms are a little cobwebby and probably not the best value for money but the location is great right on the river. You can easily walk to town just up the street but you feel like you are a mile away. Service was always friendly. Internet did not work in my room only in the restaurant.
Reviewed August 07, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Jennifer from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
A tried and trusted favourite”
Central to the town of Luang Prabang on the river - very pretty situation. Terrific staff and great restaurant.
The ambience of the lobby/restaurant has a old world colonial feel to it. Really enjoyed the music piping thru the speakers, in total harmony with the decor. I'm a painter and the abstract artwork throughout the hotel appealed to my sensibilities. Dinner the first night was the best meal of my trip, plus there was a good selection of dishes without meat. The beds in the rooms have quality cotton linens on them and feather pillows - I thought I'd died and gone to heaven. Not many establishments have feather or down pillows. Also like the balcony off the room, looking to the river and the fridge. Lots of free bottles of water, replenished daily. The bar obliged me with ice for my drinks each day, as well as an adaptor. They also rent bicycles and do shuttles to the airport. This is the third time I've stayed at the Apsara and the standard is definitely consistent!
Reviewed June 24, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Louisa from Australia
Couple
Superior Upstairs River View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
Beautiful hotel with superior service”
Views over the river and proximity to town centre
The Apsara is in a great location for exploring Luang Prabang and the surrounding area. The rooms are extremely large with palatial bathrooms and lots of space to spread yourselves out. Albeit on the pricey side for Laos (probably not for those on a shoestring budget) it's a fantastic piece of luxury if you're wanting to splurge a little bit. The staff all speak excellent English and are falling over themselves to help with your every need. When I visit Luang Prabang in the future I will definitely stay here again.
Reviewed April 22, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Richard from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
Modern hotel in convenient and quiet location.”
Quiet road, central location, great breakfast, friendly staff
Had a great stay in this hotel. Its location is a short walk to the main restaurants and market, but it is on the Nam Khan river side which is a much quieter road (and river) than the Mekong. The hotel is split into two buildings, that are nearly next door to each other. We stayed in the newer building and the room was large and clean with a pleasant bathroom. The hotel service was very good and the staff were extremely helpful (as we found with all our hotels in Laos). The quality of breakfast was also a highlight. This is probably one of the more expensive hotels in LP, but we would definitely stay there again.
Reviewed February 07, 2012
8.7
Excellent
james from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
Fusion of best of East and West”
Price, Position and Ambience
Lovely boutique Hotel overlooking the river with good food for both the inclusive Breakfast and for lunch and evening dining. Located in the centre of the 'colonial' and religious centre of the city at a very reasonable price with rooms that suited the ambience of the Laos at its best. Would certainly return on a future ocassion.
Reviewed January 05, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Vaclav from Czech Republic
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Charming boutique hotel with excellent service”
Great and quiet location, very helpful and friendly staff, spacious old colonial style decorated rooms.
we had a lovely pro-longed w/e stay at this hotel. travelled in couple together with parents. though we were originally booked at the apsara hotel in the old town, due to double-booking we were driven from the airport to their second newer and more upscale hotel "apsara rive droite" just across the river bank. the staff handled the double-booking situation very professionaly, upgraded us and offered to show us the rooms, explained that boat service is available all day till late night whenever needed that will take us across the river (1min) to the old town and the original apsara hotel. bicycles were also available with the option to leave them across at the apsara hotel if needed. they also offered us alternatives to stay in other hotels in the old town, but with the updgrade, the hotel services and an available lovely swimming pool we did not hesitate a moment. the entire hotel is very nicely decorated in a old colonial building style. the rooms are very spacious with great verandas. the food was excellent and for such a boutique hotel reasonably priced. the breakfasts were amazing and the staff very helpful and friendly. the only downside was that they did not manage to get the wifi up and running, probably due to a tecnical glitch which is not in their control.
Reviewed November 03, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Chritopher from United States
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 4 nights in October 2011
Great location with a charming room”
comfortable bed and big fluffy towels
loved it all. staff friendly (english was ok). perfect location. get room on second floor, better river view). had all amenities. breakfast was ok. they went out of their way the morning we left early to go to the airport, giving us coffee, juice & fruit. would not arrange any trips thru hotel, prices twice as much or more than places in town. same with bike rental ($5 versus $2 a block up). otherwise, would return to this hotel. liked the more local restaurants (real laos food). night market was fun, but felt bad bartering too hard, the small money you saved was big $ to them. they are so kind & gentle. luang prabang is a special place.
Reviewed November 02, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Heather from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 3 nights in September 2011
Tidy rooms with riverside location”
Convenient to the main street, small balcony, nice wood floors, free wifi
the hotel was very nice and clean, and staff service was flawless. however, the riverside location touted in other reviews implied a view that was actually obscured by power lines and trees. i had a great rate from agoda and an upgrade to a second floor room with a balcony since it was the low season. although i did not have an opportunity to see other hotels, i was given the impression that particularly during the low season, there is equal or better value to be found for less money if one shops around. breakfast was included and was very satisfactory. i did not have a chance to dine in the restaurant for dinner. the location is right around the corner from the main drag, so not too much traffic, but a very convenient location.
Reviewed October 12, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
andrew from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 1 night in July 2011
comfortable , welcoming and stylish hotel ”
comfortable and very central
we loved the apsara and returned to it after each trip out of luang prabang. the information in the rooms makes you feel welcome and the attention to detail and comfort does too .staff were helpful and friendly , service was good and rooms great with a small terrace opening onto the street so you can sit and watch street life . we thought it was excellent value and so close to the central street and main sights yet peaceful and relaxing. breakfast was good
Reviewed August 25, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
ERIN from Australia
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 1 night in August 2011
Great service and a lovely hotel”
Hotel lobby and service
It was where we had the best service in laos. We arrived a day late because we missed our bus, when we arrived we the manager quickly organized everything for us and we could see and do everything. It was great Also a beautiful hotel lobby and a great location
Reviewed August 09, 2011
8.3
Excellent
nick from Canada
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011
Overpriced, but still a nice stay”
Location, nice rooms, private and water pressure
we stayed at the apsara four five days, and it was mostly very pleasant. the bed was very nice, the room clean if a bit small, but with a nice veranda, and a great bathroom. the restaurant was also very good, if a bit pricey. the cons? ac machine was poor and very loud. the internet maybe worked two hours out of every day, and was amazingly slow when it did. only one of the staff had a good grasp of english. actually all in all i seem to be sounding a bit too negative, but the thing was for 80 a night in luang prabang in the low season, i was expecting a little more. overall i still enjoyed my stay.
Reviewed July 23, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Miriam from United States
Family with teens
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011
Great location. No tv. No Internet in room”
Location
we were upgraded to a larger room upon arrival. not sure why. the location is great - balcony overlooks the river. room is large and clean. there is no tv in the room which seems odd. also, spotty internet service even in the lobby and no service in the room. breakfast was fine. bathroom was clean but drainage in the shower was poor and overflowed into the room. bathtub in main room was lovely. they offer bicycle rentals which is definitely worth doing. it is the best way to get around the city and see more.
Reviewed July 20, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Susan from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in February 2009
Lovely hotel by the river”
Nice rooms, good location, helpful staff.
Overpriced, but probably no more so than Luang Prabang as a whole.
We stayed for 3 nights in early February. The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. The room was lovely, decorated in traditional style and with a balcony overlooking a (quiet) road and the river. Comfy bed, great shower. Breakfast was basic - eggs and fruit - but good. Everything was within walking distance. We would definitely go back.
Reviewed February 17, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Willem from Australia
Group
Stayed 4 nights in August 2008
Review of Apsara hotel Luang Prabang”
Position, size of rooms, furnishings, quality of restaurant and bar
Breakfast was average
Apsara is iedeally located on the banks of the Nam Khan river and within easy walking distance of the centre of town. The main building has been tastefully restored/decorated without going over the top. The minimalist style of furnishing suits the building and is a refreshing departure from multi-national chain hotel groups.
Reviewed August 22, 2008
9.2
Exceptional
Kang from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Comfortable stay”
Apsara is located at the heart of Old Town, superb location, comfortable room and friendly staff!
Reviewed October 23, 2017
8.4
Excellent
TK from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Excellent holiday”
Friendly staff
Reviewed December 24, 2016
8.0
Excellent
peter from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Upstairs River View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Nice rooms in a good location.”
Staff are super friendly and very efficient. Lack of TV surprised me but made me look for other things to do to keep occupied.
Reviewed October 28, 2016