Book Now: The Bala's Holiday Chalet

Good
From 978 reviewsSee what guests said
6.9
/
10
Recommended by 84% of guests

Reviews of The Bala's Holiday Chalet Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (977)Booking.com Reviews (648)
6.9
/
10
Good
Cleanliness6.7
Facilities6.3
Location7.7
Room comfort and quality6.5
Service7.1
Value for money6.8
All languages
All guests (977)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 662 verified guest comments
5.2
Seow from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior - 2 Adults
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

A Chalet with European feel”

No facilities at all, limited carpark, no fan, the bed linens seem dirty or mouldy smell.

Reviewed May 21, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Emma
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Great History”

Spent a 2D1N stay here over a weekday as we had the entire place to ourselves (apart from the staff). Lovely old building rich in history. Understandably the hotel was a little old but that just adds to its character. There was no a/c or fans in the room but there was no need for it as the cool Cameron breeze was cool enough. Staff were very accommodating and friendly as well.

Reviewed May 16, 2019
5.2
Kevin from Malaysia
Couple
Superior - 2 Adults
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Above average”

Moldy smells room. I requested to change rooms, viewed 5 other rooms, all were moldy smell. Finally upgraded to a newly renovated room with less moldy smell. Front desk staff was unfriendly and impatient. Room without basics, no toothbrush, toothpaste. Only 2 mineral water for 3 days 2 nights. With better management and better staff training to revive this resort. Otherwise, customers wont give a 2nd chance.

Reviewed May 20, 2019
4.4
NURAZLIN from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior - 2 Adults
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

The hotel was superb with cosy interior but room facilities was very poor”

The room lamp was very poor, like old & not service.. not suitable for our family because i bring baby. Everything in the dark.. No teeth brush provide, toilet sink was stuck with water and toilet window waiting dirty with insect and pest. Besides hotel environment & interior was good with green garden & cosy interior. Please improve your room service & facilities.. Not suggest to come for family with young children..

Reviewed May 06, 2019
8.0
Excellent
TAU from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

British Victoria style. Comparable with smokehouse”

Strategic location. 5 mins to tanah rata. 5 mins to cameron highland resort to have high tea. 6 mins to brinchang night market. 15 mins to brinchang steamboat. 5 mins to abang strawberry farm in parit fall. Took so many nice photos at the hotel compound. But why breakfast is not included? Overall experience is 80% though. Will recommend to friends and family.

Reviewed July 16, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Abdul from Malaysia
Family with teens
Executive Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Beautiful place”

Yes the place really looks like the one in the English or Western movies. We booked a suite that can accommodate 6 peoples. That night we had a great BBQ at the open area just in front of our suite. We bring our own BBQ pit, even though the place do provide them with a fee. Very quiet place so that guests can really feel relaxed and leave their stress at home. Yes the place need major renovation and maintainance.

Reviewed July 09, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
lili from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

stunning old cottage hotel. ”

I'm totally in love with this old cottage turn hotel. loving the landscape around the property, simply make this place look more like the english cottage home. The interior of this hotel does make u feel like I've in the europe country side. rooms are pretty basic. unfortunately breakfast is not included in any agoda booking. overall stay was nice and comfy, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Reviewed June 27, 2018
4.8
Nurul from Malaysia
Couple
Superior - 2 Adults
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

The price paid are not worth it”

Overall the view is nice, the ambience and it is very private. However the room is quite expensive compare to the facilities given. There is no iron in the room. There is no fan (yes the weather is cold but for the price I expect there’s atleast fan). There is no fridge. Even the shower gel they gave is half bottle only. The cleanliness overal is not that clean. I think the only good thing about this place is the privacy. The location is not in the busy area.

Reviewed May 05, 2019
7.2
Very good
Chew from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Spacious but basic Deluxe Room, nice atmosphere”

The room is spacious but no fan. It was quite stuffy when we stayed in the room during afternoon or while wheather is hot. The water heater is not functioning well. Hot water supply on and off. Nice scenery.

Reviewed April 26, 2019
8.0
Excellent
safia from Malaysia
Family with young children
Executive Suite
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Very good”

the place is beautiful , they have a great garden too wifi connection is not that strong and they have very weak maxis telco line agoda should specify if the room for the 6 pax is the connecting room or one big room for customer easy reference .

Reviewed February 07, 2019
7.6
Very good
Muhammad from Malaysia
Couple
Suite 2 adults
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Quiet, Wonderful Escape”

Had stayed here for one night and this was all I ever needed. Escaping from the busy life of city coming to this little, tranquil resort just made me all energized. Pros : very comfortable bedding, amazing views, nice suit with attic, beautiful garden. Cons : need very careful cleaning, washroom needs revamping a lil bit and a lil more touch of luxury (for the suite) A wonderful stay still, after all and would definitely come back.

Reviewed February 04, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Khairul from Malaysia
Couple
Superior - 2 Adults
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Everything we need for a retreat”

Everything was amazing! The view and landscape are awesome. Definitely will come again if we need an escape. 😍😍😍 The staff are all friendly; the receptionist, housekeepers etc. Read the other reviews, it seems everyone has different views. But for us, we definitely enjoy our stay here!

Reviewed January 26, 2019
8.4
Excellent
HAFIZAH from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Nice and relaxing place”

The rooms, hotel decor and ambience are very English. With afternoon tea and delicious scones compliment the ambience and the english feelings. The ala carte menu for main dinner need to be upgraded and look into to further improve the taste. Maybe the menu has to revamp. The management can look into having steak or fish and chips instead of the normal mee and nasi goreng. Overall we enjoy our stay there. Mr Bala the big boss is very friendly and kind.

Reviewed January 07, 2019
5.6
Luke from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in December 2018

Used to be a nice hotel”

You can tell this used to be a nice place, and the grounds are lovely. However, the rooms are not maintained well and the service is somewhat lacking. There is mould on the walls and windowsills--and even covering one of our pillows! It is unthinkable to me that housekeeping changed the pillowcase and didn't care enough to replace the mouldy pillow that was in our room upon arrival. When we took it down to the front desk, we were not even offered an apology. Finally, they need to install a chain or sliding lock on the inside of the rooms so that housekeeping cannot enter without warning. Once, housekeeping came in while I was changing clothes, and another time when I was still in bed. They just knocked and, without waiting for an answer, let themselves into the room. Completely unprofessional. If the staff cannot wait for you to answer the door, the very least the hotel can do is to install locks so guests can feel safe and at ease, knowing housekeeping won't barge in at any moment.

Reviewed January 03, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Mary from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in December 2018

We love it here! Great staff & location!”

The staff was incredibly accommodating and helpful. They helped us with navigating, lifts and all our travel questions. We absolutely loved our stay and hope to return. Our only comments would be the sheets could have been cleaner (we found hair in them), and we werent sure if breakfast was provided and it was never really explained properly although we assumed the toast/coffee/tea was free of charge. Mr. Nathan is an incredible host and cook, Carol and Yoda were also extremely helpful. Thank you! Also, best scones in Cameron Highlands!

Reviewed December 22, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Meor
Family with young children
Superior - 2 Adults
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Fairly good place”

The place is beatiful, giving you sort of "English" feeling with the architecture. Love the plants which covered the building. Totally recommended for those who wants to sit, relax and enjoy the scenery with good books. Not recommended for those who always going out visiting places in Cameron Highland. My bathroom lamp was broken during the second day of stay, but they fixed it in a jiffy. The only bad experience was when I was preparing myself to check up, the are no hot water available. Need to use the provided electric water kettle for warm water for bath. Initially I was wondering why they provided electric water kettle without the complementary 3 in 1 sachet.

Reviewed December 11, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Samantha from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

6 mins to town (driving)”

Very relax environment :)

Reviewed April 08, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Yap from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Quiet & Comfortable ”

Very nice, cozy place. Good for relax. Make you feel like home.

Reviewed March 11, 2019
8.4
Excellent
MOHD from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

English style hotel & cosy”

Very quite place and may not suitable for family with small kids because they obviously will make a lot of noise. But recommended to couples for honeymoon or romantic gateway. We love the hot shower so much.Good hot shower makes our family happy.

Reviewed December 04, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Nadia from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in August 2017

Traveled with family of 5 and we enjoyed it!”

Traveled with kids aging 14, 11 and 9. We were given the room that sits across the garden with a bench on our small entrance. Cozy room. Garden was refreshing. Staffs and its owner were very helpful and accommodating. Especially when our car broke down during our stay. They helped us get back on our way by helping out with the local workshop. Good deeds. Very good deeds. Note: Workshops in Cameron open during weekends. Apart of that, we had no issue with the bathroom. Although the toilet works but no hot water or quite minimal of it. So we kept boiling hot water to bathe in. We had a good time staying there and would repeat our stay if we can manage another trip to Cameron Highlands again.

Reviewed October 11, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Hok from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

A pretty hideaway”

The big plus is the big courtyard of this former Tanglin School. The gardening staff has done a good job in keeping the garden well maintained and clean. Parking access is the only negative point. Expect Indian food only.

Reviewed March 19, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Syiqa from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in October 2016

Beautiful hotel”

We booked for family room (4 beds) but downgraded to 3 rooms due to my mom conditions whom can not climb too many stairs to get to our initial room booked. But, they do offered to provide extra bed to us. The view from our room was magnificent. Their landscape are properly maintained and the hotel is really great for photo taking. I would love to come back to this hotel in the future.

Reviewed February 17, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Ditthakorn from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

Lovely place, charming garden, great food and warm welcome from Mr.Bala and his staff.”

My daughter and I spent our holidays here during Dec 30 - Jan 1 and we was so in love with this lovely hotel since the first step into the garden with plenty of flowers and vaiety of plants . We started our first late lunch with the famous scones, crepe with bananas and tea in this beautiful ambiance. It was such a great first impression. For the room, we were happy with the size of the bed, space for 2 ppl, view of the plants and fish pond, the fresh air from the open window. But the cons are the old thin blanket and poor WIFI connectivity. And there were no bottles of water in our room even we had informed the lady owner and she committed to supply to our room. Lastly, Thanks Mr.Bala for offering the drive to drop me at the town center on the last day. And also warm hospitality from all the staff here. We were very appreciated it! I'll definitely recommend Planters Country Hotel to my friends!

Reviewed January 02, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Ross from United Kingdom
Couple
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016

Planters Country Hotel - Gives you the real feel of the Cameron Highlands. ”

The hotel is just like an English cottage set in wonderful gardens where you can relax, have breakfast or enjoy the best cream tea we had. Staff were helpful and friendly. Evening meal by the open fire was a joy. The location is perfect in between both towns. If you want a true colonial style place with the character of Cameron Highlands stay here!

Reviewed August 29, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Gary from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

English Country Lodge in Malaysia”

Charming English Tudor lodge tucked in Cameron Highlands. Rich history as former boarding school. Colorfully furnished with lots of antiquities. Our room as refurbished with modern bathroom and comfortable queen bed. Lunches and dinners excellent. Staff very friendly and owner, Mr. Balak, is keeps the place in tip top shape.

Reviewed July 10, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
KONG from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2015

one of the bes”

1. genuine nostalgic building character 2. Very good lanscaping 3. Great hilltop scenery

cottage we stayed was nostalgic located on hillside surrounded by miles of hilltop scenery. I had the cooling attic for reading and a pleasant siesta. Green plants are to be found everywhere. easy to park , 5 min to nearest town.

Reviewed June 01, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Phillip from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Suite 2 adults
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

Beautiful and full of charm”

The location, the character and the open fires.

When we drive up to the hotel we were stunned by the beauty of the Highlands and the hotel fitted in with the setting, unlike the high rised hotels that spoil the views. What we particularly liked was every room was different and this gave the hotel more charm. The open fires in the evening was a great place to read and have a drink in the evenings. There was some trouble with the hot water and some of the windows needed repairing but all these are in the process of being fixed as I was told. However, none of these took away the setting or the feel of the hotel. The imperfection somehow made it more special.

Reviewed December 27, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Tan from Malaysia
Couple
Suite 2 adults
Stayed 1 night in September 2014

Very nice hotel in overall ”

The surroundings and buildings

The facilities in the room, such as lighting and toilet bowl/ drainage system should be upgraded/ improved. The rest is fine as we were expecting for a quite and relaxing stay, and the location itself done the job well. Rooms on top of the hill are quite close to each other, sometimes you will hear sounds from next door. Also, it's not so enjoying if you are staying close to the staircase, you could be hearing many unwanted sound from passerby.

Reviewed September 08, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Fong from Malaysia
Couple
Suite 2 adults
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

Perfect cottage like hotel”

Design, great for a quiet retreat, close to nature

Do not expect fans or aircons for this hotel. Cameron highlands is cold at night and this hotel make use of this to offset the normal heat in Malaysia. Without the fan or air conditioners, it was a first few time in my life I experience such quietness. I could hear my own heartbeat at night. The rooms are spacious and clean. The garden and the building itself is a beauty and you can marvel at the plants that seems to creep out of every crevice of the building. The owner of the hotel is also an expert in nearby hiking trails and activities, and he is more than willing to share his experience. The only downside (which is actually an upside as well) of this place is that the location, despite being beside the main road, is actually quite hidden. A new signboard pointing out the location would be awesome for first timers. (And no, googling the location will not help).

Reviewed May 26, 2014
8.7
Excellent
GUNA from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013

Great stay in Bala's Chalet”

nice garden, ambience and staff

comfort, relax and enjoying...i stayed there 17years ago... like it very much and wanted to go again with families. i have done it and will go again. great hospitality, ambience, place to enjoy with families or couples. highly recommends to travelers.

Reviewed August 28, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Loke from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Very good”

Bed was sliding both sides, difficult to sleep.

Reviewed April 27, 2019
7.2
Very good
MOHAMAD
Couple
Superior - 2 Adults
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Beautiful garden ”

Location: perfect Reception: poor Garden: perfect View: perfect Maintenance: poor ( i got a room with only one bulb can be light up). The only good service at this hotel is the “bangla” gardener.. he come greet us n help me n my wife to take a lot of photos.. if u come for nature.. its a good place..

Reviewed April 17, 2019
7.6
Very good
Siti from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Idyllic Boutique Hotel with History”

+ Good view and location. Nice service and beautiful garden. Idyllic hotel with interesting history. Scones and omelette are delicious. - Breakfast is a bit pricey with limited choice. Common areas are not well maintained like the game room where we did our ironing, very dusty and musty smell. Suggest to let guests to borrow the iron for a few hours in their own room. Highlight more on hotel’s history and beginnings.

Reviewed November 21, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Nur from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Breathtaking scenery”

The hotel is so beautiful with old british exterior, we had a pleasant stay at the hotel. However during our check-in we found the room quite dusty and the pillow is smelly. The toilet pipe drainage was clogged and had made the toilet floody. But still we understand that this in an old building and the problems are acceptable. The staffs were very nice and overall it was a good place to stay in Cameron.

Reviewed November 12, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Vamshi from India
Family with young children
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Great location and ambience”

It was a pleasant stay for us at Bala's Chalet this week and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the place. The service is exceptional and kitchen in particular were great in providing us with customised food items to ensure our kid's needs were met. Charan in kitchen staff especially took great care of us in our time. Bala's special scones with masala tea is a must have delicacy at the hotel!!

Reviewed November 08, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Viktor from Malaysia
Couple
Superior - 2 Adults
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Very good”

Location: Located halfway between Brinchang and Tanah Rata, the location is very convenient. We paid for a taxicab to bring us around which was about RM15 one way or RM120 for 4 hours. We did not realize the hotel had a shuttle service, and we definitely regret not better utilizing it. Room: The room is slightly small, but just enough space for two people. It has a TV which has hdmi hidden on the back, so we had some difficulty locating it. The toilet was clean but tiny, shower was in good working condition during our stay. However the toilet was unable to flush, and we had to use the bucket instead. IMPORTANT: our toilet door did not have door handles which led to us frequently being locked. Please install door handles on the bathroom. Otherwise, it's a decent room. Restaurant: Bad experience with the western menu, chicken was raw on the inside but dry on the outside. In contrast, the fried rice was excellent. Staff and overall service: Staff are very courteous and helpful.

Reviewed November 07, 2018

Dear Mr Victor, Thank You for taking the time to review and update us, in areas which we can improve. We appreciate it. We will work to improve the service to serve you better. Hope to see you again. Regards Mr. Johanan

Responded November 07, 2018
The Bala's Holiday Chalet
9.2
Exceptional
Syarafina from Malaysia
Family with young children
Executive Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Beautiful exterior ! ”

Planters Country Hotel (Bala's Chalet) is a good value for money, its exterior is breathtaking! The colonial look suits Cameron's chill weather very well. Staffs were also nice and accommodating. Requested a room close to the lobby as we were taking an elderly and they fulfilled it. Our executive suite was located right behind the entrance. (Previous reviews mentioned having to hike up flights of stairs to their rooms which might be true, there were rooms located up the hill from where the lobby is. Stairs looked pretty steep too.) Definitely not a 'hotel' if you're looking for a place with room service etc. For example, ironing facility is only provided at a common area. Place looked and felt a bit eerie at night but overall, a good and cosy place to stay !

Reviewed November 04, 2018

Dear Ms Syarafina, Glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. Thank You very much and we appreciate it. Hope to see you again. Regards, Mr. Johanan

Responded November 07, 2018
The Bala's Holiday Chalet
7.6
Very good
Roslina from Malaysia
Group
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Beautiful place, nice view, friendly staff, nice food.”

Have to climb more than 40 stairs to our room but nice view waiting for us up there.... The room is nice, clean but the lamp a bit dim, the window cannot open because of the trees covered it... Overall we love the place very much......lovely

Reviewed October 14, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Aimy
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Worth money spent”

Everything was perfect at planters country hotel. We love the view and the environment so much. We got a very nice room with great view. The staff also polite. Except for the iron room. That room quite creepy. The hotel management should provide iron at every room or iron services.

Reviewed October 13, 2018
7.2
Very good
Pei from Malaysia
Couple
Suite 2 adults
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

Near to tanah rata but away from busy street up the hill”

Pros: 1.near to eateries, atm, covenient store 2.up the hill offer scenic view 3.consider well maintenained property 4.beautiful landscape 5.big room Cons: 1. Suites furthest away from lobby has eerie look 2. No hair dryer provided unless request 3. 35 rooms but do not have 35 carparks 4. Only body soap provided not body shampoo/gel 5. Check in 2pm . Check out 12pm. Not as what agoda advertised.

Reviewed October 01, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Natalya from United States
Group
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 4 nights in September 2018

Beautiful setting and great staff”

This hotel is unique as it offers beautiful views and gorgeous gardens on the terraces. It has its charm as it's like no other hotel around. There are a lot of collective antique items throughout the hotel that add to its character. Absolutely loved the staff, they organized the excursions for us, took us to the bus when we were leaving. The menu is great and the food is always fresh and home made. Absolutely recommend this hotel. The only downside was that our room smelled something which I am not really sure about, but we kept the door and windows open so it didn't bother us. Maybe this is due to the building being old.

Reviewed September 09, 2018
6.4
Good
eyka from Malaysia
Couple
Superior - 2 Adults
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Nice view. Poor maintance. Limited parking”

The view were great. But some area and surrounding have not maintance and seems scary to me. My room have signals tv issue. we cant get any signal on our room. we wait almost 2 hour for the bad service. But the staff attend and change our room. Thanks to the staff for help us and i pity to her because try hard to help us. I understand her situation but for my opinion the management should be prerape if already know on weekend a lot of customer will be there. I appreciate to the staff for helping us and pity to her. For me this place suitable for honeymoon but you need to request nice room. Because some room so bad and no have maintanace. The toilet not too clean and no have maintance. The hotel need to improve the service and maintanace their room. From my information,the owner are indian(im not races) but if u indian you will get the best service from what i see while to check in. Actualy we arrive early just want to rest because have long journey. So we get permision from the staff to wait at the hotel while waiting for check in. While waiting we just take some picture around the hotel and we hear some not good sounds from their staff. Just because we not check in. Along our stay i can see many people are not stay here but come and just take picture because no have any security for this premis. But i still recommend to friend because of their view.

Reviewed September 07, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Maria from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

A very nice place to relax and to spend quality time with family.”

The hotel was very charming. It’s truly and old fashioned type English like Country home. Love it . The beauty surrounding the hotel rooms are really breathtaking. Awesome place to relax and just do nothing. Cons- The room has a kind of dampness odour all the time especially the bathroom. Some freshner or “dehumidifier” should be kept to eliminate excess moisture and musty odour. The TV was a no use cause we were not able to watch a single channel. We reported but no one showed up to resolve the problem. Other than this it’s truly a pleasant stay.

Reviewed August 25, 2018
8.4
Excellent
poovelighlan from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Awesome environment with great staffs.. ”

Cons- walls between the rooms quite thin, we could actually hear noises and conversation from next door.. limited parking spaces, especially if come back late at night.. Pros- awesome environment and very helpful staffs.. beds are comfortable. Tasty food especially the scones in the evening.. looking forward to come back again!!

Reviewed August 12, 2018
7.6
Very good
Lee from Malaysia
Group
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Very good”

Love their scones and homemade strawberry jam! The room was great and spacious just a bit not so clean. Have to put more effort to clean the cupboards and floor. Should prepare room slippers due to chilly floor. Staffs are helpful and friendly. Location is good but dont miss the turning! The place is lovely and old fashioned. Very nice place to hang around too.

Reviewed June 05, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Elaine from Singapore
Group
Executive Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Excellent”

Beautiful surroundings and charming colonial-style architecture. The owner Mr Bala was enthusiastic in catering to our every need, and was a very warm and welcoming presence. The 8-person suite that we booked was very value-for-money, however, it is worth noting that the bathroom facilities were a bit basic. The sink did not have a drain and instead flowed across the bathroom floor into the shower, hence making tooth brushing and washing inconvenient. Furthermore, the water heating system is a bit fickle, and in the cold highland climate this can lead to freezing showers. There is also nowhere to hang any clothing and the shelf for bath products is small, which seems inadequate for a room housing so many people. However, there is also much to praise about this property. They have a hearty in-house breakfast, shuttle bus services and convenient access to Tanah Rata and other areas in the highlands. It is worth the trip for the romantic view of the garden.

Reviewed May 25, 2018
6.0
muhammad from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Great”

Customer services great! View superb! But water heater not function Wifi not function U should try their ommeltte, it was great!

Reviewed March 13, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
adila from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Amazing!!”

The room, furniture, landscape,panorama (sunrise straight away from our room) is wonderful..

Reviewed December 24, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Syahirah from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Serene Cottage”

Beautifully maintained by the owner. The scones are incredible! warmth and lovely stay with my mum. recommend it for a short getaway

Reviewed December 24, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Nordiana from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

2nd time and still loving it!”

We stayed here before the name changed and refurbishment. Love the place still! The F&B staffs are great! The food was superb!

Reviewed December 24, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Izzat from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Excellent”

very nice view

Reviewed November 30, 2018
7.6
Very good
Tony from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Nice view and spacious ground”

Feel like a club house with a lot of space for children to run around. Can improve by having some playground for children.

Reviewed May 06, 2019
3.6
Li from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Overpriced!”

The hotel room is over-priced. No fan & no air-cord, water heater is not functioning properly – sometimes too hot and sometimes too cool! Sound proofing is poor, and you can hear footsteps along the hallway and conversations of the next door.

Reviewed February 15, 2019
7.6
Very good
Alice
Solo traveler
Superior - 2 Adults
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Cleaning wasn’t that good, but the view and facilities were fabulous ”

Pros: the whole environment were so British, especially the exquisite inferior decoration. Cons: the cleaning can be an issue there, it wasn’t that tidy as I thought, plus maybe it was because of the hotel surrounded by bushes and all, there were many insects like ants even in the washroom walls, which can be improved a lot in the future.

Reviewed February 07, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Siti from Malaysia
Family with young children
Executive Suite
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Cozy Places to stay in Cameroon Highlands!”

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Scones is a MUST try. Superb! The executive room was really nice and also comfy. Good to stay for family bonding.

Reviewed April 02, 2019
6.8
Good
wanie from Malaysia
Family with teens
Suite 2 adults
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

wanie from malaysia”

nice place with a good view. myself enjoyed vry much for the beautiful pictures i have taken here. but bit sad that i left out to try the scone there. maybe can repeat again

Reviewed February 11, 2019
4.0
triRadek from United Arab Emirates
Family with young children
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Review score”

No wifi , expensive meals without any chances to get a proper meal - generally 10yrs before maybe these days it’s possible to get better quality paying less. Big disappointment.

Reviewed January 06, 2019
5.6
Sharon from Singapore
Group
Executive Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Above average”

Rooms are spacious. Staff are nice but seems too busy, could be under staff. We like having breakfast at the garden. The place is nice but not so wheelchair friendly.

Reviewed December 30, 2018
6.8
Good
Sarah from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Good”

Beautiful country home, very peaceful, good for photos and escape from busy city life. Need to improve maintenance, cleanliness and staff efficiency.

Reviewed December 27, 2018
5.2
Liaw from Singapore
Family with teens
Superior - 2 Adults
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Planters”

Very nice England looking hotel, detailed decorations, staff are friendly and helpful. Basic facilities are there but the cleanliness needs alot of improvement.

Reviewed December 25, 2018
6.4
Good
Shahredza from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

They have good room for family and the resort is nice for photography.”

Except: 1. No coffee and tea in the room 2. Crack in the toilet and some part of the room 3. Car park not convenience

Reviewed December 24, 2018
7.6
Very good
Omar from Netherlands
Couple
Suite 2 adults
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Beautifull property”

Beautifull property! Lady at the reception was very helpfull! Thank you!

Reviewed December 22, 2018
4.8
Donald from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

not worth it”

They dont provide coffee/tea sachets(even after i requested it)!! Even a budget hotel do that.. staff are friendly and helpful.

Reviewed December 11, 2018
6.8
Good
SAW from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

GOOD”

NICE HOTEL

Reviewed December 11, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Hazirah from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Suite (4 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

NICE PLACE TO STAY”

Nice place to stay . tapi agak menyeramkan haha tapi overall okay dan best .

Reviewed September 05, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
MUHAMMAD from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

Superb!”

I enjoy the ambience of the resort. Room is big and clean. It is a very good place to just chill and relax. Would definitely come back again.

Reviewed July 22, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Robyn from Australia
Couple
Suite 2 adults
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

Excellent”

Charming, comfortable with great staff and good food. Parking a bit awkward.

Reviewed July 21, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
May from Singapore
Group
Superior - 2 Adults
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

NICE HOTEL”

highly recommended ,,the boss and staff is so kind and helpful. thanks for everything mr.bala .

Reviewed June 18, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Fatin from Malaysia
Couple
Suite 2 adults
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

The staffs are super duper friendly!!”

The staffs were very friendly. From the front desk, the housekeeping team and even the chef :) i will definitely book there again due to the friendly staffs that they got. And maybe the hotel can do something with the pillows. They smelled.

Reviewed May 16, 2018
8.4
Excellent
ZATY from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Beautiful and classic!”

Good location. Really loves the old English-style interior. The garden is so green and beautiful. Good retreat destination for family and friends. We really enjoyed our stay there and many spots for #ootd as well! ^_^

Reviewed April 19, 2018